DAVCO WELDING LTD.

DAVCO WELDING LTD.
File No. PR-2017-018

Decision made and issued
Thursday, June 29, 2017

Reasons issued
Wednesday, July 12, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a complaint filed pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.).

BY

DAVCO WELDING LTD.

AGAINST

DEFENCE CONSTRUCTION CANADA

DECISION

Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Presiding Member

The statement of reasons will be issued at a later date.

STATEMENT OF REASONS

1.Subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act[1] provides that, subject to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations,[2] a potential supplier may file a complaint with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) concerning any aspect of the procurement process that relates to a designated contract and request the Tribunal to conduct an inquiry into the complaint. Subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act provides that, subject to the Regulations, after the Tribunal determines that a complaint complies with subsection 30.11(2) of the CITT Act, it shall decide whether to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

BACKGROUND

2.This complaint by Davco Welding Ltd. (Davco) concerns a request for standing offers (RFSO) (Solicitation No. WR16ST08) for heavy lifting services at the Wainwright Garrison in Alberta, issued by Defence Construction Canada (DCC).

3.On March 20, 2017, DCC issued the RFSO. The bid closing date was April 11, 2017.

4.On March 31, 2017, DCC issued Amendment No. 2 to the RFSO, which stated that “mobilization and demobilization costs will be negotiated after award of the Standing Offer. Costs will include all preparation and transportation costs including hauling, permits, pilot vehicles, etc. from place of business to Wainwright Garrison and return.”

5.On or about the week of April 17, 2017, Davco became aware that it had not been awarded a standing offer. On or about the week of May 1, 2017, Davco became aware that a standing offer had been awarded to a company located in Cold Lake, Alberta, which is located approximately 230 km away from Wainwright Garrison.[3]

6.On May 11, 2017, Davco contacted DCC with several questions. Most relevantly, Davco asked DCC why Amendment No. 2 had been issued, as it had removed a potentially substantial cost from the calculation of the total offer price, and how negotiations for mobilization and demobilization costs could be conducted in a fair, open and transparent manner after the award of the standing offer.[4]

7.On May 26, 2017, after two follow-up requests by Davco, DCC responded to Davco’s questions. With respect to Amendment No. 2, DCC replied that mobilization and demobilization costs were removed because their inclusion unreasonably inflated the hourly cost of any heavy lifting equipment that was required on site for extended periods of time, and that DCC staff would negotiate low and fair mobilization and demobilization costs.[5]

8.On May 29, 2017, Davco replied to DCC that mobilization and demobilization costs should not have been left out of the calculation of the offer price as this meant that the true cost of doing business is not reflected in the offer prices. According to Davco, the removal of the mobilization and demobilization costs means that a standing offer could be awarded on the basis of low hourly rates to a company located far away from the Wainwright Garrison, but this could ultimately result in significant extra costs to the government due to high mobilization and demobilization costs.[6]

9.On May 31, 2017, DCC responded that it would take Davco’s feedback into consideration for future procurements.[7]

10.On June 1, 2017, Davco requested that DCC retender the current standing offer because it had been awarded on an unfair basis as the offer prices did not reflect the full cost of the work.[8]

11.On June 19, 2017, DCC responded by telephone to Davco’s June 1 email. DCC stated that the standing offer had been awarded based on what was stated in the tender documents and that the procurement would not be retendered.[9]

12.On June 26, 2017, Davco filed its complaint with the Tribunal. Davco’s complaint is that it is contrary to standard practice to allow for the negotiation of mobilization and demobilization costs after the award of the standing offer and that this results in a contract that does not provide best value for the government. In addition, Davco submits that this practice provides an unfair advantage to contractors who are geographically distant. As a remedy, Davco requested that the standing offer be retendered in a manner that fully reflects all costs associated with the work. Davco also requested its bid preparation costs.

ANALYSIS

13.For the following reasons, the Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into this complaint.

14.Subsection 7(1) of the Regulations sets out three conditions that must be satisfied before the Tribunal may conduct an inquiry in respect of a complaint. One of these conditions is that the complaint be in respect of a designated contract.

15.To be considered as a designated contract, a contract for the supply of goods and services must, inter alia, meet the monetary thresholds prescribed by the trade agreements.

16.The RFSO sought hourly rates for the provision of various types of heavy lifting equipment with operator as well as additional site personnel. Accordingly, the Tribunal finds that this procurement is for construction services.[10] Therefore, the applicable monetary thresholds are $100,000 under the Agreement on Internal Trade,[11] $8,500,000 under the Agreement on Government Procurement,[12] and $14,300,000 under the North American Free Trade Agreement[13] as well as all other potentially applicable bilateral trade agreements.[14]

17.In its complaint, Davco indicated that the contract value was $30,000.[15] However, it should be noted that Sections 1.2 and 1.3 of the RFSO provide that the maximum value that can be expended during the initial two-year contract term is $60,000, with an additional one-year option period of $30,000, for a total maximum contract value of $90,000. Even taking this approach to the calculation of the contract value, the value is still below the monetary thresholds for construction services for all of the trade agreements. As a result, the complaint is not in respect of a designated contract, and the Tribunal cannot conduct an inquiry into this complaint.

18.In addition to the above, the Tribunal also finds that Davco’s complaint is not timely.

19.Subsection 6(1) of the Regulations provides that a complaint shall be filed with the Tribunal “not later than 10 working days after the day on which the basis of the complaint became known or reasonably should have become known to the potential supplier.” Subsection 6(2) of the Regulations states that a potential supplier who has made an objection to the relevant government institution, and is denied relief by that government institution, may file a complaint with the Tribunal “within 10 working days after the day on which the potential supplier has actual or constructive knowledge of the denial of relief, if the objection was made within 10 working days after the day on which its basis became known or reasonably should have become known to the potential supplier.”

20.In short, in order to meet these prescribed deadlines, a complainant has 10 working days from the date on which it first became aware, or reasonably should have become aware, of its ground of complaint to either file a complaint with the Tribunal or object to the government institution.

21.Davco’s complaint relates to the terms of Amendment No. 2, which was published on March 31, 2017. Davco acknowledges in its complaint that it was aware of Amendment No. 2 at the time it was published, but that it did not file an objection at that time because it anticipated that DCC would exercise its option under the terms of the RFSO to award the contract to a bid that did not have the highest score, in order to obtain the best value.[16] In other words, Davco assumed, despite the plain wording of Amendment No. 2, that DCC would somehow factor mobilization and demobilization costs into the evaluation process.

22.Potential suppliers cannot delay filing their complaints on the basis of such assumptions, especially when, in order for Davco’s assumption to be correct, the government institution would have to ignore the terms of the solicitation documents.

23.The prescribed deadlines require that potential suppliers “keep a constant vigil and . . . react as soon as they become aware or reasonably should have become aware of a flaw in the process.”[17] The procurement review process does not provide for perceived grievances to be accumulated and then presented only when the contract is awarded.

24.Accordingly, Davco’s ground of complaint was known to it at the time that Davco acquainted itself with the amendment, and Davco should have made its objection to DCC within 10 working days of that date. However, the Tribunal has no evidence that Davco made any objection to the amendment until May 11, 2017, after Davco was informed it had not been awarded a standing offer. As a result, in addition to the fact that Davco’s complaint is not in respect of a designated contract, it is also not timely.

DECISION

25.Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

 

[1].     R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.) [CITT Act].

[2].     S.O.R./93-602 [Regulations].

[3].     Complaint at 7.

[4].     Attachment C01 to the Complaint.

[5].     Attachment C04 to the Complaint.

[6].     Attachment C05 to the Complaint.

[7].     Attachment C07 to the Complaint.

[8].     Attachment C08 to the Complaint.

[9].     Attachment C09 to the Complaint.

[10].   The United Nations Central Product Classification (UN CPC) framework is used to define construction services in all the trade agreements except the Agreement on Internal Trade. Division 51 of the UN CPC covers construction work and contains the following code: 5180 – Renting services related to equipment for construction or demolition of buildings or civil engineering works, with operator. The Agreement on Internal Trade defines “construction” as follows: “construction means a construction, reconstruction, demolition, repair or renovation of a building, structure or other civil engineering or architectural work and includes site preparation, excavation, drilling, seismic investigation, the supply of products and materials, the supply of equipment and machinery if they are included in and incidental to the construction, and the installation and repair of fixtures of a building, structure or other civil engineering or architectural work, but does not include professional consulting services related to the construction contract unless they are included in the procurement” [emphasis added].

[11].    18 July 1994, C. Gaz. 1995.I.1323, online: Internal Trade Secretariat <http://www.ait-aci.ca/agreement-internal-trade/>.

[12].    Revised Agreement on Government Procurement, online: World Trade Organization <http://www.wto.org/english/‌docs_e/legal_e/rev-gpr-94_01_e.htm> (entered into force 6 April 2014).

[13].    North American Free Trade Agreement between the Government of Canada, the Government of the United Mexican States and the Government of the United States of America, 17 December 1992, 1994 Can. T.S. No. 2, online: Global Affairs Canada <http://international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-comme...‌nafta-alena/fta-ale/index.aspx?lang=eng> (entered into force 1 January 1994).

[15].   Complaint at 3.

[16].   Complaint at 6.

[17].   IBM Canada Ltd. v. Hewlett Packard (Canada) Ltd., 2002 FCA 284 (CanLII) at para. 20.

Case Number(s)

PR-2017-018

Attachment(s)

pr2r018_e.pdf (64.58 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Modification Date

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

DAVCO WELDING LTD.

DAVCO WELDING LTD.
Dossier no PR-2017-018

Décision prise et rendue
le jeudi 29 juin 2017

Motifs rendus
le mercredi 12 juillet 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une plainte déposée aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.).

PAR

DAVCO WELDING LTD.

CONTRE

CONSTRUCTION DE DÉFENSE CANADA

DÉCISION

Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Membre présidant

L’exposé des motifs suivra à une date ultérieure.

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

1. En vertu du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[1], tout fournisseur potentiel peut, sous réserve du Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics[2], déposer une plainte auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) concernant la procédure des marchés publics suivie relativement à un contrat spécifique et lui demander d’enquêter sur cette plainte. En vertu du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, après avoir jugé la plainte conforme au paragraphe 30.11(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE et sous réserve du Règlement, le Tribunal détermine s’il y a lieu d’enquêter.

CONTEXTE

2. La présente plainte déposée par Davco Welding Ltd. (Davco) concerne une demande d’offre à commandes (DOC) (invitation no WR16ST08) pour la prestation de services de levage de charges lourdes à la garnison Wainwright (Alberta) émise par Construction de Défense Canada (CDC).

3. Le 20 mars 2017, CDC a émis la DOC, dont la date de clôture était le 11 avril 2017.

4. Le 31 mars 2017, CDC a émis la modification no 2 concernant la DOC, qui indiquait que « les frais de mobilisation et de démobilisation seront négociés après l’adjudication de l’offre à commandes. Les frais comprendront les préparatifs et le transport aller-retour, y inclus le déplacement, les permis, les véhicules pilotes, etc., à partir des installations de l’entrepreneur à la garnison Wainwright » [traduction].

5. Le ou autour de la semaine du 17 avril 2017, Davco a appris qu’une offre à commande ne lui avait pas été adjugée. Le ou autour de la semaine du 1er mai 2017, Davco a appris qu’une offre à commande avait été adjugée à une entreprise située à Cold Lake (Alberta), à environ 230 km de la garnison Wainwright[3].

6. Le 11 mai 2017, Davco a communiqué avec CDC pour lui poser plusieurs questions. Plus particulièrement, Davco a demandé à CDC pourquoi la modification no 2 avait été émise, car elle supprimait des coûts potentiellement substantiels du calcul du prix total de l’offre, et comment des négociations sur les frais de mobilisation et de démobilisation pouvaient avoir lieu de façon équitable, ouverte et transparente une fois l’offre à commande adjugée[4].

7. Le 26 mai 2017, après deux demandes subséquentes de Davco, CDC a répondu à ses questions. En ce qui concerne la modification no 2, CDC a répondu que les frais de mobilisation et de démobilisation avaient été supprimés car ils gonflaient excessivement le taux horaire de l’équipement de levage lourd requis sur les lieux pour de longues périodes de temps, et que le personnel de CDC négocierait des frais de mobilisation et de démobilisation avantageux et équitables[5].

8. Le 29 mai 2017, Davco a répondu à CDC que les frais de mobilisation et de démobilisation n’auraient pas dû être supprimés du calcul du prix total de l’offre car cela signifie que les frais généraux véritables ne sont pas reflétés dans les prix. Selon Davco, le fait d’avoir supprimé les frais de mobilisation et de démobilisation signifie qu’une offre à commandes pourrait être adjugée en fonction de taux horaires bas à une entreprise éloignée de la garnison Wainwright, mais que cela pourrait signifier de forts coûts excédentaires pour le gouvernement à cause de frais de mobilisation et de démobilisation élevés[6].

9. Le 31 mai 2017, CDC a répondu qu’elle tiendrait compte des commentaires de Davco dans ses futures procédures de marchés publics[7].

10. Le 1er juin 2017, Davco a demandé que CDC lance un nouvel appel d’offres car l’offre à commandes actuelle n’avait pas été adjugée de façon équitable étant donné que le prix des offres ne reflétait pas tous les frais des travaux[8].

11. Le 19 juin 2017, CDC a répondu au courriel de Davco du 1er juin. CDC affirmait que l’offre à commandes avait été adjugée selon les modalités énoncées dans les documents de l’appel d’offres et que le marché public ne ferait pas l’objet d’un nouvel appel d’offres[9].

12. Le 26 juin 2017, Davco a déposé sa plainte auprès du Tribunal. Davco soutient qu’il est contraire à l’usage de négocier les frais de mobilisation et de démobilisation après l’adjudication de l’offre à commande et que cela a pour résultat un contrat qui ne représente pas un bon rapport qualité-prix pour le gouvernement. De plus, Davco soutient que cette façon de faire donne un avantage indu aux entrepreneurs qui sont éloignés des lieux. À titre de mesure correctrice, Davco demande qu’un nouvel appel d’offres soit lancé de façon à refléter fidèlement la totalité des frais associés aux travaux. Davco demande aussi d’être indemnisée pour les frais de préparation de sa soumission.

ANALYSE

13. Pour les motifs qui suivent, le Tribunal décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

14. Le paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement énonce trois conditions qui doivent être respectées avant que le Tribunal enquête sur une plainte. L’une de ces conditions prévoit que la plainte doit porter sur un contrat spécifique.

15. Afin d’être considéré comme un contrat spécifique, un contrat pour la fourniture de produits et services doit respecter entre autres les seuils monétaires prescrits par les accords commerciaux.

16. La DOC demandait le taux horaire pour les services de divers types d’équipement de levage lourd et d’un opérateur ainsi que d’autres préposés. Par conséquent, le Tribunal conclut que l’appel d’offres concerne des services de construction[10]. Ainsi, les seuils monétaires applicables sont de 100 000 $ en vertu de l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur[11], de 8 500 000 $ en vertu de l’Accord sur les marchés publics[12] et de 14 300 000 $ en vertu de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain[13] ainsi que d’autres accords commerciaux bilatéraux potentiellement applicables[14].

17. Dans sa plainte, Davco indique que la valeur du contrat est de 30 000 $[15]. Toutefois, les sections 1.2 et 1.3 de la DOC prévoient que la valeur maximale pour les deux premières années du contrat est de 60 000 $, et que celle pour la période d’option d’une année additionnelle est de 30 000 $, pour une valeur totale du contrat de 90 000 $. Même en calculant la valeur du contrat de cette façon, celle-ci est inférieure aux seuils monétaires pour les services de construction de tous les accords commerciaux. En conséquence, la plainte ne concerne pas un contrat spécifique, et le Tribunal ne peut enquêter sur la plainte.

18. En outre, le Tribunal conclut aussi que la plainte de Davco n’a pas était déposée dans les délais.

19. Le paragraphe 6(1) du Règlement prévoit qu’une plainte doit être déposée auprès du Tribunal « dans les 10 jours ouvrables suivant la date où [le fournisseur potentiel] a découvert ou aurait dû vraisemblablement découvrir les faits à l’origine de la plainte ». Le paragraphe 6(2) du Règlement prévoit que le fournisseur potentiel qui a présenté à l’institution fédérale concernée une opposition et à qui l’institution refuse réparation peut déposer une plainte auprès du Tribunal « dans les 10 jours ouvrables suivant la date où il a pris connaissance, directement ou par déduction, du refus, s’il a présenté son opposition dans les 10 jours ouvrables suivant la date où il a découvert ou aurait dû vraisemblablement découvrir les faits à l’origine de l’opposition ».

20. En résumé, pour respecter les délais prescrits, une partie plaignante dispose de 10 jours ouvrables suivant la date où elle prend connaissance des faits à l’origine de sa plainte, ou suivant la date où elle aurait dû vraisemblablement les découvrir, soit pour présenter une opposition auprès de l’institution fédérale, soit pour déposer une plainte auprès du Tribunal.

21. La plainte de Davco a trait à la modification no 2, qui a été publiée le 31 mars 2017. Davco reconnaît dans sa plainte qu’elle a pris connaissance de la modification no 2 au moment de sa publication, mais qu’elle n’a pas présenté d’opposition à ce moment-là car elle s’attendait à que CDC exerce son option en vertu de la DOC d’adjuger le contrat à la soumission qui n’a pas obtenu la note la plus haute afin d’obtenir le meilleur rapport qualité-prix[16]. Autrement dit, Davco a assumé que, malgré la formulation claire la modification no 2, CDC prendrait en compte d’une manière ou d’une autre les frais de mobilisation et de démobilisation dans le processus d’évaluation.

22. Les fournisseurs potentiels ne peuvent retarder le dépôt de leur plainte en fonction de telles suppositions, particulièrement quand cela signifierait, pour que la supposition de Davco soit correcte, que l’institution fédérale a ignoré les termes des documents d’appel d’offres.

23. Les délais prescrits requièrent que les fournisseurs potentiels « soient vigilants et qu’ils réagissent dès qu’ils découvrent ou auraient vraisemblablement dû découvrir un vice de procédure »[17]. La procédure de passation de marchés publics ne permet pas d’accumuler des griefs potentiels et de ne les présenter qu’une fois le contrat adjugé.

24. Par conséquent, le motif de plainte de Davco lui était connu au moment où Davco a pris connaissance de la modification, et Davco aurait dû présenter une opposition à CDC dans les 10 jours ouvrables suivant cette date. Toutefois, le Tribunal n’a aucune preuve que Davco ait présenté une opposition concernant la modification avant le 11 mai 2017, après que Davco eut été informée qu’une offre à commandes ne lei serait pas adjugée. En conséquence, en plus du fait que la plainte de Davco ne porte pas sur un contrat spécifique, elle n’a pas non plus été déposée dans les délais.

DÉCISION

25. Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

 

[1].     L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.) [Loi sur le TCCE].

[2].     D.O.R.S./93-602 [Règlement].

[3].     Plainte à la p. 7.

[4].     Plainte, pièce jointe C01.

[5].     Plainte, pièce jointe C04.

[6].     Plainte, pièce jointe C05.

[7].     Plainte, pièce jointe C07.

[8].     Plainte, pièce jointe C08.

[9].     Plainte, pièce jointe C09.

[10].   La Classification centrale des produits des Nations unies (CPC NU) est utilisée pour définir les services de construction dans tous les accords commerciaux sauf l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur. La division 51 de la CPC NU comprend les travaux de construction et contient le code suivant : 5180 – Services de location d’équipement avec opérateur relié à la construction ou à la démolition d’édifices ou aux travaux de génie civil. L’Accord sur le commerce intérieur définit « travaux de construction » de la façon suivante : « La construction, la reconstruction, la démolition, la réparation ou la rénovation d’un bâtiment, d’une structure ou d’un autre ouvrage de génie civil ou d’architecture. Sont également visés par la présente définition la préparation du chantier, les travaux d’excavation et de forage, les études sismiques, la fourniture des produits et des matériaux, la fourniture du matériel et de la machinerie si ceux-ci sont inclus dans les travaux de construction et accessoires à ceux-ci, ainsi que l’installation et la réparation des accessoires fixes du bâtiment, de la structure ou de l’autre ouvrage de génie civil ou d’architecture. Ne sont toutefois pas visés par la présente définition les services professionnels d’experts-conseils se rapportant au marché de travaux de construction, sauf s’ils sont inclus dans le marché public  » [nos italiques].

[11].   18 juillet 1994, Gaz. C. 1995.I.1323, en ligne : Secrétariat du commerce intérieur <http://www.ait-aci.ca/agreement-on-internal-trade/?lang=fr>.

[12].   Accord révisé sur les marchés publics, en ligne : Organisation mondiale du commerce <http://www.wto.org/‌french/docs_f/legal_f/rev-gpr-94_01_f.htm> (entré en vigueur le 6 avril 2014).

[13].   Accord de libre-échange nord-américain entre le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique et le gouvernement des États-Unis du Mexique, 17 décembre 1992, R.T.C. 1994, no 2, en ligne : Affaires mondiales Canada <http://international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/‌trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/nafta-alena/fta-ale/index.aspx?lang=fra> (entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1994).

[15].   Plainte à la p. 3.

[16].   Plainte à la p, 6.

[17].   IBM Canada Ltd. c. Hewlett Packard (Canada) Ltd., 2002 CAF 284 (CanLII) au par. 20.

Numéro(s) du cas

PR-2017-018

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pr2r018_f.pdf (70.24 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mardi 18 Juillet 2017

Date de modification

Le Mardi 18 Juillet 2017