EDGAR INC.

EDGAR INC.
File No. PR-2017-001

Decision made
Monday, April 10, 2017

Decision and reasons issued
Thursday, April 13, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a complaint filed pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.).

BY

EDGAR INC.

AGAINST

THE CANADA REVENUE AGENCY

DECISION

Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

Daniel Petit
Daniel Petit
Presiding Member

STATEMENT OF REASONS

  1. Subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act[1] provides that, subject to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations,[2] a potential supplier may file a complaint with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) concerning any aspect of the procurement process that relates to a designated contract and request the Tribunal to conduct an inquiry into the complaint. Subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act provides that, subject to the Regulations, after the Tribunal determines that a complaint complies with subsection 30.11(2) of the CITT Act, it shall decide whether to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

SUMMARY OF COMPLAINT

  1. On April 7, 2017, Edgar Inc. (Edgar) filed a complaint with the Tribunal regarding a Request for Proposal (RFP) (Solicitation No. 1000329852) issued by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) on May 19, 2016, for translation and editing services.
  2. Edgar alleges that it should be compensated for lost opportunity in accordance with the Tribunal’s determination on March 15, 2017, in The Masha Krupp Translation Group Ltd. v. Canada Revenue Agency,[3] which pertains to the same RFP as the one in the present case.
  3. In Masha Krupp, the Tribunal recommended that the CRA retender the procurement that is the subject of the present complaint and that it compensate the complainant, The Masha Krupp Translation Group Ltd. (MKTG), “for lost opportunity in the amount of the profit that it would reasonably have made during the time that CLS Lexi-Tech holds the current contract and until such time as the retendering is complete, divided by the number of bidders that were compliant with the [solicitation’s] mandatory criteria.”
  4. Edgar also alleges that it would be aggrieved were MKTG to be compensated, because such compensation could “assist it directly in reducing its bid price in [the new] solicitation, which would constitute unfair competition towards Edgar if it did not benefit from the same advantage when the new solicitation is launched, given that it was aggrieved by the CRA’s irregularities in the same way [MKTG] was” [translation][4].

BACKGROUND

  1. On May 19, 2016, the CRA issued the RFP.
  2. On June 28, 2016, Edgar submitted its bid in response to the RFP.
  3. On September 27, 2016, the CRA informed Edgar that the contract had been awarded to CLS Lexi‑Tech Ltd.
  4. On October 31, 2016, MKTG filed its complaint with the Tribunal.
  5. The Tribunal issued its determination concerning MKTG’s complaint on March 15, 2017, and the reasons supporting its determination on March 20, 2017. Edgar alleges that it became aware of the Tribunal’s determination on March 24, 2017, and of its reasons on April 3, 2017.
  6. On March 28, 2017, Edgar requested direction from the CRA, by e-mail, regarding the procedure for obtaining the compensation to which it alleges it is entitled in accordance with the Tribunal’s determination.[5]
  7. On April 3, 2017, the CRA replied to Edgar’s e-mail by indicating that the determination in Masha Krupp awarded a remedy only to the complainant in that case, namely MKTG. The CRA added that Edgar was not a party to the proceedings and that, consequently, it was not entitled to a remedy. The CRA also suggested to Edgar that it contact the Tribunal with regard to any questions pertaining to its decision in Masha Krupp.
  8. On April 7, 2017, Edgar filed its complaint with the Tribunal.

ANALYSIS

  1. Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint for the reasons that follow.
  2. To initiate an inquiry, the Tribunal must be satisfied that (a) the complainant is a potential supplier, (b) the complaint is in respect of a designated contract and (c) the complaint discloses a reasonable indication that the procurement has not been carried out in accordance with the applicable trade agreement,[6] which in this case is the Agreement on Internal Trade.[7] The complaint must also be filed within the prescribed time limits.[8]
  3. In this case, the complaint does not disclose a reasonable indication that the procurement process was not conducted in accordance with the AIT.
  4. Edgar’s understanding of the effect on it of the Tribunal’s decision in Masha Krupp is incorrect. In that case, the Tribunal recommended that only MKTG be compensated. The fact that in calculating compensation to be awarded to MKTG the Tribunal mentioned that the amount be “divided by the number of bidders that were compliant with the [solicitation’s] mandatory criteria” [emphasis added] does not grant any right to Edgar, who was not a party to those proceedings. 
  5. Concerning the second ground of complaint that Edgar would be aggrieved if it were not compensated whereas MKTG would be granted compensation, the Tribunal notes that this possibility cannot justify an inquiry under the CITT Act or the Regulations. In procurement complaint proceedings, the complainant bears the burden of establishing a reasonable indication of a breach of an applicable trade agreement. Edgar failed to discharge its burden in the case at hand.

DECISION

  1. Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.
 

[1].      R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.) [CITT Act].

[2].      S.O.R./93-602 [Regulations].

[3].      The Masha Krupp Translation Group Ltd. v. Canada Revenue Agency (15 March 2017), PR-2016-041 (CITT) [Masha Krupp].

[4].      Complaint at 7.

[5].      E-mail from Edgar to the CRA dated March 28, 2017. 

[6].      Subsection 7(1) of the Regulations.

[7].      18 July 1994, C. Gaz. 1995.I.1323, online: Internal Trade Secretariat <http://www.ait-aci.ca/agreement-on-internal-trade/> [AIT].

[8].      Section 6 of the Regulations.

Case Number(s)

PR-2017-001

Attachment(s)

pr2r001_e.pdf (54.63 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Modification Date

Thursday, May 4, 2017

EDGAR INC.

EDGAR INC.
Dossier no PR-2017-001

Décision prise
le lundi 10 avril 2017

Décision et motifs rendus
le jeudi 13 avril 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une plainte déposée aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.).

PAR

EDGAR INC.

CONTRE

L’AGENCE DU REVENU DU CANADA

DÉCISION

Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

Daniel Petit
Daniel Petit
Membre présidant

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[1], tout fournisseur potentiel peut, sous réserve du Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics[2], déposer une plainte auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) concernant la procédure des marchés publics suivie relativement à un contrat spécifique et lui demander d’enquêter sur cette plainte. En vertu du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, après avoir jugé la plainte conforme au paragraphe 30.11(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE et sous réserve du Règlement, le Tribunal détermine s’il y a lieu d’enquêter.

RÉSUMÉ DE LA PLAINTE

  1. Le 7 avril 2017, Edgar Inc. (Edgar) a déposé une plainte auprès du Tribunal relativement à une demande de propositions (DP) (invitation n° 1000329852) émise par l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) le 19 mai 2016 pour la prestation de services de traduction et de révision.
  2. Edgar allègue qu’elle a droit à une indemnité pour perte d’opportunité en vertu de la décision du Tribunal rendue le 15 mars 2017 dans The Masha Krupp Translation Group Ltd. c. Agence du revenu du Canada[3], qui concerne la même DP que celle en l’espèce.
  3. Dans cette affaire, le Tribunal a recommandé à l’ARC de lancer dès que possible un nouvel appel d’offres pour le marché faisant l’objet de la plainte et de verser à la plaignante, The Masha Krupp Translation Group Ltd. (MKTG), « une indemnité pour perte d’opportunité d’un montant correspondant au profit que la partie plaignante aurait raisonnablement réalisé pendant la période où CLS Lexi-Tech était titulaire du contrat jusqu’à ce qu’un nouveau contrat soit adjugé, divisé par le nombre de soumissionnaires ayant satisfait aux critères obligatoires de l’appel d’offres ».
  4. Edgar allègue également qu’elle serait lésée si MKTG recevait une indemnité puisque ce montant pourrait « lui servir directement à réduire son prix dans [le nouvel] appel d’offres, ce qui constituera une concurrence déloyale envers Edgar si celle-ci, ayant souffert des irrégularités commises par l’ARC au même titre que [MKTG], ne pouvait profiter du même avantage au moment de revenir en appel d’offres. »[4]

CONTEXTE

  1. Le 19 mai 2016, l’ARC a émis la DP.
  2. Le 28 juin 2016, Edgar a soumis sa proposition en réponse à la DP.
  3. Le 27 septembre 2016, l’ARC a informé Edgar que le marché a été attribué à CLS Lexi-Tech Ltd.
  4. Le 31 octobre 2016, MKTG a déposé sa plainte auprès du Tribunal.
  5. Le Tribunal a rendu sa décision eu égard à la plainte de MKTG le 15 mars 2017 et les motifs le 20 mars 2017. Edgar allègue qu’elle a pris connaissance de la décision du Tribunal le 24 mars 2017 et de l’exposé des motifs le 3 avril 2017.
  6. Le 28 mars 2017, Edgar s’est informée auprès de l’ARC, par courriel, sur la procédure à suivre pour obtenir une indemnité à laquelle elle prétend avoir droit en vertu de la décision du Tribunal[5].
  7. Le 3 avril 2017, l’ARC a répondu au courriel d’Edgar en indiquant que la décision dans Masha Krupp n’accorde une mesure corrective qu’à la plaignante dans cette affaire, soit MKTG. L’ARC a ajouté qu’Edgar n’était pas une partie à la procédure et que, par conséquent, elle n’a pas droit à une mesure corrective. Elle a aussi suggéré à Edgar de contacter le Tribunal pour toutes questions portant sur sa décision dans Masha Krupp.  
  8. Le 7 avril 2017, Edgar a déposé sa plainte auprès du Tribunal.

ANALYSE

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal a décidé de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte pour les motifs qui suivent.
  2. Pour mener une enquête, le Tribunal doit être convaincu a) que la partie plaignante est un fournisseur potentiel, b) que la plainte porte sur un contrat spécifique et c) que la plainte démontre, dans une mesure raisonnable, que la procédure du marché public n’a pas été suivie conformément à l’accord commercial applicable[6], lequel est en l’espèce l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur[7]. La plainte doit aussi être déposée dans les délais prescrits[8].
  3. En l’espèce, la plainte ne démontre pas, dans une mesure raisonnable, que la procédure de passation du marché public n’a pas été suivie conformément à l’ACI.
  4. La compréhension d’Edgar eu égard aux conséquences pour elle de la décision du Tribunal dans Masha Krupp n’est pas exacte. Dans cette affaire, le Tribunal a recommandé que seulement MKTG soit indemnisée. Le fait que le Tribunal mentionne, dans le calcul de l’indemnité accordée à MKTG, qu’un montant est « divisé par le nombre de soumissionnaires ayant satisfait aux critères obligatoires de l’appel d’offres » [nos italiques] ne confère pas à Edgar, qui n’était pas partie à cette procédure, un quelconque droit.
  5. En ce qui concerne le deuxième motif de plainte selon lequel Edgar estime qu’elle serait lésée si elle ne recevait pas d’indemnité alors que MKTG en recevrait une, le Tribunal note que cette éventualité ne peut justifier son intervention aux termes de la Loi sur le TCCE ou du Règlement. Dans une procédure de plainte concernant un marché public, la partie plaignante a le fardeau de démontrer au Tribunal, dans une mesure raisonnable, qu’il y a eu violation d’un accord applicable. En l’espèce, Edgar ne s’est pas déchargée de son fardeau.

DÉCISION

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.
 

[1].      L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.) [Loi sur le TCCE].

[2].      D.O.R.S./93-602 [Règlement].

[3].       The Masha Krupp Translation Group Ltd. c. Agence du revenu du Canada (15 mars 2017), PR-2016-041 (TCCE) [Masha Krupp].

[4].       Plainte à la p. 7.

[5].       Courriel d’Edgar à l’ARC daté du 28 mars 2017. 

[6].      Paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement.

[7].      18 juillet 1994, Gaz C. 1995.I.1323, en ligne : Secrétariat du commerce intérieur http://www.ait-aci.ca/agreement-on-internal-trade/?lang=fr [ACI].

[8].      Article 6 du Règlement.

Numéro(s) du cas

PR-2017-001

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pr2r001_f.pdf (54.85 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Jeudi 4 Mai 2017

Date de modification

Le Jeudi 4 Mai 2017