Filing Documents

This practice notice relates to the filing of documents pursuant to Rule 12 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules (Rules).

In order to reduce the cost of filing documents and to improve parties’ access to justice, the Tribunal hereby gives notice that it is varying Rule 12 by application of Rule 6, as follows:

  1. Effective immediately, parties shall file their documents by one of the following means of electronic transmission (in order of preference):
    • secure e-filing, available at https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_e.html;
    • electronic mail to citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca should you accept the associated risks and you are filing information that belongs to you or your firm only;
    • digital media (e.g. CD, DVD or USB key) sent to the Registrar, Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, 333 Laurier Ave. W., 15th Floor, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G7. 

Please consult the appended technical requirements (e.g. format, file size limitations) for electronic filings.  

  1. In addition to the electronic filing, parties shall file paper copies as follows:
    • In Procurement Inquiries (PR), 3 copies of Government Institution Reports and replies to such Reports, but no copies of complaints;
    • In Customs, Excise Tax and Special Import Measures Act Appeals (AP, EA), 3 copies of case briefs, reply submissions, additional documents, and expert reports, but no copies of notices of appeal and no copies of any filings in Extension of Time (EP) proceedings;
    • In Interim Reviews (RD), 3 copies of  case briefs, witness statements, supporting documents, reply briefs, submissions, and reply submissions, but no copies of requests for interim review;
    • In Preliminary Injury Inquiries (PI), Public Interest Inquiries (PB), and Safeguards, Economic or Tariff Inquiries (GS, GC, MN), 4 copies of case briefs, witness statements, supporting documents, reply briefs, submissions, and reply submissions, but no copies of requests for public interest inquiries, exclusion requests or requests for information;
    • In Injury Inquiries (NQ) and Expiry Reviews (RR), 5 copies of case briefs, witness statements, supporting documents, reply briefs, submissions, and reply submissions, but no copies of exclusion requests or requests for information;
    • No paper copies are required in Expiries (LE) proceedings. 
  2. The electronic documents will constitute the original document for the Tribunal’s proceedings.
  3. The Tribunal may, if it considers that it is justified in the circumstances, allow paper-only filings upon request.

For more information, please contact the Registrar at 613‑993-3595.

 


Technical Requirements for Electronic Filing

Format Standards

The Tribunal requests document(s) to be submitted in PDF (Portable Document Format).

Documents converted to PDF from word processed text/spreadsheet program typically have far fewer megabytes than PDF documents that have been scanned. Additionally, searches of documents converted to PDF from word processed text/spreadsheet are more accurate than on PDF documents created from scanned documents.

This format was chosen because it allows a document to retain its pagination, formatting and fonts no matter what type of computer is used to view or print the document.

Note: Some special characters used in certain word processing applications may not convert easily to PDF. The conversion process to PDF may affect pagination as well as the conversion of special characters. Filers are responsible for the accuracy of the documents submitted. For more information please refer to the “PDF Conversion - Additional Instructions” section.

Documents are to be converted to Portable Document Format (PDF) prior to filing* electronically with the Tribunal. PDF files should, where possible, be created directly from a source document (word processing, spreadsheet and presentation programs such as Word, Excel, PowerPoint or any Microsoft Office Suite compatible format). Documents that exist only in paper format should be scanned to PDF in a searchable format to create a PDF file that supports keyword search.

*Tribunal questionnaires are to be filed in Excel format and PDF format.

Numerous programs exist for PDF conversion (such as Adobe), including some that are free. Many word processing, spreadsheet and presentation programs have built-in options that allow you to create/ download/export/save the document as PDF.

A single document of less than the file size limit described in the “File Size Limitations and Electronic Transmission” section below should not be broken into multiple documents. Tabs, bookmarks for example should be used to identify each section in a logical sequence. All paper copies and electronic versions which are accompanied by attachments must have a divider page or tab preceding each attachment. The divider page or tab must be properly identified/bookmarked.

PDF Conversion - Additional Instructions

Font

You must use only the Roman and Cyrillic alphabets in PDF format. Documents in other foreign language alphabets must be scanned. Special characters must be checked on conversion to ensure that they were not changed during the distilling process.

Embedded Files

Do not attach any embedded files to your PDF document for electronic filing. This includes all comments (note tool, pencil tool, highlights tool, digital signature tool, embedded files, embedded sounds or other multimedia); forms actions; JavaScript actions; external cross references, web links and image alternates.

Document Properties

Filers must not incorporate in their PDF documents any properties that might restrict or prevent the Tribunal from viewing, printing or searching the documents. Document security setting must have a PDF file security setting of “none,” no password protection.

Page Numbering

The numbering on the electronic version and the paper version should be identical.

Page Size Format

Ideally each page of an electronically filed document should be in letter-sized format (i.e., 8.5 inches by 11 inches when printed out by the Tribunal). Other formats are also acceptable (8.5 inches by 14 inches for example).

Confidentiality

In a confidential version of a document, all confidential information should be highlighted by using shading, boldface characters or square brackets.

The public version of the same document with the confidential information must be fully deleted when filing electronically. It is not sufficient to simply mask or hide the confidential information, it must be deleted.

Every page of the confidential document must have a red “PROTECTED” watermark at the bottom right corner of every page. The Watermark should be font size 18 Arial and should be bolded.

Scanned Documents

Although the Tribunal prefers that PDF documents filed electronically be converted directly from the original source document, it is not always practical or feasible. If you must scan a document for filing, please follow these guidelines:

  • Scanned Resolution - Scan the documents at a minimum 300 dpi (dots per inch).
  • Size – 1:1 Resolution (Scan so that the document will be the same size as the original) or
  • Paper Size – Adjust paper size to the right format.
  • OCR (Optical Character Recognition Process) – Create a PDF file that supports keyword search.
  • Make the PDF document searchable by using the “paper capture” feature of Adobe Acrobat or its equivalent process in any alternative software you use.

Note: Your software may be different than Adobe Acrobat.  Please consult your technical support staff or software provider if you require additional help.

  • Compression - PDF compression should be set at “standard”.
  • Images/Photos – Set image quality at “standard”.
  • Quality Assurance:
    • Review the scanned document(s) to ensure that all pages were captured;
    • Review the scanned document(s) to ensure that smallest details have been captured, for example decimal points;
    • Review the scanned document for accuracy, scanner-generated marks that were not present on paper document;
    • Perform a quick keyword search to ensure the PDF is fully searchable.

File Size Limitations and Electronic Transmission

Documents filed using the Tribunal Secure E-Filing Service (Tribunal’s preference) uploads at approximately 5 megabytes per minute using a high-speed connection. Consequently, a 15 megabyte document (i.e. approximately 400 pages) may take at least 3 minutes to upload depending upon your Internet connection. See the table below for approximate times to upload.

Please note that upload times and number of pages shown in the table are approximate. Many factors may have an influence on upload times, such as the PDF conversion format and the resolution of a scanned document or if it has been scanned in colour or in black and white.

Upload Time (approximate)

Size (megabytes)

Number of Pages

Time to Upload

5

125

>1 minute

10

250

>2 minutes

25

600

5 minutes

50

1,130

10 minutes

100

1,600

22 minutes

150

2,475

30 minutes

 

The Tribunal Secure E-Filing Service can accept up to 10 files to a maximum of 250 megabytes per transmission. Therefore the limit cannot exceed 250 megabytes per document.

A document that is in electronic form but exceeds the 250 megabyte limit may be/need to be filed on electronic media, such as DVD or USB key. Please contact the Registrar at (613) 993-3595 for more information or additional instructions.

More than one document can be submitted at a time as long as the total transferrable size of the transmission does not exceed 250 megabytes.

Resource Type

Status

Publication Date

Monday, February 13, 2017

Modification Date

Friday, October 6, 2017

Dépôt de documents

Le présent avis de pratiques a trait au dépôt de documents en vertu de l’article 12 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur

Afin de réduire les frais liés au dépôt de documents et d’améliorer l’accès à la justice des parties, le Tribunal avise par la présente qu’il modifie l’article 12 par application de l’article 6 comme suit :

  1. Prenant effet immédiatement, les parties déposerons leurs documents en utilisant l’un des moyens de transmission électronique suivants (par ordre de préférence) :
    • service de dépôt électronique sécurisé, disponible à l’adresse https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/ sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_f.html;
    • courriel à l’adresse tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca si vous acceptez les risques qui y sont associés et que vous déposez des renseignements qui vous appartiennent ou qui appartiennent à votre entreprise seulement;
    • support numérique (p. ex. CD, DVD ou clé USB) envoyé au greffier, Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, 15e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7. 
    • Pour les dépôts électroniques, veuillez consulter les exigences techniques ci-bas (p. ex. format, taille maximale d’un fichier).
  2. En plus des dépôts électroniques, les parties doivent déposer des copies papier comme suit :
    • Dans le cadre des enquêtes sur les marchés publics (PR), 3 copies du Rapport de l’institution fédérale et des commentaires en réponse à ce rapport doivent être déposées, mais aucune copie des plaintes.
    • Dans le cadre des appels en matière de douanes et d’accise et ayant trait à la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (AP, EA), 3 copies des mémoires, des commentaires en réponse, des documents additionnels et des rapports d’expert doivent être déposées, mais aucune copie des avis d’appel ou des documents déposés dans le cadre d’une procédure de prolongation de délai (EP).
    • Dans le cadre des réexamens intermédiaires (RD), 3 copies des mémoires, des dépositions de témoin, des documents à l’appui, des mémoires en réponse, des commentaires et des commentaires en réponse doivent être déposées, mais aucune copie des demandes pour un réexamen intermédiaire.
    • Dans le cadre des enquêtes préliminaires de dommage (PI), des enquêtes d’intérêt public (PB), des enquêtes de sauvegarde et des enquêtes sur des questions économiques et tarifaires (GS, GC, MN), 4 copies des mémoires, des dépositions de témoin, des documents à l’appui, des mémoires en réponse, des commentaires et des commentaires en réponse doivent être déposées, mais aucune copie des demandes pour une enquête d’intérêt public, des demandes d’exclusion ou des demandes de renseignement.
    • Dans le cadre des enquêtes de dommage (NQ) et des examens relatifs à l’expiration (RR), 5 copies des mémoires, des dépositions de témoin, des documents à l’appui, des mémoires en réponse, des commentaires et des commentaires en réponse doivent être déposées, mais aucune copie des demandes d’exclusion ou des demandes de renseignement.
    • Aucune copie papier n’est requise dans dans le cadre des procédures d’expiration (LE).
  3. Les documents électroniques constituent les documents originaux aux fins des procédures du Tribunal.
  4. Le Tribunal peut sur demande, s’il considère que cela est justifié dans les circonstances, permettre le dépôt de copies papier uniquement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier en composant le 613-993-3595

 


Exigences techniques pour les dépôts électroniques

Format des documents

Le Tribunal demande à ce que les documents soient déposés en format PDF (Portable Document Format).

Les documents Word et Excel convertis en format PDF contiennent en règle générale beaucoup moins de mégaoctets qu’un document PDF numérisé. De plus, les recherches effectuées dans des documents PDF convertis de documents Word ou Excel sont plus efficaces que celles effectuées dans des documents PDF numérisés.

Ce format a été choisi parce qu’il permet de retenir la pagination du document original, la mise en page et la police de caractères peu importe l’ordinateur utilisé pour visualiser ou imprimer le document.

Nota : Certains caractères spéciaux utilisés dans des documents Word ne se convertissent pas bien en format PDF. Le processus de conversion en format PDF peut avoir une incidence sur la pagination ainsi que sur les caractères spéciaux. Les parties sont responsables de la fidélité des documents qu’elles déposent. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la section « Conversion en format PDF– Instructions additionnelles » ci-dessous.

Les documents doivent être convertis en format PDF avant d’être déposés par voie électronique* auprès du Tribunal. Lorsque possible, les documents PDF doivent être créés directement à partir d’un fichier (Word, Excel, PowerPoint ou de tout autre fichier compatible Microsoft Office Suite). Les documents papier doivent être numérisés pour les convertir en format PDF consultable par mot-clé.

*Les questionnaires du Tribunal doivent être déposés en format Excel et PDF.

Il existe divers programmes de conversion en format PDF (comme Adobe), y compris des programmes gratuits. Plusieurs traitements de texte, tableurs et diaporamas ont des fonctions intégrées qui vous permettent de créer/télécharger/exporter/sauvegarder un document en format PDF.

Un document qui n’excède pas les limites indiquées dans la section « Taille maximale du fichier pour transmission électronique » ci-dessous ne doit pas être séparé en de multiples documents. Des onglets et des signets, par exemple, peuvent être utilisés pour identifier chaque section dans un ordre logique. Les pièces jointes accompagnant les versions papier et les versions électroniques doivent être démarquées par une page blanche ou un onglet précédent chaque pièce jointe. Les pages blanches ou les onglets doivent être correctement identifiés/marqués.

Conversion en format PDF– Instructions additionnelles

Police de caractères

La conversion en format PDF ne prend en charge que l’alphabet latin et l’alphabet cyrillique. Les documents en d’autres alphabets doivent être numérisés. La vérification des caractères spéciaux s’impose pour s’assurer qu’ils n’ont pas été modifiés au cours du processus.

Fichiers incorporés

Aucun fichier ne doit être incorporé au document PDF que vous désirez transmettre électroniquement. Cela comprend tous les commentaires (notes, texte surligné, signature numérique, fichiers incorporés, sons incorporés ou autres multimédias), la fonction « Forms », la fonction JavaScript, les liens externes, les adresses Web et les fichiers image.

Propriétés du document

Aucune propriété ne doit être incorporée au document PDF qui pourrait restreindre ou empêcher le Tribunal de visionner, imprimer ou faire une recherche dans les documents. Le niveau de sécurité du document PDF doit être réglé à « aucun » et ne pas comporter de mot de passe.

Pagination

La pagination des versions papier et électronique doit être identique.

Format

Idéalement, chaque page d’un document déposé par voie électronique devrait être d’un format papier à lettre (8,5 pouces sur 11 pouces lorsque le Tribunal les imprime). D’autres formats sont aussi acceptables (8,5 pouces sur 14 pouces par exemple).

Confidentialité

Dans la version confidentielle d’un document, tous les renseignements confidentiels doivent être indiqués en les surlignant, par des caractères gras ou en les mettant entre crochets.

Les renseignements confidentiels doivent être entièrement supprimés de la version non confidentielle du même document lors de la transmission électronique. Il n’est pas suffisant de simplement masquer ou cacher les renseignements confidentiels, ils doivent être supprimés.

Les documents confidentiels doivent avoir une étampe « PROTÉGÉ » dans le coin inférieur droit de chaque page. L’étampe doit être de taille 18 Arial et doit être en caractère gras.

Documents numérisés

Bien que le Tribunal préfère que les documents PDF déposés par voie électronique aient été convertis directement du document original, cela n’est pas toujours pratique ni faisable. Si vous devez numériser un document, veuillez le faire de la façon suivante :

  • Résolution – minimum 300 dpi
  • Taille – résolution 1:1 (même taille que l’original) ou
  • Format – choisissez le bon format de papier
  • OCR (Optical Character Recognition Process) – créez un document PDF consultable par mot-clé
  • À cette fin, utilisez la fonction « paper capture » d’Adobe Acrobat ou l’équivalent dans d’autres logiciels.

Nota : Vous avez peut-être un autre logiciel qu’Adobe Acrobat. Consultez votre personnel de soutien technique ou votre fournisseur de logiciels si vous avez besoin d’aide.

  • Compression – doit être réglée à « standard »
  • Images/Photos – la qualité de l’image doit être réglée à « standard »
  • Assurance de la qualité :
    • Assurez-vous qu’il ne manque aucune page.
    • Assurez-vous qu’aucun détail ne manque, des virgules de fraction par exemple.
    • Assurez-vous de la fidélité du document et que la numérisation n’a pas créé de marques qui ne sont pas présentes dans l’original.
    • Faites une recherche rapide dans le document par mots-clés pour vous assurer que la fonction recherche est fonctionnelle.

Taille maximale du fichier pour transmission électronique

Les documents déposés via le service sécurisé de dépôt électronique du Tribunal (sa préférence) sont téléchargés à une vitesse d’environ 5 mégaoctets la minute au moyen d’une connexion haut débit. Par conséquent, un document de 15 mégaoctets (environ 400 pages) prendra au moins 3 minutes à être téléchargé selon votre connexion Internet. Consultez le tableau ci-dessous pour la durée approximative des téléchargements.

Veuillez noter que la durée d’un téléchargement par rapport au nombre de pages est approximative. Plusieurs facteurs peuvent avoir une incidence sur la durée d’un téléchargement, comme le format de conversion en PDF et la résolution d’un document numérisé ou si celui-ci est en couleurs ou en noir et blanc.

Durée du téléchargement (approximative)

Taille (mégaoctets)

Nombre de pages

Durée

5

125

>1 minute

10

250

>2 minutes

25

600

5 minutes

50

1 130

10 minutes

100

1 600

22 minutes

150

2 475

30 minutes

 

Le service sécurisé de dépôt électronique du Tribunal peut traiter jusqu’à 10 fichiers d’un maximum de 250 mégaoctets par transmission. Par conséquent le nombre de mégaoctets par document ne peut excéder 250. Veuillez communiquer avec le greffier au (613) 993-3595 pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou des instructions supplémentaires.

Un document de plus de 250 mégaoctets peut être déposé sur support DVD ou clé USB. Plus d’un document peut être transmis à la fois en autant que la taille de l’ensemble des documents n’excède pas 250 mégaoctets.

Type de documentation

Statut

Date de publication

Le Lundi 13 Février 2017

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 6 Octobre 2017