TELECORE

TELECORE
v.
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND GOVERNMENT SERVICES
File No. PR-2017-021

Order and reasons issued
Tuesday, October 10, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a complaint filed by Telecore pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.);

AND FURTHER TO a decision of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal to inquire into the complaint pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act;

BETWEEN

TELECORE Complainant

AND

THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND GOVERNMENT SERVICES Government Institution

ORDER

Pursuant to subsection 30.13(5) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal hereby ceases its inquiry into the complaint and terminates all proceedings relating thereto. The Canadian International Trade Tribunal awards Telecore its costs in the amount of $1,150 for preparing and proceeding with the complaint.

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Presiding Member

STATEMENT OF REASONS

  1. This inquiry concerns a complaint filed with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) in relation to a Request for Proposal (RFP) (Soliciation No. W0001-185315/A) issued by the Department of Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC), on behalf of the Department of National Defence (DND), for the provision of headset microphones and related electrical assemblies, cable assemblies and wiring harnesses. The complaint filed by Telecore was accepted for inquiry pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act.[1] However, for the reasons provided below, the Tribunal has decided to cease the inquiry. As a result, the complaint is dismissed.

COMPLAINT

  1. Telecore alleged that the RFP unfairly restricted competition by requiring bidders to submit proposals on all four listed requirements in order for proposals to be deemed compliant. Telecore argued that a bidder should have been permitted to bid on a selection of the four requirements had it chosen to do so. As a remedy, Telecore requested its lost profits and costs in the amount of $5,000.

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

  1. On July 25, 2017, Telecore filed a complaint with the Tribunal pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the CITT Act.
  2. On July 28, 2017, the Tribunal notified the parties that it had accepted the complaint for inquiry, as it met the requirements of subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act and the conditions set out in subsection 7(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations.[2] At the same time, the Tribunal issued a postponement of award of contract order with respect to the procurement.
  3. On August 16, 2017, the RFP was cancelled.
  4. On August 22, 2017, PWGSC filed its Government Institution Report (GIR) pursuant to Rule 103 of the CITT Rules.
  5. On August 30, 2017, Telecore submitted its comments on the GIR, including a request for a remedy for lost profits and $5,000 in unspecified costs.

ANALYSIS

  1. In the GIR, PWGSC acknowledged that “the RFP had included an unintended mandatory requirement.”[3] That is, according to PWGSC, the RFP was intended to permit bidders to submit proposals on any, or all, of the four listed line items. To remedy that error, PWGSC cancelled the solicitation with the intention to re-tender.
  2. The Tribunal has found that cancellation of the procurement in and of itself does not deprive the Tribunal of its jurisdiction to conduct an inquiry into a complaint.[4] In these decisions, the Tribunal found that there were issues regarding the procurement process that raised questions of compliance with the trade agreements that could have affected the award or non-award of the contract.
  3. At the time Telecore filed its complaint, it met all conditions necessary for the Tribunal to initiate and proceed with an inquiry. Indeed, the Tribunal was satisfied that Telecore was a potential supplier, that the complaint was timely, that a designated contract had been awarded and that there was a reasonable indication that the procurement had not been conducted in accordance with the applicable trade agreements. Accordingly, the conditions of subsection 7(1) of the Regulations were met.[5]
  4. The cancellation of the solicitation process by PWGSC after the initiation of the inquiry did not affect the Tribunal’s jurisdiction. Provided that a review of the grounds of complaint remains relevant, the purpose of the inquiry is not affected, irrespective of the cancellation. That purpose remains to determine whether the procurement process was followed in accordance with the relevant provisions of the applicable trade agreements.[6]
  5. The Tribunal has also consistently found that, upon discovery of errors in the evaluation process, a contracting authority must take appropriate steps to correct such errors, in keeping with the terms of the solicitation and in a manner that preserves the integrity of the competitive procurement process.[7] Thus, evaluators must be encouraged to correct errors that they discover during the procurement process.[8] This preserves the integrity of the procurement framework and ensures that solicitations are carried out in compliance with the trade agreements.
  6. The Tribunal has recognized that circumstances where “the exercise of the right to cancel a procurement process would be appropriate normally include those where unforeseen circumstances arise, such as where it is belatedly discovered that the specifications are inadequate. In fact, in such situations, cancellation of the process is usually viewed as preserving the equality of bidders and the integrity of the process”.[9] In this case, PWGSC acknowledged that the RFP inadvertently contained a restrictive condition and upon being notified of that error, it rightly cancelled the procurement process.
  7. Cancellation of the procurement process is one of the remedies that would have been open to the Tribunal to grant had the inquiry run its course. The effect of the cancellation by PWGSC, and the review of the mandatory requirements for the issuance of a new solicitation, will place all potential suppliers on an equal footing once again. Accordingly, the Tribunal finds that this is not a circumstance where compensation for lost profits is appropriate.
  8. Pursuant to subsection 30.13(5) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal may at any time cease conducting an inquiry “[i]f it is of the opinion that the complaint is trivial . . .”. In the present case, the grounds of complaint are now fundamentally moot. The review of the grounds of complaint, closely related to the facts of the case, would have only limited theoretical value and little practical impact, if any.[10] The Tribunal therefore finds it appropriate to cease the inquiry pursuant to subsection 30.13(5) of the CITT Act.

COSTS

  1. Pursuant to subsection 30.16(1) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal can award costs of proceedings before it. This power is discretionary.
  2. In the GIR, PWGSC acknowledges that “. . . the RFP was not properly worded and, as a result, the intention of DND was not clearly expressed, resulting in the erroneous inclusion of a mandatory requirement.”[11] This was an error in the procurement process. Telecore bore the effort and expense of pursuing a complaint which would have been unnecessary had PWGSC not made the error.
  3. For this reason, and considering the Tribunal’s Procurement Costs Guideline, the Tribunal exercises its discretion by awarding Telecore $1,150 for the costs associated with pursuing this complaint.

ORDER

  1. Pursuant to subsection 30.13(5) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal hereby ceases its inquiry into the complaint and terminates all proceedings relating thereto. The Tribunal awards Telecore its costs in the amount of $1,150 for preparing and proceeding with the complaint.
 

[1].     R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.) [CITT Act].

[2].     S.O.R./93-602 [Regulations].

[3].     Exhibit PR-2017-021-11 at paras. 21 and 36, Vol. 1.

[4].     Medi+Sure Canada Inc. v. Department of Public Works and Government Services (19 January 2017), PR‑2016‑031 (CITT) at para. 11; Adélard Soucy (1975) Inc. (24 June 2009), PR-2008-062 (CITT) [Adélard Soucy]; R.P.M. Tech Inc. v. Department of Public Works and Government Services (24 February 2014), PR‑2013-028 (CITT) [R.P.M. Tech].

[5].     Adélard Soucy at para. 7.

[6].     R.P.M. Tech at para. 9.

[7].     Cifelli Systems Corporation (21 June 2001), PR-2000-065 (CITT) at 5.

[8].     CGI Information Management Systems and Management Consultants Inc. v. Canada Post Corporation and Innovapost Inc. (14 October 2014), PR-2014-016 and PR-2014-021 (CITT) at para. 137.

[9].     Agence Gravel v. Department of Public Works and Government Services (26 January 2017), PR-2016-035 (CITT) at para. 93, citing Canada (Attorney General) v. Almon Equipment Limited, 2010 FCA 193 (CanLII) at paras. 22-23.

[10].   R.P.M. Tech at para. 11.

[11].   Exhibit PR-2017-021-11 at para. 36, Vol. 1.

Case Number(s)

PR-2017-021

Attachment(s)

pr2r021_e.pdf (82.06 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Modification Date

Thursday, October 26, 2017

TELECORE

TELECORE
c.
MINISTÈRE DES TRAVAUX PUBLICS ET DES SERVICES GOUVERNEMENTAUX
Dossier no PR-2017-021

Ordonnance et motifs rendus
le mardi 10 octobre 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une plainte déposée par Telecore aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.);

ET À LA SUITE D’une décision du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur d’enquêter sur la plainte conformément au paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

ENTRE

TELECORE Partie plaignante

ET

LE MINISTÈRE DES TRAVAUX PUBLICS ET DES SERVICES GOUVERNEMENTAUX Institution fédérale

ORDONNANCE

En vertu du paragraphe 30.13(5) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur met fin par la présente à l’enquête sur la plainte et à toute procédure connexe. Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur accorde à Telecore le remboursement des frais de 1 150 $ engagés pour la préparation de la plainte et l’engagement de la procédure.

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Membre présidant

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

  1. La présente enquête concerne une plainte auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) en lien avec la demande de propositions (DP) (invitation no W0001-185315/A) publiée par le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC), au nom du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN), pour la fourniture de microphones de casques d’écoute et des assemblages électriques, des assemblages de câbles et des faisceaux de câbles connexes. La plainte déposée par Telecore a été acceptée pour enquête en vertu du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[1]. Toutefois, pour les motifs suivants, le Tribunal a décidé de mettre fin à l’enquête. Par conséquent, la plainte est rejetée.

PLAINTE

  1. Telecore allègue que la DP limitait injustement la concurrence en demandant aux soumissionnaires de soumettre des propositions pour l’ensemble des quatre exigences énumérées afin que les propositions soient jugées conformes. Telecore fait valoir qu’un soumissionnaire aurait dû être autorisé à faire une offre sur une sélection des quatre exigences si tel était son choix. À titre de mesure corrective, Telecore demande une indemnisation de 5 000 $ pour ses profits perdus et les frais qu’elle a engagés.

HISTORIQUE DE LA PROCÉDURE

  1. Le 25 juillet 2017, Telecore a déposé une plainte auprès du Tribunal aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE.
  2. Le 28 juillet 2017, le Tribunal a avisé les parties qu’il avait accepté la plainte pour enquête, puisque celle-ci répondait aux exigences du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE ainsi qu’aux conditions énoncées au paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics[2]. Au même moment, le Tribunal a rendu une ordonnance de report de l’adjudication du contrat relativement à la passation du marché.
  3. Le 16 août 2017, la DP a été annulée.
  4. Le 22 août 2017, TPSGC a déposé son Rapport de l’institution fédérale (RIF) conformément à la règle 103 des Règles du TCCE.
  5. Le 30 août 2017, Telecore a déposé ses commentaires sur le RIF, y compris une demande d’indemnisation pour les profits perdus et un montant de 5 000 $ pour des frais non précisés.

ANALYSE

  1. Dans le RIF, TPSGC a reconnu que « la DP avait inclus une exigence obligatoire non prévue » [traduction][3]. En d’autres termes, selon TPSGC, la DP devait permettre aux soumissionnaires de soumettre des propositions sur l’un ou l’autre ou la totalité des quatre articles d’exécution énumérés. Pour corriger cette erreur, TPSGC a annulé l’invitation à soumissionner avec l’intention de lancer un autre appel d’offres.
  2. Le Tribunal a conclu que l’annulation de la passation du marché, en soi, ne privait pas le Tribunal de sa compétence de mener une enquête sur une plainte[4]. Dans ces décisions, le Tribunal a conclu qu’il existait, quant au processus d’approvisionnement, des problèmes soulevant des questions de conformité avec les accords commerciaux qui auraient pu avoir une incidence sur l’adjudication ou la non-adjudication du contrat.
  3. Au moment où Telecore a déposé sa plainte, elle répondait à toutes les conditions nécessaires pour que le Tribunal lance et poursuive une enquête. En effet, le Tribunal était convaincu que Telecore était un fournisseur potentiel, que la plainte avait été déposée dans les délais prescrits, qu’un contrat spécifique avait été attribué et qu’il y avait une indication raisonnable que la procédure de passation du marché public n’avait pas été suivie en conformité avec les accords commerciaux applicables. En conséquence, les conditions du paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement étaient remplies[5].
  4. L’annulation du processus d’appel d’offres par TPSGC après le lancement de l’enquête n’a eu aucune incidence sur la compétence du Tribunal. Si un examen des motifs de la plainte demeure pertinent, l’objet de l’enquête n’est pas touché, indépendamment de l’annulation. L’objectif demeure de déterminer si la procédure de passation du marché public a été suivie conformément aux dispositions pertinentes des accords commerciaux applicables[6].
  5. Le Tribunal également invariablement conclu que lorsque des erreurs sont découvertes durant le processus d’évaluation, l’autorité contractante doit prendre les mesures appropriées pour les corriger en respectant les modalités de l’appel d’offres et de manière à garantir l’intégrité de la procédure de passation de marché public concurrentielle[7]. Ainsi, les évaluateurs doivent être encouragés à corriger les erreurs qu’ils découvrent pendant la procédure de passation de marché public[8]. Cela préserve l’intégrité du cadre d’approvisionnement et garantit que les processus d’appel d’offres sont entrepris conformément aux accords commerciaux.
  6. Le Tribunal a reconnu que les circonstances dans lesquelles « l’exercice du droit d’annuler une procédure de marché public serait approprié inclu[en]t normalement celui des situations imprévues, notamment celles où il est découvert tardivement que les spécifications sont inadéquates. En effet, dans de telles situations, l’annulation du processus sera vue comme servant à préserver l’égalité des soumissionnaires et l’intégrité du processus[9]. » En l’espèce, TPSGC a reconnu que la DP contenait par inadvertance une condition restrictive et il a, à juste titre, annulé la procédure de passation de marché public dès qu’il a été informé de cette erreur.
  7. L’annulation de la procédure de passation de marché public est l’une des mesures correctives qu’il aurait été loisible au Tribunal d’accorder si l’enquête avait suivi son cours. L’effet de l’annulation par TPSGC et la révision des exigences obligatoires pour le lancement d’un nouvel appel d’offres placeront à nouveau les fournisseurs potentiels sur un pied d’égalité. Par conséquent, le Tribunal conclut qu’il ne s’agit pas de circonstances où l’indemnisation pour profits perdus est appropriée.
  8. En vertu du paragraphe 30.13(5) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal peut en tout temps mettre fin à l’enquête « [s’]il estime que la plainte est dénuée de tout intérêt [...] ». En l’espèce, désormais, les motifs de la plainte sont essentiellement sans objet. L’examen des motifs de la plainte, étroitement lié aux faits de la cause, aurait seulement une valeur théorique limitée et peu de conséquences pratiques, le cas échéant[10]. Le Tribunal conclut par conséquent qu’il est approprié de mettre fin à l’enquête conformément au paragraphe 30.13(5) de la Loi sur le TCCE.

FRAIS

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 30.16(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal peut accorder le remboursement des frais relatifs à l’affaire dont il est saisi. Ce pouvoir est discrétionnaire.
  2. Dans le RIF, TPSGC a reconnu que « [...] la DP n’était pas correctement rédigée et que, par conséquent, l’intention du MDN n’était pas clairement exprimée, ce qui a entraîné l’inclusion erronée d’une exigence obligatoire » [traduction][11]. Il s’agissait d’une erreur dans la procédure de passation du marché public. Telecore a déployé des efforts et engagé des dépenses pour déposer une plainte qui n’aurait pas été nécessaire si TPSGC n’avait pas commis d’erreur.
  3. Pour ce motif, et conformément à sa Ligne directrice sur la fixation des frais dans une procédure de plainte portant sur un marché public, le Tribunal exerce son pouvoir discrétionnaire en accordant à Telecore 1 150 $ pour les frais associés au dépôt de cette plainte.

ORDONNANCE

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 30.13(5) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal met fin par la présente à l’enquête sur la plainte et à toute procédure connexe. Le Tribunal accorde à Telecore le remboursement des frais de 1 150 $ engagés pour la préparation de la plainte et l’engagement de la procédure.
 

[1].     L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.) [Loi sur le TCCE].

[2].     DORS/93-602 [Règlement].

[3].     Pièce PR-2017-021-11 aux par. 21 et 36, vol. 1.

[4].     Medi+Sure Canada Inc. c. Ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (19 janvier 2017), PR‑2016‑031 (TCCE) au par. 11; Adélard Soucy (1975) Inc. (24 juin 2009), PR‑2008‑062 (TCCE) [Adélard Soucy]; R.P.M. Tech Inc. c. Ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (24 février 2014), PR-2013-028 (TCCE) [R.P.M. Tech].

[5].     Adélard Soucy au par. 7.

[6].     R.P.M. Tech au par. 9.

[7].     Cifelli Systems Corporation (21 juin 2001), PR-2000-065 (TCCE) au par. 5.

[8].     CGI Information Management Systems and Management Consultants Inc. c. Société canadienne des postes et Innovaposte Inc. (14 octobre 2014), PR-2014-016 et PR-2014-021 (TCCE) au par. 137.

[9].     Agence Gravel c. Ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (26 janvier 2017), PR‑2016‑035 (TCCE) au par. 93, citant l’arrêt Canada (Procureur général) c. Almon Equipment Limited, 2010 CAF 193 (CanLII) aux par. 22 et 23.

[10].   R.P.M. Tech au par. 11.

[11].   Pièce PR-2017-021-11 au par. 36, vol. 1.

Numéro(s) du cas

PR-2017-021

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pr2r021_f.pdf (84.81 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Jeudi 26 Octobre 2017

Date de modification

Le Jeudi 26 Octobre 2017