R. S. ABRAMS

R. S. ABRAMS
v.
PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY
Appeal No. AP-2016-004

Decision and reasons issued
Wednesday, December 21, 2016

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF an appeal heard on November 10, 2016, pursuant to section 67 of the Customs Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a decision of the President of the Canada Border Services Agency, dated January 28, 2016, with respect to a request for re-determination pursuant to subsection 60(4) of the Customs Act.

BETWEEN

R. S. ABRAMS Appellant

AND

THE PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY Respondent

DECISION

The appeal is dismissed.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Presiding Member

Place of Hearing: Ottawa, Ontario
Date of Hearing: November 10, 2016

Tribunal Member: Jason W. Downey, Presiding Member

Counsel for the Tribunal: Dustin Kenall

Registrar Officer: Bianca Zamor

PARTICIPANTS:

Appellant

 

R. S. Abrams

 

 

Respondent

Counsel/Representative

President of the Canada Border Services Agency

Daniel Caron

Please address all communications to:

The Registrar
Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal
333 Laurier Avenue West
15th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G7

Telephone: 613-993-3595
Fax: 613-990-2439
E-mail: citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca

STATEMENT OF REASONS

BACKGROUND

  1. This is an appeal filed by Mr. R. S. Abrams with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Customs Act[1] from a decision made on January 28, 2016, by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), pursuant to subsection 60(4).
  2. The issue in this appeal is whether the CBSA properly classified a knife (the good in issue) as a prohibited weapon under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 of the schedule to the Customs Tariff[2] and, therefore, as a good prohibited from importation into Canada by virtue of subsection 136(1).

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

  1. On July 23, 2015, the CBSA notified Mr. Abrams that it had detained the good in issue and determined that it was a prohibited weapon within the meaning of tariff item No. 9898.00.00.[3]
  2. On August 12, 2015, Mr. Abrams contested this decision by filing a request for a re-determination pursuant to subsection 60(1) of the Act; however, on January 28, 2016, pursuant to subsection 60(4), the CBSA confirmed its original determination that the good in issue was a prohibited weapon.[4]
  3. Mr. Abrams filed this appeal with the Tribunal on April 25, 2016.
  4. Mr. Abrams filed his brief on June 15, 2016, and the CBSA filed its brief on August 15, 2016.
  5. The Tribunal decided to hold a hearing by way of written submissions in accordance with rules 25 and 25.1 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules,[5] to which the parties did not object. The file hearing was held in Ottawa, Ontario, on November 10, 2016. The good in issue, as well as its packaging and an accompanying product pamphlet, was made available and was physically examined by the Tribunal during the file hearing.

GOOD IN ISSUE

  1. The good in issue is a Zero Tolerance folding knife, model ZT 0300, manufactured by Kai USA Ltd. dba Zero Tolerance Knives, a subsidiary of Kershaw Knives. The knife employs a torsion bar assisted-opening mechanism that essentially functions like a spring at the base of the blade. This torsion bar mechanism initially secures the blade in the closed position; however, by pressing on the protrusion located on the spine of the blade, one overcomes the resistance of the torsion bar and engages the energy stored in the tensioning mechanism to force it along a half-moon track and deploy the blade into a locked, open position with great speed.[6] In this manner, the torsion bar effectively acts like a spring. The knife measures approximately 14 centimetres when closed and is equipped with a blade that is approximately 9 centimetres in length.[7]

LEGAL FRAMEWORK

  1. Subsection 136(1) of the Customs Tariff provides as follows:

    The importation of goods of tariff item No. 9897.00.00, 9898.00.00 or 9899.00.00 is prohibited.

    L’importation des marchandises des nos tarifaires 9897.00.00, 9898.00.00 ou 9899.00.00 est interdite.

    [Emphasis added]

  1. Among the list of prohibited goods, tariff item No. 9898.00.00 lists “prohibited weapons”. It further specifies that the expression “prohibited weapons” has the same meaning as in subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code[8] as follows:

    Firearms, prohibited weapons, restricted weapons, prohibited devices, prohibited ammunition and components or parts designed exclusively for use in the manufacture of or assembly into automatic firearms, in this tariff item referred to as prohibited goods . . . .

    . . .

    For the purposes of this tariff item,

    . . .

    (b) ”automatic firearm”, “licence”, “prohibited ammunition”, “prohibited device”, “prohibited firearm”, prohibited weapon, restricted firearm and “restricted weapon” have the same meanings as in subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code;

    Armes à feu, armes prohibées, armes à autorisation restreinte, dispositifs prohibés, munitions prohibées et éléments ou pièces conçus exclusivement pour être utilisés dans la fabrication ou l’assemblage d’armes automatiques, désignés comme « marchandises prohibées » au présent numéro tarifaire [...].

    [...]

    Pour l’application du présent numéro tarifaire :

    [...]

    b) « arme à autorisation restreinte », « arme à feu à autorisation restreinte », « arme à feu prohibée », « arme automatique », « arme prohibée », « dispositif prohibé », « munitions prohibées » et « permis » s’entendent au sens du paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel;

    [Emphasis added]

  1. In accordance with subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code, “prohibited weapon” means:

    (a) a knife that has a blade that opens automatically by gravity or centrifugal force or by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to the handle of the knife, or

    (b) any weapon, other than a firearm, that is prescribed to be a prohibited weapon;

    a) Couteau dont la lame s’ouvre automatiquement par gravité ou force centrifuge ou par pression manuelle sur un bouton, un ressort ou autre dispositif incorporé ou attaché au manche;

    b) toute arme — qui n’est pas une arme à feu — désignée comme telle par règlement.

  1. In sum, in order to determine whether the good in issue is properly classified as a prohibited weapon under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 and, therefore, as prohibited from importation into Canada, the Tribunal must determine whether it meets the definition of “prohibited weapon” in subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code.

POSITIONS OF PARTIES

Mr. Abrams

  1. Mr. Abrams argued that the good in issue is a torsion bar assisted-opening knife that does not fit the description of the goods listed in tariff item No. 9898.00.00 and subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code because (1) it does not open automatically by gravity or by centrifugal force and (2) it does not open automatically by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to the handle of the knife.
  2. Mr. Abrams further argued that, in finding that the good in issue is a prohibited weapon, the CBSA misapplied a prior decision of the Tribunal, R. Christie v. President of the Canada Border Services,[9] and ignored the exception provided for torsion bar assisted-opening knives (including Speed-Safe® knives) provided for in the CBSA’s Memorandum D19-13-2[10] and a national customs ruling (TRS Number 167287).

CBSA

  1. The CBSA submitted that the good in issue is properly classified as a prohibited weapon because it has a blade that opens automatically by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to the handle of the knife.
  2. In the CBSA’s view, because the knife opens rapidly, with minimal manipulation, to a fully opened and locked position, it can be said to open “automatically”.
  3. Further, the CBSA submitted that the flipper on the blade is a “device” within the meaning of section 84 of the Criminal Code and of the ordinary meaning of the term “device”, as it was designed specifically to open the good in issue. Furthermore, this device can be said to be “. . . in or attached to the handle . . .” because it moves into and passes through the handle as the blade flips open.
  4. The CBSA further noted that the good in issue is very similar to the goods at issue in the Tribunal’s decisions in Knife & Key Corner Ltd. v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency[11] and R. Christie, which were found to be prohibited weapons and, in the case of the former decision, involved a torsion bar assisted-opening knife.

TRIBUNAL ANALYSIS

  1. The parties agree that the assisted-opening mechanism used in this knife is the patented SpeedSafe system.[12] The term “SpeedSafe” is not written on the good in issue nor on its packaging, but the Tribunal has physically inspected the knife and finds that it opens in the same manner as the SpeedSafe knife examined in Digital Canoe Inc. v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency.[13]
  2. Further, the online marketing material included in CBSA’s re-determination decision confirms that this same model and make of knife “. . is equipped with the patented SpeedSafe assisted opening system.”[14] The third fold of the pamphlet accompanying the good in issue, which the Tribunal examined, describes Zero Tolerance’s “assisted-opening folders”, and states that “[a]ll it takes is a little push on the thumbstud or pull on the flipper. . . . ZT’s assisted opening deploys the blade quickly and easily, and locks it into place.”[15] Therefore, the Tribunal finds that the good in issue uses the SpeedSafe system, which is the same patented torsion bar assisted-opening mechanism considered and described by the Tribunal in Digital Canoe.[16]
  3. On full review, the Tribunal finds that this case involves the same type of opening mechanism and arguments as the Tribunal recently considered in Digital Canoe, issued shortly after the parties’ briefs were filed in this case. The Tribunal will not normally depart from its earlier decisions, absent good reasons to do so, such as where distinguishing facts support a different outcome or the earlier decision is shown to be flawed.[17] In this case, the parties’ briefs raise the same arguments on the same relevant facts as those already considered in Digital Canoe. No considerations warrant a re-evaluation of Digital Canoe or a different result here.
  4. For the same reasons provided in Digital Canoe,[18] the Tribunal finds that the good in issue opens “automatically” with minimal hand pressure applied via the flipper to a spring-tensioning mechanism located in and physically attached to the handle. The good in issue therefore meets the definition of “prohibited weapon”.
  5. Regarding Mr. Abrams’s other arguments, the appeal in R. Christie involved different types of knives, to wit, a stiletto dagger with a different assisted-opening system and a push dagger. The Tribunal agrees that, as that appeal involved different goods and a different opening mechanism, R. Christie was therefore not conclusive as to any finding regarding the good in issue employing the patented SpeedSafe mechanism.
  6. However, the torsion bar assisted-opening mechanism was previously examined and found to be part of a prohibited weapon by the Tribunal in Knife & Key,[19] on which the CBSA reasonably relied in its re-determination decision[20]. Moreover, the specific SpeedSafe patented torsion bar assisted-opening mechanism in this case was also examined in Digital Canoe, which the Tribunal recognizes that the parties did not have the benefit of considering at the time of filing. The Tribunal has examined the good in issue and finds that it opens automatically in the same (prohibited) manner as the SpeedSafe knife in Digital Canoe; therefore, Mr. Abrams’ point is moot.
  7. Regarding the CBSA’s Memorandum D19-13-2, as stated in Digital Canoe,[21] such administrative policy statements represent the CBSA’s interpretation of the law and how it intends to enforce it, but they are not legally binding on the Tribunal, which must independently interpret the law according to the relevant legislation and regulations; the Tribunal is not bound by CBSA policy.[22]
  8. Regardless, the CBSA represented in its re-determination decision that Memorandum D19-13-2 was out of date at the time of importation as a result of the Tribunal’s decisions in R. Christie and Knife  & Key, issued in 2014 and 2015, respectively, but that it would be updated soon.[23] In fact, the latest version of Memorandum D19-13-2 was issued on November 3, 2016, and has been revised to remove the exception for torsion bar assisted-opening knives, consistent with the Tribunal’s latest decisions.[24]
  9. For the same reasons, Mr. Abrams’ invocation of the CBSA’s national customs ruling is not useful to the Tribunal’s obligation to independently determine the tariff classification of goods. Moreover, appeals to the Tribunal under subsection 67(1) of the Act are heard de novo; thus, the Tribunal would not be bound by such prior determinations, even if they were relevant.[25]
  10. The Tribunal notes that the importation of the good at issue and subsequent appeal occurred during the general course of time where the interpretation of legal provisions with regard to torsion bar assisted‑opening mechanisms was being considered by the Tribunal. Mr. Abrams is possibly a victim of unfortunate timing here, considering the concomitant issue of Digital Canoe. The Tribunal recognizes Mr. Abrams’ bona fide arguments and position within, yet cannot legitimately give them further measure.

CONCLUSION

  1. The Tribunal finds that the good in issue is properly classified under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 as a prohibited weapon, in accordance with the requirements of paragraph 84(1)(a) of the Criminal Code, as the good in issue opens automatically by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to the handle of the knife.

DECISION

  1. For the foregoing reasons, the appeal is dismissed.
 

[1].      R.S.C. 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.) [Act].

[2].      S.C. 1997, c. 36.

[3].      Exhibit AP-2016-004-07A, tab 1, Vol. 1.

[4].      Ibid., tabs 2, 3.

[5].      S.O.R./91-499.

[6].      Exhibit AP-2016-004-05A at 5, Vol. 1.

[7].      Exhibit AP-2016-004-B-01, Vol. 1.

[8].      R.S.C., 1985, c. C-46.

[9].      (15 January 2014), AP-2012-072 (CITT) [R. Christie].

[10].    (23 January 2013), “Importing and Exporting Firearms, Weapons and Devices”.

[11].    (14 September 2015), AP-2014-030 (CITT) [Knife & Key].

[12].    Exhibit AP-2016-004-05A at 5, Vol. 1; Exhibit AP-2016-004-07A, tab 3 at 24, Vol. 1.

[13].    (22 August 2016), AP-2015-026 (CITT) [Digital Canoe].

[14].    Exhibit AP-2016-004-07A, tab 3 at 30-31, Vol. 1.

[15].    Exhibit AP-2016-004-B-01, Vol. 1.

[16].    At paras. 19, 20.

[17].    Canada (Attorney General) v. Bri-Chem Supply Ltd., 2016 FCA 257 (CanLII) at paras. 44-48.

[18].    At paras. 20-24.

[19].    Knife & Key at paras. 34-45.

[20].    Exhibit AP-2016-004-07A, tab 3 at 24, Vol. 1.

[21].    At para. 25.

[22].    Digital Canoe at para. 25; Knife & Key at paras. 26-27; La Sagesse de l’Eau v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency (13 November 2012), AP-2011-040 and AP-2011-041 (CITT) at para. 56.

[23].    Exhibit AP-2016-004-07A, tab 3 at 24, Vol. 1.

[25].    Cargill Inc. v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency (23 May 2014), AP-2012-070 (CITT) at para. 36; Toyota Tsusho America, Inc. v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency (27 April 2011), AP-2010-063 (CITT) at para. 8; Smith v. Minister of National Revenue, [1965] SCR 582, 1965 CanLII 59 (SCC); Canada (Minister of National Revenue) v. Rollins Machinery Ltd., 1999 CanLII 8763 (FCA).

Case Number(s)

AP-2016-004

Attachment(s)

ap2q004_e.pdf (137.36 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Friday, January 20, 2017

Modification Date

Friday, January 20, 2017

R. S. ABRAMS

R. S. ABRAMS
c.
PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA

Appel no AP-2016-004

Décision et motifs rendus
le mercredi 21 décembre 2016

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À un appel entendu le 10 novembre 2016, en vertu de l’article 67 de la Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.);

ET EU ÉGARD À une décision rendue le 28 janvier 2016 par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, concernant une demande de révision aux termes du paragraphe 60(4) de la Loi sur les douanes.

ENTRE

R. S. ABRAMS Appelante

ET

LE PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA Intimé

DÉCISION

L’appel est rejeté.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Membre présidant

Lieu de l’audience : Ottawa (Ontario)
Date de l’audience : le 10 novembre 2016

Membre du Tribunal : Jason W. Downey, membre présidant

Conseiller juridique pour le Tribunal : Dustin Kenall

Agent du greffe : Bianca Zamor

PARTICIPANTS :

Appelante

 

R. S. Abrams

 

 

Intimé

Conseiller/représentant

Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Daniel Caron

Veuillez adresser toutes les communications au :

Greffier
Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
15e étage
333, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7

Téléphone : 613-993-3595
Télécopieur : 613-990-2439
Courriel : tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

CONTEXTE

  1. Il s’agit d’un appel interjeté par M. R. S. Abrams devant le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les douanes[1] à l’égard d’une décision rendue le 28 janvier 2016 par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) conformément au paragraphe 60(4).
  2. La question en litige dans le présent appel consister à déterminer si l’ASFC a correctement classé un couteau (la marchandise en cause) dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes[2] à titre d’arme prohibée et, par conséquent, à titre de marchandise dont l’importation est interdite au Canada en vertu du paragraphe 136(1).

HISTORIQUE DE LA PROCÉDURE

  1. Le 23 juillet 2015, l’ASFC a avisé M. Abrams qu’elle détenait la marchandise en cause et a déterminé qu’il s’agissait d’une arme prohibée au sens du numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00[3].
  2. Le 12 août 2015, M. Abrams a contesté cette décision en déposant une demande de révision conformément au paragraphe 60(1) de la Loi; toutefois, le 28 janvier 2016, conformément au paragraphe 60(4), l’ASFC a confirmé sa décision initiale selon laquelle la marchandise en cause était une arme prohibée[4].
  3. M. Abrams a déposé le présent appel devant le Tribunal le 25 avril 2016.
  4. M. Abrams a déposé son mémoire le 15 juin 2016 et l’ASFC a déposé le sien le 15 août 2016.
  5. Le Tribunal a décidé de tenir une audience sur pièces conformément aux articles 25 et 25.1 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[5], décision à laquelle les parties ne se sont pas opposées. L’audience sur pièces a été tenue à Ottawa, en Ontario, le 10 novembre 2016. La marchandise en cause, ainsi que son emballage et une brochure accompagnant la marchandise, a été mise à la disposition du Tribunal et a été examinée physiquement par ce dernier durant l’audience sur pièces.

MARCHANDISE EN CAUSE

  1. La marchandise en cause est un couteau de poche Zero Tolerance, modèle ZT 0300, fabriqué par Kai USA Ltd., faisant affaire sous le nom de Zero Tolerance Knives, une filiale de Kershaw Knives. Le couteau s’ouvre au moyen d’une barre de torsion qui fonctionne essentiellement comme un ressort à la base de la lame. Ce mécanisme fixe initialement la lame en position fermée; toutefois, en appuyant sur la saillie située sur le dos de la lame, l’utilisateur vainc la résistance de la barre de torsion et libère l’énergie emmagasinée dans le mécanisme de tension, déployant ainsi la lame dans une trajectoire de demi-cercle et la propulsant rapidement en position ouverte et fixe[6]. De cette manière, la barre de torsion agit effectivement comme un ressort. Le couteau mesure environ 14 centimètres lorsqu’il est fermé et est muni d’une lame d’environ 9 centimètres de longueur[7].

CADRE LÉGISLATIF

  1. Le paragraphe 136(1) du Tarif des douanes prévoit ce qui suit :

    L’importation des marchandises des nos tarifaires 9897.00.00, 9898.00.00 ou 9899.00.00 est interdite.

    The importation of goods of tariff item No. 9897.00.00, 9898.00.00 or 9899.00.00 is prohibited.

    [Nos italiques]

  1. Parmi la liste des marchandises prohibées, le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 prévoit les « armes prohibées ». Il précise également que l’expression « armes prohibées » s’entend au sens du paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel[8], comme suit :

    Armes à feu, armes prohibées, armes à autorisation restreinte, dispositifs prohibés, munitions prohibées et éléments ou pièces conçus exclusivement pour être utilisés dans la fabrication ou l’assemblage d’armes automatiques, désignés comme « marchandises prohibées » au présent numéro tarifaire [...].

    [...]

    Pour l’application du présent numéro tarifaire :

    [...]

    b) « arme à autorisation restreinte », « arme à feu à autorisation restreinte », « arme à feu prohibée », « arme automatique », « arme prohibée », « dispositif prohibé », « munitions prohibées » et « permis » s’entendent au sens du paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel;

    Firearms, prohibited weapons, restricted weapons, prohibited devices, prohibited ammunition and components or parts designed exclusively for use in the manufacture of or assembly into automatic firearms, in this tariff item referred to as prohibited goods . . . .

    . . .

    For the purposes of this tariff item,

    . . .

    (b) ”automatic firearm”, “licence”, “prohibited ammunition”, “prohibited device”, “prohibited firearm”, prohibited weapon, restricted firearm and “restricted weapon” have the same meanings as in subsection 84(1) of the Code criminel;

    [Nos italiques]

  1. Conformément au paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel, « arme prohibée » s’entend de ce qui suit :

    a) Couteau dont la lame s’ouvre automatiquement par gravité ou force centrifuge ou par pression manuelle sur un bouton, un ressort ou autre dispositif incorporé ou attaché au manche;

    b) toute arme — qui n’est pas une arme à feu — désignée comme telle par règlement.

    (a) a knife that has a blade that opens automatically by gravity or centrifugal force or by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to the handle of the knife, or

    (b) any weapon, other than a firearm, that is prescribed to be a prohibited weapon;

  1. En somme, pour déterminer si la marchandise en cause est correctement classée à titre d’arme prohibée dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 et, par conséquent, comme une marchandise dont l’importation est interdite au Canada, le Tribunal doit déterminer si elle correspond à la définition d’« arme prohibée » prévue au paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel.

POSITION DES PARTIES

M. Abrams

  1. M. Abrams fait valoir que la marchandise en cause est un couteau s’ouvrant au moyen d’une barre de torsion qui ne correspond pas à la description des marchandises énumérées dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 et au paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel parce que (1) il ne s’ouvre pas automatiquement par gravité ou force centrifuge et (2) il ne s’ouvre pas automatiquement par pression manuelle sur un bouton, un ressort ou autre dispositif incorporé ou attaché au manche.
  2. M. Abrams soutient également qu’en concluant que la marchandise en cause est une arme prohibée, l’ASFC a mal appliqué la décision R. Christie c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada[9] rendue par le Tribunal et a ignoré l’exception relative au couteau s’ouvrant au moyen d’une barre de torsion (y compris les couteaux Speed-Safe®) prévue dans le Mémorandum D19-13-2[10] de l’ASFC et dans une décision nationale des douanes (numéro SRT 167287).

ASFC

  1. L’ASFC soutient que la marchandise en cause est correctement classée comme une arme prohibée parce que sa lame s’ouvre automatiquement par pression manuelle sur un bouton, un ressort ou autre dispositif incorporé ou attaché au manche.
  2. Selon l’ASFC, comme le couteau s’ouvre rapidement, avec très peu de gestes, en position entièrement ouverte et fixe, on peut dire qu’il s’ouvre « automatiquement ».
  3. De plus, l’ASFC fait valoir que le levier sur la lame est un « dispositif » au sens de l’article 84 du Code criminel et au sens ordinaire du terme « dispositif », puisqu’il a été conçu spécifiquement pour déployer la marchandise en cause. Qui plus est, on peut dire que ce dispositif est « […] incorporé ou attaché au manche » puisqu’il traverse le manche lorsque la lame se déploie.
  4. L’ASFC indique également que la marchandise en cause est très similaire aux marchandises en cause dans les décisions Knife & Key Corner Ltd. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada[11] et R. Christie rendues par le Tribunal, qui ont été considérées comme des armes prohibées et qui, dans le cas de la première décision, concernait un couteau s’ouvrant au moyen d’une barre de torsion.

ANALYSE DU TRIBUNAL

  1. Les parties conviennent que le mécanisme à déploiement utilisé dans le couteau en cause est le système breveté SpeedSafe[12]. Le terme « SpeedSafe » n’est pas inscrit sur la marchandise en cause, ni sur son emballage, mais le Tribunal a inspecté physiquement le couteau et estime qu’il s’ouvre de la même manière que le couteau SpeedSafe examiné dans la décision Digital Canoe Inc. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada[13].
  2. De plus, le matériel publicitaire en ligne analysé dans la décision de révision de l’ASFC confirme que ce même modèle de couteau « […] est muni du système d’ouverture breveté SpeedSafe »[14] [traduction]. La troisième page de la brochure accompagnant la marchandise en cause, que le Tribunal a examinée, décrit les « leviers à déploiement assisté » des couteaux Zero Tolerance et indique qu’il « suffit d’une petite pression sur le bouton ou d’une traction sur le levier. […] Le système à déploiement assisté des couteaux ZT déploie la lame rapidement et facilement et la verrouille en place »[15] [traduction]. Par conséquent, le Tribunal estime que la marchandise en cause est munie du système SpeedSafe, qui est le même mécanisme à déploiement assisté d’une barre de torsion breveté qui a été examiné et décrit par le Tribunal dans la décision Digital Canoe[16].
  3. Après un examen complet, le Tribunal estime que le présent appel concerne le même type de mécanisme à déploiement et les mêmes arguments que le Tribunal a récemment examinés dans la décision Digital Canoe, rendue peu après le dépôt des mémoires des parties en l’espèce. Le Tribunal ne s’écartera normalement pas de ses décisions antérieures, en l’absence de bonnes raisons de le faire, comme lorsque des distinctions factuelles justifient une conclusion différente ou que l’on démontre que la décision antérieure est viciée[17]. En l’espèce, les mémoires des parties soulèvent les mêmes arguments sur les mêmes faits pertinents que ceux déjà examinés dans la décision Digital Canoe. Rien ne nous permet de réexaminer la décision Digital Canoe ou de parvenir à un résultat différent en l’espèce.
  4. Pour les mêmes motifs que ceux exposés dans la décision Digital Canoe[18], le Tribunal estime que la marchandise en cause s’ouvre « automatiquement » par pression manuelle minimale sur un levier vers un mécanisme de ressort ou de tension incorporé et attaché physiquement au manche. La marchandise en cause correspond donc à la définition d’« arme prohibée ».
  5. En ce qui concerne les autres arguments de M. Abrams, l’appel dans la décision R. Christie portait sur des types de couteaux différents, à savoir un stylet muni d’un système à déploiement assisté différent ainsi qu’une dague à pousser. Le Tribunal convient que, comme cet appel portait sur des marchandises différentes et un mécanisme à déploiement différent, la décision R. Christie ne permettait donc pas de tirer une conclusion quant à savoir si la marchandise en cause était munie du mécanisme breveté SpeedSafe.
  6. Toutefois, le mécanisme à déploiement assisté d’une barre de torsion a été précédemment examiné et considéré comme une arme prohibée par le Tribunal dans la décision Knife & Key[19], sur laquelle s’est fondée à juste titre l’ASFC dans sa décision de réexamen[20]. De plus, le mécanisme précis à déploiement assisté d’une barre de torsion breveté SpeedSafe en l’espèce a également été examiné dans la décision Digital Canoe, que les parties n’ont pas eu la chance d’examiner au moment du dépôt des procédures, ce que le Tribunal reconnaît. Le Tribunal a examiné la marchandise en cause et conclut qu’elle s’ouvre automatiquement de la même manière (prohibée) que le couteau SpeedSafe dans la décision Digital Canoe; par conséquent, l’argument de M. Abrams est théorique.
  7. En ce qui concerne le Mémorandum D19-13-2 de l’ASFC, tel qu’il est indiqué dans la décision Digital Canoe[21], ces énoncés de politique administrative prévoient l’interprétation de la loi par l’ASFC et la façon dont elle prévoit l’appliquer, mais ils n’ont aucune force obligatoire pour le Tribunal, qui doit interpréter la loi indépendamment selon la loi et les règlements applicables; le Tribunal n’est pas lié par les politiques de l’ASFC[22].
  8. Quoi qu’il en soit, l’ASFC a indiqué dans sa décision de réexamen que le Mémorandum D19-13-2 était échu au moment de l’importation, et ce, en raison des décisions R. Christie et Knife & Key, rendues en 2014 et 2015, respectivement, mais qu’il serait bientôt mis à jour[23]. En fait, la dernière version du Mémorandum D19-13-2 a été publiée le 3 novembre 2016 et a été révisée de façon à supprimer l’exception relative aux couteaux s’ouvrant au moyen d’une barre de torsion, conformément aux décisions récentes du Tribunal[24].
  9. Pour les mêmes motifs, la décision nationale des douanes de l’ASFC invoquée par M. Abrams n’est pas utile pour le Tribunal, qui doit déterminer indépendamment la classification tarifaire des marchandises. Qui plus est, les appels interjetés devant le Tribunal en vertu du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sont instruits de novo; ainsi, le Tribunal ne serait pas lié par de telles décisions antérieures, même si elles étaient pertinentes[25].
  10. Le Tribunal souligne que l’importation de la marchandise en cause et l’appel subséquent ont eu lieu à un moment où l’interprétation des dispositions législatives relatives aux mécanismes à déploiement assisté d’une barre de torsion était examinée par le Tribunal. M. Abrams est peut-être victime d’un malheureux concours de circonstances, compte tenu de la question connexe dans la décision Digital Canoe. Le Tribunal reconnaît que M. Abrams a invoqué ses arguments de bonne foi, mais ne peut légitimement leur accorder davantage de poids.

CONCLUSION

  1. Le Tribunal conclut que la marchandise en cause est correctement classée dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 à titre d’arme prohibée, conformément aux exigences de l’alinéa 84(1)a) du Code criminel, puisque la marchandise en cause s’ouvre automatiquement par pression manuelle sur un bouton, un ressort ou autre dispositif incorporé ou attaché au manche.

DÉCISION

  1. Pour les motifs qui précèdent, l’appel est rejeté.
 

[1].      L.R.C. 1985, ch. 1 (2e suppl.) [Loi].

[2].      L.C. 1997, ch. 36.

[3].      Pièce AP-2016-004-07A, onglet 1, vol. 1.

[4].      Ibid., onglets 2, 3.

[5].      D.O.R.S./91-499.

[6].      Pièce AP-2016-004-05A à la p. 5, vol. 1.

[7].      Pièce AP-2016-004-B-01, vol. 1.

[8].      L.R.C. (1985), ch. C-46.

[9].      (15 janvier 2014), AP-2012-072 (TCCE) [R. Christie].

[10].    (23 janvier 2013), « Importation et exportation d’armes à feu, d’armes et de dispositifs ».

[11].    (14 septembre 2015), AP-2014-030 (TCCE) [Knife & Key].

[12].    Pièce AP-2016-004-05A à la p. 5, vol. 1; pièce AP-2016-004-07A, onglet 3 à la p. 24, vol. 1.

[13].    (22 août 2016), AP-2015-026 (TCCE) [Digital Canoe].

[14].    Pièce AP-2016-004-07A, onglet 3 aux pp. 30-31, vol. 1.

[15].    Pièce AP-2016-004-B-01, vol. 1.

[16].    Aux par. 19, 20.

[17].    Canada (Attorney General) c. Bri-Chem Supply Ltd., 2016 FCA 257 (CanLII) aux par. 44-48.

[18].    Aux par. 20-24.

[19].    Knife & Key aux par. 34-45.

[20].    Pièce AP-2016-004-07A, onglet 3 à la p. 24, vol. 1.

[21].    Au par. 25.

[22].    Digital Canoe au par. 25; Knife & Key aux par. 26-27; La Sagesse de l’Eau c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (13 novembre 2012), AP-2011-040 et AP-2011-041 (TCCE) au par. 56.

[23].    Pièce AP-2016-004-07A, onglet 3 à la p. 24, vol. 1.

[25].    Cargill Inc. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (23 mai 2014), AP-2012-070 (TCCE) au par. 36; Toyota Tsusho America, Inc. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (27 avril 2011), AP-2010-063 (TCCE) au par. 8; Smith c. Minister of National Revenue, [1965] SCR 582, 1965 CanLII 59 (CSC); Canada (Ministre du Revenu national) c. Rollins Machinery Ltd., 1999 CanLII 8763 (CAF).

Numéro(s) du cas

AP-2016-004

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

ap2q004_f.pdf (145.4 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 20 Janvier 2017

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 20 Janvier 2017