REPORT TO THE TRIBUNAL ON ITS ACTIVITIES IN 2016-2017

 

CANADIAN INTERNATIONAL TRADE TRIBUNAL
NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

ANNUAL REPORT ON ACTVITIES IN 2016-2017

30 April 2017

 

Under its Terms of Reference, the Advisory Committee is required to provide the Tribunal with an Annual Report setting out recommendations for action in matters under its purview. The following is provided in response to that requirement.

Over the past year, the Committee held its first annual meeting with the Tribunal on 19 April 2016, followed by a telephone conference on 30 September and a mid-year plenary meeting on 1 November 2016. Work in various sub-committees, discussed below, continued as the Committee reviewed major issues on its agenda seen as warranting further action and advice.

The Committee’s first Annual Report, 29 March 2016 and its mid-year report, 22 November 2016, have been provided to the Tribunal.

ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Under its Terms of Reference, the Committee comprises a cross-section of private sector stakeholders and trade counsel representing stakeholder interests. To this end, the Chair has sought to ensure that business associations continue to be well-represented, given the importance of their views to the Committee’s work.

The Chair has discussed with Committee members as to the best way to ensure that the Committee comprises a Canadian geographic cross-section and that some law firms are not over-represented to the detriment of others.

A consensus was reached that law firms would designate a single representative on the Committee (with alternate members allowed) and that efforts would continue to broaden representation, particularly from Québec and Western Canada.

Recommendation:

The Committee Chair should continue to ensure representative membership, including private-sector stakeholders, while maintaining efficiency and not unduly enlarging the Committee’s size.

COST REDUCTION IN CITT PROCEEDINGS

During the past year, the Committee continued to examine the most effective ways to reduce costs of participation in Tribunal proceedings. The Committee’s work in this area has largely focused on SIMA but includes other areas such as procurement and Customs appeals.

It was recognized that stakeholders’ costs had increased significantly, notably in SIMA proceedings. These increases were of concern particularly to the SME sector, whether producers or importers, consisting of smaller enterprises with limited staff and resources.

Interim reports on cost-saving options have been provided by Gerry Stobo, chairing the sub-committee on procurement appeals (attached) and Peter Clark, chairing the sub-committee on SIMA proceedings.

Additional work on cost reductions is continuing under Vice-Chair Dalton Albrecht in the Customs Appeals Cost Reductions sub-committee.

A sub-committee under the leadership of Vice-Chair Joy Nott is addressing the concerns of private sector parties outside the scope of technical and legal issues. Ms. Nott convened private-sector stakeholders for a telephone conference in February 2017 and had circulated a list of issues for consideration (attached).

Recommendation:

Cost-reductions and improving access to the Tribunal’s proceedings under SIMA and other areas of jurisdiction should continue to be a priority item on the Committee’s agenda. Views of stakeholders and other private sector parties are to be sought as a critical element in this assessment.

COPYRIGHT AND SINGLE COPY EXHIBITS

The Committee held discussions on this issue both before and after its 2016 annual meeting and made a series of recommendations that were taken into account by the Tribunal. The Tribunal’s final Practice Notice Single Copy Exhibits, modified and re-issued 13 February 2017, reflects the Committee’s deliberations and recommendations.

Recommendation:

The matter will continue to be monitored to ensure that the process outlined in the Practice Notice is being effectively implemented.

VIDEO CONFERENCING – WITNESS TESTIMONY

As noted at the November 2016 meeting, use of video testimony is a matter of priority for the Tribunal. The Committee had before it a Tribunal note on the matter outlining a number of key factors. Among other matters, there are practical issues in taking sworn witness testimony by video and ensuring confidentiality where evidence is provided in-camera.

Recommendation:

As per its 22 November report, the Tribunal and the ATSSC should continue to work out the logistics and technical aspects of videoconferencing, The Committee will proceed develop advice on this issue as a priority matter. As recommended in that report, the Tribunal should issue an interim guide or practice note, confirming the general availability of this resource and indicating when and how it can be requested.

EXPERT WITNESS TESTIMONY

In recent SIMA proceedings it became apparent that some additional rules were needed in respect of expert witness testimony. In furtherance of this, the Tribunal issued a draft Practice Notice of its Proposed Expert Witness Acknowledgement and Undertaking for review, 4 April 2017.

Recommendation:

The proposed form is a useful element and the Committee will provide its views on the matter as soon as possible.

ELECTRONIC DOCUMENT FILING AND SERVICE

The Committee discussed expanding the use of e-service in Tribunal proceedings at its 1 November 2016 meeting, noting that the technology is available and rapidly improving to the point where almost all documents can be filed and served digitally, with encryption available to ensure confidentiality. The Committee agreed that a full-scope electronic filing would be ideal. It urged the Tribunal and ATSSC staff to continue their good work in moving toward a greater use of e-filing and less use of paper filing.

Since these deliberations, the Tribunal issued its draft Practice Notice on Filing of Documents, 13 February 2017, replacing an earlier draft Practice Notice – Copies to be Served on the Tribunal.

Recommendation:

The Tribunal should finalize the 13 February 2017 draft and the Tribunal and ATSSC should continue with efforts to develop and implement a more complete e-filing and e-service system for implementation in the near future.

CHANGES TO QUESTIONNAIRES

At its several meetings, note was made of the increasing size and complexity of Tribunal questionnaires in SIMA proceedings. This has a significant cost impact on both parties and non-parties alike and directly impacts the domestic industry and the importing community. Completing questionnaires poses particular burden on smaller enterprizes.

In response to these concerns, the CITT Secretariat prepared a document entitled “Proposed Changes to Questionnaires”, 27 October 2016, requesting comments from the Committee.

Recommendation:

Committee members are to review the CITT document and provide comments on a priority basis. The objective should be to see how the length and complexity of Tribunal questionnaires can be reduced as much as possible yet ensure that credible and reliable data is provided.

RFI ISSUES IN SIMA INQUIRIES

The question of the RFI process in SIMA inquiries was placed on the agenda during 2016. The question is whether the process can be short-circuited and made less burdensome/costly for parties. There was discussion at the 1 November 2016 meeting about the effectiveness and/or utility of this aspect of SIMA proceedings. Several members stated their support for the current RFI process. No conclusion was reached.

Recommendation:

This matter should continue under review.

USE OF AIDS TO ARGUMENT

At its 1 November 2016 meeting, the Committee discussed aids to argument and the desirability of the Tribunal setting out a guideline to ensure more uniform practice in this area. It noted the points in the Tribunal’s Practice Notice on Management of Cases Before the Tribunal, 2014, which comments on the desirability of reducing the volume of submissions in various CITT proceedings.

Recommendation:

The Committee should review the feasibility of issuing additional rules or policy guidance on aids to argument in the future.

CITING AUTHORITIES

Among other matters discussed during the past year was the need for Tribunal guidance on citing of authorities and reducing paper burden by not having counsel place on the record full copies of judicial and Tribunal decisions or decisions by other public authorities such as the CBSA. In this regard, the Tribunal has since issued a draft Practice Notice – Citing Authorities, 13 February 2017.

Recommendation:

The draft Practice Notice should be made issued as a final document.

AGREED STATEMENTS OF FACTS

The draft Practice Note on Agreed Facts in Appeals was viewed positively by the Committee. While concerns were noted that obtaining agreed statements could involve another cost burden on parties in engaging counsel, the consensus was that this would be a practical way to expedite the appeal process and to reduce costs.

Recommendation:

The Practice Note should be issued as a final document. Counsel are encourage to use this device to expedite the proceedings and reduce costs to participants.

DRAFT LATE FILING GUIDELINES

The Tribunal Chair had earlier requested the views of the Committee on draft Guidelines on Requests for Late Filings, contained in the appendix to the 10 June 2016 Practice Notice on Filing of Questionnaire Replies and Revisions and Issuance of Revised Investigation Report.

In its examination, the Committee felt that a distinction needed to be made between responses to questionnaires and RFIs issued by the Tribunal itself and the filing of case materials, documentary evidence and witness statements that are directly the responsibility of parties and their counsel.

Recommendation:

The implementation of the Late Filing Guidelines will be monitored by the Committee as these are applied in given proceedings. The current rules respecting late filings that require exceptional circumstances to be demonstrated should remain firmly in place.

FILING OF QUESTIONNAIRES AND REVISED INVESTIGATION REPORT IN SIMA MATTERS

While delays in obtaining questionnaire responses cause understandable frustrations and problems for Research Staff and for the Tribunal, the view of the Committee is that most parties and their counsel legitimately do their best to meet the Tribunal’s deadlines.

A factor of significance in the Canadian context is that parties and other stakeholders tend to be smaller and medium-sized enterprises (whether producers or importers/distributors) that lack the necessary resources to complete questionnaires within the Tribunal’s tight time frames. This necessitates a degree of flexibility and understanding the situation facing these particular respondents.

Recommendation:

The Tribunal should retain flexibility in matters of filing deadlines. Its Practice Notice should, however, stress the critical need for all respondents to meet filing deadlines and state in clear terms that the Tribunal expects these to be respected.

FEEDBACK ON DATA COLLECTION

As noted above, the Committee is concerned parties are being asked for increasingly detailed information in SIMA proceedings by Research Staff. This entails additional cost burdens on participants in terms of internal resources and outside assistance, whether they be domestic producers or exporters/importers.

Recommendation:

As recommended by the Committee in its 2016 report, Research Staff should take pains not to add to the already heavy burdens on parties in completing questionnaires and other preparatory matters in ongoing Tribunal proceedings.

CITT JURISDICTION IN CONTEMPT PROCEEDINGS

The Committee is continuing to review the CITT draft Note prepared by Legal Counsel. During its 30 September 2016 conference call, some members questioned the extent of the Tribunal’s inherent jurisdiction in this area although this was more in the nature of a comment for reflection. It was pointed out that there may be issues that require statutory change.

Recommendation:

This matter should continue under review.

AWARDING COSTS – PROPOSED CUSTOMS ACT AMENDMENTS

The Committee felt that the proposed changes to the Tribunal’s jurisdiction to award costs under the Customs Act warranted a closer look. Some of members were supportive of the draft while others pointed out the jurisdictional complications in this area, noting that there are complex rules in courts at most levels, with established tariffs and assessment procedures. The Committee agreed that this matter warranted closer attention in the coming year.

Recommendation:

The Committee should collect further views among its members and communicate back to the Tribunal on this matter with a more complete response over the next number of months.

OTHER MATTERS ON THE COMMITTEE’S AGENDA

Together with cost-reduction and maintaining full accessibility to Tribunal processes, a number of other issues were raised during the Committee’s deliberations. These included the desirability of guidelines and even limitations on the size of briefs and witness statements.

These and other matters on the agenda were directed to controlling party costs and facilitating access to the system, whether it be trade remedies, procurement or various Customs Act appeals/

Recommendation:

The Committee should develop a plan for the next fiscal year (2017-2018) in collaboration with the Tribunal to monitor the above matters and focus on priority issues within the overall objective of securing greater efficiency, timeliness and cost savings for stakeholders to the extent possible.

Submitted, 30 April 2017.

 

LAWRENCE L. HERMAN
Chair, CITT National Advisory Committee

LLH/kd

Resource Type

Status

Publication Date

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Modification Date

Thursday, July 13, 2017

RAPPORT D’ACTIVITÉS PRÉSENTÉ AU TRIBUNAL – 2016-2017

TRIBUNAL CANADIEN DU COMMERCE EXTÉRIEUR
COMIT
É CONSULTATIF NATIONAL

RAPPORT DACTIVITÉS ANNUEL, 2016-2017

30 avril 2017

 

Conformément à son mandat, le Comité consultatif est tenu de présenter au Tribunal un rapport annuel dans lequel il énonce des recommandations sur la suite à donner aux questions qui relèvent de son champ de compétence. Le rapport qui suit vise à satisfaire à cette exigence.

Au cours de l’année, le Comité consultatif a tenu sa première réunion avec le Tribunal le 19 avril 2016, suivi par une téléconférence le 30 septembre et une réunion plénière de mi-année le 1er novembre 2016. Les divers sous-comités ont poursuivi leurs travaux, exposés ci-dessous, pendant que le Comité consultatif examinait des questions d’importance majeure à son ordre du jour nécessitant à son avis d’autres mesures et d’autres consultations.

Le premier rapport annuel du Comité consultatif, 29 mars 2016, et son rapport de mi-année, 22 novembre 2016, ont été remis au Tribunal.

Membres du Comité consultatif

Selon son mandat, le Comité consultatif doit être représentatif des parties intéressées du secteur privé et des conseillers juridiques défendant leurs intérêts. À cette fin, le président désire s’assurer que les associations commerciales continuent d’être représentées adéquatement, étant donné l’importance de leurs opinions pour les travaux du Comité consultatif.

Le président a discuté avec les membres du Comité consultatif de la meilleure façon de faire en sorte que le Comité consultatif soit représentatif du Canada sur le plan géographique et que certains cabinets d’avocats ne soient pas surreprésentés au détriment d’autres cabinets.

Un consensus a été trouvé, selon lequel les cabinets d’avocats désigneront un seul représentant pour faire partie du Comité consultatif (un remplaçant étant permis) et que des efforts seront déployés afin d’élargir la représentation, particulièrement en ce qui concerne le Québec et l’ouest du Canada.

Recommandation

Le président du Comité consultatif doit continuer de s’assurer de la représentativité de celui-ci, y compris en ce qui concerne les parties intéressées du secteur privé, tout en maintenant l’efficacité et en veillant à ce que le nombre de membres ne devienne pas excessif.

Réduction des frais liés aux procédures du TCCE

Au cours de la dernière année, le Comité consultatif a continué à examiner les façons les plus efficaces de réduire les frais de participation aux procédures du Tribunal. Le Comité consultatif s’est surtout penché sur celles concernant la LMSI, mais également sur celles concernant les marchés publics et les appels en matière de douanes.

Il a été constaté que les frais des participants avaient augmenté considérablement, notamment les procédures ayant trait à la LMSI. Ces augmentations sont une préoccupation particulièrement pour les PME, qu’il s’agisse de producteurs ou d’importateurs, car les plus petites entreprises ont un personnel réduit et des ressources limitées.

Des rapports proposant des façons de réduire les frais ont été présentés par Gerry Stobo, président du sous-comité sur les appels ayant trait aux marchés publics (pièce jointe), et Peter Clark, président du sous-comité sur les procédures ayant trait à la LMSI.

Les travaux sur la réduction des frais se poursuivent sous la direction de Dalton Albrecht, vice-président du sous-comité sur la réduction des frais des appels en matière de douanes.

Un sous-comité sous la direction de la vice-présidente Joy Nott se penche sur les préoccupations des parties intéressées du secteur privé autres que les aspects techniques ou juridiques. Mme Nott a tenu une téléconférence avec les parties intéressées du secteur privé en février 2017 et a fait circuler une liste de questions à être examinées (pièce jointe).

Recommandation

La réduction des frais et l’amélioration de l’accès aux procédures du Tribunal en ce qui concerne la LMSI et les autres domaines de juridiction doivent demeurer une priorité du Comité consultatif. Les opinions des parties intéressées du secteur privé doivent être prises en compte car il s’agit d’un élément crucial de cet exercice.

Droits d’auteur et pièces en exemplaire unique

Le Comité consultatif a discuté de cette question avant et après sa réunion annuelle de 2016 et a fait une série de recommandations dont le Tribunal a tenu compte. Le document final du Tribunal, Pièces en exemplaires uniques, modifié et republié le 13 février 2017, reflète les débats du Comité consultatif et ses recommandations.

Recommandation

Cette question doit continuer de faire l’objet d’un suivi afin de s’assurer que le processus exposé dans l’avis de pratiques est mis en œuvre efficacement.

Visioconférences – témoins

Comme mentionné à la réunion de novembre 2016, les témoignages par visioconférence sont une priorité pour le Tribunal. Le Comité consultatif devait examiner certains facteurs clés exposés par le Tribunal. Parmi d’autres questions, il y a des questions d’ordre pratique concernant les témoignages par visioconférence et ayant trait à la confidentialité lorsqu’il s’agit d’un huis clos.

Recommandation

Conformément au rapport du 22 novembre, le Tribunal et le SCDATA doivent continuer à assurer la logistique et à mettre au point les aspects techniques des visioconférences. Le Comité consultatif se penchera sur cette question en priorité. Comme recommandé dans le rapport, le Tribunal émettra un guide provisoire ou un avis de pratique confirmant la disponibilité de cette ressource et indiquant quand et comment on peut en faire la demande.

Témoins experts

Dans les récentes procédures ayant trait à la LMSI, il est devenu évident que des règles additionnelles étaient nécessaires en ce qui concerne les témoins experts. Dans cette optique, le Tribunal a émis un avis de pratique provisoire intitulé Témoins experts proposés : reconnaissance et engagement, à être révisé le 4 avril 2017.

Recommandation

Le formulaire proposé est un élément utile et le Comité consultatif donnera son opinion dès que possible.

Service sécurisé de dépôt électronique

Le Comité consultatif avait discuté de l’expansion du service de dépôt électronique à sa réunion du 1er novembre 2016, soulignant que la technologie est disponible et qu’elle s’améliore rapidement au point où presque tous les documents peuvent être déposés électroniquement, le cryptage assurant la confidentialité. Le Comité consultatif était d’avis qu’un service de dépôt électronique complet est l’idéal. Il encourageait le personnel du Tribunal et du SCDATA à continuer à faire la promotion d’une plus grande utilisation du service de dépôt électronique, dans le but de diminuer le dépôt de dossiers papier.

Depuis la tenue de cette réunion, le Tribunal a émis un avis de pratique provisoire intitulé Dépôt de documents en date du 13 février 2017, remplaçant l’avis de pratique précédent intitulé Avis de pratique - Copies à déposer auprès du Tribunal.

Recommandation

Le Tribunal finalisera l’avis de pratique provisoire du 13 février 2017, et le Tribunal et le SCDATA poursuivront leurs efforts pour mettre en œuvre un service de dépôt électronique plus complet dans un proche avenir.

Modification des questionnaires

L’augmentation de la longueur et de la complexité des questionnaires du Tribunal dans les procédures concernant la LMSI a été soulignée à plusieurs réunions. Cela a une incidence sérieuse sur les frais encourus aussi bien par les parties que par les répondants et influe directement sur la branche de production nationale et les importateurs. Répondre à des questionnaires constitue un fardeau pour les petites entreprises.

En réponse à ces préoccupations, le Secrétariat du TCCE a préparé un document intitulé « Modifications proposées aux questionnaires », 27 octobre 2016, demandant des commentaires au Comité consultatif.

Recommandation

Les membres du Comité consultatif examineront le document du Secrétariat du TCCE et soumettront leurs commentaires en priorité. Il s’agit de voir comment la longueur et la complexité des questionnaires du Tribunal pourrait être réduite dans la mesure du possible tout en conservant la crédibilité et la fiabilité des données.

Demandes de renseignements dans les enquêtes en vertu de la LMSI

La question du processus de demandes de renseignements dans les enquêtes en vertu de la LMSI a été mise à l’ordre du jour en 2016. Il s’agit de voir si le processus peut être court‑circuité et rendu moins pénible/onéreux pour les parties. L’efficacité et/ou l’utilité de cet aspect des procédures ayant trait à la LMSI a été discuté à la réunion du 1er novembre 2016. Plusieurs membres appuient le processus actuel. Le Comité consultatif en est arrivé à aucune conclusion.

Recommandation

Cette question est toujours sous examen.

Documents à l’appui

À sa réunion du 1er novembre 2016, le Comité consultatif a discuté des documents à l’appui et de l’opportunité pour le Tribunal d’émettre des directives afin d’uniformiser davantage la pratique dans ce domaine. Il a souligné les observations du Tribunal dans son avis de pratique intitulé Gestion des causes dont le Tribunal est saisi, 2014, qui fait le point sur l’opportunité de réduire le volume des documents dans les procédures du TCCE.

Recommandation

Le Comité consultatif se penchera sur l’opportunité d’émettre dans l’avenir des règles ou des directives additionnelles ayant trait aux documents à l’appui.

Invocation de la jurisprudence

Parmi les sujets discutés au cours de l’année figurait le besoin d’obtenir du Tribunal des directives concernant l’invocation de la jurisprudence et la réduction de la paperasse en ne demandant pas aux conseillers juridiques de verser au dossier des copies complètes d’actes judiciaires et de décisions du Tribunal ou de décisions émanant d’autres autorités publiques comme l’ASFC. À cet égard, le Tribunal a depuis émis un avis de pratiques provisoire Citation de sources juridiques faisant autorité, 13 février 2017.

Recommandation

Que l’avis de pratiques provisoire soit accepté définitivement.

Exposé conjoint des faits

Le Comité consultatif a accueilli positivement l’avis de pratiques provisoire Exposé conjoint des faits – Appels. Bien qu’il y ait des préoccupations quant aux coûts supplémentaires qu’un exposé conjoint des faits pouvait représenter pour les parties eu égard aux conseillers juridiques, de l’avis général il s’agit d’un moyen concret d’accélérer le processus d’appel et de réduire les coûts.

Recommandation

Que l’avis de pratiques provisoire soit accepté définitivement. Les conseillers juridiques sont encouragés à procéder de cette façon afin d’accélérer la procédure et de réduire les coûts pour les participants.

Lignes directrices sur les dépôts tardifs

Le président du Tribunal avait demandé l’opinion du Comité consultatif sur le document provisoire Lignes directrices concernant le dépôt tardif, annexe 1 de l’avis de pratiques du 10 juin 2016 Gestion efficace des causes.

Après avoir pris connaissance du document, le Comité consultatif était d’avis qu’une distinction devait être faite entre les réponses aux questionnaires et les demandes de renseignements du Tribunal, et le dépôt de documents relatifs à la cause, de preuves documentaires et des déclarations de témoin qui relèvent directement de la responsabilité des parties et de leur conseillers juridiques.

Recommandation

La mise en vigueur des Lignes directrices sur le dépôt tardif sera suivie de près par le Comité consultatif étant donné que celles-ci sont appliquées dans des procédures données. Les règles actuelles concernant les dépôts tardifs qui requièrent la preuve de circonstances exceptionnelles doivent demeurées bien en place.

Dépôt des réponses aux questionnaires et les rapports d’enquêtes révisés dans les causes ayant trait à la LMSI

Bien que les délais pour obtenir les réponses aux questionnaires causent des frustrations compréhensibles et des problèmes au personnel de la Recherche ainsi qu’au Tribunal, le Comité consultatif est d’avis que la plupart des parties et leurs conseillers juridiques font de leur mieux pour respecter les échéances du Tribunal.

Un facteur d’importance dans le contexte canadien est que les parties et les autres intéressés ont tendance à être de petites et moyennes entreprises (qu’il s’agisse de producteurs ou d’importateurs/distributeurs) qui n’ont pas les ressources nécessaires pour répondre aux questionnaires dans les délais serrés du Tribunal. Cela nécessite un degré de flexibilité et de compréhension de la situation dans laquelle se trouvent ces répondants.

Recommandation

Le Tribunal devrait faire preuve de flexibilité en matière de délais pour le dépôt de ces documents. Son avis de pratiques devrait toutefois mettre l’accent sur l’obligation cruciale de toutes les parties de respecter les délais concernant le dépôt de documents et énoncer clairement que le Tribunal s’attend à ce que ces délais soient respectés.

Commentaires sur la collecte de données

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, le Comité consultatif est préoccupé par le fait que le personnel de la Recherche demande aux parties de fournir des renseignements de plus en plus détaillés dans les causes concernant la LMSI. Cela entraîne pour les participants des coûts additionnels en matière de ressources internes et d’aide à l’externe, qu’il s’agisse des producteurs nationaux ou des exportateurs/importateurs.

Recommandation

Comme recommandé par le Comité consultatif dans le rapport de 2016, le personnel de la recherche devrait faire un effort pour ne pas alourdir la tâche déjà suffisamment lourde des parties en ce qui concerne les réponses aux questionnaires et les autres documents préparatoires ayant trait aux procédures du Tribunal.

Juridiction du TCCE en matière d’outrage au tribunal

Le Comité consultatif poursuit son examen du document préparé à cet effet par le Service juridique. Au cours de la téléconférence du 30 septembre 2016, certains membres du Comité se sont interrogés sur l’étendue de la juridiction inhérente du Tribunal en cette matière, bien qu’il s’agissait d’avantage de commentaires pour alimenter la réflexion. Il a été souligné que cela pourrait nécessiter des modifications à la loi.

Recommandation

Le Comité consultatif poursuivra son examen de la question.

Remboursement des frais – modifications proposées à la Loi sur les douanes

Le Comité consultatif est d’avis que les modifications proposées à la Loi sur les douanes concernant la juridiction du Tribunal en matière de remboursement des frais méritent un examen plus minutieux. Certains membres du Comité sont en faveur des modifications proposées tandis que d’autres soulignent les complications juridictionnelles que cela soulève, indiquant qu’il existe des règles complexes en cette matière pour les tribunaux de tous les niveaux, avec des tarifs établis et des procédures d’évaluation. Le Comité est d’accord pour examiner plus minutieusement cette question au cours de l’année prochaine.

Recommandation

Le Comité consultatif recueillera les points de vue de ses membres et les communiquera au Tribunal pour lui fournir une réponse plus complète au cours des prochains mois.

Autres questions à l’ordre du jour

Outre la réduction des coûts et le maintien d’une pleine accessibilité aux processus du Tribunal, un certain nombre d’autres questions ont été soulevées. Celles-ci comprennent le besoin de lignes directrices et la réduction du nombre de pages que comportent les mémoires et les déclarations de témoins.

Toutes ces mesures visent à réduire les coûts pour les parties et à faciliter l’accès au système, que ce soit en matière de recours commerciaux, de marchés publics ou d’appels ayant trait à la Loi sur les douanes.

Recommandation

Le Comité consultatif élaborera un plan pour le prochain exercice financier (2017-2018) en collaboration avec le Tribunal pour faire le suivi de ces questions et se focaliser sur les priorités dans le cadre de l’objectif global d’une plus grande efficacité, d’une économie de temps et d’une diminution des coûts pour les intéressés dans la mesure du possible.

Présenté le 30 avril 2017.

 

LAWRENCE L. HERMAN
Président, Comité consultatif national du TCCE

LLH/kd

Type de documentation

Statut

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

Date de publication

Le Jeudi 13 Juillet 2017

Date de modification

Le Jeudi 13 Juillet 2017