SKOTIDAKIS GOAT FARM

1048547 ONTARIO INC. d.b.a. SKOTIDAKIS GOAT FARM
v.
PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY
Appeal No. AP-2016-021

Order issued
Tuesday, February 28, 2017

 

IN THE MATTER OF an appeal filed by 1048547 Ontario Inc. d.b.a. Skotidakis Goat Farm on August 26, 2016, pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Customs Act, R.S.C., 1985, c.1 (2nd Supp.);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a motion by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency under rule 24 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules on February 24, 2017, requesting that the Canadian International Trade Tribunal allow the filing of additional documents and the addition of a witness to its witness list.

BETWEEN

1048547 Ontario Inc. d.b.a. Skotidakis Goat Farm Appellant

AND

The President of the Canada BOrder Services Agency Respondent

ORDER

WHEREAS the President of the Canada Border Services Agency submitted a notice of motion on February 24, 2017, requesting to add a witness to its witness list and to file four sets of additional documents, attached to the notice of motion, being after the deadline established by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal;

AND WHEREAS 1048547 Ontario Inc. d.b.a. Skotidakis Goat Farm objected to the filing of the additional documents by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency and filed submissions in reply to the motion on February 27, 2017;

AND WHEREAS submissions supporting the motion were received from the intervener, the Dairy Farmers of Canada, on February 27, 2017;

AND WHEREAS additional submissions were received from the President of the Canada Border Services Agency on February 27, 2017;

THEREFORE, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, having now had the opportunity to fully consider the matter and the submissions of the parties, hereby orders that the documents attached to the notice of motion be placed on the record of this matter. In addition, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal will allow the President of the Canada Border Services Agency to add the witness to its witness list.

The motion by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency, dated February 24, 2017, is therefore granted.

The statement of reasons for this order will be included in the statement of reasons to the determination for this appeal.

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Presiding Member

Case Number(s)

AP-2016-021

Attachment(s)

ap2q21a_e.pdf (46.44 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Monday, March 20, 2017

Modification Date

Monday, March 20, 2017

SKOTIDAKIS GOAT FARM

1048547 ONTARIO INC. s/n SKOTIDAKIS GOAT FARM
c.
PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA

Appel no AP-2016-021

Ordonnance rendue
le mardi 28 février 2017

 

EU ÉGARD À un appel interjeté par 1048547 Ontario Inc. s/n Skotidakis Goat Farm le 26 août 2016 aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.);

ET EU ÉGARD À une requête déposée par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada le 24 février 2017 en vertu de l’article 24 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur demandant que le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur autorise le dépôt d’observations supplémentaires et l’ajout d’un témoin à sa liste de témoins.

ENTRE

1048547 ONTARIO INC. S/N SKOTIDAKIS GOAT FARM Appelante

ET

LE PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA Intimé

ORDONNANCE

ATTENDU QUE le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada a déposé un avis de requête le 24 février 2017 en vue d’ajouter un témoin à sa liste de témoins et de déposer quatre séries de documents additionnelles jointes à l’avis de requête, et ce, après la date butoir établie par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur;

ET ATTENDU QUE 1048547 Ontario Inc. s/n Skotidakis Goat Farm s’est opposée au dépôt de documents additionnels de la part du président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et a déposé des observations en réponse à la requête le 27 février 2017;

ET ATTENDU QUE la partie intervenante, Les Producteurs laitiers du Canada, a déposé des observations appuyant la requête le 27 février 2017;

ET ATTENDU QUE le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada a déposé des observations supplémentaires le 27 février 2017;

PAR CONSÉQUENT, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, ayant pu maintenant examiner attentivement l’affaire et les observations des parties, ordonne par la présente que les documents joints à l’avis de requête soient versés au dossier en l’espèce. De plus, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur permet au président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada d’ajouter le témoin à sa liste de témoins.

La requête déposée le 24 février 2017 par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada est, par conséquent, admise.

L’exposé des motifs de la présente ordonnance fera partie de l’exposé des motifs de la décision de cet appel.

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Membre présidant

Numéro(s) du cas

AP-2016-021

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

ap2q21a_f.pdf (45.76 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Lundi 20 Mars 2017

Date de modification

Le Lundi 20 Mars 2017