CERTAIN FABRICATED INDUSTRIAL STEEL COMPONENTS

CERTAIN FABRICATED INDUSTRIAL STEEL COMPONENTS
Inquiry No. NQ-2016-004

Order issued
Wednesday, March 29, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF an inquiry, pursuant to section 42 of the Special Import Measures Act, concerning the dumping of fabricated structural steel and plate-work components of buildings, process equipment, process enclosures, access structures, process structures, and structures for conveyancing and material handling, including steel beams, columns, braces, frames, railings, stairs, trusses, conveyor belt frame structures and galleries, bents, bins, chutes, hoppers, ductwork, process tanks, pipe racks and apron feeders, whether assembled or partially assembled into modules, or unassembled, for use in structures for: 1. oil and gas extraction, conveyance and processing; 2. mining extraction, conveyance, storage, and processing; 3. industrial power generation facilities; 4. petrochemical plants; 5. cement plants; 6. fertilizer plants; and 7. industrial metal smelters; but excluding electrical transmission towers; rolled steel products not further worked; steel beams not further worked; oil pump jacks; solar, wind and tidal power generation structures; power generation facilities with a rated capacity below 100 megawatts; goods classified as “prefabricated buildings” under HS Code 9406.00.90.30; structural steel for use in manufacturing facilities used in applications other than those described above; and products covered by Certain Fasteners (RR‑2014‑001), Structural Tubing (RR-2013-001), Carbon Steel Plate (III) (RR-2012-001), Carbon Steel Plate (VII) (NQ-2013-005) and Steel Grating (NQ-2010-002) (the subject goods), originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China, the Republic of Korea, the Kingdom of Spain, and the subsidizing of the subject goods originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China.

ORDER

WHEREAS the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) is required, pursuant to section 42 of the Special Import Measures Act, to make inquiry as to whether the dumping of the subject goods from China, Korea and Spain and the subsidizing of the subject goods from China has caused injury or threatens to cause injury to the domestic industry;

AND WHEREAS, based upon information available to the Tribunal, it appears that Burnco Manufacturing Inc. (Burnco) is a producer of the goods that are the subject of the Tribunal’s inquiry;

AND WHEREAS Burnco was directed to respond to the Tribunal’s Producers’ Questionnaire (available online) on or about February 20, 2017;

AND WHEREAS the Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal subsequently attempted to contact or contacted Burnco via email and telephone on several occasions, including on February 24, March 1, March 8, March 10, March 13, March 20, March 23, and March 27, 2017, with respect to revisions to their questionnaire response;

AND WHEREAS Burnco has not provided the information requested by the Tribunal;

AND WHEREAS the Tribunal considers such information to be relevant and important to the conduct of its inquiry;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to subsection 17(2) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Tribunal has, as regards the production and inspection of documents, the enforcement of its orders and other matters necessary or proper for the due exercise of its jurisdiction, all such powers, rights and privileges as are vested in a superior court of record;

AND UPON being satisfied that Burnco has or is likely to have information in its possession or control relevant to the Tribunal’s inquiry;

THE TRIBUNAL ORDERS THAT:

  1. A duly authorized representative of Burnco shall deliver to the Tribunal a certified written return of information in fulfilment of the information requirements listed in the attached schedule.
  2. Unless Burnco satisfies the Tribunal in writing before 12:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on March 30, 2017, that this order should not have been issued or that the required information cannot reasonably be provided, the required information is to be received no later than 12:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on April 4, 2017. The information may be filed via the Tribunal’s secure E‑filing service at https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_e.html or by email at citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca, should the risks associated with this method of transmission be accepted by Burnco, or by sending a hard copy or copy on digital media by courier to the following address:

    The Registrar
    Canadian International Trade Tribunal Secretariat
    333 Laurier Avenue West
    15th Floor
    Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G7

    Telephone: 613-993-3595

  3. The information provided by Burnco in fulfilment of the information requirements in the Tribunal’s Producers’ Questionnaire and the attached schedule may be designated as confidential by Burnco in accordance with sections 43 to 49 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Presiding Member

Rose Ritcey
Rose Ritcey

Member

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Member

SCHEDULE

Information Required

  1. Confirmation that the data provided in the questionnaire, other than in Schedule 7 which requests data for all goods produced by your company, only relates to FISC as defined in the product definition. Please note that, for the purposes of the Tribunal’s inquiry, FISC is defined as:

    Fabricated structural steel and plate-work components of buildings, process equipment, process enclosures, access structures, process structures, and structures for conveyancing and material handling, including steel beams, columns, braces, frames, railings, stairs, trusses, conveyor belt frame structures and galleries, bents, bins, chutes, hoppers, ductwork, process tanks, pipe racks and apron feeders, whether assembled or partially assembled into modules, or unassembled, for use in structures for: 1. oil and gas extraction, conveyance and processing; 2. mining extraction, conveyance, storage, and processing; 3. industrial power generation facilities; 4. petrochemical plants; 5. cement plants; 6. fertilizer plants; and 7. industrial metal smelters; but excluding electrical transmission towers; rolled steel products not further worked; steel beams not further worked; oil pump jacks; solar, wind and tidal power generation structures; power generation facilities with a rated capacity below 100 megawatts; goods classified as “prefabricated buildings” under HS Code 9406.00.90.30; structural steel for use in manufacturing facilities used in applications other than those described above; and products covered by Certain Fasteners (RR‑2014‑001), Structural Tubing (RR-2013-001), Carbon Steel Plate (III) (RR-2012-001), Carbon Steel Plate (VII) (NQ-2013-005) and Steel Grating (NQ-2010-002) (the subject goods), originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China, the Republic of Korea and the Kingdom of Spain [emphasis added].

    Specifically, please also confirm that Schedule 8 relates only to FISC as defined above.

  2. Schedule 2 – Confirm whether delivery costs were included in the net delivered selling values reported. If they were not included, please include them.
  3. Schedule 2 and Schedule 8 – Ensure that the information provided in these two schedules reconciles. In particular, in Schedule 8, assembly costs should only be provided if “Assembled FISC” was sold. (If only “Unassembled FISC” was sold, there should be no assembly costs included in Schedule 8). Schedule 2 refers to the sales of FISC and this is where you should indicate whether your sales were of assembled or unassembled FISC.
  4. Schedule 7 and Schedule 9 – Schedule 7 is the income statement for your total firm (all products together), whereas Schedule 9 is the income statement for domestically produced FISC only. Please ensure that the information provided in these two schedules is correct. Please provide an explanation or revise the numbers, if needed.  
  5. Schedule 8 – There are significant variations in the cost allocations over the period. Please provide an explanation or revise the numbers, if needed. 

Case Number(s)

NQ-2016-004

Attachment(s)

nq2q004a_e.pdf (52.66 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Friday, April 7, 2017

Modification Date

Friday, April 7, 2017

CERTAINS ÉLÉMENTS D’ACIER DE FABRICATION INDUSTRIELLE

CERTAINS ÉLÉMENTS D’ACIER DE FABRICATION INDUSTRIELLE
Enquête no NQ-2016-004

Ordonnance rendue
le mercredi 29 mars 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une enquête aux termes de l’article 42 de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation concernant le dumping d’éléments de la charpente de bâtiments, de matériels d’exploitation, d’enceintes de confinement, de structures d’accès, de structures de traitement, et de structures pour le transport et la manutention des matériaux, en acier ouvré de construction ou en grosse tôlerie, y compris les poutres d’acier, les colonnes, les pièces de contreventement, les charpentes, les garde-corps, les escaliers, les poutres continues, les galeries et les structures de châssis de transporteurs à courroie, les portiques, les silos, les goulottes, les trémies, les réseaux de gaines, les réservoirs de traitement, les râteliers à tubes et les distributeurs à lattes mécaniques, soit assemblés ou partiellement assemblés en modules, ou non assemblés, devant servir dans : 1. l’extraction, le transport et le traitement du pétrole et du gaz; 2. l’industrie minière (extraction, transport, stockage et traitement); 3. les centrales électriques industrielles; 4. les usines pétrochimiques; 5. les cimenteries; 6. les usines d’engrais; et 7. les fonderies de métaux industriels; à l’exclusion des pylônes électriques, des produits d’acier laminé non travaillés, des poutres d’acier non travaillées, des chevalets de pompage, des structures pour la  production d’énergie solaire, éolienne et marémotrice, des centrales électriques dont la capacité nominale est inférieure à 100 MW, des marchandises classées comme « constructions préfabriquées » sous le code SH 9406.00.90.30, de l’acier de construction utilisé dans des unités industrielles autres que celles décrites ci-dessus; et des produits assujettis aux ordonnances ou aux conclusions dans Certaines pièces d’attache (RR-2014-001), Certains tubes structuraux (RR-2013-001), Certaines tôles d’acier laminées à chaud (III) (RR-2012-001), Certaines tôles d’acier au carbone (VII) (NQ-2013-005) et Certains caillebotis en acier (NQ-2010-002) (les marchandises en question), originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine, de la République de Corée, du Royaume d’Espagne, et le subventionnement des marchandises en question originaires ou exportées de la République populaire de Chine.

ORDONNANCE

ATTENDU QUE le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal), aux termes de l’article 42 de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, est tenu d’enquêter sur la question de savoir si le dumping des marchandises en question provenant de la Chine, de la Corée et de l’Espagne et le subventionnement des marchandises en question provenant de la Chine ont causé un dommage ou menacent de causer un dommage à la branche de production nationale;

ET ATTENDU QUE, selon les renseignements dont dispose le Tribunal, il semble que Burnco Manufacturing Inc. (Burnco) soit un producteur des marchandises qui font l’objet de l’enquête du Tribunal;

ET ATTENDU QUE le Tribunal a demandé à Burnco le ou vers le 20 février 2017 de répondre au questionnaire à l’intention des producteurs (accessible en ligne);

ET ATTENDU QUE le Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur a par la suite tenté de communiquer ou a communiqué avec Burnco par téléphone et par courriel à plusieurs reprises, notamment les 24 février, 1er mars, 8 mars, 10 mars, 13 mars, 20 mars, 23 mars et 27 mars 2017, pour obtenir des précisions sur ses réponses au questionnaire;

ET ATTENDU QUE Burnco n’a pas fourni les renseignements demandés par le Tribunal;

ET ATTENDU QUE le Tribunal est d’avis que de tels renseignements sont pertinents et importants pour la conduite de son enquête;

ET ATTENDU QUE, aux termes du paragraphe 17(2) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal a, aux fins de la production et de l’examen des pièces, de l’exécution de ses ordonnances et de toutes autres questions liées à l’exercice de sa compétence, les attributions d’une cour supérieure d’archives;

ET ÉTANT convaincu que Burnco a ou est susceptible d’avoir en sa possession ou sous son contrôle des renseignements qui sont pertinents à son enquête;

LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE CE QUI SUIT :

  1. Un représentant dûment autorisé de Burnco est sommé de remettre au Tribunal les renseignements nécessaires afin de satisfaire à la demande de renseignements énoncée à l’annexe ci-jointe, dûment assermenté ou sous foi d’une affirmation solennelle.
  2. À défaut pour Burnco de convaincre le Tribunal, par écrit, avant 12 h (heure de l’Est) le 30 mars 2017 que la présente ordonnance n’aurait pas dû être rendue ou que les renseignements demandés ne peuvent être fournis de façon raisonnable, les renseignements demandés doivent parvenir au Tribunal au plus tard à 12 h (heure de l’Est) le 4 avril 2017. Les renseignements peuvent être déposés au moyen du Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé à l’adresse https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_f.html, ou par courriel à l’adresse citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca si Burnco accepte les risques associés à cette méthode de transmission, ou en faisant parvenir une copie papier ou une copie sur support numérique par messagerie à l’adresse suivante :

    Le greffier
    Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
    15e étage
    333, avenue Laurier Ouest
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G7

    Téléphone : 613-993-3595

  3. Les renseignements fournis par Burnco pour satisfaire à la demande de renseignements du questionnaire à l’intention des producteurs et de l’annexe ci-jointe peuvent être désignés confidentiels conformément aux articles 43 à 49 de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Membre présidant

Rose Ritcey
Rose Ritcey
Membre

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Membre

ANNEXE

Renseignements demandés

  1. Veuillez confirmer que les données fournies dans le questionnaire, autres que celles de l’annexe 7 qui ont trait à toutes les marchandises produites par votre entreprises, ne concernent que les éléments d’acier de fabrication industrielle tels que définis dans la définition du produit ci-dessous :

    éléments de la charpente de bâtiments, de matériels d’exploitation, d’enceintes de confinement, de structures d’accès, de structures de traitement, et de structures pour le transport et la manutention des matériaux, en acier ouvré de construction ou en grosse tôlerie, y compris les poutres d’acier, les colonnes, les pièces de contreventement, les charpentes, les garde-corps, les escaliers, les poutres continues, les galeries et les structures de châssis de transporteurs à courroie, les portiques, les silos, les goulottes, les trémies, les réseaux de gaines, les réservoirs de traitement, les râteliers à tubes et les distributeurs à lattes mécaniques, soit assemblés ou partiellement assemblés en modules, ou non assemblés, devant servir dans : 1. l’extraction, le transport et le traitement du pétrole et du gaz; 2. l’industrie minière (extraction, transport, stockage et traitement); 3. les centrales électriques industrielles; 4. les usines pétrochimiques; 5. les cimenteries; 6. les usines d’engrais; et 7. les fonderies de métaux industriels; à l’exclusion des pylônes électriques, des produits d’acier laminé non travaillés, des poutres d’acier non travaillées, des chevalets de pompage, des structures pour la  production d’énergie solaire, éolienne et marémotrice, des centrales électriques dont la capacité nominale est inférieure à 100 MW, des marchandises classées comme « constructions préfabriquées » sous le code SH 9406.00.90.30, de l’acier de construction utilisé dans des unités industrielles autres que celles décrites ci-dessus; et des produits assujettis aux ordonnances ou aux conclusions dans Certaines pièces d’attache (RR-2014-001), Certains tubes structuraux (RR-2013-001), Certaines tôles d’acier laminées à chaud (III) (RR-2012-001), Certaines tôles d’acier au carbone (VII) (NQ-2013-005) et Certains caillebotis en acier (NQ-2010-002) (les marchandises en question), originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine, de la République de Corée et du Royaume d’Espagne [nos caractères gras]..

    Plus particulièrement, veuillez confirmer que les données de l’annexe 8 n’ont trait qu’aux éléments d’acier de fabrication industrielle ci-dessus.

  2. Annexe 2 – Veuillez indiquer si les frais de livraison sont inclus dans la valeur de vente nette rendue. Dans la négative, veuillez les inclure.
  3. Annexes 2 et 8 – Veuillez vous assurer que les renseignements fournis dans ces deux annexes correspondent. En particulier, dans l’annexe 8, le coût d’assemblage ne doit être donné que si vous avez vendu des « éléments d’acier de fabrication industrielle assemblés ». (Si vous n’avez vendu que des « éléments d’acier de fabrication industrielle non assemblés », aucun coût d’assemblage ne doit figurer à l’annexe 8). L’annexe 2 a trait aux ventes d’éléments d’acier de fabrication industrielle et c’est dans cette annexe que vous devez indiquer si vos ventes concernent des éléments d’acier de fabrication industrielle assemblés ou non assemblés.
  4. Annexes 7 et 9 – L’annexe 7 a trait à l’état des résultats pour l’ensemble de votre entreprise (l’ensemble de vos produits), tandis que l’annexe 9 ne concerne que l’état des résultats pour les éléments d’acier de fabrication industrielle de production nationale. Veuillez vous assurer que les renseignements fournis dans ces deux annexes sont exacts. Veuillez donner une explication ou, le cas échéant, corriger vos chiffres. 
  5. Annexe 8 – Il y a d’importantes variations en ce qui concerne les coûts d’une année à l’autre. Veuillez donner une explication ou, le cas échéant, corriger vos chiffres. 

Numéro(s) du cas

NQ-2016-004

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

nq2q004a_f.pdf (56.75 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 7 Avril 2017

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 7 Avril 2017