HOT-ROLLED STEEL SHEET AND STRIP

HOT-ROLLED STEEL SHEET AND STRIP
Expiry Review No. RR-2015-002

Order issued
Friday, May 20, 2016

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF an expiry review, pursuant to subsection 76.03(3) of the Special Import Measures Act, of the order made by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal on September 10, 2010, in Expiry Review No. RR-2015-002, continuing, without amendment, its order made on August 15, 2011, in Expiry Review No. RR-2010-001, continuing its order made on August 16, 2006, in Expiry Review No. RR-2005-002, continuing its finding made on August 17, 2001, in Inquiry No. NQ 2001-001, concerning the dumping of flat hot-rolled carbon and alloy steel sheet and strip, including secondary or non-prime material, in various widths from 0.75 in. (19 mm) and wider, and (a) for product in coil form, in thicknesses from 0.054 in. to 0.625 in. (1.37 mm to 15.875 mm) inclusive, and (b) for product that is cut to length, in thicknesses from 0.054 in. up to but not including 0.187 in. (1.37 mm up to but not including 4.75 mm), excluding (i) flat-rolled stainless steel sheet and strip and (ii) flat hot-rolled, cut-to-length alloy steel products containing no less than 11.5 percent manganese, in thicknesses from 0.12 in. to 0.19 in. (3 mm to 4.75 mm), originating in or exported from Brazil, the People’s Republic of China, Chinese Taipei, India and Ukraine, and the subsidizing of such products originating in or exported from India (the subject goods).

ORDER

WHEREAS the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) is required, pursuant to subsection 76.03(10) of the Special Import Measures Act, to determine whether the expiry of the above‑mentioned order is likely to result in injury;

AND WHEREAS, based upon information available to the Tribunal, it appears that Varsteel Ltd. (Varsteel) is a service centre which sells and/or produces the goods that are the subject of the Tribunal’s expiry review;

AND WHEREAS Varsteel was directed to respond to the Tribunal’s Integrated Steel Mill/Steel Service Centre Questionnaire (Questionnaire), available online, on or about April 7, 2016;

AND WHEREAS the Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal subsequently attempted to contact or contacted Varsteel via telephone and electronic mail on several occasions, including on April 13, 19, 26, 28 and May 5 and 11, 2016, with respect to the completion of the Questionnaire;

AND WHEREAS Varsteel has not provided the information requested by the Tribunal in its Questionnaire request;

AND UPON being satisfied that Varsteel has or is likely to have information in its possession or control relevant to the Tribunal’s expiry review;

AND WHEREAS the Tribunal considers such information to be relevant and important to the conduct of its expiry review;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to subsection 17(2) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Tribunal has, as regards the production and inspection of documents, the enforcement of its orders and other matters necessary or proper for the due exercise of its jurisdiction, all such powers, rights and privileges as are vested in a superior court of record;

THE TRIBUNAL ORDERS THAT:

  1. A duly authorized representative of Varsteel shall deliver to the Tribunal a certified written return of information in fulfilment of the information requirements listed in the attached schedule.
  2. Unless Varsteel satisfies the Tribunal in writing before 12:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on May 27, 2016, that this order should not have been issued or that the required information cannot reasonably be provided, the required information is to be received no later than 12:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on May 30, 2016. The information may be filed via the Tribunal’s secure E‑filing service at https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_e.html or by e‑mail at citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca, should the risks associated with this method of transmission be accepted by Varsteel, or by sending a hard copy or copy on digital media by courier to the following address:

    The Registrar
    Canadian International Trade Tribunal Secretariat
    333 Laurier Avenue West
    15th Floor
    Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G7

  1. The information provided by Varsteel in fulfilment of the information requirements in the Tribunal’s Integrated Steel Mill/Steel Service Centre Questionnaire may be designated as confidential by Varsteel in accordance with sections 43 to 49 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act.

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Presiding Member

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Member

Rose Ritcey
Rose Ritcey
Member

SCHEDULE

Information Required

Information as requested in Schedules 2, 4, 9 and 11 of the Integrated Steel Mill/Steel Service Centre Questionnaire.

Case Number(s)

RR-2015-002

Attachment(s)

rr2p02a_e.pdf (45.97 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Modification Date

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

FEUILLARDS ET TÔLES PLATS EN ACIER LAMINÉS À CHAUD

FEUILLARDS ET TÔLES PLATS EN ACIER LAMINÉS À CHAUD
Réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2015-002

Ordonnance rendue
le vendredi 20 mai 2016

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, aux termes du paragraphe 76.03(3) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, de son ordonnance rendue le 15 août 2011, dans le cadre du réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2010-001, prorogeant son ordonnance rendue le 16 août 2006, dans le cadre du réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2005-002, prorogeant ses conclusions rendues le 17 août 2001, dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ‑2001-001, concernant le dumping de feuillards et tôles plats en acier au carbone et en acier allié, laminés à chaud, y compris des matériaux de récupération ou de qualité inférieure, de largeurs variées, égales ou supérieures à 0,75 po (19 mm), et a) pour les produits sous forme de bobines, d’une épaisseur de 0,054 po à 0,625 po (de 1,37 mm à 15,875 mm) inclusivement, et b) pour les produits coupés à longueur, d’une épaisseur égale ou supérieure à 0,054 po, mais inférieure à 0,187 po (dimension minimale de 1,37 mm, mais de moins de 4,75 mm), excluant (i) les feuillards et les tôles plats en acier inoxydable et (ii) les produits plats en acier allié, laminés à chaud, coupés à longueur, dont la teneur en manganèse est d’au moins 11,5 p. 100, d’une épaisseur de 0,12 po à 0,19 po (de 3 mm à 4,75 mm), originaires ou exportés du Brésil, de la République populaire de Chine, du Taipei chinois, de l’Inde et de l’Ukraine, et le subventionnement de tels produits originaires ou exportés de l’Inde (les marchandises en question).

ORDONNANCE

ATTENDU QUE le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) est tenu de déterminer, aux termes du paragraphe 76.03(10) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, si l’expiration de l’ordonnance susmentionnée risque de causer un dommage;

ET ATTENDU QUE, selon les renseignements dont dispose le Tribunal, il semble que Varsteel Ltd. (Varsteel) soit un centre de service qui vend et/ou fabrique des marchandises comme celles qui font l’objet du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration;

ET ATTENDU QUE le Tribunal a demandé à Varsteel le ou vers le 7 avril 2016 de remplir le questionnaire à l’intention des usines nationales et des centres de service (le questionnaire), qui était accessible en ligne);

ET ATTENDU QUE le Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur a par la suite tenté de communiquer ou a communiqué avec Varsteel par téléphone et par courriel à plusieurs reprises, notamment les 13, 19, 26 et 28 avril et les 5 et 11 mai 2016 concernant la demande de remplir le questionnaire;

ET ATTENDU QUE Varsteel n’a pas fourni les renseignements demandés par le Tribunal dans le questionnaire;

ET ÉTANT convaincu que Varsteel a ou est susceptible d’avoir en sa possession ou sous son contrôle des renseignements qui sont pertinents quant au réexamen relatif à l’expiration;

ET ATTENDU QUE le Tribunal est d’avis que de tels renseignements sont pertinents et importants pour la conduite de son réexamen relatif à l’expiration;

ET ATTENDU QUE, aux termes du paragraphe 17(2) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal a, aux fins de la production et de l’examen des pièces, de l’exécution de ses ordonnances et de toutes autres questions liées à l’exercice de sa compétence, les attributions d’une cour supérieure d’archives;

LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE CE QUI SUIT :

  1. Un représentant dûment autorisé de Varsteel est sommé de remettre au Tribunal les renseignements nécessaires afin de satisfaire à la demande de renseignements énoncée à l’annexe ci-jointe, dûment assermenté ou sous foi d’une affirmation solennelle.
  2. À défaut pour Varsteel de convaincre le Tribunal, par écrit, avant 12 h (heure de l’Est) le 27 mai 2016 que la présente ordonnance n’aurait pas dû être rendue ou que les renseignements demandés ne peuvent être fournis de façon raisonnable, les renseignements demandés doivent parvenir au Tribunal au plus tard à 12 h (heure de l’Est) le 30 mai 2016. Les renseignements peuvent être déposés au moyen du Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé à l’adresse https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_f.html, ou par courriel à l’adresse tcce-citt@‌tribunal.gc.ca si Varsteel accepte les risques associés à cette méthode de transmission, ou en faisant parvenir une copie papier ou une copie sur support numérique par messagerie à l’adresse suivante :

    Le greffier
    Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
    15e étage
    333, avenue Laurier Ouest
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G7

  1. Les renseignements fournis par Varsteel afin de satisfaire à la demande de renseignements du questionnaire à l’intention des usines nationales et des centres de service peuvent être désignés confidentiels conformément aux articles 43 à 49 de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Membre présidant

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Membre

Rose Ritcey
Rose Ritcey
Membre

ANNEXE

Renseignements demandés

Veuillez fournir les renseignements demandés aux annexes 2, 4, 9 et 11 du questionnaire à l’intention des usines nationales et des centres de service.

Numéro(s) du cas

RR-2015-002

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

rr2p02a_f.pdf (47.34 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mercredi 25 Mai 2016

Date de modification

Le Mercredi 25 Mai 2016