STENOTRAN SERVICES INC.

STENOTRAN SERVICES INC.
File No. PR-2017-012

Decision made
Monday, June 12, 2017

Decision and reasons issued
Thursday, June 15, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a complaint filed pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.).

BY

STENOTRAN SERVICES INC.

AGAINST

THE PATENTED MEDICINE PRICES REVIEW BOARD

DECISION

Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Presiding Member

STATEMENT OF REASONS

1.Subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act[1] provides that, subject to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations,[2] a potential supplier may file a complaint with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) concerning any aspect of the procurement process that relates to a designated contract and request the Tribunal to conduct an inquiry into the complaint. Subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act provides that, subject to the Regulations, after the Tribunal determines that a complaint complies with subsection 30.11(2) of the CITT Act, it shall decide whether to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

BACKGROUND

2.This complaint by StenoTran Services Inc. (StenoTran) concerns a request for proposal (RFP) (Solicitation No. 170070) for verbatim court reporting services issued by the Patented Medicine Prices Review Board (PMPRB).

3.On April 13, 2017, the PMPRB issued the RFP. The original bid closing date was May 29, 2017. The final bid closing date was June 9, 2017.

4.On May 18, 2017, StenoTran submitted several questions regarding the RFP to the PMPRB. One of the questions related to the weights that were being applied to each of the pricing categories set out in the Pricing Schedule found at Attachment 1 to Part 3 of the RFP. The four pricing categories are as follows:

Table “A1” – Initial Contract (award to 1 year thereafter)[3]

A

B

C

 

Item

 

Requirement

Firm All Inclusive Price

(TAXES NOT INCLUDED)

i)

Price per page for original copy and an MS Word document, a PDF document, a digital recording with annotations and the chess clock reports – 1 day delivery

$

ii)

Price per page for additional copies in excess of i) above – 1 day delivery

$

iii)

Cancellation charge- may be claimed if the Contractor is notified less than 48 hours (2 business days) prior to the scheduled commencement of a Hearing.

$

iv)

Recess fee – in cases where a Hearing is terminated sooner than expected, a recess charge may be claimed by the Contractor. Whenever the recess charge is billed, the transcript pages that are produced before the termination of the Hearing will be provided at no additional charge beyond the recess cost.

$

Sub-total

$

5.On June 1, 2017, the PMPRB published responses to all questions posed by potential suppliers. In response to StenoTran’s question regarding the weighting system, the PMPRB responded that “the basis of selection is the highest combined rating of technical merit (70%) and price (30%). To establish the pricing score, each responsive bid will be prorated against the lowest evaluated price and the ratio of 30%.”[4]

6.On June 2, 2017, StenoTran requested clarification of this response as it did not, in StenoTran’s opinion, address the question that was asked. StenoTran also requested a further extension to the bid closing date.

7.On June 6, 2017, the PMPRB responded to StenoTran’s request for clarification as follows: “The financial evaluation will be conducted by calculating the Total Bid Price. The pricing score will be established by prorating it against the lowest evaluated price and the ratio of 30%.”[5] StenoTran again requested clarification of this response as, in StenoTran’s opinion, it still did not answer the question posed. PMPRB responded that “our basis of selection is the highest combined rating of technical merit and price – it is based on best value.”[6]

8.StenoTran replied that the trade agreements require that PMPRB disclose the method that it will use to determine “best value”. The PMPRB responded that the criteria that will be used to evaluate the bids are clearly identified in the RFP; specifically, Part 4 of the RFP stipulates that the basis of selection will be the “highest combined rating of technical merit and price”.

9.On June 7, 2017, StenoTran filed its complaint with the Tribunal. StenoTran’s complaint is that the PMPRB failed to disclose the weighting system it will use to evaluate the financial proposals, in violation of Article 506(6) of the Agreement on Internal Trade.[7]

10.According to StenoTran, the cancellation charge and the recess fee should be weighted less than the two price-per-page categories in the evaluation of the Total Bid Price, as the cancellation charge and recess fee are much larger than the regular per-page fees, but are rarely invoked. StenoTran argued that the PMPRB therefore intends to apply a “secret formula” to give the recess and cancellation fees less weight than the regular per-page fees.

11.StenoTran also argued that, if these fees are to be weighted equally, potential suppliers will be compelled to bid zero for the cancellation and recess fees in order to ensure their bid price is not “over‑inflated”.

12.StenoTran requested, as a remedy, that the PMPRB be ordered to disclose the formula for weighting the bid price calculation and that the bid closing date be extended to five days after the Tribunal renders its decision in this matter. StenoTran also requested an order postponing the award of the contract.

ANALYSIS

13.For the reasons that follow, the Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into this complaint.

14.Article 506(6) of the AIT requires, in part, that “[t]he tender documents shall clearly identify the requirements of the procurement, the criteria that will be used in the evaluation of bids and the methods of weighting and evaluating the criteria.”

15.StenoTran’s complaint is framed around its contention that the four pricing elements should be weighted differently in order to ensure that bid prices are not “over-inflated”. Accordingly, StenoTran has assumed that the PMPRB will in fact weight these criteria differently but has refused to disclose what formula it will apply to do so. In other words, StenoTran is assuming that the evaluators will apply undisclosed evaluation criteria in evaluating the bids.

16.The Tribunal finds that there is no basis for StenoTran’s assumption in the terms of the RFP. The structure of the Pricing Schedule set out above indicates that the price will be calculated through a simple mathematical summation of the proposed prices for all four criteria, i.e. all four criteria will be given equal weight. While it is unfortunate that none of the PMPRB’s responses to StenoTran’s question gave this explanation, the terms of the RFP appear clear on their face, and the failure to give an adequate response does not, in and of itself, amount to a violation of the AIT.

17.However, should StenoTran’s assumption prove correct and the PMPRB ultimately adopts a different weighting of these four criteria in evaluating the bids, StenoTran or any other potential supplier would be free to file a complaint on the basis that the evaluators applied undisclosed evaluation criteria.

18.Finally, the PMPRB’s reference to the bids being evaluated on the basis of “best value” in its correspondence does not amount to the application of undisclosed evaluation criteria, as this appears to be a description of the basis of selection set out in the RFP, which is the “Highest Combined Rating of Technical Merit and Price”. However, again, should the evaluators adopt another meaning of “best value” that is ultimately applied in the evaluation of the bids, this could form the basis for a future complaint.

DECISION

19.Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

 

[1].     R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.) [CITT Act].

[2].     S.O.R./93-602 [Regulations].

[3].     Identical tables are provided for each of the four option periods (Tables A2-A5). The Total Bid Price is the sum of the sub-totals of Tables A1-A5, plus HST (as per Part 4, Section 1.4 – Financial Evaluation).

[4].     Questions and Answers, RFP 170070, at 1.

[5].     Complaint at 81.

[6].     Complaint at 88.

[7].     18 July 1994, C. Gaz. 1995.I.1323, online: Internal Trade Secretariat <http://www.ait-aci.ca/agreement-internal-trade/> [AIT].

Case Number(s)

PR-2017-012

Attachment(s)

pr2r012_e.pdf (72.92 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Monday, July 10, 2017

Modification Date

Monday, July 10, 2017

STENOTRAN SERVICES INC.

STENOTRAN SERVICES INC.
Dossier no PR-2017-012

Décision prise
le lundi 12 juin 2017

Décision et motifs rendus
le jeudi 15 juin 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une plainte déposée aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.).

PAR

STENOTRAN SERVICES INC.

CONTRE

LE CONSEIL D’EXAMEN DU PRIX DES MÉDICAMENTS BREVETÉS

DÉCISION

Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Membre présidant

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

1. En vertu du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[1], tout fournisseur potentiel peut, sous réserve du Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics[2], déposer une plainte auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) concernant la procédure des marchés publics suivie relativement à un contrat spécifique et lui demander d’enquêter sur cette plainte. En vertu du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, après avoir jugé la plainte conforme au paragraphe 30.11(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE et sous réserve du Règlement, le Tribunal détermine s’il y a lieu d’enquêter.

CONTEXTE

2. La présente plainte de StenoTran Services Inc. (StenoTran) concerne une demande de propositions (DP) (invitation no 170070) émise par le Conseil d’examen du prix des médicaments brevetés (CEPMB) pour la prestation de services de sténographie judiciaire.

3. La DP a été émise par le CEPMB le 13 avril 2017. La date de clôture originale était le 29 mai 2017, qui a été reportée au 9 juin 2017.

4. Le 18 mai 2017, StenoTran a soumis au CEPMB plusieurs questions concernant la DP. Une de ces questions avait trait aux pondérations attribuées à chacune des catégories de prix énoncées dans la pièce jointe 1 de la partie 3 de la DP, Barème de prix. Les quatre catégories de prix étaient les suivantes :

Tableau A1 – Contrat initial (de la date d’attribution du contrat à un an plus tard)[3]

A

B

C

 

Article

 

Exigence

Prix ferme tout compris

(TAXES EN SUS)

i)

Prix par page pour la copie originale et un document MS Word, un document PDF, un enregistrement numérique avec annotations et les rapports minutés – délai de livraison de 1 journée.

..............................$

ii)

Prix par page pour les copies additionnelles s’ajoutant à l’original (i) – délai de livraison de 1 journée.

..............................$

iii)

Frais d’annulation – Des frais d’annulation peuvent être réclamés si l’entrepreneur est avisé moins de 48 heures (2 jours ouvrables) avant la date prévue d’une audience.

..............................$

iv)

Frais de suspension d’audience – L’entrepreneur peut réclamer des « frais de suspension d’audience » si une audience se termine plus tôt que prévu. Chaque fois que des frais de suspension d’audience sont facturés, les pages de transcriptions qui ont été rédigées avant la fin de l’audience sont remises sans frais additionnels.

..............................$

Sous-total

..............................$

[Traduction]

5. Le 1er juin 2017, le CEPMB a publié ses réponses à toutes les questions posées par les fournisseurs potentiels. En réponse à la question de StenoTran au sujet des pondérations, le CEPMB a indiqué que « la sélection se fera en fonction de la meilleure note globale pour le mérite technique (70 %) et pour le prix (30 %). Afin de déterminer la note pour le prix, chaque soumission recevable sera évaluée proportionnellement au prix évalué le plus bas et selon le ratio de 30 % »[4] [traduction].

6. Le 2 juin 2017, StenoTran a demandé des éclaircissements concernant cette réponse car, à son avis, elle ne répondait pas à sa question. StenoTran a aussi demandé que la date de clôture soit reportée une autre fois.

7. Le 6 juin 2017, le CEPMB a répondu à la demande d’éclaircissements de StenoTran de la façon suivante : « L’évaluation financière sera faite en calculant le prix total de la soumission. La note pour le prix sera déterminée en proportion du prix évalué le plus bas et selon le ratio de 30 % »[5] [traduction]. StenoTran a de nouveau demandé des éclaircissements concernant cette réponse car, à son avis, elle ne répondait toujours pas à sa question. Le CEPMB a répondu que « la sélection se fera en fonction de la meilleure notepour le mérite combinée à la meilleure note pour le prix – elle est fondée sur le meilleur rapport qualité-prix »[6] [traduction].

8. StenoTran a répondu que les accords commerciaux exigent que le CEPMB indique la méthode qu’il entend utiliser pour déterminer le « meilleur rapport qualité-prix ». Le CEPMB a répondu que les critères utilisés pour évaluer les soumissions étaient clairement énoncés dans la DP, en particulier dans la partie 4 qui stipulait que la sélection serait faite en fonction de la « meilleure note combinée pour le mérite technique et le prix » [traduction].

9. Le 7 juin 2017, StenoTran a déposé sa plainte auprès du Tribunal. StenoTran affirme que le CEPMB n’a pas indiqué la méthode de pondération qui allait être utilisée pour évaluer les propositions financières, en violation de l’article 506(6) de l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur[7].

10. Selon StenoTran, les frais d’annulation et les frais de suspension d’audience devrait avoir moins de poids que les deux catégories de prix par page dans l’évaluation du prix total de la soumission étant donné que les frais d’annulation et les frais de suspension d’audience sont beaucoup plus importants que le prix par page de base, mais qu’ils sont rarement invoqués. StenoTran soutient que le CEPMB à donc l’intention d’appliquer une « formule secrète » [traduction] afin d’attribuer moins de poids aux frais d’annulation et aux frais de suspension d’audience qu’au prix par page de base.

11. StenoTran soutient également que, si ces frais sont pondérés de façon égale, les fournisseurs potentiels devront inscrire zéro pour les frais d’annulation et les frais de suspension d’audience pour s’assurer que leur prix total de la soumission ne soit pas « gonflé excessivement » [traduction].

12. À titre de mesure corrective, StenoTran demande que le CEPMB soit ordonné de divulguer la formule de pondération utilisée pour évaluer le prix total de la soumission et que la date de clôture soit reportée à cinq jours après que le Tribunal aura rendu sa décision en l’espèce. StenoTran demande également à ce qu’une ordonnance reportant l’attribution du contrat soit émise.

ANALYSE

13. Pour les motifs qui suivent, le Tribunal décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

14. L’article 506(6) de l’ACI stipule, en partie, que « [l]es documents d’appel d’offres doivent indiquer clairement les conditions du marché public, les critères qui seront appliqués dans l’évaluation des soumissions et les méthodes de pondération et d’évaluation des critères ».

15. La plainte de StenoTran repose sur son affirmation selon laquelle les quatre éléments ayant trait au prix devraient être pondérés différemment pour que le prix total de la soumission ne soit pas « gonflé excessivement ». Par conséquent, StenoTran assume que le CEPMB pondérera effectivement ces critères de façon différente mais qu’il refuse de divulguer quelle formule il entend utiliser. Autrement dit, StenoTran assume que les évaluateurs appliqueront des critères non divulgués pour évaluer les soumissions.

16. Le Tribunal conclut qu’il n’y a aucun fondement à la supposition de StenoTran selon les termes de la DP. La structure du Barème de prix qui figure ci-dessus indique que le prix total de la soumission sera calculé selon une formule mathématique simple d’addition des prix pour chacune des quatre catégories, c’est-à-dire que chacune des quatre catégories aura un poids égal. Bien qu’il soit regrettable qu’aucune des réponses du CEPMB aux questions de StenoTran n’ait fourni cette explication, les termes de la DP semblent clairs à prime abord, et le fait de ne pas avoir donné une réponse adéquate ne constitue pas en soi une violation de l’ACI.

17. Toutefois, si la supposition de StenoTran s’avérait bien fondée et que le CEPMB adoptait une pondération différente pour chacune des quatre catégories dans l’évaluation des soumissions, StenoTran ou tout autre fournisseur potentiel pourrait déposer une plainte en s’appuyant sur le fait que les évaluateurs ont appliqué des critères d’évaluation non divulgués.

18. Enfin, l’indication du CEPMB dans sa correspondance selon laquelle les soumissions seront évaluées selon le « meilleur rapport qualité-prix » ne constitue pas une application de critères d’évaluation non divulgués, étant donné qu’il semble s’agir d’une description de la méthode de sélection énoncée dans la DP, qui consiste en la « meilleure note combinée pour le mérite technique et le prix ». Toutefois, là encore, si les évaluateurs adoptent une autre définition de « meilleur rapport qualité-prix » dans leur évaluation des soumissions, cela pourrait constituer matière au dépôt d’une plainte.

DÉCISION

19. Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.


[1].     L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.) [Loi sur le TCCE].

[2].     D.O.R.S./93-602 [Règlement].

[3].     Il y avait des tableaux identiques pour chacune des quatre périodes d’option (tableaux A2-A5). Le prix total de la soumission est la somme des sous-totaux des tableaux A1-A5, plus la TVH (tel qu’indiqué dans la partie 4, section 1.4 – Évaluation financière).

[4].     Questions et réponses, DP 170070, à la p. 1.

[5].     Plainte à la p. 81.

[6].     Plainte à la p. 88.

[7].     18 July 1994, C. Gaz. 1995.I.1323, online: Internal Trade Secretariat <http://www.ait-aci.ca/agreement-internal-trade/> [AIT].

Numéro(s) du cas

PR-2017-012

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pr2r012_f.pdf (78.44 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Lundi 10 Juillet 2017

Date de modification

Le Lundi 10 Juillet 2017