Filing of Questionnaire Replies and Revisions and Issuance of Revised Investigation Report

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

FILING OF QUESTIONNAIRE REPLIES AND REVISIONS AND ISSUANCE OF REVISED INVESTIGATION REPORT

Purpose of this Practice Notice

In recent proceedings under the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) has observed an increasing number of questionnaire replies and/or revisions being filed well beyond the initial due date and often after the Investigation Report has been issued. This has often resulted in confusion for parties and placed an unnecessary burden on both the Tribunal and parties’ counsel.

The purpose of this notice is to outline procedures that the Tribunal is implementing, effective immediately, to improve the efficiency and fairness of SIMA proceedings and reduce the burden on participants and the Tribunal alike.

Procedures

Questionnaire respondents shall ensure that their replies to questionnaires are complete and accurate before filing them with the Tribunal. Counsel should review questionnaire replies submitted on behalf of their clients before filing.

Responses to questionnaires shall be filed by the due date indicated on the questionnaire.[1]

Where revisions to questionnaire replies are necessitated by follow-ups from staff of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Secretariat (the Secretariat), questionnaire respondents shall provide the revisions by the deadlines provided by the staff of the Secretariat.

Any revision to a questionnaire response filed within 10 calendar days of the distribution of Tribunal exhibits (the date of which will have been indicated in the notice commencing the proceedings) will not be included in the Investigation Report that is distributed with the exhibits.

Revisions not in response to follow-ups from staff of the Secretariat received after this cut-off date will not be accepted and not put onto the record except in exceptional circumstances and with leave of the Tribunal. Guidelines concerning requests for leave to file documents after the deadline set by the Tribunal are set out in the appendix to this notice; these guidelines may also be found at http://www.citt.gc.ca/en/Management_cases_before_tribunal_e.

Rather than issuing ongoing revisions to the Investigation Report, in whole or in part, as revised information trickles in throughout the course of the proceedings, only a single Revised Investigation Report will be issued. This version will consolidate all revisions accepted up until then and will be issued shortly after receipt of the reply submissions of the parties supporting the proceedings.

Counsel and parties will have an opportunity to address any matters arising from the Revised Investigation Report during the matters arising phase of the Tribunal’s proceedings and at the hearing.

APPENDIX

GUIDELINES ON REQUESTS FOR LATE FILINGS

  1. Subject to paragraph (4), a submission, response, questionnaire or other document shall not be filed by a party past the date specified by the Registrar as the date on or before which it is to be filed in the proceeding.
  2. A party that seeks to file a submission, response, questionnaire or other document past the date specified by the Registrar as the date on or before which it is to be filed shall apply to the Tribunal as soon as practicable, indicating

(i) the reasons why the submission, response, questionnaire or other document was not or will not be filed on time,

(ii) the relevance of the submission, response, questionnaire or other document to the matters under investigation, and

(iii) why late filing should be allowed.

  1. An application under paragraph (2) shall be made by sending to the Registrar a written request addressing the issues listed in paragraph (2).
  2. On application under paragraph (2), the Tribunal may,

(i) seek the views of other parties to the proceeding where it considers it appropriate,

(ii) allow the document to be filed in whole or in part, or

(iii) deny the application.

  1. The Tribunal will notify the parties of its decision under paragraph (4) and give the reasons therefor where it considers it appropriate.
 

[1].       In this respect, the Tribunal notes the following excerpt from its practice notice titled “Management of Cases Before the Tribunal” last modified on December 23, 2014: “Tribunal Deadlines: Having regard, among other things, to (i) the dictates of natural justice and procedural fairness, (ii) case management exigencies and (iii) other demands on the Tribunal’s time and resources, deadlines should not be considered notional. Rather, all deadlines must be strictly observed, except in demonstrably extraordinary circumstances (e.g. information was not reasonably available prior to the deadline set for the filing of submissions, illness, etc.) and, then, only with leave of the Tribunal. Respecting deadlines is also particularly important in the context of questionnaires and requests for information issued by the Tribunal in injury inquiries or expiry reviews conducted pursuant to the Special Import Measures Act.”

Resource Type

Status

Publication Date

Friday, June 10, 2016

Modification Date

Friday, June 10, 2016

Dépôt de réponses aux questionnaires et de révisions et publication du rapport d’enquête révisé

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

DÉPÔT DE RÉPONSES AUX QUESTIONNAIRES ET DE RÉVISIONS ET PUBLICATION DU RAPPORT D’ENQUÊTE RÉVISÉ

But du présent avis de pratique

Récemment, dans des procédures aux termes de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) a remarqué une augmentation dans le nombre de réponses aux questionnaires et/ou de révisions qui sont déposées après le délai initial et souvent après la publication du rapport d’enquête. Ceci a souvent créé une confusion pour les parties et un fardeau inutile pour le Tribunal et les conseillers juridiques des parties.

Le but de présent avis est de présenter les grandes lignes des procédures que le Tribunal met en œuvre immédiatement afin d’améliorer l’efficacité et l’équité des procédures aux termes de la LMSI et de réduire le fardeau pour les participants et le Tribunal.

Procédures

Les répondants aux questionnaires doivent s’assurer que leurs réponses aux questionnaires sont complètes et précises avant qu’elles soient déposées auprès du Tribunal. Les conseillers juridiques doivent réviser les réponses aux questionnaires qui sont déposées au nom de leurs clients avant le dépôt.

Les réponses aux questionnaires doivent être déposées dans le délai indiqué dans le questionnaire[1].

Lorsque des révisions aux réponses aux questionnaires sont requises à la suite de demandes provenant du personnel du Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Secrétariat), les répondants aux questionnaires doivent fournir les révisions dans les délais indiqués par le personnel du Secrétariat.

Toute révision d’une réponse au questionnaire déposée dans les 10 jours civils suivant la distribution des pièces du Tribunal (cette date est indiquée dans l’avis d’ouverture de la procédure) ne sera pas incluse dans le rapport d’enquête qui est distribué avec les pièces.

Les révisions qui ne sont pas en réponse aux demandes du personnel du Secrétariat qui sont reçues après cette date limite ne seront pas acceptées et ne feront pas partie du dossier sauf dans des circonstances exceptionnelles et avec l’autorisation du Tribunal. Les lignes directrices concernant les demandes d’autorisation de déposer des documents après le délai fixé par le Tribunal sont énoncés à l’annexe du présent avis; ces lignes directrices sont aussi disponibles au http://www.citt.gc.ca/fr/Management_cases_before_tribunal_f.

Plutôt que de publier continuellement des révisions du rapport d’enquête, en tout ou en partie, puisque des renseignements révisés sont déposés tout au long de la procédure, un seul rapport d’enquête révisé sera publié. Cette version regroupera toutes les révisions acceptées et sera publié peu après la réception des exposés en réponse des parties à l’appui de la procédure.

Les conseillers juridiques et les parties auront l’occasion de traiter de toute question qui découle du rapport d’enquête révisé à cette phase de la procédure du Tribunal et à l’audience.

ANNEXE

LIGNES DIRECTRICES CONCERNANT LE DÉPÔT TARDIF

  1. Sous réserve du paragraphe (4), une partie ne doit pas déposer d’exposé, de réponse, de questionnaire ni aucun autre document après la date limite de dépôt à la procédure prescrite par le greffier.
  2. Une partie qui souhaite déposer un exposé, une réponse, un questionnaire ou un autre document après la date limite de dépôt prescrite par le greffier doit en faire la demande auprès du Tribunal, en indiquant

(i) les motifs pour lesquels l’exposé, la réponse, le questionnaire ou un autre document n’a pas été déposé à temps ou ne le sera pas,

(ii) pertinence de l’exposé, de la réponse, du questionnaire ou d’un autre document à l’endroit des questions qui font l’objet de l’enquête,

(iii) les motifs pour lesquels le dépôt tardif devrait être autorisé.

  1. Une demande présentée aux termes du paragraphe (2) doit être faite en acheminant au greffier une demande écrite qui répond aux éléments énumérés dans le paragraphe (2).
  2. Sur réception d’une demande présentée aux termes du paragraphe (2), le Tribunal peut

(i) solliciter l’opinion des autres parties à la procédure s’il le juge pertinent,

(ii) autoriser le dépôt du document en totalité ou en partie,

(iii) rejeter la demande.

  1. Le Tribunal avisera les parties de la décision qu’il rend en application du paragraphe (4) ainsi que des raisons qui la motive.
 

[1].       À cet égard, le Tribunal fait remarquer l’extrait suivant de son avis de pratique intitulé « Gestion des causes dont le Tribunal est saisi » ayant été modifié le 23 décembre 2014 : « Délais du Tribunal : Compte tenu entre autres (i) des préceptes du droit naturel et de l'équité procédurale, (ii) des exigences en matière de gestion des dossiers et (iii) des autres activités accaparant les ressources du Tribunal et le temps dont il dispose, les délais ne doivent pas être considérés comme hypothétiques. Tous les délais doivent être rigoureusement respectés, sauf dans des circonstances manifestement exceptionnelles (par exemple quand des renseignements ne sont pas disponibles pour une raison valable avant le délai du dépôt d'un mémoire, pour cause de maladie, etc.), et ce, uniquement avec l'autorisation du Tribunal. Le respect des délais est aussi particulièrement important en ce qui concerne les questionnaires et les demandes de renseignements émis par le Tribunal dans le cadre d'enquêtes de dommage ou de réexamens relatif à l'expiration aux termes de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation. »

Type de documentation

Statut

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 10 Juin 2016

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 10 Juin 2016