CERTAIN CARBON STEEL FASTENERS

CERTAIN CARBON STEEL FASTENERS
Interim Review No. RD-2016-003

Order and reasons issued
Wednesday, July 12, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF an interim review, pursuant to subsection 76.01(1) of the Special Import Measures Act, of the order made by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal on January 5, 2015, in Expiry Review No. RR-2014-001, continuing, with amendment, its order made on January 6, 2010, in Expiry Review No. RR-2009-001, continuing, with amendment, its findings made on January 7, 2005, in Inquiry No. NQ-2004-005, concerning:

CERTAIN CARBON STEEL FASTENERS ORIGINATING IN OR EXPORTED FROM THE PEOPLE’S REPUBLIC OF CHINA AND CHINESE TAIPEI

ORDER

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal, pursuant to subsection 76.01(1) of the Special Import Measures Act, has conducted an interim review of its order concerning certain steel fasteners originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China and Chinese Taipei (the subject goods) made on January 5, 2015, in the five-year Expiry Review No. RR-2014-001, continuing, with amendment, its order made on January 6, 2010, in the first five-year Expiry Review No. RR-2009-001, continuing, with amendment, its findings made on January 7, 2005, in Inquiry No. NQ‑2004-005 in respect of the subject goods.

Pursuant to paragraph 76.01(5)(b) of the Special Import Measures Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal hereby amends its order made on January 5, 2015, to exclude, effective the date of this order, the following goods: Squeeeeek No More® square-drive wood screws, manufactured by or on behalf of O’Berry Enterprises Inc. under U.S. patent Nos. 5,371,992, 5,372,466 or 6,250,186, for use in wood flooring, with scoring above the threaded portion of the screw that allows the upper portion of the screw and head to be easily broken off, 3” or 3.5” in length, of a #8 or #9 diameter, threaded in part with 8 threads per inch and in part with 9 threads per inch, with the remainder unthreaded, and covered in a Gleitmo 615 lubricant coating (or equivalent coating) and imported in packages of 500 screws or less.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Presiding Member

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Member

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Member

Tribunal Panel: Jean Bédard, Presiding Member
Jason W. Downey, Member
Serge Fréchette, Member

Support Staff: Eric Wildhaber, Lead Counsel

 Dustin Kenall, Counsel

 

PARTICIPANTS:

Domestic Producer

Counsel/Representative

Leland Industries Inc.

Lawrence Herman

 

Importers/Exporters/Others

Counsel/Representatives

O’Berry Enterprises Inc.

Michael Rankin
Jonathan O’Hara
Timothy Cullen
Shauna Cant

Chinese National Federation of Industries

Wei-Cheng Yen

Please address all communications to:

The Registrar
Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal
333 Laurier Avenue West
15th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G7

Telephone: 613-993-3595
Fax: 613-990-2439
E-mail: citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca

STATEMENT OF REASONS

INTRODUCTION

1.The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) conducted this interim review, pursuant to subsection 76.01(1) of the Special Import Measures Act,[1] to determine whether to exclude Squeeeeek No More® square-drive wood screws (OBI screws) manufactured by or on behalf of O’Berry Enterprises Inc. (OBI), described more specifically in this statement of reasons, from the order made by the Tribunal on January 5, 2015, in the five-year Expiry Review No. RR-2014-001 concerning certain carbon steel fasteners originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China (China) and Chinese Taipei (hereinafter “the 2015 order”).

2.OBI, a U.S. vendor and potential exporter to Canada of the OBI screws (designed and intended for noise-dampening uses, not construction) originating in Chinese Taipei, requested this interim review in the nature of an exclusion request on the basis that the domestic industry does not produce noise-dampening screws[2] and, therefore, that the granting of an exclusion of such products from the 2015 order would not result in injury to the domestic industry.

3.For the reasons set out below, the Tribunal has decided to grant the request and amend the 2015 order to exclude the OBI screws as defined and described more specifically in this statement of reasons.

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

4.Subsection 76.01(1) of SIMA states that, at any time after the making of an order or finding described in any of sections 3 to 6, the Tribunal may, on its own initiative or at the request of the Minister of Finance, the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) or any other person or government, conduct an interim review of (a) the order or finding, or (b) any aspect of the order or finding. Further, subsection 76.01(3) states that the Tribunal shall not conduct an interim review at the request of any person or government unless the person or government satisfies the Tribunal that the review is warranted.

5.On September 1, 2016, the Tribunal received a request from OBI for an interim review of the 2015 order excluding the following product:

Square-drive wood screws, scored so that the upper portion of the screw and head can be easily snapped off, 3” or 3.5” in length, of a #8 or #9 diameter, threaded in part with 8 threads per inch and in part with 9 threads per inch, with the remainder unthreaded, and covered in a Gleitmo 615 lubricant coating (or equivalent coating).

6.The Tribunal first determined that the request was properly documented in the manner prescribed by subrule 70(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules.[3] On September 9, 2016, in accordance with subrule 70(2), the Tribunal informed all parties to the five-year Expiry Review No. RR‑2014-001 of its receipt of the request and gave them an opportunity to make representations concerning whether a review was warranted.

7.The Tribunal received submissions from only three parties other than OBI: Spaenaur Inc. (Spaenaur), Leland Industries Inc. (Leland) and Visqué Inc. (Visqué), the latter two of which opposed the commencement of an interim review.

8.On the basis of the submissions received, the Tribunal decided that an interim review was indeed warranted and issued a notice of commencement of interim review on February 17, 2017.

9.In accordance with paragraph 25(c) of the Rules, the Tribunal decided to proceed with a hearing by way of written submissions. Submissions already filed by interested parties were placed on the record of the interim review. Additional submissions were filed by only OBI and Leland. Leland informed the Tribunal that, after discussions with OBI, it now consented to OBI’s exclusion request, subject to the following revised wording:

Squeeeeek No More® square-drive wood screws, manufactured by or on behalf of O’Berry Enterprises Inc. under U.S. patent Nos. 5,371,992, 5,372,466 or 6,250,186, for use in wood flooring, with scoring above the threaded portion of the screw that allows the upper portion of the screw and head to be easily broken off, 3” or 3.5” in length, of a #8 or #9 diameter, threaded in part with 8 threads per inch and in part with 9 threads per inch, with the remainder unthreaded, and covered in a Gleitmo 615 lubricant coating (or equivalent coating) and imported in packages of 500 screws or less.

10.On May 17, 2017, the Tribunal held a file hearing in Ottawa, Ontario.

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

11.The OBI screws are either 3” or 3.5” in length and are either a #8 or #9 in thickness (approximately 1/8” to 9/64”). They use a square-drive style. Four important characteristics distinguish them from generic wood screws: 1) the top of the screws snap off; 2) the screws use two different thread pitches; 3) a coating of Gleitmo 615 lubricant covers the screws; and 4) the screws are significantly higher priced than generic wood screws.[4]

POSITIONS OF THE PARTIES

12.OBI’s position, supported by Leland and Spaenaur, was that the exclusion of the OBI screws from the 2015 order issued as a result of the five-year Expiry Review No. RR-2014-001 would not adversely affect the domestic producers of carbon steel fasteners because the domestic industry does not produce screws designed and intended for noise-dampening applications rather than construction.

13.OBI submitted that it had not filed a product exclusion request prior to, or during, the five-year Expiry Review No. RR-2014-001 because to date OBI has sold OBI screws exclusively in the United States and did not begin to consider expanding into the Canadian market until June of 2016.[5]

14.Leland, the only domestic producer to make submissions in this interim review, ultimately consented to the exclusion on the basis of the negotiated wording quoted above. The amended wording differs from OBI’s originally requested exclusion language by linking the exclusion to screws specifically manufactured by or on behalf of OBI, under one of three specific U.S. patent numbers, and limited to packages of 500 screws or less—all of which, OBI submits, corroborates the goods’ niche, limited application.

15.No party opposed OBI’s exclusion request at the review phase. However, at the preliminary phase, Visqué did oppose the Tribunal commencing an interim review, arguing that interim reviews for exclusions should be exceptional, that OBI had only a hypothetical interest in the Canadian market, and that OBI had not demonstrated that its screws would not compete with or injure domestic producers.[6]

ANALYSIS

16.The purpose of an interim review is to determine whether the circumstances require a finding or order to be rescinded, continued with amendment, or continued without amendment.[7] In this regard, the Tribunal typically considers whether sufficient new relevant facts have arisen since the issuance of the existing finding or order, or that there has been sufficient change in the circumstances that led to the finding or order in question.[8] Other considerations may include whether there are sufficient facts that, although in existence, were not put into evidence during the previous five-year review or inquiry and were not discoverable by the exercise of reasonable diligence at that time, or any other matter that is relevant to the review.[9]

17.On the preliminary issue of the timing of OBI’s request, it is undisputed that OBI is a U.S.-based business with no Canadian sales or operations and, as such, was not a party to the original injury inquiry or either of the subsequent two five-year expiry reviews and in a position to make its exclusion request then. There is also no evidence contradicting OBI’s representation that it only began considering entry into the Canadian market after the conclusion of the most recent expiry review for fasteners. Further, no party has submitted any reason for why a prospective new entrant to the Canadian market should be required to participate in an injury hearing or expiry review before they have any intention of entering the Canadian market. In these circumstances, the Tribunal finds that granting OBI’s request would not, as the Tribunal guards against in interim reviews, “create an unacceptable level of uncertainty in the duration and durability of a finding or order and would [not] be costly for the parties involved.”[10]

18.On the merits of OBI’s request, in Stainless Steel Wire[11] the Tribunal summarized its views on when product exclusions should be granted as follows:

The fundamental principle is that the Tribunal will grant product exclusions only when it is of the view that such exclusions will not cause injury to the domestic industry. The Tribunal has granted product exclusions for particular products in circumstances when, for instance, the domestic industry does not produce those particular products. The Tribunal also considers factors such as whether there is any domestic production of substitutable or competing goods, whether the domestic industry is an “active supplier” of the product or whether it normally produces the product or whether the domestic industry has the capability of producing the product.

[Footnotes omitted]

19.OBI has alleged that there is no domestic production of OBI screws or their equivalents in Canada. While Leland initially expressed concern regarding a potential overlap between the OBI screws and its Master Decker™ wood screws, it withdrew its objection upon negotiation of the revised exclusion wording with OBI. Further, although Visqué characterized OBI’s evidence of no competing domestic screws as inadequate and hypothetical, the Tribunal notified each of the parties to Expiry Review No. RR-2014-001 of OBI’s request, and none of the domestic fastener producers participating therein provided any evidence to rebut OBI’s allegation that there is any domestic production of an equivalent noise-dampening wood screw, or submitted that they could or would likely commence production of such a product in the near future.

20.OBI also argued that the four distinguishing characteristics of the OBI screws render them complements to domestically produced wood screws rather than substitute competing goods; that is, the OBI screws are designed and intended, as their installation instructions confirm,[12] for nailing floorboards down to prevent them from making noise when stepped on, not for nailing lumber together to construct a floor or deck.

21.The heads of the OBI screws are scored so that they easily snap off to prevent the screw from sticking up from the flooring when nailed in. The loss of the top part of the screw compromises its ability to secure two pieces of wood together, as traditional wood screws do.[13] The dual thread pitch is designed to minimize squeaking by pulling and holding wood tightly against joists but has diminished securing functionality compared to uniformly threaded screws.[14] The OBI screws’ lubricant, Gleitmo 615, enables them to easily pass through carpet and wood without causing significant damage, but is not suitable for external deck use in Canada.[15] Finally, OBI screws are approximately three times the price (20 cents versus 7 cents) of generic wood screws sold in the U.S.[16] No party filed any evidence contradicting any of the above facts.

22.Given the uncontroverted evidence that there is no current domestic production of OBI screws or their equivalent or that domestic production is likely to commence in the near future, and given that the distinguishing characteristics of the OBI screws corroborate that their intended design and use are as complements (screws for noise dampening) for—and not substitutes (screws for construction) to—generic wood screws, the Tribunal finds that the preponderance of evidence indicates that granting the exclusion will not result in injury to the domestic industry.

23.In light of the above, the Tribunal finds that the circumstances justify an amendment of the 2015 order so as to exclude OBI screws.[17]

CONCLUSION

24.For the foregoing reasons, pursuant to paragraph 76.01(5)(b) of SIMA, the Tribunal amends its order made on January 5, 2015, in the five-year Expiry Review No. RR-2014-001 to exclude, effective the date of this order, the following goods:

Squeeeeek No More® square-drive wood screws, manufactured by or on behalf of O’Berry Enterprises Inc. under U.S. patent Nos. 5,371,992, 5,372,466 or 6,250,186, for use in wood flooring, with scoring above the threaded portion of the screw that allows the upper portion of the screw and head to be easily broken off, 3” or 3.5” in length, of a #8 or #9 diameter, threaded in part with 8 threads per inch and in part with 9 threads per inch, with the remainder unthreaded, and covered in a Gleitmo 615 lubricant coating (or equivalent coating) and imported in packages of 500 screws or less.

 

[1].     R.S.C. 1985, c. S-15 [SIMA].

[2].     See full product description in the section entitled “Product Description” below.

[3].     S.O.R./91-499 [Rules].

[4].     Exhibit RD-2016-003-01, Vol. 1 at paras. 16-18 at p. 5 and attachment 2 at p. 16.

[5].     Ibid. at paras. 13-14 at p. 4.

[6].     Exhibit RD-2016-003-04.03, Vol. 1.

[7].     Subsection 76.01(5) of SIMA.

[8].     Rule 72 of the Rules; see also Canadian International Trade Tribunal, Guidelines on Interim Reviews, available online at http://www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/Interim_Review_Guidelines_e.

[9].     Ibid.

[10].   Machine Tufted Carpeting (21 August 2000), RD-2000-001 (CITT) at 3.

[11].   (30 July 2004), NQ-2004-001 (CITT) at para. 96.

[12].   Exhibit RD-2016-003-01, Vol. 1, attachment 6.

[13].   Ibid., attachments 2 and 6; Exhibit RD-2016-003-06.01, Vol. 1 at paras. 11-15 at pp. 4-5.

[14].   Exhibit RD-2016-003-06.01, Vol. 1 at para. 21 at p. 6.

[15].   Exhibit RD-2016-003-01, Vol. 1 at para. 25 at p. 7; Exhibit RD-2016-003-06.01, Vol. 1 at paras. 16-20 at pp. 5-6.

[16].   Exhibit RD-2016-003-01, Vol. 1 at paras. 26-27 at p. 7 and attachments 3-5; Exhibit RD-2016-003-06.01, Vol. 1 at para. 22 at p. 6.

[17].   In accordance with Article 11 of the World Trade Organization Agreement on Implementation of Article VI of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994 and Article 21 of the Agreement on Subsidies and Countervailing Measures, anti-dumping or countervailing duties “shall remain in force only as long as and to the extent necessary” to counteract dumping or subsidization which is causing injury. For the continuation of a finding or order to be necessary, it must be determined that the injury to the domestic industry would be likely to continue or recur if the duties were removed or amended.

Case Number(s)

RD-2016-003

Attachment(s)

rd2q003_e.pdf (96.52 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Modification Date

Thursday, July 13, 2017

CERTAINES PIÈCES D’ATTACHE EN ACIER AU CARBONE

CERTAINES PIÈCES D’ATTACHE EN ACIER AU CARBONE
Réexamen intermédiaire no RD‑2016-003

Ordonnance et motifs rendus
le mercredi 12 juillet 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À un réexamen intermédiaire, aux termes du paragraphe 76.01(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, de l’ordonnance rendue par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur le 5 janvier 2015 dans le cadre du réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR‑2014-001, prorogeant, avec modification, ses conclusions rendues le 6 janvier 2010 dans le cadre du réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2009-001, prorogeant, avec modification, ses conclusions rendues le 7 janvier 2005 dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ‑2004-005, concernant :

CERTAINES PIÈCES D’ATTACHE ORIGINAIRES OU EXPORTÉES DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE POPULAIRE DE CHINE ET DU TAIPEI CHINOIS

ORDONNANCE

Aux termes du paragraphe 76.01(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur a effectué un réexamen intermédiaire de son ordonnance concernant certaines pièces d’attache originaires ou exportées de la République populaire de Chine et du Taipei chinois (les marchandises en question) rendue le 5 janvier 2015 dans le cadre du réexamen quinquennal relatif à l’expiration no RR-2014-001, qui a prorogé, avec modification, ses conclusions du 6 janvier 2010 dans le cadre d’un premier réexamen quinquennal relatif à l’expiration no RR-2009-001, lequel avait pour sa part prorogé, avec modification, les conclusions rendues le 7 janvier 2005 dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ‑2004-005 au sujet des marchandises en question.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 76.01(5)b) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur modifie par la présente son ordonnance du 5 janvier 2015 afin d’exclure, à compter de la date de la présente ordonnance, les marchandises suivantes : vis à bois à empreinte carrée Squeeeeek No More®, fabriquées par O’Berry Enterprises Inc. ou au nom de celle-ci en vertu des brevets américains no 5 371 992, 5 372 466 ou 6 250 186, pour les planchers de bois, dont la partie supérieure de la tige est amincie pour que la tête puisse facilement être enlevée, de 3 à 3,5 pouces de longueur, de calibre 8 ou 9, à filetage partiel de 8 filets par pouce et de 9 filets par pouce, le reste de la tige n’étant pas filetée, enduites de lubrifiant Gleitmo 615 (ou enduit équivalent) et importées en paquets d’au plus 500 vis.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Membre présidant

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Membre

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Membre

Membres du Tribunal : Jean Bédard, membre présidant
Jason W. Downey, membre
Serge Fréchette, membre

Personnel de soutien : Eric Wildhaber, conseiller juridique principal

 Dustin Kenall, conseiller juridique

 

PARTICIPANTS :

Producteurs nationaux

Conseiller/représentant

Leland Industries Inc.

Lawrence Herman

 

Importateurs/exportateurs/autres

Conseillers/représentants

O’Berry Enterprises Inc.

Michael Rankin
Jonathan O’Hara
Timothy Cullen
Shauna Cant

Fédération nationale chinoise des industries

Wei-Cheng Yen

Veuillez adresser toutes les communications au :

Greffier
Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
15e étage
333, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7

Téléphone : 613-993-3595
Télécopieur : 613-990-2439
Courriel : tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

INTRODUCTION

1. Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) a effectué un réexamen intermédiaire, aux termes du paragraphe 76.01(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation[1], afin de déterminer si les vis à bois à empreinte carrée Squeeeeek No More® (vis OBI) fabriquées par O’Berry Enterprises Inc. ou au nom de celle-ci doivent être exclus de son ordonnance rendue le 5 janvier 2015 dans le cadre du réexamen quinquennal relatif à l’expiration no RR-2014-001 concernant certaines pièces d’attache originaires ou exportées de la République populaire de Chine (la Chine) et du Taipei chinois (ci-après « l’ordonnance de 2015 »).

2. OBI, un vendeur et exportateur potentiel au Canada de vis OBI (conçues à des fins d’insonorisation et non de construction) provenant du Taipei chinois, a demandé la tenue du présent réexamen intermédiaire au motif que la branche de production nationale ne fabrique pas de vis d’insonorisation[2] et que, par conséquent, leur exclusion de l’ordonnance de 2015 ne causerait pas de dommage à la branche de production nationale.

3. Pour les motifs énoncés ci-dessous, le Tribunal accueille la demande d’exclusion et modifie l’ordonnance de 2015 afin d’exclure les vis OBI plus amplement décrites dans cet exposé des motifs.

HISTORIQUE DE LA PROCÉDURE

4. Aux termes du paragraphe 76.01(1) de la LMSI, le Tribunal peut, de sa propre initiative ou à la demande du ministre des Finances, du président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, de toute autre personne ou d’un gouvernement, procéder au réexamen intermédiaire a) soit d’une ordonnance ou de conclusions rendues en vertu des articles 3 à 6, b) soit d’un de leurs aspects. De plus, selon le paragraphe 76.01(3), le Tribunal ne procède à un réexamen intermédiaire sur demande que si la personne ou le gouvernement le convainc du bien-fondé de celui-ci.

5. Le 1er septembre 2016, le Tribunal a reçu de la part d’OBI une demande de réexamen intermédiaire de l’ordonnance de 2015 en vue d’exclure le produit suivant :

vis à bois à empreinte carrée, dont la partie supérieure de la tige est amincie pour que la tête puisse facilement être enlevée, de 3 à 3,5 pouces de longueur, de calibre 8 ou 9, à filetage partiel de 8 filets par pouce et de 9 filets par pouce, le reste de la tige n’étant pas filetée, enduite de lubrifiant Gleitmo 615 (ou enduit équivalent).

6. Le Tribunal a décidé que la demande était complète, en conformité avec le paragraphe 70(1) des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[3]. Le 9 septembre 2016, en conformité avec le paragraphe 70(2), le Tribunal a avisé les parties au réexamen quinquennal relatif à l’expiration no RR‑2014‑001 du dépôt de la demande et leur a donné l’occasion de présenter des observations sur la question de savoir si un réexamen intermédiaire était justifié.

7. Mis à part celles d’OBI, le Tribunal n’a reçu d’observations que de trois parties : Spaenaur Inc. (Spaenaur), Leland Industries Inc. (Leland) et Visqué Inc. (Visqué), les deux dernières s’étant opposées à la tenue d’un réexamen intermédiaire.

8.Sur la foi des observations reçues, le Tribunal a décidé qu’un réexamen intermédiaire était effectivement justifié et a émis un avis d’ouverture de réexamen intermédiaire le 17 février 2017.

9. Aux termes de l’alinéa 25c) des Règles, le Tribunal a décidé de procéder à une audience sur pièces. Les observations déjà déposées par les parties intéressées ont été versées au dossier du réexamen intermédiaire. Seules OBI et Leland ont déposé d’autres observations. Leland a informé le Tribunal qu’après avoir discuté avec OBI, elle consentait maintenant à la demande d’exclusion de celle-ci, sous réserve du libellé révisé suivant :

vis à bois à empreinte carrée Squeeeeek No More®, fabriquées par O’Berry Enterprises Inc. ou au nom de celle-ci en vertu des brevets américains no 5 371 992, 5 372 466 ou 6 250 186, pour les planchers de bois, dont la partie supérieure de la tige est amincie pour que la tête puisse facilement être enlevée, de 3 à 3,5 pouces de longueur, de calibre 8 ou 9, à filetage partiel de 8 filets par pouce et de 9 filets par pouce, le reste de la tige n’étant pas filetée, enduites de lubrifiant Gleitmo 615 (ou enduit équivalent) et importées en paquets d’au plus 500 vis.

10. Le 17 mai 2017, le Tribunal a instruit le présent dossier, sur pièces, à Ottawa (Ontario).

DESCRIPTION DU PRODUIT

11. Les vis OBI font 3 ou 3,5 pouces de longueur et ont un calibre de 8 ou 9 (approximativement 1/8 pouce à 9/64 pouce). Elles ont une empreinte carrée. Quatre caractéristiques importantes les distinguent des vis à bois génériques : 1) la partie supérieure de la vis s’enlève; 2) elles utilisent deux pas de filetage différents; 3) elles sont enduites de lubrifiant Gleitmo 615; 4) elles sont considérablement plus chères que les vis à bois génériques[4].

POSITION DES PARTIES

12. OBI, appuyée par Leland et Spaenaur, soutient que l’exclusion des vis OBI de l’ordonnance rendue en 2015 dans le cadre du réexamen quinquennal relatif à l’expiration no RR-2014-001 n’aura aucun effet défavorable sur la production nationale de pièces d’attache en acier au carbone, car la branche de production nationale ne fabrique pas de vis conçues pour l’insonorisation plutôt que pour la construction.

13. OBI soutient en outre ne pas avoir déposé de demande d’exclusion de produit avant la tenue du réexamen quinquennal relatif à l’expiration no RR-2014-001, ou au cours de celui-ci, parce que jusqu’à maintenant, elle avait vendu des vis OBI exclusivement aux États-Unis et n’avait pas commencé à envisager se lancer sur le marché canadien avant juin 2016[5].

14. Leland, le seul producteur national à avoir déposé des observations dans le cadre du présent réexamen intermédiaire, a ultimement consenti à une exclusion circonscrite selon le libellé négocié et cité précédemment. Le libellé modifié diffère de celui initialement utilisé dans la demande d’exclusion d’OBI et lie l’exclusion aux vis précisément fabriquées par OBI ou au nom de celle-ci en vertu de l’un des trois brevets américains précisés, et se vendant en paquets d’au plus 500 vis. Tout cela, selon OBI, corrobore l’application limitée et bien précise des marchandises.

15. Aucune partie ne s’est opposée à la demande d’exclusion d’OBI durant la phase de réexamen. Cependant, lors de la phase préliminaire, Visqué s’est opposée à ce que le Tribunal entame un réexamen intermédiaire, soutenant que les réexamens intermédiaires visant les exclusions devraient être exceptionnels, qu’OBI n’avait qu’un intérêt hypothétique à l’égard du marché canadien et que cette dernière n’avait pas démontré que ses vis ne feraient pas concurrence aux produits de la branche de production nationale ou qu’elles ne lui causeraient pas de dommage[6].

ANALYSE

16. Un réexamen intermédiaire a pour but de déterminer si les circonstances exigent qu’il faille annuler ou proroger, avec ou sans modification, des conclusions ou une ordonnance[7]. À cet égard, le Tribunal examine habituellement si de nouveaux faits, pertinents et suffisants, sont survenus depuis que les conclusions ou l’ordonnance ont été rendues ou s’il y a eu un changement suffisant de la situation qui a justifié l’ordonnance en question[8]. Parmi les autres facteurs que le Tribunal peut aussi prendre en considération, on note l’existence de faits suffisants qui n’ont pas été considérés lors du réexamen quinquennal relatif à l’expiration précédent ou de l’enquête et dont l’existence ne pouvait être connue à l’époque par l’exercice d’une diligence raisonnable. Le Tribunal peut aussi considérer toute autre question pertinente[9].

17. En ce qui a trait à la question préliminaire du moment de la demande d’OBI, il n’est pas contesté qu’OBI est une entreprise basée aux États-Unis qui ne vend pas et n’exploite pas d’installation au Canada et que, par conséquent, elle n’était pas une partie à l’enquête originale de dommage ni aux deux réexamens quinquennaux subséquents et n’était pas en position de présenter une demande d’exclusion à ce moment-là. En outre, aucun élément de preuve ne contredit la déclaration d’OBI selon laquelle elle n’a commencé à envisager d’entrer sur le marché canadien qu’après la conclusion du dernier réexamen relatif à l’expiration visant les pièces d’attache. Par ailleurs, aucune partie n’a présenté de motif pour lequel un nouvel arrivant potentiel sur le marché canadien devrait être tenu de participer à une audience relative au dommage ou à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration avant d’avoir l’intention d’entrer sur le marché canadien. Dans ces circonstances, le Tribunal juge que le fait d’accueillir la demande d’exclusion d’OBI ne causerait pas, comme le Tribunal met en garde dans le cadre des réexamens intermédiaires, « un niveau d’incertitude inacceptable quant à la durée et à la robustesse de conclusions ou d’une ordonnance ainsi que des coûts pour les parties intéressées »[10].

18. Quant au bien-fondé de la demande d’OBI, dans l’affaire Fils en acier inoxydable[11], le Tribunal a résumé ainsi son point de vue sur le moment où des exclusions de produit devraient être accordées :

Le principe fondamental est que le Tribunal n’accorde des exclusions de produit que lorsqu’il est d’avis qu’elles ne causeront pas un dommage à la branche de production nationale. Le Tribunal a accordé des exclusions visant des produits particuliers lorsque, par exemple, la branche de production nationale ne fabriquait pas ces produits. Le Tribunal tient également compte de facteurs comme la question de savoir s’il y a une production nationale de marchandises substituables ou concurrentes, si la branche de production nationale est un « fournisseur actif » du produit ou si elle le produit habituellement ou a la capacité de le produire

[Notes de bas de page omises]

19. OBI allègue que la branche de production nationale ne fabrique pas de vis OBI ou d’équivalent au Canada. Bien que Leland ait initialement exprimé des préoccupations concernant un chevauchement possible entre les vis OBI et ses vis à bois Master DeckerMC, elle a retiré son objection après avoir négocié le libellé d’exclusion révisé avec OBI. En outre, même si Visqué a qualifié d’inadéquate et d’hypothétique la preuve d’OBI relative à l’absence de vis concurrentielles produites au pays, le Tribunal a avisé chaque partie au réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2014-001 de la demande d’OBI, et aucun des producteurs nationaux de pièces d’attache participant au présent réexamen n’a fourni d’élément de preuve pour réfuter l’allégation d’OBI selon laquelle il n’y a pas de vis à bois insonorisante ou d’équivalent fabriqué au pays, ni fait valoir qu’ils pouvaient commencer à fabriquer un tel produit dans un avenir rapproché ou qu’ils étaient susceptibles de le faire.

20. OBI allègue en outre que les quatre caractéristiques distinctives des vis OBI font en sorte qu’elles complètent les vis à bois fabriquées au pays plutôt que de constituer une marchandise concurrentielle; c’est-à-dire que les vis OBI sont conçues, comme leurs instructions d’installation le confirment[12], pour visser du bois de plancher afin de l’empêcher de faire du bruit lorsque l’on marche dessus, et non pour fixer ensemble des planches de bois d’œuvre en vue de construire un plancher ou une terrasse.

21. La partie supérieure des vis OBI est amincie pour que la tête puisse facilement être enlevée afin d’éviter que la vis dépasse du plancher une fois installée. Le retrait de la partie supérieure de la vis compromet sa capacité à fixer deux pièces de bois ensemble, comme le font les vis à bois traditionnelles[13]. Le filetage double vise à minimiser le grincement en retenant le bois fermement contre les solives, mais a une fonctionnalité de maintien en place diminuée comparativement aux vis à filetage uniforme[14]. Le lubrifiant Gleitmo 615 dont sont enduites les vis OBI leur permet de traverser facilement le tapis et le bois sans causer de dommage important, mais n’est pas adéquat pour les terrasses extérieures au Canada[15]. Enfin, les vis OBI se vendent approximativement trois fois le prix (20 cents comparativement à 7 cents) des vis à bois génériques vendues aux États-Unis[16]. Aucune partie n’a déposé d’élément de preuve pour contredire les faits susmentionnés.

22. Étant donné la preuve non contestée démontrant qu’il n’y a pas de production nationale de vis OBI ou d’équivalent à l’heure actuelle ou qu’aucune production nationale n’est susceptible de commencer dans un avenir rapproché, et étant donné que les caractéristiques distinctives des vis OBI corroborent le fait que leur conception et leur utilisation voulues visent à complémenter (vis insonorisantes) et non à remplacer (vis de construction) les vis à bois génériques, le Tribunal conclut que la prépondérance de la preuve indique que l’exclusion ne causera pas un dommage à la branche de production nationale.

23. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Tribunal conclut que les circonstances justifient la modification de l’ordonnance de 2015 de manière à exclure les vis OBI[17].

CONCLUSION

24. Pour les motifs qui précèdent, aux termes de l’alinéa 76.01(5)b) de la LMSI, le Tribunal modifie son ordonnance du 5 janvier 2015, rendue dans le cadre du réexamen quinquennal relatif à l’expiration no RR‑2014-001, afin d’en exclure, à compter de la date de la présente ordonnance, les marchandises suivantes :

vis à bois à empreinte carrée Squeeeeek No More®, fabriquées par O’Berry Enterprises Inc. ou au nom de celle-ci en vertu des brevets américains no 5 371 992, 5 372 466 ou 6 250 186, pour les planchers de bois, dont la partie supérieure de la tige est amincie pour que la tête puisse facilement être enlevée, de 3 à 3,5 pouces de longueur, de calibre 8 ou 9, à filetage partiel de 8 filets par pouce et de 9 filets par pouce, le reste de la tige n’étant pas filetée, enduites de lubrifiant Gleitmo 615 (ou enduit équivalent) et importées en paquets d’au plus 500 vis.

 

[1].     L.R.C. 1985, c. S-15 [LMSI].

[2].     Voir la description complète du produit à la section intitulée « Description du produit » ci-dessous.

[3].     S.O.R./91-499 [Règles].

[4].     Pièce RD-2016-003-01, Vol. 1 aux par. 16-18 à la p. 5 et pièce jointe 2 à la p. 16.

[5].     Ibid. aux par. 13-14 à la p. 4.

[6].     Pièce RD-2016-003-04.03, Vol. 1.

[7].     Alinéa 76.01(5) de la LMSI.

[8].     Article 72 des Règles; voir aussi Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, Lignes directrices sur les réexamens intermédiaires, disponible à l’adresse suivante : http://www.citt.gc.ca/fr/Interim_Review_Guidelines_f.

[9].     Ibid.

[10].   Tapis produit sur machine à touffeter (21 août 2000), RD-2000-001 (TCCE) à la p. 3.

[11].   (30 juillet 2004), NQ-2004-001 (TCCE) au par. 96.

[12].   Pièce RD-2016-003-01, Vol. 1, pièce jointe 6.

[13].   Ibid., pièces jointes 2 et 6; pièce RD-2016-003-06.01, Vol. 1 aux par. 11-15 aux pp. 4-5.

[14].   Pièce RD-2016-003-06.01, Vol. 1 au par. 21 à la p. 6.

[15].   Pièce RD-2016-003-01, Vol. 1 au par. 25 à la p. 7; pièce RD-2016-003-06.01, Vol. 1 aux par. 16-20 aux pp. 5-6.

[16].   Pièce RD-2016-003-01, Vol. 1 aux par. 26-27 à la p. 7 et pièces jointes 3-5; pièce RD-2016-003-06.01, Vol. 1 au par. 22 à la p. 6.

[17].   Aux termes de l’article 11 de l’Accord sur la mise en œuvre de l’article VI de l’Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce de 1994 et de l’article 21 de l’Accord sur les subventions et les mesures compensatoires de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, les droits antidumping ou compensatoires « ne resteront en vigueur que le temps et dans la mesure nécessaires » pour contrebalancer le dumping ou le subventionnement qui cause un dommage. Pour que la prorogation de conclusions ou d’une ordonnance soit nécessaire, il doit être déterminé que le dommage à la branche de production nationale serait susceptible de subsister ou de se reproduire au cas où le droit était éliminé ou modifié.

Numéro(s) du cas

RD-2016-003

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

rd2q003_f.pdf (100.42 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Jeudi 13 Juillet 2017

Date de modification

Le Jeudi 13 Juillet 2017