THE ACCESS INFORMATION AGENCY INC.

THE ACCESS INFORMATION AGENCY INC.
v.
DEPARTMENT OF GLOBAL AFFAIRS
File No. PR-2016-001

Order and reasons issued
Wednesday, June 8, 2016

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a complaint filed by The Access Information Agency Inc. pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.);

AND FURTHER TO a motion filed by The Access Information Agency Inc. requesting an order directing the Department of Global Affairs and the Department of Public Works and Government Services to produce certain documents.

BETWEEN

THE ACCESS INFORMATION AGENCY INC. Complainant

AND

THE DEPARTMENT OF GLOBAL AFFAIRS Government Institution

ORDER

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal grants the motion in part.

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal orders the Department of Global Affairs and, if applicable, the Department of Public Works and Government Services to file the following documents with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, at the latest June 15, 2016:

  • the scoring documents, including the scoring tables developed or used by the member or members of the evaluation committee;
  • all scoring supplements developed or used by the member or members of the evaluation committee;
  • the guidelines or any explanation developed or used by the member or members of the evaluation committee with regard to the evaluation of the evaluation criteria;
  • the raw scoring sheets or evaluation notes of each evaluator;
  • the minutes, memoranda or any written notes produced further to the evaluators’ meetings and relating of the evaluation of bids;
  • any other document not mentioned above and relating to the evaluation of bids with respect to the procurement in question in the complaint, unless such document has already been filed;
  • the missing documents at tab 8 of the Government Institution Report, in particular the letter informing MaxSys Staffing & Consulting that it was not awarded the contract and the letter informing LRO Staffing that it was awarded the contract;
  • the missing documents at tab 7 of the Government Institution Report relating to the evaluation of bids, if applicable, submitted by MWCO and GSI International Consulting Group;
  • the missing documents at tab 6 of the Government Institution Report, in particular the bids, if applicable, submitted by MWCO and GSI International Consulting Group;
  • the missing pages at tab 1 of the Government Institution Report.

Furthermore, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal orders the Department of Global Affairs and, if applicable, the Department of Public Works and Government Services to provide the identity and contact information at work of the evaluators.

The Access Information Agency Inc. shall file its comments on these documents and this information, if applicable, at the latest June 20, 2016.

If the documents required to be filed or if the comments contain information that the Department of Global Affairs, The Access Information Agency Inc. or, if applicable, the Department of Public Works and Government Services wish to be kept confidential, they shall be filed in accordance with subsection 46(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act.

The parties are required to serve each other and file with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal simultaneously.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Presiding Member

STATEMENT OF REASONS

  1. On April 6, 2016, The Access Information Agency Inc. (AIA) filed a complaint with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal), pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act,[1] concerning a request for availability issued by the Department of Global Affairs (GAC) on March 9, 2016, referenced as “DCP Advanced Privacy ATIP Officer – May 2, 2016”. The request for availability was issued pursuant to a standing offer for temporary help services in the National Capital Region for the purpose of issuing a call-up to one of the companies holding a standing offer. The requested services were for a consultant specialized in dealing with access to information and privacy requests.
  2. AIA’s alleged grounds of complaint accepted for inquiry are as follows:
    (1) AIA’s bid was not properly evaluated, notably because GAC used undisclosed evaluation criteria;
    (2) GAC neglected to provide AIA with explanations regarding the evaluation of its proposal and did not provide AIA with information concerning the characteristics and advantages of the winning bid;
    (3) GAC did not have the right to cancel the request for availability and to issue a new one.
  3. On May 26, 2016, AIA filed a motion requesting the following orders:
    1. ordering GAC to abide by its obligations under the Agreement on Internal Trade[2] and to disclose all documents in its possession with regard to the procurement process titled “DCP Advanced Privacy ATIP Officer – May 2, 2016”;
    2. ordering the Department of Public Works and Government Services (PWGSC) to disclose all documents in its possession with regard to the procurement process titled “DCP Advanced Privacy ATIP Officer – May 2, 2016”;
    3. ordering GAC to disclose all documents in its possession with regard to the follow-up to the procurement process titled “DCP Advanced Privacy ATIP Officer – May 2, 2016”, as described in Exhibit 12 filed by AIA.
  4. GAC filed its comments on the motion on May 31, 2016, and AIA filed its comments in reply on June 1, 2016.
  5. Pursuant to subsection 17(2) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal may order the production of documents or pertinent information that relates to the issues before it. This type of order allows the Tribunal to obtain and examine the documents or information for the exercise of its jurisdiction, which, in an inquiry concerning a procurement process, involves determining the validity of the grounds of complaint.
  6. Having examined the parties’ comments, the Tribunal is of the opinion that the orders requested by AIA are too broad in the context of a Tribunal inquiry concerning a procurement process. The government institution has an obligation to provide all relevant documents in its possession in order to help the Tribunal in the exercise of its jurisdiction. Having said this, the complainant, in its motion, also had an obligation to identify the documents that seem to be missing and which it believes are necessary for it to state its complaint. In this case, the initial arguments underlying AIA’s motion were not precise enough to show the relevance of the requested documents with regard to determining the grounds of complaint under inquiry or developing a recommendation by the Tribunal, if applicable, of an appropriate remedy. Nevertheless, AIA did present some useful precisions in its comments in reply, which now allow the Tribunal to grant AIA’s motion in part.
  7. Furthermore, the Tribunal reiterates that the relevance of documents or information concerning the grounds of complaint is a separate issue from the one regarding the scope of GAC’s substantive obligations under the trade agreements that are raised by the grounds of complaint, including its obligations in relation to providing information to non-winning bidders. Therefore, the Tribunal cannot, in the context of this order, “order GAC to abide by its obligations under the AIT” [translation]. AIA’s arguments regarding the scope of GAC’s obligations concern the basis of its complaint. These issues will be decided by the Tribunal at the conclusion of its inquiry. Therefore, for the purposes of this order, the Tribunal has not taken into account those arguments. For these reasons, this decision does not pre-determine the Tribunal’s decision on the merits with regard to the validity of the grounds of complaint or its possible recommendation of a remedy.
  8. The Tribunal concludes that the documents and information mentioned below could shed light on the grounds of complaint and help with a recommendation, if applicable, for remedy and must be provided by GAC or, if applicable, PWGSC, by the deadlines set by the Tribunal:
    • the scoring documents, including the scoring tables developed or used by the member or members of the evaluation committee;
    • all scoring supplements developed or used by the member or members of the evaluation committee;
    • the guidelines or any explanation developed or used by the member or members of the evaluation committee with regard to the evaluation of the evaluation criteria;
    • the raw scoring sheets or evaluation notes of each evaluator;
    • the minutes, memoranda or any written notes produced further to the evaluators’ meetings and relating of the evaluation of bids;
    • any other document not mentioned above and relating to the evaluation of bids with respect to the procurement in question in the complaint, unless such document has already been filed;
    • the missing documents at tab 8 of the Government Institution Report (GIR), in particular the letter informing MaxSys Staffing & Consulting that it was not awarded the contract and the letter informing LRO Staffing that it was awarded the contract;
    • the missing documents at tab 7 of the GIR relating to the evaluation of bids, if applicable, submitted by MWCO and GSI International Consulting Group;
    • the missing documents at tab 6 of the GIR, in particular the bids, if applicable, submitted by MWCO and GSI International Consulting Group;
    • the missing pages at tab 1 of the GIR.
  9. Furthermore, the Tribunal orders GAC and, if applicable, PWGSC to provide the identity and contact information at work of the evaluators.
  10. With regard to AIA’s request concerning the documents mentioned in paragraph 3(c) above, the Tribunal notes that GAC provided, with its comments on AIA’s motion, two new requests for availability for temporary help services of a consultant specialized in dealing with access to information and privacy requests, issued on May 24 and 27, 2016. The Tribunal also notes that AIA did not reiterate this requested conclusion in its comments in reply.
  11. If AIA wishes to file comments on the documents and information provided by GAC under this order or, if applicable, by PWGSC, it must do so at the latest June 20, 2016.
  12. If the documents required to be filed or the comments contain information that GAC, AIA or, if applicable, PWGSC wish to be kept confidential, they shall be filed in accordance with sections 46 and following of the CITT Act.
  13. In light of the foregoing, the Tribunal grants the motion in part.
 

[1].     R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.) [CITT Act].

[2].     18 July 1994, C. Gaz. 1995.I.1323, online: Internal Trade Secretariat <http://www.ait-aci.ca/agreement-on-internal-trade/> [AIT].

Case Number(s)

PR-2016-001

Attachment(s)

pr2q01b_e.pdf (89.27 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Modification Date

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

THE ACCESS INFORMATION AGENCY INC.

THE ACCESS INFORMATION AGENCY INC.
c.
MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES MONDIALES
Dossier no PR-2016-001

Ordonnance et motifs rendus
le mercredi 8 juin 2016

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une plainte déposée par The Access Information Agency Inc. aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.);

ET À LA SUITE D’une requête déposée par The Access Information Agency Inc. pour obtenir une ordonnance enjoignant le ministère des Affaires mondiales et le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux de produire certains documents.

ENTRE

THE ACCESS INFORMATION AGENCY INC. Partie plaignante

ET

LE MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES MONDIALES Institution fédérale

ORDONNANCE

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur accueille la requête en partie.

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur ordonne au ministère des Affaires mondiales et, le cas échéant, au ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux de déposer auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, au plus tard le 15 juin 2016, les documents suivants :

  • les documents de cotation, y compris les tables de cotation élaborées ou utilisées par le ou les membres du comité évaluateur;
  • tous suppléments de cotation élaborés ou utilisés par le ou les membres du comité évaluateur;
  • les lignes directrices ou toute explication élaborée ou utilisée par le ou les membres du comité évaluateur quant à l’évaluation des critères d’évaluation;
  • les feuilles de cotation brutes ou notes d’évaluation provenant de chaque évaluateur;
  • les procès-verbaux, notes de service ou toutes notes écrites ayant été produits à la suite de réunions des évaluateurs et ayant trait à l’évaluation des soumissions;
  • tout autre document non énuméré plus haut et ayant trait à l’évaluation des soumissions dans le cadre du marché public visé par la plainte, sauf si un tel document a déjà été déposé;
  • les documents manquant à l’onglet 8 du Rapport de l’institution fédérale, notamment la lettre annonçant à MaxSys Staffing & Consulting qu’elle n’a pas obtenu le contrat et la lettre annonçant à LRO Staffing qu’elle a obtenu le contrat;
  • les documents manquant à l’onglet 7 du Rapport de l’institution fédérale ayant trait à l’évaluation des soumissions reçues, le cas échéant, de la part de MWCO et de GSI International Consulting Group;
  • les documents manquant à l’onglet 6 du Rapport de l’institution fédérale, notamment les soumissions reçues, le cas échéant, de la part de MWCO et de GSI International Consulting Group;
  • les pages manquantes de l’onglet 1 du Rapport de l’institution fédérale.

De plus, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur ordonne au ministère des Affaires mondiales et, le cas échéant, au ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux de lui remettre l’identité du ou des évaluateurs ainsi que leurs coordonnées au travail.

The Access Information Agency Inc. doit déposer ses observations sur ces documents et ces renseignements, le cas échéant, au plus tard le 20 juin 2016.

Si les documents devant être déposés ou les observations contiennent des renseignements dont le ministère des Affaires mondiales, The Access Information Agency Inc. ou, le cas échéant, le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux désire conserver la confidentialité, ils doivent être déposés conformément au paragraphe 46(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

Les parties doivent faire parvenir simultanément tous leurs documents au Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur ainsi qu’à la partie adverse.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Membre présidant

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

  1. Le 6 avril 2016, The Access Information Agency Inc. (AIA) a déposé une plainte auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal), aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[1], concernant une demande de disponibilité émise par le ministère des Affaires mondiales (AMC) le 9 mars 2016, sous la référence « DCP Advanced Privacy ATIP Officer – May 2, 2016 ». La demande de disponibilité a été émise en vertu d’une offre à commandes pour des services d’aide temporaire dans la région de la capitale nationale et visait à passer une commande subséquente auprès d’une des compagnies détenant une offre à commandes. Les services recherchés étaient ceux d’un conseiller en matière de traitement de demandes d’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels.
  2. Les motifs de plainte allégués par AIA et acceptés pour enquête sont les suivants :
    1) la soumission d’AIA n’a pas été évaluée correctement, notamment parce qu’AMC a utilisé des critères d’évaluation non-divulgués;
    2) AMC a négligé de donner à AIA des explications relatives à l’évaluation de sa proposition et n’a pas communiqué à AIA de renseignements concernant les caractéristiques et avantages relatifs de la soumission retenue;
    3) AMC n’était pas en droit d’annuler la demande de disponibilité et d’en publier une nouvelle.
  3. Le 26 mai 2016, AIA a déposé une requête visant à obtenir les ordonnances suivantes :  
    a) ordonner à AMC de se conformer à ses obligations édictées par l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur[2] et qu’AMC divulgue tous les documents qu’il détient relativement au processus d’acquisition intitulé « DCP Advanced Privacy ATIP Officer – May 2, 2016 »;
    b) ordonner au ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC) de divulguer tous les documents qu’il détient relativement au processus d’acquisition intitulé « DCP Advanced Privacy ATIP Officer – May 2, 2016 »;
    c)ordonner à AMC de divulguer tous les documents qu’il détient relativement au suivi qui devait se faire du processus d’acquisition intitulé « DCP Advanced Privacy ATIP Officer – May 2, 2016 », tel que décrit à la pièce no 12 déposée par AIA.
  4. AMC a déposé ses observations sur la requête le 31 mai 2016, et AIA a déposé ses observations en réponse le 1er juin 2016.
  5. En vertu du paragraphe 17(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal peut ordonner la production de documents ou de renseignements pertinents ayant trait aux questions dont il est saisi. Ce type d’ordonnance permet au Tribunal d’obtenir et d’examiner des documents ou des renseignements dans le cadre de l’exercice de sa compétence, qui, dans le cas d’une enquête sur une plainte concernant une procédure de marché public, concerne la détermination de la validité des motifs de la plainte dont il est saisi.
  6. Ayant examiné les observations des parties, le Tribunal est d’avis que les ordonnances recherchées par AIA sont formulées de façon beaucoup trop large dans le cadre d’une enquête devant le Tribunal sur une plainte concernant une procédure de marché public. L’institution gouvernementale a une obligation de fournir tous les documents pertinents en sa possession afin d’assister le Tribunal dans l’exercice de sa compétence. Ceci étant dit, la plaignante, dans sa requête, avait aussi une obligation de circonscrire les documents qui semblent manquer et dont elle estime avoir besoin afin de formuler sa plainte. Dans le cas présent, les arguments initiaux au soutien de la requête d’AIA étaient trop imprécis pour démontrer la pertinence des documents demandés à l’égard de la détermination des motifs de plainte sous enquête ou à l’élaboration d’une recommandation par le Tribunal, le cas échéant, d’une mesure corrective appropriée. AIA a toutefois apporté des précisions utiles dans ses observations en réponse, lesquelles permettent maintenant au Tribunal d’accueillir en partie la requête d’AIA.
  7. De plus, le Tribunal rappelle que la pertinence des documents ou des renseignements par rapport aux motifs de la plainte est une question distincte de la question de la portée des obligations de fond d’AMC aux termes des accords commerciaux en lien avec les motifs de plainte sous examen, y compris ses obligations en matière de renseignements à fournir aux soumissionnaires non retenus. Ainsi, le Tribunal n’est pas en mesure, dans le cadre de la présente ordonnance, d’« ordonner à AMC de se conformer à ses obligations édictées par l’ACI ». Les arguments d’AIA au sujet de la portée des obligations d’AMC ont trait au fonds de la plainte qu’elle a déposée. Ces questions seront déterminées au moment où le Tribunal rendra sa décision à la conclusion de son enquête. Par conséquent, pour les fins de la présente ordonnance, le Tribunal n’a pas tenu compte de ces arguments. Pour ces motifs, la présente décision ne détermine pas d’avance la décision du Tribunal sur le bien-fondé des motifs de plainte ni sa recommandation éventuelle d’une mesure corrective.
  8. Le Tribunal conclut que les documents et renseignements énumérés ci-dessous pourraient jeter un éclairage sur les motifs de la plainte et aider à la recommandation, le cas échéant, d’une mesure corrective, et doivent être produits par AMC ou, le cas échéant, par TPSGC, dans les délais indiqués par le Tribunal :
    • les documents de cotation, y compris les tables de cotation élaborées ou utilisées par le ou les membres du comité évaluateur;
    • tous suppléments de cotation élaborés ou utilisés par le ou les membres du comité évaluateur;
    • les lignes directrices ou toute explication élaborée ou utilisée par le ou les membres du comité évaluateur quant à l’évaluation des critères d’évaluation;
    • les feuilles de cotation brutes ou notes d’évaluation provenant de chaque évaluateur;
    • les procès-verbaux, notes de service ou toutes notes écrites ayant été produits à la suite de réunions des évaluateurs et ayant trait à l’évaluation des soumissions;
    • tout autre document non énuméré plus haut et ayant trait à l’évaluation des soumissions dans le cadre du marché public visé par la plainte, sauf si un tel document a déjà été déposé;
    • les documents manquant à l’onglet 8 du Rapport de l’institution fédérale (RIF), notamment la lettre annonçant à MaxSys Staffing & Consulting qu’elle n’a pas obtenu le contrat et la lettre annonçant à LRO Staffing qu’elle a obtenu le contrat;
    • les documents manquant à l’onglet 7 du RIF ayant trait à l’évaluation des soumissions reçues, le cas échéant, de la part de MWCO et de GSI International Consulting Group;
    • les documents manquant à l’onglet 6 du RIF, notamment les soumissions reçues, le cas échéant, de la part de MWCO et de GSI International Consulting Group;
    • les pages manquantes de l’onglet 1 du RIF.
  9. De plus, le Tribunal ordonne à AMC et, le cas échéant, à TPSGC de lui remettre l’identité du ou des évaluateurs ainsi que leurs coordonnées au travail.
  10. Quant à la demande d’AMC visant les documents à l’alinéa c) du paragraphe 3 ci-dessus, le Tribunal note qu’AMC a produit, dans le cadre de ses observations sur la requête d’AIA, deux nouvelles demandes de disponibilité pour des services d’aide temporaire en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection de renseignements personnels, publiées les 24 et 27 mai 2016. Le Tribunal note également qu’AIA n’a pas réitéré cette conclusion recherchée dans ses observations en réponse.
  11. Si AIA désire déposer des observations sur les documents et les renseignements fournis aux termes de cette ordonnance par AMC ou, le cas échéant, par TPSGC, elle devra le faire au plus tard le 20 juin 2016.
  12. Si les documents devant être déposés ou les observations contiennent des renseignements dont AMC, AIA ou, le cas échéant, TPSGC désire conserver la confidentialité, ils doivent être déposés conformément aux articles 46 et suivants de la Loi sur le TCCE.
  13. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Tribunal accueille la requête en partie.
 

[1].     L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.) [Loi sur le TCCE].

[2].     18 juillet 1994, Gaz. C. 1995.I.1323, en ligne : Secrétariat du commerce intérieur <http://www.ait-aci.ca/‌agreement-on-internal-trade/?lang=fr> [ACI].

Numéro(s) du cas

PR-2016-001

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pr2q01b_f.pdf (91.63 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mardi 14 Juin 2016

Date de modification

Le Mardi 14 Juin 2016