LIQUID DIELECTRIC TRANSFORMERS

LIQUID DIELECTRIC TRANSFORMERS
Expiry Review No. RR-2017-002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

REVISED NOTICE OF EXPIRY REVIEW OF ORDER

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) hereby gives notice that it will, pursuant to subsection 76.03(3) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), initiate an expiry review of its order made on November 20, 2012, in Inquiry No. NQ-2012-001, continued without amendment by the order made on May 31, 2016, in Interim Review No. RD-2013-003, concerning the dumping of liquid dielectric transformers having a top power handling capacity equal to or exceeding 60,000 kilovolt amperes (60 megavolt amperes), whether assembled or unassembled, complete or incomplete, originating in or exported from the Republic of Korea (the subject goods).

In this expiry review, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) will first determine whether the expiry of the order in respect of the subject goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping of the subject goods. If the CBSA determines that the expiry of the order in respect of any goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping, the Tribunal will then conduct an expiry review to determine if the continued or resumed dumping is likely to result in injury. The CBSA will provide notice of its determinations within 150 days after receiving notice of the Tribunal’s decision to initiate an expiry review, that is, no later than December 22, 2017. The Tribunal will issue its order and its statement of reasons no later than May 31, 2018.

Each person or government wishing to participate in this expiry review must file a notice of participation with the Tribunal on or before January 8, 2018. Each counsel who intends to represent a party in the expiry review must file a notice of representation, as well as a declaration and undertaking, with the Tribunal on or before January 8, 2018.

The schedule for this expiry review is found at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca.

The Tribunal will hold a public hearing relating to this expiry review in the Tribunal’s Hearing Room No. 1, 18th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario, commencing on the 19th day of March 2018, at 9:30 a.m., to hear evidence and representations by interested parties. If there are no opposing parties, the Tribunal may explore the possibility of a holding a file hearing, i.e. a hearing through written submissions only, instead of an oral hearing.

In accordance with section 46 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, a person who provides information to the Tribunal and who wishes some or all of the information to be kept confidential must, among other things, submit a non-confidential edited version or summary of the information designated as confidential, or a statement indicating why such a summary cannot be made.

Written submissions, correspondence and requests for information regarding the Tribunal’s portion of this matter should be addressed to the Registrar, Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, 15th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (telephone), 613-990-2439 (fax), citt‑tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (e-mail).

Further details regarding this expiry review, including the schedule of key events, are contained in the documents entitled “Additional Information” and “Expiry Review Schedule” appended to the notice of commencement of expiry review available on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/dumping-and-subsidizing/expiry-reviews-section-76....

Dated at Ottawa, Ontario,
this 25th day of July 2017

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Notice of Expiry No. LE-2017-001, issued on June 5, 2017, informed interested persons and governments of the impending expiry of the Tribunal’s order in Interim Review No. RD-2013-003, concerning the dumping of the subject goods. On the basis of the information filed during the expiry process, the Tribunal is of the opinion that an expiry review of the order is warranted.

In this expiry review, the CBSA will first conduct an investigation to determine whether the expiry of the order in respect of the subject goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping of the subject goods. To this end, the CBSA will send questionnaires to domestic producers, importers and foreign producers to gather information for its investigation. Further information regarding the CBSA’s investigation can be obtained by contacting Ms. Laura Fast, Canada Border Services Agency, 11th Floor, 100 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L8, 613-954-1641 (telephone), Laura.Fast@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca (e‑mail), or Ms. Laurie Trempe-Kermoud, Canada Border Services Agency, 11th Floor, 100 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L8, 613-954-7337 (telephone), Laurie.Trempe-Kermoud@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca (e‑mail). A copy of the CBSA’s investigation schedule is available on the CBSA’s Web site at www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/er-rre/menu-eng.html.

If the CBSA determines that the expiry of the order in respect of any goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping, the Tribunal will then conduct an expiry review, pursuant to the provisions of SIMA and its Expiry Review Guidelines, to determine if the continued or resumed dumping of the subject goods is likely to result in injury. Upon receipt of the CBSA’s determination, if any, of a likelihood of continued or resumed dumping, the Tribunal will issue other questionnaires to domestic producers, certain importers and foreign producers to gather information for the purposes of its expiry review.

The schedule for the Tribunal’s expiry review specifies, among other things, the date for the filing of replies to Tribunal expiry review questionnaires, the date on which information on the record will be made available by the Tribunal to interested parties and counsel that have filed notices of participation or notices of representation and declarations and undertakings, the dates for the filing of submissions by interested parties and the hearing date.

REQUESTS FOR PRODUCT EXCLUSIONS

The Tribunal’s Guideline to Making Requests for Product Exclusions, which can be found on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/g_excl_e, describes the procedure for filing requests for specific product exclusions. Forms are available on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/forms to facilitate the filing of product exclusion requests, responses and replies to responses. Parties may file in a different format if they so wish, provided all the information and supporting documentation requested in the forms are included. Please see the attached schedule for the filing deadlines for the product exclusion process. Parties filing product exclusion requests are requested to contact the Tribunal for additional information on filing and service requirements.

PROCEDURE FOR FILING WITH THE TRIBUNAL

Parties and the public may file documents electronically with the Tribunal through its Secure E‑filing Service at https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_e.html. The information is fully encrypted from the sender to the Tribunal.

Parties must still file paper copies in the required number as instructed. The electronic version and the hard-copy version must be identical. In case of discrepancies, the hard-copy version will be considered the original.

PUBLIC HEARING

The Tribunal will hold a public hearing relating to this expiry review in the Tribunal’s Hearing Room No. 1, 18th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario, commencing on the 19th day of March 2018, at 9:30 a.m., to hear evidence and representations by interested parties. If there are no opposing parties, the Tribunal may explore the possibility of a holding a file hearing, i.e. a hearing through written submissions only, instead of an oral hearing.

OTHER INFORMATION

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules govern these proceedings.

Written and oral communication with the Tribunal may be in English or in French.

The Expiry Reviews Guidelines can be found on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/Expiry_Review_Guidelines_e.

At the end of these proceedings, the Tribunal will issue a decision supported by a summary of the case, a summary of the arguments and an analysis of the case. The decision will be posted on its Web site and distributed to the parties and interested persons, as well as to organizations and persons that have registered to receive decisions of the Tribunal.

EXPIRY REVIEW SCHEDULE

July 25, 2017 - Tribunal issues notice of expiry review and schedule

November 27, 2017 - Teleconference on draft questionnaires (if required)

CBSA’s Investigation

February 15, 2017 - Initiation of the CBSA’s expiry review investigation and issuance of the CBSA questionnaires
Initial compilation of CBSA exhibits available

December 22, 2017 - CBSA’s determination
If determination is affirmative, information pursuant to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules is transferred to the Tribunal

December 22, 2017 - CBSA statement of reasons issued

Tribunal’s Expiry Review

December 27, 2017 - Initiation of Tribunal’s expiry review (following an affirmative determination by the CBSA)

January 8, 2018 - Notices of participation and representation, declarations and undertakings

January 22, 2018 - Replies to Tribunal expiry review questionnaires

February 13, 2018 - Distribution of Tribunal exhibits, including information transferred from the CBSA, and investigation report

February 13, 2018 - Requests for information (RFIs)

February 19, 2018 - Investigation report teleconference (if required)

February 19, 2018, by noon - Requests for product exclusions

February 20, 2018, by noon - Cases of parties in support of a continuation of the order

February 26, 2018, by noon - Objections to RFIs

February 27, 2018, by noon - Domestic producers’ responses to requests for product exclusions
Cases of parties in opposition to a continuation of the order
Tribunal decisions on RFIs

March 7, 2018, by noon - Requesters’ replies to domestic producers’ responses to requests for product exclusions
Replies to RFIs

March 8, 2018, by noon - Reply submissions of parties in support of a continuation of the order

March 19, 2018 - Public hearing

May 31, 2018 - Order and statement of reasons issued

 

Case Number(s)

RR-2017-002

Attachment(s)

rr2r002_e.pdf (75.34 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Modification Date

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

TRANSFORMATEURS À LIQUIDE DIÉLECTRIQUE

TRANSFORMATEURS À LIQUIDE DIÉLECTRIQUE
Réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2017-002

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

AVIS DE RÉEXAMEN RELATIF À L’EXPIRATION DE L’ORDONNANCE RÉVISÉ

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) donne avis par les présentes qu’il procédera, conformément au paragraphe 76.03(3) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), au réexamen relatif à l’expiration de son ordonnance rendue le 20 novembre 2012 dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ-2012-001, prorogée, sans modification, par les conclusions rendues le 31 mai 2016 dans le cadre du réexamen intermédiaire no RD-2013-003, concernant le dumping de transformateurs à liquide diélectrique avec une puissance admissible maximale égale ou supérieure à 60 000 kilovolts ampères (60 mégavolts ampères), assemblés ou non, complets ou incomplets, originaires ou exportés de la République de Corée (les marchandises en question).

Lors du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) doit déterminer si l’expiration de l’ordonnance concernant les marchandises en question causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping des marchandises en question. Si l’ASFC détermine que l’expiration de l’ordonnance concernant toute marchandise causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping, le Tribunal effectuera alors un réexamen relatif à l’expiration pour déterminer si la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping causera vraisemblablement un dommage. L’ASFC rendra sa décision dans les 150 jours après avoir reçu l’avis de la décision du Tribunal de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, soit au plus tard le 22 décembre 2017. Le Tribunal publiera son ordonnance et son exposé des motifs au plus tard le 31 mai 2018.

Chaque personne ou gouvernement qui souhaite participer au réexamen relatif à l’expiration doit déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de participation au plus tard le 8 janvier 2018. Chaque conseiller qui désire représenter une partie au réexamen relatif à l’expiration doit déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de représentation ainsi qu’un acte de déclaration et d’engagement au plus tard le 8 janvier 2018.

Le calendrier du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration se trouve à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr.

Le Tribunal tiendra une audience publique dans le cadre du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration dans sa salle d’audience no 1, au 18e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) à compter du 19e jour de mars 2018, à 9 h 30, afin d’entendre les témoignages des parties intéressées. Cependant, s’il n’y a pas de parties opposées, le Tribunal a la possibilité de tenir une audience sur pièces, c’est-à-dire d’instruire le dossier sur la foi des pièces versées au dossier, plutôt que de tenir une audience.

Aux termes de l’article 46 de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, une personne qui fournit des renseignements au Tribunal et qui désire qu’ils soient gardés confidentiels en tout ou en partie doit fournir, entre autres, soit une version ne comportant pas les renseignements désignés comme confidentiels ou un résumé ne comportant pas de tels renseignements, soit un énoncé indiquant pourquoi il est impossible de faire le résumé en question.

Les exposés écrits, la correspondance et les demandes de renseignements concernant la partie du réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal doivent être envoyés au greffier, secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, 15e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (téléphone), 613-990-2439 (télécopieur), citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (courriel).

Des renseignements additionnels concernant le présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, y compris le calendrier des étapes importantes, se trouvent dans les documents intitulés « Renseignements additionnels » et « Calendrier du réexamen relatif à l’expiration » annexés à l’avis d’ouverture de réexamen relatif à l’expiration disponible sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/dumping-et-subventionnement/reexamens-relatifs-le....

Fait à Ottawa (Ontario)
le 25e jour de juillet 2017

RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS

RENSEIGNEMENTS GÉNÉRAUX

L’avis d’expiration no LE-2017-001, publié le 5 juin 2017, informait les personnes et les gouvernements intéressés de l’expiration imminente de l’ordonnance du Tribunal dans le cadre du réexamen intermédiaire no RD-2013-003 concernant le dumping des marchandises en question. Le Tribunal est d’avis que, selon les renseignements déposés au cours du processus d’expiration, un réexamen relatif à l’expiration de l’ordonnance est justifié.

Dans le cadre du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, l’ASFC mènera d’abord son enquête afin de déterminer si l’expiration de l’ordonnance concernant les marchandises en question causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping des marchandises en question. Pour ce faire, l’ASFC enverra des questionnaires à des producteurs nationaux, à des importateurs et à des producteurs étrangers afin de recueillir des renseignements pour son enquête. De plus amples renseignements concernant l’enquête de l’ASFC peuvent être obtenus en communiquant avec Mme Laura Fast, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, 11e étage, 100, rue Metcalfe, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L8, 613-954-1641 (téléphone), Laura.Fast@asfc-cbsa.gc.ca (courriel) ou Mme Laurie Trempe-Kermoud, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, 11e étage, 100, rue Metcalfe, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L8, 613-954-7337 (téléphone), Laurie.Trempe-Kermoud@asfc-cbsa.gc.ca (courriel). Le calendrier des enquêtes de l’ASFC est disponible sur le site Web de l’ASFC à l’adresse www.asfc-cbsa.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/er-rre/menu-fra.html.

Si l’ASFC détermine que l’expiration de l’ordonnance concernant toute marchandise causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping, le Tribunal effectuera un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, aux termes des dispositions de la LMSI et de ses Lignes directrices sur les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration, pour déterminer si la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping causera vraisemblablement un dommage. Lorsque le Tribunal recevra la décision de l’ASFC concernant la vraisemblance de la poursuite ou de la reprise du dumping, il enverra, aux fins de sa partie du réexamen relatif à l’expiration, d’autres questionnaires aux producteurs nationaux, à certains importateurs et producteurs étrangers.

Le calendrier de réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal indique, entre autres, la date pour le dépôt des réponses aux questionnaires de réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal, la date à laquelle le Tribunal mettra les renseignements au dossier à la disposition des parties intéressées et des conseillers qui ont déposé un avis de participation ou un avis de représentation et un acte de déclaration et d’engagement, les dates pour le dépôt des exposés des parties intéressées ainsi que la date de l’audience.

DEMANDES D’EXCLUSION DE PRODUITS

La Ligne directrice sur les demandes d’exclusion de produits du Tribunal, qui se trouve sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/g_excl_f, décrit la marche à suivre pour déposer des demandes d’exclusion de certains produits. Des formules peuvent être téléchargées sur le site Web du Tribunal au www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/formules pour faciliter le dépôt de demandes d’exclusion de produits, de réponses et de répliques aux réponses. Les parties peuvent quand même déposer sous une autre forme si elles le désirent, à condition que tous les renseignements et documents à l’appui demandés dans les formules soient inclus. Veuillez consulter le calendrier ci-joint pour connaître les délais pour le dépôt de demandes dans le cadre du processus d’exclusion de produits. Les parties qui déposent des demandes d’exclusion de produits doivent contacter le Tribunal pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires concernant le dépôt et la signification de documents.

PROCÉDURE DE DÉPÔT AUPRÈS DU TRIBUNAL

Les parties et le public peuvent déposer des documents électroniquement auprès du Tribunal au moyen de son Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé à l’adresse https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_f.html. Les renseignements sont entièrement chiffrés depuis l’expéditeur jusqu’au Tribunal.

Les parties doivent quand même déposer le nombre requis de copies papier. La version électronique et la version papier doivent être identiques. S’il y a divergence, la version papier sera considérée comme la version originale.

AUDIENCE PUBLIQUE

Le Tribunal tiendra une audience publique dans le cadre du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration dans sa salle d’audience no 1, au 18e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) à compter du 19e jour de mars 2018, à 9 h 30, afin d’entendre les témoignages des parties intéressées. Cependant, s’il n’y a pas de parties opposées, le Tribunal a la possibilité de tenir une audience sur pièces, c’est-à-dire d’instruire le dossier sur la foi des pièces versées au dossier, plutôt que de tenir une audience.

AUTRES RENSEIGNEMENTS

Les Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur régissent la présente procédure.

Vous pouvez communiquer oralement ou par écrit avec le Tribunal en français ou en anglais.

Les Lignes directrices sur les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration peuvent être consultées sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/Expiry_Review_Guidelines_f.

À la fin de la procédure, le Tribunal rendra une décision accompagnée d’un résumé de l’affaire, d’un résumé des arguments et d’une analyse de l’affaire. La décision sera affichée sur son site Web et distribuée aux parties et autres personnes intéressées, ainsi qu’aux organisations et personnes qui se sont inscrites en vue de recevoir les décisions du Tribunal.

CALENDRIER DU RÉEXAMEN RELATIF À L’EXPIRATION

Le 25 juillet 2017 - Le Tribunal distribue l’avis de réexamen relatif à l’expiration et le calendrier

Le 27 novembre 2017 - Téléconférence portant sur les ébauches de questionnaires (au besoin)

Enquête de l’ASFC

Le 15 février 2017 - Début de l’enquête de l’ASFC sur le réexamen relatif à l’expiration et distribution des questionnaires de l’ASFC
Rassemblement initial des pièces justificatives de l’ASFC disponibles

Le 22 décembre 2017 - Décision de l’ASFC
Si la décision est positive, les renseignements nécessaires aux termes des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sont transmis au Tribunal

Le 22 décembre 2017 - Publication de l’exposé des motifs de l’ASFC

Réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal

Le 27 décembre 2017 - Début du réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal (à la suite d’une décision positive de l’ASFC)

Le 8 janvier 2018 - Avis de participation et de représentation, et actes de déclaration et d’engagement

Le 22 janvier 2018 - Réponses aux questionnaires de réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal

Le 13 février 2018 - Distribution des pièces du Tribunal, y compris les renseignements transmis par l’ASFC, et du rapport d’enquête

Le 13 février 2018 - Demandes d’information

Le 19 février 2018 - Téléconférence concernant le rapport d’enquête (au besoin)

Le 19 février 2018, au plus tard à midi - Demandes d’exclusion de produits

Le 20 février 2018, au plus tard à midi - Dossiers des parties appuyant une prorogation de l’ordonnance

Le 26 février 2018, au plus tard à midi - Oppositions aux demandes d’information

Le 27 février 2018, au plus tard à midi - Réponses des producteurs nationaux aux demandes d’exclusion de produits
Dossiers des parties s’opposant à une prorogation de l’ordonnance
Décisions du Tribunal sur les demandes d’information

Le 7 mars 2018, au plus tard à midi - Répliques des demandeurs aux réponses des producteurs nationaux aux demandes d’exclusion de produits
Réponses aux demandes d’information

Le 8 mars 2018, au plus tard à midi - Exposés déposés en réponse des parties appuyant une prorogation de l’ordonnance

Le 19 mars 2018 - Audience publique

Le 31 mai 2018 - Publication de l’ordonnance et de l’exposé des motifs du Tribunal

 

Numéro(s) du cas

RR-2017-002

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

rr2r002_f.pdf (79.76 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mardi 25 Juillet 2017

Date de modification

Le Mardi 25 Juillet 2017