Quarterly Financial Report Ending December 31, 2014

CANADIAN INTERNATIONAL TRADE TRIBUNAL

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in
operations, personnel and programs

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

INTRODUCTION

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and the Supplementary Estimates for 2014-2015 as well as Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012).

Organizational Overview

Further information on the mandate, roles, responsibilities and programs of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) can be found in the “2014-15 Estimates”, available on the following Web site: www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/ems-sgd/me-bpd/20142015/me-bpdtb-eng.asp.

Raison d’être

The Tribunal provides Canadian and international businesses with access to fair, transparent and timely processes for the investigation of trade remedy cases and complaints concerning federal government procurement and for the adjudication of appeals on customs and excise matters. At the request of the Government, the Tribunal provides advice in tariff, trade, commercial and economic matters.

Mission Statement

The Tribunal’s mission is to render sound, transparent and timely decisions in trade, customs and procurement cases for Canadian and international businesses and to provide the Government with sound, transparent and timely advice in tariff, trade, commercial and economic matters.

Vision

The Tribunal will be recognized as a centre of excellence in matters of trade, customs and procurement, and as a model administrative tribunal in matters of governance.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Tribunal’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Tribunal and is consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for fiscal year 2014-2015. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before monies can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the Tribunal prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

HIGHLIGHTS OF FISCAL QUARTER AND FISCAL YEAR TO DATE RESULTS

The Tribunal defines a significant variance as a variance greater than 5 percent on total authorities and on budgetary expenditures. The significant variance per standard object needs to be greater than 5 percent and $50,000 to be considered material.

Significant Changes in Authorities

On the basis of the Tribunal’s definition, there was a significant variance observed for changes in authorities. The total authorities available to the Tribunal for use by the end of the third quarter declined by $775,000 or 7.4 percent compared to the same period last year. This net decrease can be explained by an operating budget carry-forward which was below 5% unlike the previous year and the reduction in authorities following the implementation of the Budget 2012 Deficit Reduction Action Plan. The section on Budget 2012 implementation below provides more details.

Significant Changes to Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

For the period ending December 31, 2014, the Tribunal’s budgetary expenditures decreased by $457,000 or 6 percent compared to the same period last year. On the basis of the Tribunal’s definition, there were three significant variances observed for budgeted expenditures by standard object:

  • There was a decrease of $818,000 or 11.7 percent in personnel expenses as a result of a decrease in staff due to the implementation of the 2012 Budget Deficit Reduction Action Plan and to payments related to the severance elimination in the Public Service.
  • The increase of $140,000 or 58 percent in professional and special services is mainly due to the employment of consultants.
  • The increase of $241,000 in other subsidies and payments is a direct result of year-end transactions due to the November 1, 2014 transfer of the Tribunal’s staff and budget to the Administrative Tribunal Support Service of Canada.

As can be seen in Figure 1, the Tribunal spent approximately 74 percent of its authorities as of the third quarter, compared to 73 percent at the same time last year.

Description of Figure 1 – Third Quarter expenditures compared to Annual Authorities.

(Text Version)

RISKS AND UNCERTAINTIES

The quarterly financial report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 10, 2014.

There are no significant financial risks or uncertainties to report at this time.

SIGNIFICANT CHANGES IN RELATION TO OPERATIONS, PERSONNEL AND PROGRAMS

In Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2014, the Government announced its intention to create the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (ATSSC). This new organization, which consolidates operations of several administrative tribunals, will provide support services to the Tribunal.

The Economic Action Plan 2014 Act, No. 1 received Royal Assent on June 19, 2014 and the ATSSC began its operations on November 1, 2014. The Tribunal’s staff and budget were transferred to the ATSSC effective October 31st.

Pursuant to s. 31.1 of the Financial Administration Act and Order-in-Council P.C. 2014-1106 effective November 1, 2014, $3,426K is deemed to have been appropriated to the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (Net Operating Expenditures), resulting in a reduction of the same amount in Canadian International Trade Tribunal, Vote 25, Appropriation Act No. 2, 2014-15. This amount, however, is reported as part of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal’s results for the quarter ended December 31, 2014.

BUDGET 2012 IMPLEMENTATION

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that were implemented by the Tribunal in order to refocus government and programs, make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government and modernize and reduce the back office.

The Tribunal will have achieved Budget 2012 savings of $0.5 million by the end of fiscal year 2014-2015 following a review of its internal processes to find efficiencies and synergies.

The Tribunal has implemented several initiatives to deliver on its mandate more efficiently while limiting the impact on program delivery. In particular, the Tribunal was restructured to reduce inefficiencies and better leverage existing resources. The Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act was amended to replace the two Vice-chairperson positions with two Member positions.

There are no financial risks or uncertainties related to these savings.

Approved by:

Stephen A. Leach
Stephen A. Leach
Chairperson

Sylvie Mercier
Sylvie Mercier
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada

2015-04-16
Date

STATEMENT OF AUTHORITIES (unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars)

 

Fiscal Year 2014-2015

Fiscal Year 2013-2014

 

Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015

Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 (Note 1)

Year to date used at quarter-end

Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014

Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2013

Year to date used at quarter-end

Vote 25 - Operating expenditures

8,477

2,166

6,275

9,179

2,450

6,685

Statutory - Contributions to employee benefit plans

1,177

390

878

1,250

309

925

Total budgetary authorities

9,654

2,556

7,153

10,429

2,759

7,610

Non-budgetary authorities

0

0

0

0

0

0

Total authorities

9,654

2,556

7,153

10,429

2,759

7,610

 

Note 1: Pursuant to s. 31.1 of the Financial Administration Act and Order-in-Council P.C. 2014-1106 effective November 1, 2014, $3,426K is deemed to have been appropriated to the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (Net Operating Expenditures), resulting in a reduction of the same amount in Canadian International Trade Tribunal, Vote 25, Appropriation Act No. 2, 2014-15. This amount, however, is reported as part of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal’s results for the quarter ended December 31, 2014.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars)

 

Fiscal Year 2014-2015

Fiscal Year 2013-2014

 

Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015

Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 (Note 1)

Year to date used at quarter-end

Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014

Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2013

Year to date used at quarter-end

Expenditures

 

 

 

 

 

 

Personnel

8,308

2,255

6,170

8,651

2,452

6,988

Transportation and communications

299

69

150

319

77

142

Information

37

9

28

42

10

22

Professional and special services

649

137

380

767

108

240

Rentals

144

16

53

241

45

84

Repair and maintenance

48

7

11

18

12

27

Utilities, materials and supplies

47

1

27

126

20

44

Acquisition of machinery and equipment

122

59

93

265

35

63

Other subsidies and payments

0

3

241

0

0

0

Total gross budgetary expenditures

9,654

2,556

7,153

10,429

2,759

7,610

Less revenues netted against expenditures

 

 

 

 

 

 

Revenues

 

 

 

-

-

-

Total revenues netted against expenditures

 

 

 

-

-

-

Total net budgetary expenditures

9,654

2,556

7,153

10,429

2,759

7,610

 

Note 1: As at December 31, 2014, $1,224K of expenditures have been incurred on behalf of Administrative Tribunals Support Services of Canada by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal against the Administrative Tribunals Support Services of Canada Net Operating Expenditures vote and $195K has been charged against the budgetary statutory authorities. These amounts, however, are reported as part of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal’s results for the quarter ended December 31, 2014.

Resource Type

Status

Attachments

Publication Date

Friday, April 17, 2015

Modification Date

Friday, April 17, 2015

Rapport financier trimestriel se terminant le 31 décembre 2014

TRIBUNAL CANADIEN DU COMMERCE EXTÉRIEUR

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants
quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

INTRODUCTION

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé selon l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et établi selon la formule et les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il convient de le lire de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses de 2014-2015, de même qu’avec le Plan d’action économique 2012 du Canada (Budget 2012).

Aperçu de l’organisation

De plus amples renseignements concernant le mandat, les rôles, les responsabilités et les programmes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) se trouvent dans le « Budget des dépenses 2014-2015 », sur le site Web suivant : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/ems-sgd/me-bpd/20142015/me-bpdtb-fra.asp.

Raison d’être

Le Tribunal fournit aux entreprises canadiennes et internationales l’accès à des procédures d’enquête justes, transparentes et efficaces sur les causes liées aux recours commerciaux et les plaintes concernant les marchés publics fédéraux ainsi que sur les appels en matière de douanes et d’accise. À la demande du gouvernement, le Tribunal fournit des conseils sur des questions tarifaires, commerciales et économiques.

Énoncé de mission

Le Tribunal a pour mission de rendre en temps opportun des décisions judicieuses et transparentes dans les causes sur le commerce, les douanes et les marchés publics pour les entreprises canadiennes et internationales et de fournir en temps opportun au gouvernement des conseils judicieux et transparents sur des questions tarifaires, commerciales et économiques.

Vision

Le Tribunal doit être reconnu comme un centre d’excellence en matière de commerce, de douanes et de marchés publics et un tribunal administratif modèle sur le plan de la gouvernance.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Tribunal qui ont été accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Tribunal en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses de l’exercice financier 2014-2015. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser des sommes sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois, sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l’article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à lancer un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Dans le cadre du processus de présentation de rapports sur le rendement du Ministère, le Tribunal prépare ses états financiers ministériels annuels selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale, conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor. Celles-ci sont fondées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. Cependant, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement demeurent déterminées en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Ce rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification ou d’un examen externe.

FAITS SAILLANTS DES RÉSULTATS FINANCIERS TRIMESTRIELS ET CUMULATIFS

Le Tribunal définit une variance marquée comme une variance de plus de 5 p. 100 par rapport à l’ensemble des autorisations et aux dépenses budgétaires. Pour considérer comme sensible une variance marquée par article courant, elle doit être supérieure à 5 p. 100 et à 50 000 $.

Changements importants aux autorisations

Selon la définition du Tribunal, il y a eu un écart important quant aux autorisations. Le montant total des autorisations accordées au Tribunal par la fin du troisième trimestre a diminué de 775 000 $ ou 7,4 p. 100 par rapport à la même période l’an dernier. Cette diminution nette s’explique par un report du budget de fonctionnement inférieur à 5% contrairement à l’année passée et par la diminution des autorisations à la suite de la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action pour la réduction du déficit du Budget 2012. La section ci-dessous portant sur la mise en œuvre du Budget 2012 fournit plus de renseignements à cet égard.

Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires par article courant

Pour la période prenant fin le 31 décembre 2014, les dépenses budgétaires du Tribunal ont diminuées de 457 000 $ ou 6 p. 100 relativement à la même période l’an dernier. Selon la définition du Tribunal, il y a eu trois variances marquées des dépenses prévues au budget par article courant :

  • une réduction de 818 000 $ ou 11,7 p. 100 des frais de personnel en raison d’une réduction du personnel découlant de la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action pour la réduction du déficit du Budget 2012 et de paiements effectués en lien à l’élimination des indemnités de départ dans la fonction publique;
  • une augmentation de 140 000 $ ou 58 p. 100 des services professionnels et spéciaux s’explique principalement par l’embauche de consultants;
  • une augmentation de 241 000 $ au niveau des autres subventions et paiements est directement reliée aux transactions de fin d’exercice, suite au transfert du budget et du personnel au Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs effectif le 1er novembre 2014.

Comme le montre la figure 1, le Tribunal a dépensé environ 74 p. 100 de ses autorisations au troisième trimestre relativement à 73 p. 100 à la même période l’an dernier.

Description de la figure 1 – Dépenses du troisième trimestre comparativement aux autorisations annuelles.

(Version textuelle)

RISQUES ET INCERTITUDES

Le rapport financier trimestriel tient compte des résultats de l’exercice en cours par rapport au Budget principal des dépenses pour lequel la totalité des crédits a été accordée le 10 juin 2014.

Il n’y a pas de risques financiers ou d’incertitudes notables à signaler à ce moment-ci.

CHANGEMENTS IMPORTANTS QUANT AU FONCTIONNEMENT, AU PERSONNEL ET AUX PROGRAMMES

Dans le Plan d’action économique du Canada 2014, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de créer le Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs (SCDATA). Ce nouveau ministère qui regroupe les opérations de plusieurs tribunaux administratifs offrira des services de soutien au Tribunal.

La Loi no 1 sur le plan d’action économique de 2014 a reçu la sanction royale le 19 juin 2014 et le SCDATA entrera en vigueur le 1er novembre 2014. Le personnel et le budget du Tribunal ont été transférés au SCDATA le 31 octobre.

En vertu de l’article 31.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et le décret PC 2014-1106 entré en vigueur le 1er novembre 2014, la somme de 3 426 milliers de dollars est réputée avoir affectée au crédit de dépenses nettes de fonctionnement de Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs, ce qui a pour effet de réduire d’autant le montant du crédit du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur prévu par la Loi de crédits No. 2 de 2014-2015. Ce montant est toutefois présenté dans les autorisations du Tribunal pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2014.

MISE EN OEUVRE DU BUDGET 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 et qui ont été mises en œuvre par le Tribunal dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Le Tribunal réalisera des épargnes de 0,5 million de dollars relativement au Budget 2012 d’ici la fin de l’exercice 2014-2015 suite à une réexamen de ses processus internes afin de trouver des synergies et réaliser des économies.

Le Tribunal a mis en œuvre plusieurs initiatives afin d’exécuter son mandat de façon plus efficace, tout en limitant les répercussions sur l’exécution du programme. En particulier, le Tribunal a été restructuré  afin de réduire les inefficacités et de mieux mobiliser les ressources existantes. La Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur a été modifiée afin que les deux postes de vice‑président deviennent des postes de membres.

Il n’y a aucun risque financier ni aucune incertitude liés à ces épargnes.

Approuvé par :

Stephen A. Leach
Stephen A. Leach
Président

Sylvie Mercier
Sylvie Mercier
Dirigeante principale des finances

Ottawa, Canada

2015-04-16
Date

ÉTAT DES AUTORISATIONS (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)

 

Exercice 2014-2015

Exercice 2013-2014

 

Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015

Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 (Note 1)

Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2014

Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013

Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Vote 25 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement

8 477

2 166

6 275

9 179

2 450

6 685

Autorisation législative – Contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés

1 177

390

878

1 250

309

925

Autorisations budgétaires totales

9 654

2 556

7 153

10 429

2 759

7 610

Autorisations non budgétaires

0

0

0

0

0

0

Autorisations totales

9 654

2 556

7 153

10 429

2 759

7 610

 

Note 1 : En vertu de l’article 31.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et le décret PC 2014-1106 entré en vigueur le 1er novembre 2014, la somme de 3 426 milliers de dollars est réputée avoir affectée avoir affectée au crédit de dépenses nettes de fonctionnement de Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs, ce qui a pour effet de réduire d’autant le montant du crédit du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur prévu par la Loi de crédits No. 2 de 2014-2015. Ce montant est toutefois présenté dans les autorisations du Tribunal pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2014.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)

 

Exercice 2014-2015

Exercice 2013-2014

 

Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015

Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014

(Note 1)

Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2014

Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013

Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Dépenses

 

 

 

 

 

 

Personnel

8 308

2 255

6 170

8 651

2 452

6 988

Transport et communications

299

69

150

319

77

142

Information

37

9

28

42

10

22

Services professionnels et spéciaux

649

137

380

767

108

240

Location

144

16

53

241

45

84

Services de réparations et d’entretien

48

7

11

18

12

27

Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements

47

1

27

126

20

44

Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage

122

59

93

265

35

63

Autres subventions et paiements

0

3

241

0

0

0

Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales

9 654

2 556

7 153

10 429

2 759

7 610

Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses

 

 

 

 

 

 

Revenus

 

 

 

-

-

-

Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses

 

 

 

-

-

-

Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales

9 654

2 556

7 153

10 429

2 759

7 610

 

Note 1 : Au 31 décembre 2014, des dépenses se chiffrant à 1 224 milliers de dollars ont été engagées pour le compte de Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur au crédit de dépenses nettes de fonctionnement de Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs.  Un montant de 195 milliers de dollars a également été engagé aux autorisations législatives budgétaires. Ces montants sont toutefois présentés dans les résultats du Tribunal pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2014.

Type de documentation

Statut

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 17 Avril 2015

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 17 Avril 2015