Response to the 2016-2017 Report of the CITT Advisory Committee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

The purpose of the CITT Advisory Committee is to provide recommendations to enhance the accessibility, fairness and transparency of the Tribunal’s rules and procedures. 

The Tribunal thanks for the Advisory Committee for its work towards this end and for its feedback on the draft practice notices that have been circulated to it over the past year.  Attached is an appendix listing the current status of the Tribunal’s practice notices and outlining a new approach for sharing practice notices with the Advisory Committee in the future.

The Tribunal also thanks representatives of the business community for raising issues of concern to small, medium and large businesses alike.  These issues are of significant import to the Tribunal and should continue to inform future practice notices so that the Tribunal’s rules and procedures remain in step with the commercial realities in which Canadian producers and businesses operate.

The Tribunal welcomes the Advisory Committee’s input on various issues and provides the following in response to the issues raised in its 2016-2017 report.

Reducing Costs and Improving Access to Justice

Improving access to justice remains a key priority for the Tribunal.  As such, the Tribunal commends the Advisory Committee for continuing to focus much of its work on reducing costs and improving access, especially for small- and medium-sized businesses, across all three of the Tribunal’s mandates (i.e., procurement, customs and excise appeals, and trade remedies).  The Tribunal looks forward to working with the Advisory Committee over the coming year in this regard.

For its part, the Tribunal has made several modifications to its website to make it easier to navigate, especially for those who are not familiar with the CITT’s rules and procedures.  For example, the website features a new SIMA guideline for parties who are unfamiliar with the Tribunal’s work in trade remedies. It has also decided that Lexum will be used to publish the Tribunal’s decisions, and as such, decisions will be more widely available to the public. 

Furthermore, the Tribunal is developing a new “Notice of Appeal” to make it easier for parties to file a customs or excise appeal.  It has been based on the form used in Procurement complaints.  A draft will be shared with the Advisory Committee for comment in the coming weeks.  

Finally, the Tribunal notes that in the last year, a number of SIMA hearings exceeded one week for the first time in many years.  While this cannot be avoided in certain cases, the Tribunal does not want this to become a trend.  The Tribunal would therefore encourage counsel to: moderate their time demands for examination-in-chief, cross-examination and closing arguments; better coordinate with colleagues; respect the given time allotments; carefully weigh the benefits of using expert witnesses; and take note of the Tribunal’s practice notice on the efficient management of cases. 

CITT Jurisdiction in Contempt Proceedings

The Tribunal would draw the Committee’s attention to Section 17(2) of the CITT Act which gives it the inherent power regarding contempt proceedings.  Comments from the Advisory Committee on the manner in which the Tribunal could implement such power would be welcomed. 

Video Conferencing

The Tribunal has identified a means by which witnesses can appear before the Tribunal via video-conferencing during public portions of hearings.  It is developing a practice notice at the present time, which will be shared with the Advisory Committee as soon as possible. 

Electronic Document Filing and Service

ATSSC continues to work on this issue.  Case management solutions are an operational priority for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019. 

Changes to Questionnaires and Feedback on Data Collection

The Tribunal recognizes that questionnaires in SIMA proceedings can be difficult for small- and medium-sized businesses.  It is pleased that the CITT Secretariat has been actively improving standard questionnaires, and working closely with parties to assist them in providing necessary information in SIMA inquiries.  Notably, staff in the CITT Secretariat remains available to provide as much assistance as possible to parties when completing questionnaire to ensure that questionnaire replies are as complete and accurate as possible and to avoid costly and burdensome revisions. 

Nevertheless, the Tribunal would note that in several instances, the complexity of questionnaires has arisen from the scope of the product definitions set by the CBSA.  It would, therefore, encourage parties and counsel to be mindful of the difficulties that increasingly complex product definitions can have on small- and medium-sized businesses when responding to questionnaires.

Furthermore, the Tribunal would note that the recent WTO ruling on carbon steel welded pipe will likely affect how de minimis exporters are reflected in future questionnaires.  The CITT Secretariat is considering the most efficient way to manage this issue and the Tribunal would welcome the Advisory Committee’s input in order to minimize the complexity of questionnaires in this regard.

Issues for the Coming Year

The Tribunal looks forward to continuing to work closely with the Advisory Committee over the coming year.

Looking ahead, the Tribunal is considering potential ways to simplify its approach to product exclusions in SIMA cases.  It is also considering whether and how pre-hearing settlement conferences could be used in appeals and procurement cases.   It will seek comments from the Advisory Committee on both issues in due course.

 

Appendix

Current Status of the Tribunal’s Practice Notices

Title

Date of Issuance

Status

Practice Notice - Citing Authorities

February 13, 2017

Final

Practice Notice - Filing Documents

February 13, 2017

Final

Practice Notice & Form - Proposed Expert Witnesses: Acknowledgement and Undertaking

April 4, 2017

Final

Practice Notice - Single-Copy Exhibits

February 13, 2017

Final

Practice Notice - Agreed Statement of Facts

March 3, 2016

Final

Form – Filing an Appeal

Publication imminent

Final

Practice Notice - Filing of Questionnaire Replies and Revisions and Issuance of Revised Investigation Report

June 10, 2016

Final

Practice Notice - Electronic Hearings

In preparation

Draft

Practice Notice - Settlement Conferences

In preparation

No draft yet – internal only

Practice Notice - Exclusions

In preparation

No draft yet – internal only

Publication - List of Measures in Force & Expiry Time Lines

February 16, 2017

Updated as Required by CITT Secretariat

Publication - Anti-dumping Injury Inquiries: A Descriptive Guide

January 26, 2017

Final

Publication - Expiry Review Guidelines

July 28, 2016

Final

Publication - Procurement Review Process: A Descriptive Guide

Spring 2017

Final

Various streamlining of the CITT’s website for enhanced user-friendliness

Winter 2017

Ongoing

 

Sharing Practice Notices in the Future

Beginning in September 2017, the Tribunal will begin sharing draft practice notices with the Advisory Committee for comment on a quarterly basis.  Once comments are received and accounted for, draft practice notices will then be posted on the Tribunal’s website for 30 days, after which they will be finalized.  This new approach is being undertaken to improve the efficiency of the process by which practice notices are drafted, shared for comment and finalized. 

In cases where practice notices are time sensitive and/or linked to a particular case, the Tribunal will share them with the Advisory Committee for comment on an expedited and exceptional basis.

 

Resource Type

Status

Publication Date

Friday, July 14, 2017

Modification Date

Friday, July 14, 2017

Réponse au Rapport annuel 2016-2017 du Comité consultatif du TCCE

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

Le but du Comité consultatif du TCCE est de faire des recommandations afin d’améliorer l’accessibilité, l’équité et la transparence en ce qui concerne les règles et les procédures du Tribunal. 

Le Tribunal remercie le Comité consultatif pour son travail en ce sens et pour ses commentaires sur les avis de pratiques provisoires qui lui ont été remis au cours de l’année.  Ci-joint en annexe une liste donnant l’état d’avancement des avis de pratiques du Tribunal et une nouvelle façon de procéder pour obtenir à l’avenir les commentaires du Comité consultatif à leur sujet.

Le Tribunal remercie également les représentants du monde des affaires pour avoir soulevé des questions intéressant aussi bien les petites et moyennes entreprises que les grandes.  Ces questions importent grandement au Tribunal et doivent continuer de faire l’objet des avis de pratiques futures afin que les règles et les procédures du Tribunal demeurent en phase avec le contexte commercial dans lequel les producteurs et les entreprises du Canada exercent leurs activités.

Le Tribunal est heureux de connaître l’opinion du Comité consultatif sur divers sujets et donne les réponses suivantes sur les questions soulevées dans le rapport de 2016-2017.

Réduction des coûts et amélioration de l’accessibilité

L’amélioration de l’accessibilité est un objectif prioritaire du Tribunal.  À ce titre, le Tribunal est très satisfait que le Comité consultatif continue de se focaliser en grande partie sur les moyens de réduire les coûts et d’améliorer l’accessibilité, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les petites et moyennes entreprises, pour ce qui est des trois mandats du Tribunal (c’est-à-dire les marchés publics, les appels en matière de douanes et d’accise et les recours commerciaux).  Le Tribunal ne doute pas de la poursuite de cette collaboration fructueuse avec le Comité consultatif au cours de la prochaine année.

Pour sa part, le Tribunal a apporté plusieurs modifications à son site Web pour faciliter la navigation, particulièrement pour ceux qui ne sont pas familiers avec les règles et les procédures du TCCE.  Par exemple, le site Web comporte de nouvelles lignes directrices ayant trait à la LMSI pour les parties qui ne connaissent pas le rôle du Tribunal en matière de recours commerciaux. Le Tribunal a aussi décidé que ses décisions seraient publiées sur Lexum, les rendant ainsi beaucoup plus accessibles au public. 

De plus, le Tribunal est à élaborer un nouvel « Avis d’appel » afin de faciliter la tâche aux parties qui désirent interjeter appel en matière de douanes et d’accise.  Il s’inspire du formulaire utilisé pour les plaintes concernant les marchés publics.  Au cours des prochaines semaines le Comité consultatif recevra une version préliminaire pour commentaires.  

Enfin, le Tribunal constate qu’au cours de l’année dernière la durée d’un certain nombre d’audiences ayant trait à la LMSI ont excédé une semaine pour la première fois depuis plusieurs années.  Bien que cela ne puisse être évité dans certains cas, le Tribunal ne souhaite pas que cela devienne la norme.  Le Tribunal encourage donc les conseillers juridiques de réduire la durée des interrogatoires, des contre-interrogatoires et des plaidoiries, de mieux se coordonner entre collègues, de respecter le temps prévu, d’évaluer soigneusement les avantages de citer des témoins experts et de tenir compte de l’avis de pratiques du Tribunal sur la gestion efficace des causes. 

Juridiction du TCCE en matière d’outrage au tribunal

Le Tribunal désire porter à l’attention du Comité consultatif le paragraphe 17(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE qui lui confère un pouvoir intrinsèque en matière d’outrage.  Les commentaires du Comité consultatif sur la façon dont le Tribunal pourrait exercer ce pouvoir sont les bienvenus. 

Visioconférences

Le Tribunal a trouvé une façon de faire comparaître les témoins par visioconférence au cours d’audiences publiques.  Il est présentement à élaborer un avis de pratiques à ce sujet, qu’il fera parvenir au Comité consultatif dès que possible. 

Service de dépôt électronique

Le SCDATA continu d’examiner cette question.  Des solutions à la gestion des causes sont une priorité opérationnelle pour 2017-2018 et 2018-2019. 

Modification des questionnaires et commentaires sur la collecte de données

Le Tribunal reconnaît que les questionnaires dans le cadre des procédures ayant trait à la LMSI peuvent être difficiles à remplir pour les petites et moyennes entreprises.  Il note avec satisfaction que le Secrétariat du TCCE travaille à améliorer les questionnaires en étroite collaboration avec les parties pour les aider à fournir les renseignements voulus dans le cadre des enquêtes ayant trait à la LMSI.  Notamment, le personnel du Secrétariat du TCCE est toujours disponible pour prêter autant que possible assistance aux parties pour remplir les questionnaires afin de s’assurer que leurs réponses soient aussi complètes et exactes que désiré et d’éviter des révisions couteuses et pénibles. 

Néanmoins, le Tribunal souligne que, dans plusieurs cas, la complexité des questionnaires découle des définitions de produit émanant de l’ASFC.  Par conséquent, il encourage les parties et les conseillers juridiques d’être attentifs aux difficultés que représentent pour les petites et moyennes entreprises les définitions de produit de plus en plus complexes quand elles répondent aux questionnaires.

De plus, le Tribunal souligne que la récente décision de l’OMC sur les tubes soudés en acier au carbone aura probablement une incidence sur la façon dont les exportateurs de minimis seront à l’avenir reflétés dans les questionnaires.  Le Secrétariat du TCCE examine présentement la façon la plus efficace de tenir compte de cette décision, et le Tribunal aimerait obtenir les commentaires du Comité consultatif à cet égard afin de minimiser la complexité des questionnaires.

Questions à l’ordre du jour au cours de l’année prochaine

Le Tribunal se réjouit à la perspective de poursuivre son étroite collaboration avec le Comité consultatif au cours de l’année qui vient.

Le Tribunal est à explorer des façons de simplifier ses méthodes en ce qui concerne l’exclusion de produits dans les causes ayant trait à la LMSI.  Il examine aussi si, dans le cas des appels et des marchés publics, il y aurait lieu de tenir des conférences de règlement pré-audience et comment cela pourrait se faire.  Il demandera l’avis du Comité consultatif sur ces questions en temps utile.

 

Annexe

État d’avancement des avis de pratiques du Tribunal

Titre

Date d’émission

État

Avis de pratiques – Citation de sources juridiques faisant autorité

13 février 2017

final

Avis de pratiques – Dépôt de documents

13 février 2017

final

Avis de pratiques et formulaire – Témoins experts proposés : reconnaissance et engagement

4 avril 2017

final

Avis de pratiques – Pièces en exemplaires uniques

13 février 2017

final

Avis de pratiques – Exposé conjoint des faits – Appels

3 mars 2016

final

Formulaire – Appels

publication imminente

final

Avis de pratiques – Dépôt de réponses aux questionnaires et de révisions et publication du rapport d’enquête révisé

10 juin 2016

final

Avis de pratiques – Audiences par voie électronique

en préparation

provisoire

Avis de pratiques – Conférences de règlement pré-audience

en préparation

pas encore de version préliminaire – document interne uniquement

Avis de pratiques – Exclusions

en préparation

pas encore de version préliminaire – document interne uniquement

Publication – Liste des mesures en vigueur et dates d’expiration

16 février 2017

mise à jour par le Secrétariat du TCCE au besoin

Publication – Enquêtes de dommage antidumping : un guide

26 janvier 2017

final

Publication – Lignes directrices sur les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration

28 juillet 2016

final

Publication – Guide du mécanisme d’examen des marchés publics

printemps 2017

final

Réorganisation du site Web du TCCE pour en améliorer la convivialité

hiver 2017

en cours

 

Obtention des commentaires du Comité consultatif sur les avis de pratiques

À compter de septembre 2017, le Tribunal enverra pour commentaires au Comité consultatif la version préliminaire des avis de pratiques tous les trois mois.  Une fois les commentaires reçus et justifiés, la version préliminaire des avis de pratiques sera affichée sur le site Web du Tribunal pendant 30 jours, après quoi ils seront finalisés.  Cette nouvelle façon de faire vise à améliorer l’efficacité du processus de rédaction des avis de pratiques, de l’obtention de commentaires à la rédaction de la version définitive. 

Dans les cas où la rédaction d’un avis de pratiques est urgente ou que l’avis est lié à une cause en particulier, le Tribunal fera parvenir exceptionnellement pour commentaires la version préliminaire au Comité consultatif sans tardé.

 

Type de documentation

Statut

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 14 Juillet 2017

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 14 Juillet 2017