BLUE WHITE TRANSLATIONS LTD.

BLUE WHITE TRANSLATIONS LTD.
v.
CANADIAN IMMIGRATION MUSEUM AT PIER 21
File No. PR-2016-005

Order and reasons issued
Thursday, July 21, 2016

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a complaint filed by Blue White Translations Ltd. pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.);

AND FURTHER TO a decision to conduct an inquiry into the complaint pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act;

AND IN THE MATTER OF submissions filed by the Canadian Immigration Museum at Pier 21 in relation to the jurisdiction of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

BETWEEN

BLUE WHITE TRANSLATIONS LTD. Complainant

AND

THE CANADIAN IMMIGRATION MUSEUM AT PIER 21 Government Institution

ORDER

Pursuant to paragraph 10(b) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal hereby ceases its inquiry and dismisses the complaint.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Presiding Member

STATEMENT OF REASONS

INTRODUCTION

  1. This inquiry concerns a complaint filed with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) in relation to a procurement by the Canadian Immigration Museum at Pier 21 (the Museum) for the provision of translation services. The complaint filed by Blue White Translations Ltd. (Blue White) was accepted for inquiry pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act.[1] However, the Tribunal has determined that it does not have jurisdiction to conduct an inquiry into the complaint for the reasons provided below. As a result, the complaint is dismissed.

COMPLAINT

  1. Blue White alleged that its bid was unfairly disqualified because the Museum did not receive its technical evaluation within the required time frame. Blue White claimed that, according to the terms of the Request for Proposal (RFP), the timeliness of its submission via e-mail should have been based on when it was sent and not when it was received by the Museum. Furthermore, Blue White alleged that it should have been awarded the contract because it had a lower price than the successful bidder. As a remedy, it asked the Tribunal to recommend that the contract be awarded, in whole or in part, to Blue White.

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

  1. On May 6 and 7, 2016, Blue White filed the complaint with the Tribunal pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the CITT Act.

  2. On May 13, 2016, the Tribunal notified the parties that it had decided to conduct an inquiry into the complaint, pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act and subsection 7(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations.[2]

  3. On June 3, 2016, the Museum filed the Government Institution Report (GIR) in response to the complaint. On June 13, 2016, Blue White filed comments on the GIR.

  4. On June 17, 2016, the Tribunal requested submissions from Blue White and the Museum on the specific issue of whether the Museum is a “government institution”, as defined in section 30.1 of the CITT Act and set out in any of the trade agreements designated by subsection 3(2) of the Regulations.

  5. On June 27, 2016, the Museum filed a submission indicating that the Museum is not listed as a government institution under or any of the applicable trade agreements.

  6. Blue White did not respond to the Tribunal’s June 17, 2016, request for submissions or the Tribunal’s invitation, on July 11, 2016, to file a reply to the Museum’s submission.

ANALYSIS

  1. Before it can determine whether the grounds of the complaint are valid, the Tribunal must be satisfied that the complaint is in respect of a “designated contract”.

  2. Subsection 30.11(1) of the CITT Act limits the Tribunal’s jurisdiction to “. . . a complaint . . . concerning any aspect of the procurement process that relates to a designated contract . . . ” [emphasis added]. In addition, subsection 7(1) of the Regulations, which sets out the conditions that must be met in order for the Tribunal to inquire into a complaint, stipulates inter alia that the complaint must be in respect of a “designated contract”.

  3. The CITT Act defines “designated contract” as “. . . a contract for the supply of goods or services that has been or is proposed to be awarded by a government institution and that is designated or of a class of contract designated by the regulations”.

  4. Pursuant to section 30.1 of the CITT Act, a designated contact is therefore defined in part as a contract for the supply of goods or services that was awarded by a government institution. Section 30.1 defines “government institution” as “. . . any department or ministry of state of the Government of Canada, or any other body or office, that is designated by the regulations”.

  5. A designated contract, according to section 3 of the Regulations, is defined in part as a contract concerning a procurement of goods or services by a government institution. In this regard, subsection 3(2) designates as government institutions the federal government entities or the government enterprises that are set out in the applicable trade agreements, which, in this case, is only the Agreement on Internal Trade.[3]

  6.  Pursuant to paragraph 10(b) of the Regulations, the Tribunal may, at any time, order the dismissal of a complaint on the grounds that it is not in respect of a procurement by a government institution.

  7. The Notice of Proposed Procurement for the RFP indicated that the procurement was covered by the AIT. However, the Museum is not listed as a government institution under the AIT. Specifically, the Museum is not included in Annex 502.1A, which lists the federal government entities that are covered by the procurement obligations set out in Chapter Five of the AIT. Although the other trade agreements do not apply in this case, the Tribunal notes that none of them cover the Museum either.

  8.  In response to the Tribunal’s request on the matter of jurisdiction, the Museum submitted that it is not a “government institution” as defined under the CITT Act and the Regulations, notwithstanding what was initially stated in the RFP.[4] This submission was not disputed by Blue White.

  9.  In light of the above, the Tribunal finds that the Museum is not a federal government entity covered by the AIT and, as such, it is not a “government institution” within the meaning of section 30.1 of the CITT Act. As a result, the procurement cannot be considered to be in respect of a “designated contract” as defined by the CITT Act and section 3 of the Regulations.[5]

  10.  Given that the procurement does not relate to a designated contract, the Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to inquire into the complaint.

ORDER

  1. Pursuant to paragraph 10(b) of the Regulations, the Tribunal hereby ceases its inquiry and dismisses the complaint.


[1].      R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.) [CITT Act].

[2].      S.O.R./93-602 [Regulations].

[3].      18 July 1994, C. Gaz. 1995.I.1323, online: Internal Trade Secretariat <http://www.ait-aci.ca/agreement-on-internal-trade/> [AIT], Annex 502.1A under the heading “CANADA”. The Tribunal notes that the AIT is the only trade agreement listed in section 3 of the Regulations that covers translation services.

[4].      Letter from McInnes Cooper LLP to the Tribunal dated June 27, 2016.

[5].      Moreover, there was no allegation or evidence before the Tribunal suggesting that the Museum was acting on behalf of any of the government entities listed in Annex 502.1 of the AIT.

Case Number(s)

PR-2016-005

Attachment(s)

pr2q005_e.pdf (76.93 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Friday, July 29, 2016

Modification Date

Friday, July 29, 2016

BLUE WHITE TRANSLATIONS LTD.

BLUE WHITE TRANSLATIONS LTD.
c.
MUSÉE CANADIEN DE L’IMMIGRATION DU QUAI 21

Dossier no PR-2016-005

Ordonnance et motifs rendus
le jeudi 21 juillet 2016

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une plainte déposée par Blue White Translations Ltd. aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.);

ET À LA SUITE D’une décision d’enquêter sur la plainte aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur;

ET EU ÉGARD À des observations déposées par le Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21 ayant trait à la compétence du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur pour enquêter sur la plainte.

ENTRE

BLUE WHITE TRANSLATIONS LTD. Partie plaignante

ET

LE MUSÉE CANADIEN DE L’IMMIGRATION DU QUAI 21 Institution fédérale

ORDONNANCE

Aux termes de l’alinéa 10b) du Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur met fin à l’enquête et rejette la plainte.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Membre présidant

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

INTRODUCTION

  1. La présente enquête concerne une plainte déposée auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) ayant trait à un appel d’offres du Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21 (le musée) pour la prestation de services de traduction. La plainte déposée par Blue White Translations Ltd. (Blue White) a été acceptée pour enquête aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[1]. Toutefois, le Tribunal a déterminé qu’il n’a pas compétence pour enquêter sur la plainte pour les raisons exposées ci-dessous. Par conséquent, la plainte est rejetée.

PLAINTE

  1. Blue White allègue que sa soumission a été injustement rejetée parce que le musée n’a pas reçu son évaluation technique en temps voulu. Blue White soutient que, selon les termes de la demande de propositions (DP), le respect du délai de sa soumission envoyée par courriel aurait dû être fondé sur la date d’envoi et non sur la date de réception par le musée. De plus, Blue White allègue que le contrat aurait dû lui être adjugé parce que son offre de prix était moins-disante que celle du soumissionnaire retenu. À titre de mesure corrective, Blue White demande au Tribunal de recommander que le contrat, en tout ou en partie, lui soit adjugé.

HISTORIQUE DE LA PROCÉDURE

  1. Les 6 et 7 mai 2016, Blue White a déposé sa plainte auprès du Tribunal aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE.

  2. Le 13 mai 2016, le Tribunal a avisé les parties qu’il avait décidé d’enquêter sur la plainte aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE et du paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics[2].

  3. Le 3 juin 2016, le musée a déposé son Rapport de l’institution fédérale (RIF) en réponse à la plainte. Le 13 juin 2016, Blue White a déposé ses commentaires sur le RIF.

  4. Le 17 juin 2016, le Tribunal a demandé à Blue White et au musée de déposer des observations sur la question de savoir si le musée est une « institution fédérale » au sens de l’article 30.1 de la Loi sur le TCCE et tel qu’indiqué dans les accords commerciaux désignés au paragraphe 3(2) du Règlement.

  5. Le 27 juin 2016, le musée a déposé des observations selon lesquelles elle n’est pas une institution fédérale désignée dans aucun des accords commerciaux applicables.

  6. Blue White n’a pas déposé d’observations à la suite de la demande du Tribunal à cet effet le 17 juin 2016 ni, à l’invitation du Tribunal le 11 juillet 2016, de commentaires en réponse aux observations du musée.

ANALYSE

  1. Avant de pouvoir déterminer si les motifs de plainte sont fondés, le Tribunal doit s’assurer que la plainte concerne un « contrat spécifique ».

  2. Le paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE limite la compétence du Tribunal à « une plainte [...] concernant la procédure des marchés publics suivie relativement à un contrat spécifique [...] » [nos italiques]. De plus, le paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement, qui énonce les conditions qui doivent être satisfaites pour que le Tribunal puisse enquêter sur une plainte, stipule entre autres que la plainte doit porter sur un « contrat spécifique ».

  3.  La Loi sur le TCCE définit un « contrat spécifique » comme un « [c]ontrat relatif à un marché de fournitures ou services qui a été accordé par une institution fédérale – ou pourrait l’être – , et qui soit est précisé par règlement, soit fait partie d’une catégorie réglementaire ».

  4.  Aux termes de l’article 30.1 de la Loi sur le TCCE, un « contrat spécifique » est donc défini en partie comme un contrat pour l’acquisition de biens ou de services qui a été adjugé par une institution fédérale. L’article 30.1 définit une « institution fédérale » comme un « [m]inistère ou département d’État fédéral, ainsi que tout autre organisme, désigné par règlement ».

  5. Un « contrat spécifique », selon l’article 3 du Règlement, est défini en partie comme un contrat relatif à un marché de fournitures ou de services accordé par une institution fédérale. À cet égard, le paragraphe 3(2) désigne comme institution fédérale les entités publiques fédérales ou les entreprises publiques énumérées dans les accords commerciaux applicables, dont le seul qui s’applique en l’espèce est l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur[3].

  6.  Aux termes de l’alinéa 10b) du Règlement, le Tribunal peut, en tout temps, ordonner le rejet d’une plainte si celle-ci ne porte pas sur un marché public passé par une institution fédérale.

  7. L’avis de projet de marchés indiquait que l’ACI s’appliquait à la DP. Toutefois, le musée ne figure pas dans la liste des institutions fédérales auxquelles l’ACI s’applique. Plus particulièrement, le musée ne figure pas dans l’annexe 502.1A, qui énumère les entités publiques fédérales qui sont assujettis aux obligations en matière de marchés publics énoncées au chapitre 5 de l’ACI. Bien que les autres accords commerciaux ne s’appliquent pas en l’espèce, le Tribunal fait observer que le musée n’est pas non plus désigné dans aucun des autres accords commerciaux.

  8. En réponse à la demande du Tribunal de déposer des observations sur la question de sa compétence, le musée soutient qu’il n’est pas une « institution fédérale » au sens de la Loi sur le TCCE et du Règlement, nonobstant ce qui était initialement indiqué dans la DP[4]. Blue White ne conteste pas cette affirmation.

  9. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Tribunal conclut que le musée n’est pas une institution fédérale à laquelle s’applique l’ACI, et qu’à ce titre il n’est pas une « institution fédérale » au sens de l’article 30.1 de la Loi sur le TCCE. Par conséquent, le marché public ne peut être considéré comme ayant trait à un « contrat spécifique » au sens de la Loi sur le TCCE et de l’article 3 du Règlement[5].

  10. Étant donné que le marché public ne concerne pas un contrat spécifique, le Tribunal n’a pas compétence pour enquêter sur la plainte.

ORDONNANCE

  1. Aux termes de l’alinéa 10b) du Règlement, le Tribunal met fin à l’enquête et rejette la plainte.


[1].      L.R.C. 1985, ch. 47 (4e suppl.) [Loi sur le TCCE].

[2].      D.O.R.S./93-602 [Règlement].

[3].      18 juillet 1994, Gaz. C. 1995.I.1323, en ligne : Secrétariat du commerce intérieur <http://www.ait-aci.ca/agreement-on-internal-trade/?lang=fr> [ACI], liste du Canada à l’annexe 502.1A. Le Tribunal fait remarquer que l’ACI est le seul accord commercial énuméré à l’article 3 du Règlement qui s’applique aux services de traduction.

[4].      Lettre de McInnes Cooper LLP au Tribunal daté du 27 juin 2016.

[5].      En outre, aucune allégation n’a été formulée et aucun élément n’a été déposé à l’effet que le musée agissait au nom d’une institution fédérale énumérée à l’annexe 502.1 de l’ACI.

Numéro(s) du cas

PR-2016-005

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pr2q005_f.pdf (80.44 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 29 Juillet 2016

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 29 Juillet 2016