MASTERBEDROOM INC.

MASTERBEDROOM INC.
File No. PR-2017-017

Decision and reasons issued
Wednesday, June 28, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a complaint filed pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.).

BY

MASTERBEDROOM INC.

AGAINST

THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND GOVERNMENT SERVICES

DECISION

Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Presiding Member

STATEMENT OF REASONS

1.Subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act[1] provides that, subject to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations,[2] a potential supplier may file a complaint with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) concerning any aspect of the procurement process that relates to a designated contract and request the Tribunal to conduct an inquiry into the complaint. Subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act provides that, subject to the Regulations, after the Tribunal determines that a complaint complies with subsection 30.11(2) of the CITT Act, it shall decide whether to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

SUMMARY OF COMPLAINT

2.This complaint filed by MasterBedroom Inc. (Master Bedroom) on June 22, 2017, involves a Request for Standing Offer (Solicitation No. B8710-160020/A) (the RFSO) issued by the Department of Public Works and Government Services (PWGSC) on behalf of the Department of Citizenship and Immigration for the supply, delivery, assembly, set-up and disposal of packing material of household furniture on an as-needed basis for the Resettlement Assistance Program for government-assisted refugees being settled in various cities in British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario and Newfoundland.

3.Master Bedroom bid for the work in the Greater Toronto Area of Ontario, but was informed by PWGSC on June 13, 2017, that, while its bid was responsive to the mandatory requirements, the Standard Offer had been issued to Charley’s Furniture because the latter had submitted a lower-priced bid. Master Bedroom seeks a new solicitation of the work, arguing that PWGSC has provided no explanation for why its evaluation for the Toronto, Hamilton, Kitchener, London, and Ottawa metropolitan areas, which Charley’s Furniture won, took longer than its evaluation for the bids for the Windsor metropolitan area and the other provinces, which Charley’s Furniture did not win. It also argues that Charley’s Furniture could not have passed the mandatory criteria based on its alleged “delays” and “known bad service” demonstrated in its performance in Standard Offers issued under prior RFSOs of this work. 

ANALYSIS

4.In order for the Tribunal to commence an inquiry into a complaint, it must determine whether the complainant is a potential supplier, whether the complaint involves a “designated contract” (i.e., a good or service meeting a minimum monetary value as established by a trade agreement), and finally whether the complaint “discloses a reasonable indication that the procurement has not been conducted in accordance” with the applicable trade agreement.[3]

5.The Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into Master Bedroom’s complaint because it fails to disclose a reasonable indication that the procurement was not conducted in accordance with the applicable trade agreement. The complaint has failed to meet this (modest) threshold, because the misconduct alleged is speculative and unsupported by the evidence submitted with the complaint.

6.Regarding the ground of undue delay, there is no evidence to support Master Bedroom’s inference that the evaluation of the bids for the work in Ontario took longer because PWGSC was according Charley’s Furniture special treatment. To the contrary, the evidence shows that the RFSO always contemplated the Ontario bids being evaluated last (because existing contracts for Ontario expired later).

7.The RFSO closed on March 6, 2017. It expressly provided on page 3 in Section 1.2.1 (Summary) that the period of the resulting Standing Offers would be, exclusive of optional extensions, from the “date of issue to 31 March 2018 . . . with the exception of the Province of Ontario where the Standing Offers will be from 1 August 2017 to 31 March 2018 . . .” [emphasis added].

8.When asked by Interfusion Furniture & Supply (Interfusion) (the winning bidder for Windsor) on March 24, 2017, for an update on when the evaluation results would be released, PWGSC responded that “[s]ome of the area of performances are going to start April 1st, but the Ontario region will only begin as of August 1st. We are currently in the evaluation process but you will be hearing from us in the coming weeks”[4] [emphasis added]. On March 30, 2017, PWGSC confirmed that it had “issued some Standing Offers for some areas of performances based on priority with existing Standing Offers expiring[5] [emphasis added]. Asked again by Interfusion on April 6, 2017, PWGSC confirmed that results had been posted for British Columbia, Manitoba and Alberta but that results for areas in Ontario would “be assessed in the coming weeks, with a Standing Offer start date of August 1st, 2017[6] [emphasis added]. On April 19, 2017, Interfusion asked for an answer “by the end of April as Interfusion’s lease to the warehouse space and commitment to our employees are coming to an end”. PWGSC replied that “I will most likely have an answer for the Ontario region Standing Offers by mid-May at the latest. I will try by the end of April but I cannot guarantee as the division’s workload is quite heavy at the moment[7] [emphasis added].

9.On May 2, 2017, Master Bedroom queried PWGSC by email when the awards for Ontario would be announced. PWGSC responded that the evaluations were ongoing and “will most likely be issued late June due to unforeseen circumstances”.[8] Interfusion asked the same question on May 11, 2017, and PWGSC reiterated that the evaluations were ongoing and that it “cannot confirm at which date we will be issuing the awards”.[9] On May 24, PWGSC confirmed the award to Interfusion of the work for Windsor, Ontario, and revised its estimate to mid-July for the bids for the rest of Ontario.[10]

10.All of this correspondence is consistent with the statement in the RFSO that Ontario Standing Offers would start later, from August 1, 2017. Further, to the extent the bids for Windsor were prioritized, there is no evidence this was done to benefit Charley’s Furniture, or, even if it were, how doing so would benefit Charley’s Furniture (which did not win the Standing Offer for Windsor). The Tribunal makes no finding on whether Windsor was prioritized (and if so whether properly or improperly), but the evidence that Master Bedroom has filed suggests that if Windsor was prioritized, it was following the request of Interfusion who expressed to PWGSC their need to know the results as soon as possible for business planning purposes. Accordingly, Master Bedroom’s inference of wrongdoing based on the timing of the release of the results is not supported, and it is also contradicted by the evidence it has itself filed.

11.Regarding its allegation that Charley’s Furniture could not have passed the mandatory criteria, this too is purely speculative. Master Bedroom’s allegation that Charley’s Furniture’s past work was marked by “delays” and “known bad service” is unsupported by any evidence. Further, it is irrelevant. Master Bedroom has not identified any specific mandatory requirement that Charley’s Furniture’s proposal failed. The mandatory requirements are identified in Annex A of the RFSO at Sections 3.1 to 3.14. None of these require a bidder to demonstrate past performance experience – rather, they focus on the requirements to meet the Standing Offer call-ups going forward, e.g., the offeror must be available at all times during a to meet the delivery requirements; the offeror must supply new furniture only (Section 3.7); etc.

12.Master Bedroom also alleges that PWGSC has a purportedly suspect “special relationship” with Charley’s Furniture because in Master Bedroom’s prior complaint involving the earlier RFSO the Tribunal found that PWGSC should have determined that Charley’s Furniture’s bid was non-compliant when the latter had failed to tick a check mark next to the delivery area it was bidding on.[11] This represented a failure to follow tender instructions in a previous solicitation, and does not constitute evidence of a history of “delays” and “bad service”. Regardless, it is similarly irrelevant because, as explained above, the present RFSO is a new and independent tender that is forward-looking in terms of requirements. Moreover, the Tribunal has warned that suppliers should “abstain from invoking assumptions that call into question the good faith or integrity of others in the absence of tangible proof to this effect” because the Tribunal “presumes the good faith and honesty both of the bidders and of the public servants mandated to evaluate their bid.”[12] Here, Master Bedroom has produced no such tangible proof, and only speculation. Accordingly, the Tribunal finds that this ground is not supported by the evidence.

DECISION

13.Based on the above, the Tribunal finds that the complaint does not disclose a reasonable indication of any misconduct constituting a breach of the trade agreements.

14.Therefore, pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

 

[1].     R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.) [CITT Act].

[2].     S.O.R./93-602 [Regulations].

[3].     Section 7 of the Regulations.

[4].     Complaint, Attachment 4.

[5].     Complaint, Attachment 7.

[6].     Complaint, Attachment 5.

[7].     Complaint, Attachment 6.

[8].     Complaint, Attachment 7.

[9].     Complaint, Attachment 8.

[10].   Complaint, Attachments 9 and 10.

[11].   Complaint at 5. Master Bedroom filed six complaints regarding the predecessor RFSO for this work, the fourth of which the CITT determined was valid. See MasterBedroom Inc. (14 September 2016), PR-2016-032 (CITT) at para. 4.

[12].   GESFORM International (26 May 2014), PR-2014-012 (CITT) at paras. 15-16.

Case Number(s)

PR-2017-017

Attachment(s)

pr2r017_e.pdf (60.42 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Friday, July 14, 2017

Modification Date

Friday, July 14, 2017

MASTERBEDROOM INC.

MASTERBEDROOM INC.
Dossier no PR-2017-017

Décision et motifs rendus
le mercredi 28 juin 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une plainte déposée aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.).

PAR

MASTERBEDROOM INC.

CONTRE

LE MINISTÈRE DES TRAVAUX PUBLICS ET DES SERVICES GOUVERNEMENTAUX

DÉCISION

Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Membre présidant

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

1. En vertu du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[1], tout fournisseur potentiel peut, sous réserve du Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics[2], déposer une plainte auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) concernant la procédure des marchés publics suivie relativement à un contrat spécifique et lui demander d’enquêter sur cette plainte. En vertu du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, après avoir jugé la plainte conforme au paragraphe 30.11(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE et sous réserve du Règlement, le Tribunal détermine s’il y a lieu d’enquêter.

RÉSUMÉ DE LA PLAINTE

2. La présente plainte déposée par MasterBedroom Inc. (Master Bedroom) le 22 juin 2017 concerne une demande d’offre à commandes (invitation no B8710-160020/A) (la DOC) émise par le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC) au nom du ministère de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration pour la fourniture, la livraison, le montage et l’installation de mobilier sur demande et la récupération de l’empaquetage dans le cadre du Programme d’aide à la réinstallation destiné aux réfugiés pris en charge par le gouvernement dans diverses villes de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta, du Manitoba, de l’Ontario et de Terre-Neuve.

3. Master Bedroom a présenté une soumission pour l’agglomération de Toronto (Ontario), mais a été avisée par TPSGC le 13 juin 2017 que, bien que sa soumission satisfaisait aux exigences obligatoires, l’offre à commandes avait été adjugée à Charley’s Furniture parce que sa soumission était la moins-disante. Master Bedroom demande qu’un nouvel appel d’offres soit lancé, car elle soutient que TPSGC n’a donné aucune explication des raisons pour lesquelles son évaluation pour les régions de Toronto, de Hamilton, de Kitchener, de London et d’Ottawa, pour lesquelles Charley’s Furniture est le soumissionnaire retenu, a pris plus de temps que celle pour la région de Windsor et des autres provinces, pour lesquelles Charley’s Furniture n’est pas le soumissionnaire retenu. Master Bedroom soutient également que Charley’s Furniture ne peut avoir satisfait aux critères obligatoires en alléguant ses « retards » et ses « mauvais services avérés » [traduction] dont Charley’s Furniture aurait fait preuve dans le cadre d’offres à commandes précédentes portant sur le même genre de services. 

ANALYSE

4. Pour enquêter sur une plainte, le Tribunal doit déterminer si le plaignant est un fournisseur potentiel, si la plainte concerne un « contrat spécifique » (c’est-à-dire un marché de biens ou de services qui atteint les seuils monétaires minimums prévus dans les accords commerciaux), et enfin si les « renseignements fournis par le plaignant démontrent, dans une mesure raisonnable, que la procédure du marché public n'a pas été suivie conformément » aux accords commerciaux applicables[3].

5. Le Tribunal décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte de Master Bedroom parce que les renseignements fournis ne démontrent pas, dans une mesure raisonnable, que la procédure du marché public n'a pas été suivie conformément à l’accord commercial applicable. La plainte ne rempli pas ces (modestes) conditions car la mauvaise conduite alléguée ne repose que sur des suppositions et n’est appuyée par aucun élément de preuve déposé avec la plainte.

6. En ce qui concerne l’allégation de retard excessif, il n’y a aucune preuve qui appuie la déduction de Master Bedroom selon laquelle l’évaluation des soumissions pour l’Ontario a pris plus de temps parce que TPSGC a accordé un traitement préférentiel à Charley’s Furniture. Au contraire, la preuve indique que la DOC spécifiait que les soumissions pour l’Ontario allaient être évaluées les dernières (parce que les contrats en vigueur pour l’Ontario expiraient plus tard).

7. La date de clôture de la DOC était le 6 mars 2017. Il était expressément prévu à la page 3 de la section 1.2.1 (Sommaire) que les offres à commandes subséquentes seraient valides, à l’exclusion des prolongations optionnelles, à partir de la « date de l’adjudication jusqu’au 31 mars 2018 [...] à l’exception de la Province de l’Ontario pour laquelle la période de validité des offres à commandes sera du 1er août 2017 jusqu’au 31 mars 2018 [...] » [nos italiques, traduction].

8. Lorsque Interfusion Furniture & Supply (Interfusion) (le soumissionnaire retenu pour la région de Windsor) a demandé à TPSGC le 24 mars 2017 quand les résultats de l’évaluation seraient connus, celui-ci a répondu que « [c]ertaines régions commenceront le 1er avril, mais la région de l’Ontario ne commencera que le 1er août. Nous sommes présentement à effectuer les évaluations et vous serez avisée prochainement »[4] [nos italiques, traduction]. Le 30 mars 2017, TPSGC a confirmé avoir « attribué certaines offres à commandes pour certaines régions en fonction des priorités liées à l’expiration d’offres à commandes en vigueur »[5] [nos italiques, traduction]. Interrogé à nouveau par Interfusion le 6 avril 2017, TPSGC a confirmé que les résultats pour les régions de la Colombie-Britannique, du Manitoba et de l’Alberta avaient été affichés mais que les régions de l’Ontario seraient « évaluées au cours des prochaines semaines, avec comme date d’entrée en vigueur de l’offre à commandes le 1er août 2017 »[6] [nos italiques, traduction]. Le 19 avril 2017, Interfusion a demandé de recevoir une réponse « d’ici la fin avril car notre contrat de location pour l’entrepôt et notre engagement envers nos employés arrivent à échéance » [traduction]. TPSGC a répondu que « nous aurons probablement une réponse pour les offres à commandes de la région de l’Ontario d’ici la mi-mai au plus tard. Nous espérons avoir une réponse d’ici la fin avril mais cela n’est pas assuré étant donné notre importante charge de travail en ce moment »[7] [nos italiques, traduction].

9. Le 2 mai 2017, Master Bedroom a demandé par courriel à TPSGC quand seraient annoncées les résultats pour l’Ontario. TPSGC a répondu que les évaluations étaient en cours et que les résultats seraient « annoncés fort probablement fin juin à cause de circonstances imprévues »[8] [traduction]. Interfusion a demandé la même chose le 11 mai 2017, et TPSGC a réitéré que les évaluations étaient en cours et qu’il « ne pouvait confirmer à quelle date les contrats seraient adjugés »[9] [traduction]. Le 24 mai, TPSGC a confirmé l’adjudication du contrat à Interfusion pour la région de Windsor (Ontario), et a reporté à la mi‑juillet l’adjudication de contrats pour les autres régions de l’Ontario[10].

10. Cette correspondance est cohérente avec l’énoncé de la DOC selon lequel les offres à commandes pour l’Ontario débuteraient plus tard, à partir du 1er août 2017. De plus, dans la mesure où les soumissions pour la région de Windsor aient été priorisées, rien n’indique que cela ait été fait afin de favoriser Charley’s Furniture, ou, même si c’était le cas, de quelle façon Charley’s Furniture aurait pu en bénéficier (qui n’est pas le soumissionnaire retenu pour la région de Windsor). Le Tribunal ne se penchera pas sur la question de savoir si la région de Windsor a été priorisée (le cas échéant à tort ou a raison), mais les éléments de preuve déposés par Master Bedroom suggèrent que, si la région de Windsor a été priorisée, c’est en raison de la demande d’Interfusion qui a exprimé à TPSGC la nécessité de connaître les résultats dès que possible pour des raisons opérationnelles. Par conséquent, l’allégation de mauvaise conduite de Master Bedroom en fonction des délais pour obtenir les résultats est sans fondement, et elle est même contredite par des éléments de preuve que Master Bedroom a elle-même déposés.

11. En ce qui concerne l’allégation selon laquelle Charley’s Furniture ne peut avoir satisfait aux critères obligatoires, cela aussi est entièrement spéculatif. L’allégation de Master Bedroom selon laquelle la prestation des services antérieurs de Charley’s Furniture ont été caractérisés par des « retards » et des « mauvais services avérés » est sans fondement. En outre, elle n’est pas pertinente. Master Bedroom ne spécifie pas à laquelle des exigences obligatoires la soumission de Charley’s Furniture ne satisfait pas. Les exigences obligatoires sont énoncées à l’annexe A de la DOC, sections 3.1 à 3.14. Aucune de celles-ci ne concerne l’expérience de travail du soumissionnaire; elles portent plutôt sur les conditions d’un contrat subséquent, par exemple la disponibilité (section 3.1), les stocks (section 3.5) et les ressources (section 3.6) afin de satisfaire aux exigences de livraison, qu’il s’agit de mobilier neuf uniquement (section 3.7), etc.

12. Master Bedroom allègue également que TPSGC entretient une soi-disant « relation spéciale » [traduction] avec Charley’s Furniture parce que, dans une plainte antérieure de Master Bedroom concernant une DOC précédente, le Tribunal avait conclu que TPSGC aurait dû rejeter la soumission de Charley’s Furniture au motif qu’elle avait omis de cocher la zone de livraison qui s’appliquait à sa soumission[11]. Cela représente un manquement relatif à des instructions concernant une DOC précédente et ne constitue pas une indication de « retards » et de « mauvais services avérés ». Quoi qu’il en soi, cela n’est pas non plus pertinent car, comme expliqué ci-dessus, la présente DOC constitue un nouvel appel d’offres entièrement indépendant. En outre, le Tribunal a demandé aux fournisseurs de « s’abstenir d’invoquer des hypothèses qui remettent en cause la bonne foi ou l’intégrité d’autrui en l’absence de preuve tangible à cet effet », car il « présume de la bonne foi et de l’honnêteté aussi bien des soumissionnaires que des fonctionnaires chargés d’évaluer leur soumission »[12]. En l’espèce, Master Bedroom n’a déposé aucune preuve tangible et qu’elle n’a formulé que des hypothèses . Par conséquent, le Tribunal conclut que ce motif de plainte n’est pas fondé.

DÉCISION

13. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Tribunal conclut que les renseignements fournis ne démontrent pas, dans une mesure raisonnable, que la procédure du marché public n’a pas été suivie conformément aux accords commerciaux.

14. Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

 

[1].     L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.) [Loi sur le TCCE].

[2].     D.O.R.S./93-602 [Règlement].

[3].     Article 7 du Règlement.

[4].     Plainte, pièce jointe 4.

[5].     Plainte, pièce jointe 7.

[6].     Plainte, pièce jointe 5.

[7].     Plainte, pièce jointe 6.

[8].     Plainte, pièce jointe 7.

[9].     Plainte, pièce jointe 8.

[10].   Plainte, pièces jointes 9 et 10.

[11].   Plainte à la p. 5. Master Bedroom a déposé six plaintes concernant une DOC antérieure pour les mêmes services, dont la quatrième a eu gain de cause. Voir MasterBedroom Inc. (14 septembre 2016), PR-2016-032 (TCCE) au par. 4.

[12].   GESFORM International (26 mai 2014), PR-2014-012 (TCCE) aux par. 15-16.

Numéro(s) du cas

PR-2017-017

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pr2r017_f.pdf (65.24 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 14 Juillet 2017

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 14 Juillet 2017