STAINLESS STEEL SINKS

STAINLESS STEEL SINKS
Expiry Review No. RR-2017-001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

REVISED NOTICE OF EXPIRY REVIEW OF FINDING

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) hereby gives notice that it will, pursuant to subsection 76.03(3) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), initiate an expiry review of its finding made on May 24, 2012, in Inquiry No. NQ-2011-002, concerning the dumping and subsidizing of stainless steel sinks with a single drawn bowl having a volume between 1,600 and 5,000 cubic inches (26,219.30 and 81,935.32 cubic centimetres) or with multiple drawn bowls having a combined volume between 2,200 and 6,800 cubic inches (36,051.54 and 111,432.04 cubic centimetres), originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China (the subject goods), excluding:

  • sinks fabricated by hand; and
  • stainless steel sinks with a single drawn bowl or double drawn bowls and a 1 1/4-inch (32-millimetre by 19-millimetre) cast-resin matrix rim that replaces a stainless steel rim, for undermount seamless installation in countertops

In this expiry review, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) will first determine whether the expiry of the finding in respect of the subject goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and subsidizing of the subject goods. If the CBSA determines that the expiry of the finding in respect of any goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and subsidizing, the Tribunal will then conduct an expiry review to determine if the continued or resumed dumping and subsidizing is likely to result in injury. The CBSA will provide notice of its determinations within 150 days after receiving notice of the Tribunal’s decision to initiate an expiry review, that is, no later than September 1, 2017. The Tribunal will issue its order and its statement of reasons no later than February 8, 2018.

Each person or government wishing to participate in this expiry review must file a notice of participation with the Tribunal on or before September 18, 2017. Each counsel who intends to represent a party in the expiry review must file a notice of representation, as well as a declaration and undertaking, with the Tribunal on or before September 18, 2017.

In accordance with section 46 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, a person who provides information to the Tribunal and who wishes some or all of the information to be kept confidential must, among other things, submit a non-confidential edited version or summary of the information designated as confidential, or a statement indicating why such a summary cannot be made.

Written submissions, correspondence and requests for information regarding the Tribunal’s portion of this matter should be addressed to the Registrar, Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, 15th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (telephone), 613-990-2439 (fax), citt‑tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (e-mail).

Further details regarding this expiry review, including the schedule of key events, are contained in the documents entitled “Additional Information” and “Expiry Review Schedule” appended to the notice of commencement of expiry review available on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/dumping-and-subsidizing/expiry-reviews-section-76....

Dated at Ottawa, Ontario,
this 23rd day of October 2017

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Notice of Expiry No. LE-2016-002, issued on February 13, 2017, informed interested persons and governments of the impending expiry of the Tribunal’s finding in Inquiry No. NQ-2011-002 concerning the dumping and subsidizing of the subject goods. On the basis of the information filed during the expiry process, the Tribunal is of the opinion that an expiry review of the finding is warranted.

In this expiry review, the CBSA will first conduct an investigation to determine whether the expiry of the finding in respect of the subject goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and subsidizing of the subject goods. To this end, the CBSA will send questionnaires to domestic producers, importers and foreign producers to gather information for its investigation. Further information regarding the CBSA’s investigation can be obtained by contacting Mr. Benjamin Bigio, Canada Border Services Agency, 11th Floor, 100 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L8, 613-952-8665 (telephone), Benjamin.Bigio@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca (e-mail). A copy of the CBSA’s investigation schedule is available on the CBSA’s Web site at www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/er-rre/menu-eng.html.

If the CBSA determines that the expiry of the finding in respect of any goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and subsidizing, the Tribunal will then conduct an expiry review, pursuant to the provisions of SIMA and its Expiry Review Guidelines, to determine if the continued or resumed dumping and subsidizing of the subject goods are likely to result in injury. Upon receipt of the CBSA’s determination, if any, of a likelihood of continued or resumed dumping and subsidizing, the Tribunal will issue other questionnaires to domestic producers, certain importers and foreign producers to gather information for the purposes of its expiry review.

The schedule for the Tribunal’s expiry review specifies, among other things, the date for the filing of replies to Tribunal expiry review questionnaires, the date on which information on the record will be made available by the Tribunal to interested parties and counsel that have filed notices of participation or notices of representation and declarations and undertakings, the dates for the filing of submissions by interested parties and the hearing date.

REQUESTS FOR PRODUCT EXCLUSIONS

The Tribunal’s Guideline to Making Requests for Product Exclusions, which can be found on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/g_excl_e, describes the procedure for filing requests for specific product exclusions. Forms are available on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/forms to facilitate the filing of product exclusion requests, responses and replies to responses. Parties may file in a different format if they so wish, provided all the information and supporting documentation requested in the forms are included. Please see the attached schedule for the filing deadlines for the product exclusion process. Parties filing product exclusion requests are requested to contact the Tribunal for additional information on filing and service requirements.

PROCEDURE FOR FILING WITH THE TRIBUNAL

Parties and the public may file documents electronically with the Tribunal through its Secure E‑filing Service at https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_e.html. The information is fully encrypted from the sender to the Tribunal.

Parties must still file paper copies in the required number as instructed. The electronic version and the hard-copy version must be identical. In case of discrepancies, the hard-copy version will be considered the original.

OTHER INFORMATION

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules govern these proceedings.

Written and oral communication with the Tribunal may be in English or in French.

The Expiry Reviews Guidelines can be found on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/Expiry_Review_Guidelines_e.

At the end of these proceedings, the Tribunal will issue a decision supported by a summary of the case, a summary of the arguments and an analysis of the case. The decision will be posted on its Web site and distributed to the parties and interested persons, as well as to organizations and persons that have registered to receive decisions of the Tribunal.

REVISED EXPIRY REVIEW SCHEDULE

April 4, 2017 - Tribunal issues notice of expiry review and schedule

August 8, 2017 - Teleconference on draft questionnaires (if required)

CBSA’s Investigation

April 5, 2017 - Initiation of the CBSA’s expiry review investigation and issuance of the CBSA questionnaires
Initial compilation of CBSA exhibits available

September 1, 2017 - CBSA’s determination
If determination is affirmative, information pursuant to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules is transferred to the Tribunal

September 1, 2017 - CBSA statement of reasons issued

Tribunal’s Expiry Review

September 5, 2017 - Initiation of Tribunal’s expiry review (following an affirmative determination by the CBSA)

September 18, 2017 - Notices of participation and representation, declarations and undertakings

September 26, 2017 - Replies to Tribunal expiry review questionnaires

October 30, 2017, by noon - Requests for product exclusions

November 6, 2017 - Distribution of Tribunal exhibits, including information transferred from the CBSA, and investigation report

Date to be determined - Investigation report teleconference (if required)

November 8, 2017, by noon - Domestic producers’ responses to requests for product exclusions

November 9, 2017, by noon - Cases of parties in support of a continuation of the finding

Date to be determined - Cases of parties in opposition to a continuation of the finding (if required)

November 15, 2017, by noon - Requesters’ replies to domestic producers’ responses to requests for product exclusions

Date to be determined - Reply submissions of parties in support of a continuation of the finding (if required)

November 27, 2017 - Teleconference (if required)

February 8, 2018 - Order and statement of reasons issued

 

Case Number(s)

RR-2017-001

Attachment(s)

rr2r001_e.pdf (79.08 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Modification Date

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

ÉVIERS EN ACIER INOXYDABLE

ÉVIERS EN ACIER INOXYDABLE
Réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2017-001

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

AVIS DE RÉEXAMEN RELATIF À L’EXPIRATION DES CONCLUSIONS RÉVISÉ

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) donne avis par les présentes qu’il procédera, conformément au paragraphe 76.03(3) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), au réexamen relatif à l’expiration de ses conclusions rendues le 24 mai 2012, dans le cadre de l’enquête nNQ-2011-002, concernant le dumping et le subventionnement d’éviers en acier inoxydable à simple cuvette emboutie, pouvant contenir un volume allant de 1 600 à 5 000 pouces cubes (26 219,30 et 81 935,3 centimètres cubes) ou à multiples cuvettes embouties d’un volume global entre 2 200 et 6 800 pouces cubes (36 051,54 et 111 432,04 centimètres cubes), originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine (les marchandises en question), à l’exception :

  • d’éviers fabriqués à la main; et
  • les éviers en acier inoxydable à simple cuvette emboutie ou à double cuvette emboutie ayant un rebord à matrice en résine moulée de 1 1/4 pouce sur 3/4 pouce (32 millimètres sur 19 millimètres) qui remplace un rebord en acier inoxydable, à montage sans joint sous le comptoir

Lors du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) doit déterminer si l’expiration des conclusions concernant les marchandises en question causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement des marchandises en question. Si l’ASFC détermine que l’expiration des conclusions concernant toute marchandise causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement, le Tribunal effectuera alors un réexamen relatif à l’expiration pour déterminer si la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement causera vraisemblablement un dommage. L’ASFC rendra sa décision dans les 150 jours après avoir reçu l’avis de la décision du Tribunal de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, soit au plus tard le 1er septembre 2017. Le Tribunal publiera son ordonnance et son exposé des motifs au plus tard le 8 février 2018.

Chaque personne ou gouvernement qui souhaite participer au réexamen relatif à l’expiration doit déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de participation au plus tard le 18 septembre 2017. Chaque conseiller qui désire représenter une partie au réexamen relatif à l’expiration doit déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de représentation ainsi qu’un acte de déclaration et d’engagement au plus tard le 18 septembre 2017.

Aux termes de l’article 46 de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, une personne qui fournit des renseignements au Tribunal et qui désire qu’ils soient gardés confidentiels en tout ou en partie doit fournir, entre autres, soit une version ne comportant pas les renseignements désignés comme confidentiels ou un résumé ne comportant pas de tels renseignements, soit un énoncé indiquant pourquoi il est impossible de faire le résumé en question.

Les exposés écrits, la correspondance et les demandes de renseignements concernant la partie du réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal doivent être envoyés au greffier, secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, 15e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (téléphone), 613-990-2439 (télécopieur), citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (courriel).

Des renseignements additionnels concernant le présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, y compris le calendrier des étapes importantes, se trouvent dans les documents intitulés « Renseignements additionnels » et « Calendrier du réexamen relatif à l’expiration » annexés à l’avis d’ouverture de réexamen relatif à l’expiration disponible sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/dumping-et-subventionnement/reexamens-relatifs-le....

Fait à Ottawa (Ontario)
le 23e jour d’octobre 2017

RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS

RENSEIGNEMENTS GÉNÉRAUX

L’avis d’expiration no LE-2016-002, publié le 13 février 2017, informait les personnes et les gouvernements intéressés de l’expiration imminente des conclusions du Tribunal dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ-2011-002 concernant le dumping et le subventionnement des marchandises en question. Le Tribunal est d’avis que, selon les renseignements déposés au cours du processus d’expiration, un réexamen relatif à l’expiration des conclusions est justifié.

Dans le cadre du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, l’ASFC mènera d’abord son enquête afin de déterminer si l’expiration des conclusions concernant les marchandises en question causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement des marchandises en question. Pour ce faire, l’ASFC enverra des questionnaires à des producteurs nationaux, à des importateurs et à des producteurs étrangers afin de recueillir des renseignements pour son enquête. De plus amples renseignements concernant l’enquête de l’ASFC peuvent être obtenus en communiquant avec M. Benjamin Bigio, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, 11e étage, 100, rue Metcalfe, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L8, 613-952-8665 (téléphone), Benjamin.Bigio@asfc-cbsa.gc.ca (courriel). Le calendrier des enquêtes de l’ASFC est disponible sur le site Web de l’ASFC à l’adresse www.asfc-cbsa.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/er-rre/menu-fra.html.

Si l’ASFC détermine que l’expiration des conclusions concernant toute marchandise causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement, le Tribunal effectuera un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, aux termes des dispositions de la LMSI et de ses Lignes directrices sur les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration, pour déterminer si la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement causera vraisemblablement un dommage. Lorsque le Tribunal recevra la décision de l’ASFC concernant la vraisemblance de la poursuite ou de la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement, il enverra, aux fins de sa partie du réexamen relatif à l’expiration, d’autres questionnaires aux producteurs nationaux, à certains importateurs et producteurs étrangers.

Le calendrier de réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal indique, entre autres, la date pour le dépôt des réponses aux questionnaires de réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal, la date à laquelle le Tribunal mettra les renseignements au dossier à la disposition des parties intéressées et des conseillers qui ont déposé un avis de participation ou un avis de représentation et un acte de déclaration et d’engagement, les dates pour le dépôt des exposés des parties intéressées ainsi que la date de l’audience.

DEMANDES D’EXCLUSION DE PRODUITS

La Ligne directrice sur les demandes d’exclusion de produits du Tribunal, qui se trouve sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/g_excl_f, décrit la marche à suivre pour déposer des demandes d’exclusion de certains produits. Des formules peuvent être téléchargées sur le site Web du Tribunal au www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/formules pour faciliter le dépôt de demandes d’exclusion de produits, de réponses et de répliques aux réponses. Les parties peuvent quand même déposer sous une autre forme si elles le désirent, à condition que tous les renseignements et documents à l’appui demandés dans les formules soient inclus. Veuillez consulter le calendrier ci-joint pour connaître les délais pour le dépôt de demandes dans le cadre du processus d’exclusion de produits. Les parties qui déposent des demandes d’exclusion de produits doivent contacter le Tribunal pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires concernant le dépôt et la signification de documents.

PROCÉDURE DE DÉPÔT AUPRÈS DU TRIBUNAL

Les parties et le public peuvent déposer des documents électroniquement auprès du Tribunal au moyen de son Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé à l’adresse https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_f.html. Les renseignements sont entièrement chiffrés depuis l’expéditeur jusqu’au Tribunal.

Les parties doivent quand même déposer le nombre requis de copies papier. La version électronique et la version papier doivent être identiques. S’il y a divergence, la version papier sera considérée comme la version originale.

AUTRES RENSEIGNEMENTS

Les Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur régissent la présente procédure.

Vous pouvez communiquer oralement ou par écrit avec le Tribunal en français ou en anglais.

Les Lignes directrices sur les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration peuvent être consultées sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/Expiry_Review_Guidelines_f.

À la fin de la procédure, le Tribunal rendra une décision accompagnée d’un résumé de l’affaire, d’un résumé des arguments et d’une analyse de l’affaire. La décision sera affichée sur son site Web et distribuée aux parties et autres personnes intéressées, ainsi qu’aux organisations et personnes qui se sont inscrites en vue de recevoir les décisions du Tribunal.

CALENDRIER DU RÉEXAMEN RELATIF À L’EXPIRATION RÉVISÉ

Le 4 avril 2017 - Le Tribunal distribue l’avis de réexamen relatif à l’expiration et le calendrier

Le 8 août 2017 - Téléconférence portant sur les ébauches de questionnaires (au besoin)

Enquête de l’ASFC

Le 5 avril 2017 - Début de l’enquête de l’ASFC sur le réexamen relatif à l’expiration et distribution des questionnaires de l’ASFC
Rassemblement initial des pièces justificatives de l’ASFC disponibles

Le 1er septembre 2017 - Décision de l’ASFC
Si la décision est positive, les renseignements nécessaires aux termes des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sont transmis au Tribunal

Le 1er septembre 2017 - Publication de l’exposé des motifs de l’ASFC

Réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal

Le 5 septembre 2017 - Début du réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal (à la suite d’une décision positive de l’ASFC)

Le 18 septembre 2017 - Avis de participation et de représentation, et actes de déclaration et d’engagement

Le 26 septembre 2017 - Réponses aux questionnaires de réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal

Le 30 octobre 2017, au plus tard à midi - Demandes d’exclusion de produits

Le 6 novembre 2017 - Distribution des pièces du Tribunal, y compris les renseignements transmis par l’ASFC, et du rapport d’enquête

À déterminer - Téléconférence concernant le rapport d’enquête (au besoin)

Le 8 novembre 2017, au plus tard à midi - Réponses des producteurs nationaux aux demandes d’exclusion de produits

Le 9 novembre 2017, au plus tard à midi - Dossiers des parties appuyant une prorogation des conclusions

À déterminer - Dossiers des parties s’opposant à une prorogation des conclusions (au besoin)

Le 15 novembre 2017, au plus tard à midi - Répliques des demandeurs aux réponses des producteurs nationaux aux demandes d’exclusion de produits
 

À déterminer - Exposés déposés en réponse des parties appuyant une prorogation des conclusions (au besoin)

Le 27 novembre 2017 - Téléconférence (au besoin)

Le 8 février 2018 - Publication de l’ordonnance et de l’exposé des motifs du Tribunal

 

Numéro(s) du cas

RR-2017-001

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

rr2r001_f.pdf (84.06 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mardi 24 Octobre 2017

Date de modification

Le Mardi 24 Octobre 2017