Members' Biographies


Stephen A. Leach, LL.B., M.B.A. (Chairperson)

Mr. Leach was appointed member of the Tribunal on July 20, 2009, and chairperson on October 20, 2011. He was an international consultant who provided strategic advice to the coalition government of Lebanon for the 2009 parliamentary election. He has worked for private companies, governments and non-governmental organizations throughout the world, with a focus on energy policy, emerging economies, and the principles and practice of good governance. Mr. Leach's legal practice covered corporate and commercial transactions, corporate restructuring, administrative and regulatory law, and complex civil litigation. As a partner in a venture capital group, he participated in private equity investments, including angel investing, venture capital and mezzanine financing in Canada, the United States, China and Brazil. Mr. Leach is a graduate of the University of Alberta's Faculty of Law (LL.B.) and the University of Western Ontario's Richard Ivey School of Business (M.B.A.).

Serge Fréchette (Vice-Chairperson)

Mr. Fréchette was appointed Vice-Chairperson of the Tribunal in January 2006. He is a lawyer specializing in international trade and regulatory affairs. A former senior official with the departments of Justice and Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Mr. Fréchette was involved in negotiations of various international trade agreements, including the North American Free Trade Agreement and the Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization. He represented Canada and other parties in several matters before the World Trade Organization. He has also served as an adjunct professor of law at the University of Ottawa and he operated his own law firm specializing in international trade matters prior to his appointment.

Jason W. Downey, LL.L. (Member)

Mr. Downey was appointed member of the Tribunal on September 14, 2009.

Mr. Downey is a lawyer with 12 years of experience practicing civil law in Quebec. Over the past eight years, he was a senior partner with the legal firm Downey Girard Avocats, where he did much commercial, corporate and civil litigation. His professional experience includes representing clients before many forums and tribunals, including the Appeal Court of Québec, the Federal Court of Canada, the Tax Court of Canada and the Superior Court of Québec.

As counsel, he has specific expertise in the agricultural and produce transformation sectors. He has worked with many clients securing quotas and with many import/export agreements ensuring their representation in large scale distribution outlets and world markets. He has also worked with export-based construction manufacturers providing legal support from the initial stages of agreements to final market deliveries.

Mr. Downey has served on the board of the Musée minéralogique et minier de Thetford Mines and the A.S. Johnson/St. Patrick School Board, an English-language school in Thetford Mines. He has also provided legal counsel to Bishop's College School.

Mr. Downey is a graduate of Champlain College in Lennoxville, Quebec, and received a Licentiate in Laws (LL.L) from the University of Ottawa. He has been a member of the Quebec Bar since 1996.

Ann Penner (Member)

Dr. Penner holds a PhD in Canadian politics and comparative politics from Carleton University. Prior to completing her degree, she was awarded the Norman Robertson Fellowship from the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, which offered her the opportunity to undertake post-doctoral studies on the rulings that domestic courts and bilateral panels have rendered when reviewing decisions made by Canadian and American trade remedy institutions.

In 1996, she began work as a trade policy analyst in Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada's Multilateral Trade Policy Division, becoming Acting Director of the Division's Communications and Consultations Unit in 2006. While at the Department, she dealt with legislative changes to Canada's Special Import Measures Act and safeguards under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Agriculture, and was also a member of Canada's negotiating team on WTO agricultural negotiations.

Since 2008, she has operated her own consulting firm, AEP Communications, providing strategic communications advice and support to a number of organizations within and outside government.

Daniel Petit (Member)

Mr. Petit was appointed member of the Tribunal on November 27, 2012.

Daniel Petit began his law career in the 1970s. He has operated his own practice and has argued cases in front of numerous civil, criminal and administrative courts. After being elected as Member of Parliament for Charlesbourg–Haute-Saint-Charles, he served as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Justice from 2008 to 2011, and spent five years on the Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights. He returned to private practice in May 2011.

Pasquale Michaele Saroli (Member)

Mr. Saroli was appointed member of the Tribunal as of March 10, 2008. A member of the Ontario Bar, he has a solid grounding in both administrative and international economic law. He had been employed at the Department of Finance since 1989, most recently as Senior Trade Policy Advisor in the International Trade Policy Division. From 1982 to 1989 he was an International Trade Development Officer with the Department of External Affairs. He served as interdepartmental project leader for the 1994 implementation of Uruguay Round—related amendments to Canada's trade remedy laws and played a key role in the 1996-2000 legislative review of the Special Import Measures Act. Mr. Saroli was also Canada's lead trade remedies negotiator in the Free Trade Area of the Americas, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Steel Subsidies Agreement, the Canada-European Free Trade Association Free Trade Agreement and the Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement negotiations. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Windsor as well as a diploma of Specialized Legal Studies from the University of Ottawa.

Biographies des membres


Stephen A. Leach, LL.B., M.B.A. (Président)

M. Leach a été nommé membre du Tribunal le 20 juillet 2009 et président le 20 octobre 2011. À titre de conseiller international, il a prodigué des conseils stratégiques au gouvernement de coalition du Liban dans le cadre des élections parlementaires de 2009 dans ce pays. Il a travaillé pour le compte d'entreprises, de gouvernements et d'organismes non gouvernementaux de toutes les régions du monde, particulièrement dans les domaines de la politique énergétique, des économies émergentes ainsi que des principes et pratiques de la saine gouvernance. Ses domaines de pratique du droit comprenaient les transactions commerciales, les opérations et restructurations de sociétés, le droit administratif et réglementaire ainsi que les affaires complexes relatives au contentieux des affaires civiles. En tant qu'associé d'un groupe d'investissement de capital de risque, il a participé à divers types d'investissements de capitaux privés, notamment l'investissement providentiel, l'investissement de capital de risque et le financement secondaire au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Chine et au Brésil. M. Leach détient un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université de l'Alberta (LL.B.) et une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Richard Ivey School of Business de l'Université de Western Ontario (M.B.A.).

Serge Fréchette (Vice-président)

M. Fréchette a été nommé vice-président du Tribunal en janvier 2006. Il est un avocat spécialisé dans les domaines du commerce international et des affaires réglementaires. Un ancien cadre supérieur au sein du ministère de la Justice et de celui des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, M. Fréchette a participé aux négociations de divers accords internationaux, notamment l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain et l'Accord instituant l'Organisation mondiale du commerce. Il a représenté le Canada et d'autres parties dans plusieurs dossiers auprès de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce. Il a également été professeur auxiliaire de droit à l'Université d'Ottawa et il dirigeait son propre cabinet d'avocats spécialisé dans les questions de commerce international avant sa nomination.

Jason W. Downey, LL.L. (Membre)

M. Downey a été nommé membre du Tribunal le 14 septembre 2009.

En sa qualité d'avocat, M. Downey a 12 années d'expérience dans la pratique du droit civil au Québec. Au cours des huit dernières années, il a été associé principal du cabinet Downey Girard Avocats, où il a œuvré dans les domaines du droit commercial, corporatif et du litige civil. Dans ses fonctions, il a représenté des clients devant divers tribunaux et organismes, dont la Cour d'appel du Québec, la Cour fédérale du Canada, la Cour canadienne de l'impôt et la Cour supérieure du Québec.

En tant que procureur, il a acquis une expertise particulière dans le domaine de l'agro alimentaire, tant au niveau de la production que de la transformation des produits. Il a travaillé avec plusieurs clients, en particulier sur le marché de l'offre et au niveau de l'importation/exportation de marchandises, assurant leur représentation dans des chaines de distribution importantes ainsi que sur les marchés mondiaux. Il a aussi travaillé avec des fabricants dans le domaine de la construction destiné à l'exportation, assurant un appui juridique tout au long du processus de production, des ententes initiales aux livraisons sur le marché.

M. Downey a siégé au conseil d'administration du Musée minéralogique et minier de Thetford Mines, ainsi qu'au conseil scolaire de l'école de langue anglaise A.S. Johnson/St. Patrick de Thetford Mines. Il a également agit comme conseiller juridique auprès de la Bishop's College School.

Ann Penner (Membre)

Mme Penner possède un doctorat en politique canadienne et en politique comparative de l'Université Carleton. Avant de terminer son doctorat, elle a été nommée bénéficiaire de la bourse Robertson du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, ce qui lui a permis de réaliser des études postdoctorales relativement aux décisions rendues par les tribunaux nationaux et les groupes spéciaux bilatéraux en instance de révision des décisions des institutions canadiennes et américaines chargées des recours commerciaux.

En 1996, Mme Penner est entrée au service d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada à titre d'analyste en matière de politique commerciale au sein de la Division des politiques de commerce multilatéral, division dont elle est devenue, en 2006, la directrice intérimaire du groupe des communications et des consultations. Ses diverses fonctions à ce ministère portaient notamment sur les modifications à la Loi canadienne sur les mesures spéciales d'importation et les mesures de protection en application de l'Accord sur l'agriculture de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC). Elle a également fait partie de l'équipe canadienne de négociation des ententes de l'OMC en matière d'agriculture.

Depuis 2008, Mme Penner dirige sa propre entreprise de services-conseils, AEP Communications, qui offre des conseils et un soutien en matière de communications stratégiques à diverses organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales.

Daniel Petit (Membre)

M. Petit a été nommé membre du Tribunal le 27 novembre 2012.

M. Petit a amorcé sa carrière en droit au cours des années 1970. Il a dirigé son propre cabinet et il a plaidé des causes devant de nombreux tribunaux de droit civil, criminel et administratif. Élu député fédéral de la circonscription de Charlesbourg-Haute-Saint-Charles, il a été secrétaire parlementaire du ministre de la Justice de 2008 à 2011, et il a siégé au Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne pendant cinq ans. Il est retourné à la pratique privée en mai 2011

Pasquale Michaele Saroli (Membre)

Me Saroli a été nommé membre du Tribunal le 10 mars 2008. Membre du Barreau de l'Ontario, il possède une formation solide en droit administratif et en droit économique international. Il travaillait au ministère des Finances depuis 1989, le plus récemment à titre de conseiller principal en politique commerciale à la Division de la politique commerciale internationale. De 1982 à 1989, il a été agent de développement du commerce au ministère des Affaires étrangères. Me Saroli a assumé les fonctions de chef de projet interministériel pour la mise en oeuvre des modifications aux lois canadiennes sur les recours commerciaux liées au Cycle d'Uruguay; il a aussi joué un rôle de premier plan dans la révision de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation entre 1996 et 2000. Il a été négociateur principal canadien des recours commerciaux dans le cadre des négociations sur la Zone de libre-échange des Amériques, l'Accord sur les subventions dans le secteur de l'acier de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l'Association européenne de libre-échange et l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Corée. Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts et d'un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université de Windsor ainsi que d'un diplôme en études spécialisées en droit de l'Université d'Ottawa.