TITAN BOATS LTD.

TITAN BOATS LTD.
File No. PR-2017-024

Decision made
Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Decision issued
Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Reasons issued
Thursday, September 13, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a complaint filed pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.).

BY

TITAN BOATS LTD.

AGAINST

THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND GOVERNMENT SERVICES

DECISION

Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Presiding Member

The statement of reasons will be issued at a later date.

STATEMENT OF REASONS

  1. Subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act[1] provides that, subject to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations,[2] a potential supplier may file a complaint with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) concerning any aspect of the procurement process that relates to a designated contract and request the Tribunal to conduct an inquiry into the complaint. Subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act provides that, subject to the Regulations, after the Tribunal determines that a complaint complies with subsection 30.11(2) of the CITT Act, it shall decide whether to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.
  2. The complaint by Titan Boats Ltd. (Titan) concerns a Request for Proposal (RFP) (Solicitation No. F7044-170019/A) issued by the Department of Public Works and Government Services (PWGSC) on behalf of the Canadian Coast Guard and the Department of Fisheries and Oceans for the provision of one 8.3‑8.6 m aluminum rigid inflatable boat with T-Top and trailer.
  3. The Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into Titan’s complaint because it does not disclose a reasonable indication that the procurement process violated the applicable trade agreement. In particular, Titan’s complaint did not include any information to support its allegation that the contract was improperly awarded to a non-compliant bidder.

BACKGROUND

  1. On July 6, 2017, PWGSC issued the RFP. Titan submitted a bid in response to the RFP by the bid closing date of August 16, 2017.
  2. On August 22, 2017, PWGSC notified Titan that a contract was awarded to Liquid Metal Marine (LMM). Although Titan’s bid complied with the mandatory requirements of the RFP, it was not the lowest‑priced.
  3. On August 23, 2017, Titan objected, in writing, to PWGSC regarding the contract award to LMM. On August 24, 2017, its objection was denied by PWGSC.
  4. On August 29, 2017, Titan filed the present complaint. It alleges that LMM was non-compliant with a mandatory technical requirement that bids must include “objective evidence of experience in the construction of vessels of the size, type and complexity which are the subject of this RFP”.[3] According to Titan, LMM’s proposal could not have met this requirement as it “has not built a vessel with a proven hull, of the size and complexity, being requested”. Titan submitted that the award of contract to LMM, a non‑compliant bidder, constituted a breach of article 506 of the Agreement on Internal Trade.[4]

ANALYSIS

  1. Subsection 7(1) of the Regulations sets out the following three conditions that must be satisfied in order for the Tribunal to accept a complaint for inquiry:

    1)the complainant is a potential supplier;

    2)the complaint is in respect of a designated contract; and

    3)the information provided discloses a reasonable indication that the procurement process was not conducted in accordance with the applicable trade agreements.

  2. The complaint meets the first condition because Titan submitted a bid in response to the RFP and is, therefore, a potential supplier. The Tribunal’s analysis of the second and third conditions is provided below; the Tribunal concludes that the second condition is met, but not the third.

Designated Contract

  1. To be considered a “designated contract” for the purposes of the second condition, a contract must concern the supply of goods or services, as described in the trade agreements.[5]
  2. The complaint alleges that the procurement has not been conducted in accordance with article 506 of the AIT. Although the RFP indicates that the requirement is subject to the AIT,[6] the tender notice published online (https://buyandsell.gc.ca) lists the Canadian Free Trade Agreement[7] instead of the AIT.
  3. The CFTA entered into force on July 1, 2017, and replaced the AIT. Since the RFP was issued on July 6, 2017, the CFTA (and not the AIT) is applicable, as indicated in the tender notice.
  4. The CFTA contains an exclusion for shipbuilding.[8] This raises a question, in the Tribunal’s view, as to whether the shipbuilding exclusion would apply to the good being procured in this case, that is, an aluminum rigid inflatable boat.[9] The RFP does not use the terms “ship” or “shipbuilding” but it does refer to the good as a “boat” or “vessel” to be designed and built by the contractor. Whether this boat qualifies as a ship for the purposes of the trade agreements is unclear at this stage.
  5. However, even if the rigid inflatable boat in question was considered to be a “ship”, the Tribunal finds that it would still be covered under the CFTA.[10] The exclusion under the CFTA is limited to “shipbuilding and repair, including related architectural and engineering services, by any Crown corporation for which the Minister of Transport is specified, or was specified on the effective date, as the appropriate Minister in respect of that corporation” [emphasis added].[11] Since the present RFP was issued by PWGSC on behalf of the Canadian Coast Guard and the Department of Fisheries Oceans, and does not involve the Minister of Transport, the Tribunal is satisfied that it is outside the scope of this exclusion.
  6. In light of the above, the Tribunal finds that the good being procured is covered under the CFTA and, therefore, the complaint is in respect of a designated contract.

Reasonable Indication of a Breach

  1. Turning to the third condition, the Tribunal considered whether the complaint discloses a reasonable indication that the contract was improperly awarded to a non-compliant bidder.
  2. The complaint refers to article 506 of the AIT.[12] As discussed above, the AIT does not apply and so the Tribunal considered relevant provision under the CFTA. Article 515 of the CFTA provides, in part, as follows:

    Treatment of Tenders and Award of Contracts

    . . .

    Evaluation and Award of Contract

    4. To be considered for an award, a tender shall be submitted in writing and shall, at the time of opening, comply with the essential requirements set out in the tender notices and tender documentation and be from a supplier that satisfies the conditions for participation.

    5. Unless a procuring entity determines that it is not in the public interest to award a contract, the procuring entity shall award the contract to the supplier that the procuring entity has determined to be capable of fulfilling the terms of the contract and that, based solely on the evaluation criteria specified in the tender notices and tender documentation, has submitted:

    (a) the most advantageous tender; or

    (b) if price is the sole criterion, the lowest price.

    . . .

  3. The RFP indicated that a “bid must . . . meet all mandatory technical evaluation criteria to be declared responsive” and that the “responsive bid with the lowest evaluated price will be recommended for award of a contract.”[13] In order to be compliant with the mandatory technical criteria, bids had to provide all the information requested in the bid preparation instructions (i.e. Part 3 of the RFP).[14]
  4. Titan alleged that the contract awardee, LMM, could not have met the following mandatory technical requirement set out in the RFP’s bid preparation instructions:

    3.2 Section I – Technical Bid

    . . .

    3.2.6 Vessel Construction Experience

    As part of their technical bid, the Bidder must provide objective evidence of experience in the construction of vessels of the size, type and complexity which are the subject of the RFP. To demonstrate this experience, the Bidder must provide

    (a)detailed list of such vessels built pursuant to TP 1332, Construction Standards for Small Vessels, Non-pleasure craft latest edition, within the last 5 years;

    (b)photographs of vessels of [sic] listed;

    (c)(for listed TP 1332, non-pleasure craft sold within the last 5 years only) purchaser’s name and contact information, and the date of sale.

    [Emphasis added]

  5. Titan states in its complaint that “it is believed” LMM has not manufactured a vessel with a proven hull, of the size and complexity that would meet the requirement. However, Titan did not explain the basis for this assertion, nor did it provide any supporting information with the complaint, such as information on LMM’s business and the type of boats it has manufactured.
  6. Similarly, in its written objection to PWGSC, Titan simply asserted that LMM “has not built an 8.5 model proven hull as identified in Section 3.2.6 Vessel Construction Experience” without explaining the basis for its belief that LMM’s technical bid could not have met this requirement. PWGSC responded that the Canadian Coast Guard’s technical authority had determined that all bidders, including LMM, had met the mandatory technical requirements of the RFP.[15] There is no indication on the record of a further response from Titan to PWGSC.
  7. As Titan has not filed any information with the complaint to explain or support its assertion that LMM could not have met this technical requirement, there is no evidentiary basis for the Tribunal to question the conclusion of the evaluators that LMM’s technical bid was compliant.
  8. A complainant is not required, at the complaint stage, to prove its allegations in order for the Tribunal to conduct an inquiry. The relevant threshold, as indicated above, is whether the complaint discloses a reasonable indication that that the procurement process has not been conducted properly, in accordance with the applicable trade agreements. Although this is a low threshold, a complainant must provide a reasonable foundation upon which the Tribunal can anchor its analysis; in the present case, all that is present is an unsubstantiated assertion, which is insufficient to establish a reasonable indication that LMM’s bid was non-compliant. The Tribunal finds that Titan has not met this low initiation threshold as it did not provide any supporting information or evidence indicating that its allegation may be true.
  9. The Tribunal therefore concludes that the complaint does not disclose a reasonable indication that the contract was improperly awarded to a non-compliant bidder resulting in a breach of the trade agreements.[16] As a result, the third condition for conducting an inquiry is not met.

DECISION

  1. Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.
 

[1].     R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.) [CITT Act].

[2].     S.O.R./93-602 [Regulations].

[3].     RFP, section 3.2.6, “Vessel Construction Experience”.

[4].     18 July 1994, C. Gaz. 1995.I.1323, online: Internal Trade Secretariat <https://www.cfta-alec.ca/agreement-on-internal-trade/> [AIT].

[5].     Section 30.1 of the CITT Act defines “designated contract” as “a contract for the supply of goods or services that has been or is proposed to be awarded by a government institution and that is designated or of a class of contracts designated by the regulations.” Subsection 3(1) of the Regulations provides, in turn, that “[f]or the purposes of the definition designated contract in section 30.1 of the Act, any contract or class of contract concerning the procurement of goods or services or any combination of goods or services, as described in [the trade agreements] that has been or is proposed to be awarded by a government institution, is a designated contract.”

[6].     RFP, section 1.4, “Trade Agreements”.

[7].     Canadian Free Trade Agreement, online: Internal Trade Secretariat <https://www.cfta-alec.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/CFTA-Consolidated-Te... (entered into force July 1, 2017) [CFTA].

[8].     CFTA, Annexe 520.1, Schedule of Canada, section B(1)(h).

[9].     The Tribunal considered a similar issue in McNally Construction Inc. (6 December 2001), PR-2001-026 (CITT).

[10].   On the contrary, the other trade agreements listed in the RFP include exclusions for shipbuilding that would apply to procurements by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans. See, for example: North American Free Trade Agreement between the Government of Canada, the Government of the United Mexican States and the Government of the United States of America, 17 December 1992, 1994 Can. T.S. No. 2, online: Global Affairs Canada <http://international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-comme...‌nafta-alena/fta-ale/index.aspx?lang=eng> (entered into force 1 January 1994), Annex 1001.2b, General Notes, Schedule of Canada, paragraph 1(a); Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement, online: Global Affairs Canada <http://international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-comme... (entered into force 1 August 2009), Annex 1401.1-6, General Notes, Schedule of Canada, paragraphs 1(a) and (e).

[11].   CFTA, Annex 520.1, Schedule of Canada, section B(1)(h).

[12].   Subsection 506(6) of the AIT provides as follows: “In evaluating tenders, a Party may take into account not only the submitted price but also quality, quantity, delivery, servicing, the capacity of the supplier to meet the requirements of the procurement and any other criteria directly related to the procurement that are consistent with Article 504. The tender documents shall clearly identify the requirements of the procurement, the criteria that will be used in the evaluation of bids and the methods of weighting and evaluating the criteria.”

[13].   RFP, section 4.2, “Basis of Selection”.

[14].   RFP, section 4.1.1.1, “Mandatory Technical Criteria”.

[15].   E-mails exchanged between P. Smith of Titan and D. Castle of PWGSC dated August 23 and 24, 2017.

[16].   It is unclear whether the requirement in this RFP would be covered under any of the trade agreements set out in the RFP other than the CFTA (see footnote 10). However, even if the requirement was covered by any of the other listed trade agreements, the Tribunal would have reached the same conclusion with respect to the third condition for inquiry given that the complaint did not disclose a reasonable indication of an improper award of contract to a non-compliant bidder.

Case Number(s)

PR-2017-024

Attachment(s)

pr2r024_e.pdf (75.02 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Modification Date

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

TITAN BOATS LTD.

TITAN BOATS LTD.
Dossier no PR-2017-024

Décision prise
le mardi 5 septembre 2017

Décision rendue
le mercredi 6 septembre 2017

Motifs rendus
le mercredi 13 septembre 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une plainte déposée aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.).

PAR

TITAN BOATS LTD.

CONTRE

LE MINISTÈRE DES TRAVAUX PUBLICS ET DES SERVICES GOUVERNEMENTAUX

DÉCISION

Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Membre présidant

L’exposé des motifs suivra à une date ultérieure.

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[1], tout fournisseur potentiel peut, sous réserve du Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics[2], déposer une plainte auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) concernant la procédure des marchés publics suivie relativement à un contrat spécifique et lui demander d’enquêter sur cette plainte. En vertu du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, après avoir jugé la plainte conforme au paragraphe 30.11(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE et sous réserve du Règlement, le Tribunal détermine s’il y a lieu d’enquêter.
  2. La plainte déposée par Titan Boats Ltd. (Titan) concerne une demande de propositions (DP) (invitation no F7044-170019/A) publiée par le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC) au nom de la Garde côtière canadienne et du ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) pour la livraison d’une embarcation pneumatique à coque rigide en aluminium de 8,3 à 8,6 m avec toit amovible et remorque.
  3. Le Tribunal a décidé de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte de Titan parce qu’elle n’indiquait pas de façon raisonnable que la procédure de passation du marché public avait violé l’accord commercial applicable. Plus précisément, la plainte de Titan ne contenait aucune information pour soutenir son allégation selon laquelle le contrat avait été adjugé incorrectement à un soumissionnaire non conforme.

CONTEXTE

  1. Le 6 juillet 2017, TPSGC a publié la DP. Titan a présenté une soumission en réponse à la DP avant la date de clôture du 16 août 2017.
  2. Le 22 août 2017, TPSGC a avisé Titan qu’un contrat avait été adjugé à Liquid Metal Marine (LMM). Même si la soumission de Titan respectait les exigences obligatoires de la DP, elle n’offrait pas le prix le plus bas.
  3. Le 23 août 2017, Titan s’est opposée, par écrit, auprès de TPSGC relativement au contrat attribué à LMM. Le 24 août 2017, son opposition a été rejetée par TPSGC.
  4. Le 29 août 2017, Titan a déposé la présente plainte. Elle prétend que LMM ne respectait pas une exigence technique obligatoire selon laquelle les soumissions doivent comprendre « des preuves objectives d’expérience dans la construction de navires de la taille, du type et de la complexité qui font l’objet de la demande de propositions »[3] [traduction]. Selon Titan, la proposition de LMM ne pouvait avoir satisfait à cette exigence parce qu’elle « n’avait pas construit de navire ayant une coque éprouvée, de la taille et de la complexité exigées » [traduction]. Titan prétend que l’attribution du contrat à LMM, un soumissionnaire non conforme, constituait une violation de l’article 506 de l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur[4].

ANALYSE

  1. Le paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement énonce trois conditions qui doivent être remplies pour que le Tribunal puisse enquêter sur une plainte :
    1. la partie plaignante doit être un fournisseur potentiel,
    2. la plainte doit porter sur un contrat spécifique et
    3. la plainte doit démontrer, dans une mesure raisonnable, que la procédure du marché public n’a pas été suivie conformément aux accords commerciaux applicables.
  2. La plainte satisfait à la première condition parce que Titan a présenté une proposition en réponse à la DP et elle est, par conséquent, un fournisseur potentiel. L’analyse par le Tribunal de la deuxième condition et de la troisième condition est fournie ci-après. Le Tribunal conclut que la deuxième condition est satisfaite, mais non la troisième.

Contrat spécifique

  1. Pour être considéré comme un « contrat spécifique » aux fins de la deuxième condition, un contrat doit être relatif à un marché de fournitures ou services tel que décrit dans les accords commerciaux[5].
  2. La plainte allègue que le marché public n’a pas été mené en conformité avec l’article 506 de l’ACI. Bien que la DP indique que l’exigence est assujettie à l’ACI[6], l’avis d’appel d’offres publié en ligne (https://achatsetventes.gc.ca) cite l’Accord de libre-échange canadien[7] au lieu de l’ACI.
  3. L’ALÉC est entré en vigueur le 1er juillet 2017 et a remplacé l’ACI. Comme la DP a été publiée le 6 juillet 2017, l’ALÉC (et non pas l’ACI) est applicable, tel qu’il est mentionné dans l’avis d’appel d’offres.
  4. L’ALÉC contient une exclusion pour la construction de navires[8]. Cela soulève une question, selon le Tribunal, quant à savoir si l’exception relative à la construction de navires s’appliquerait au bien dont on fait l’acquisition en l’espèce, c’est-à-dire un bateau pneumatique à coque rigide en aluminium[9]. La DP n’utilise pas les termes « navire » ou « construction de navires », mais elle se réfère au bien comme un « bateau » ou une « embarcation » devant être conçu et construit par l’entrepreneur. À ce stade, il n’est pas possible de savoir si le bateau se qualifie comme navire aux fins des accords commerciaux.
  5. Cependant, même si le bateau pneumatique rigide en question était considéré comme étant un « navire », le Tribunal conclut qu’il serait tout de même assujetti à l’ALÉC[10]. L’exclusion en vertu de l’ALÉC est limitée « à la construction et à la réparation de navires, y compris les services d’architecture et de génie connexes, par une société d’État pour laquelle le ministre des Transports est désigné, ou a été désigné à la date d’entrée en vigueur, comme le ministre compétent relativement à cette société » [nos italiques][11]. Comme la DP a été publiée par TPSGC au nom de la Garde côtière canadienne et du ministère des Pêches et des Océans, et ne concerne pas le ministre des Transports, le Tribunal est convaincu qu’elle est en dehors de la portée de cette exclusion.
  6. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Tribunal conclut que le bien en question dans ce marché public est couvert en vertu de l’ALÉC et qu’en conséquence la plainte porte sur un contrat spécifique.

Indication raisonnable d’une violation

  1. En ce qui concerne la troisième condition, le Tribunal a examiné si la plainte indiquait, de façon raisonnable, que le contrat avait été adjugé incorrectement à un soumissionnaire non conforme.
  2. La plainte fait référence à l’article 506 de l’ACI[12]. Comme mentionné ci-dessus, l’ACI ne s’applique pas et le Tribunal a donc examiné la disposition pertinente en vertu de l’ALÉC. L’article 515 de l’ALÉC prévoit, en partie, ce qui suit :

    Traitement des soumissions et adjudication des marchés

    [...]

    Évaluation et adjudication des marchés

    4. Pour être considérée en vue d’une adjudication, une soumission est présentée par écrit et, au moment de son ouverture, est conforme aux prescriptions essentielles énoncées dans les avis d’appel d’offres et dans la documentation relative à l’appel d’offres, et émane d’un fournisseur satisfaisant aux conditions de participation.

    5. À moins qu’elle ne détermine qu’il n’est pas dans l’intérêt public d’adjuger un marché, l’entité contractante adjuge le marché au fournisseur dont elle a déterminé qu’il est capable de satisfaire aux modalités du marché et qui, uniquement sur la base des critères d’évaluation spécifiés dans les avis d’appel d’offres et la documentation relative à l’appel d’offres, a présenté :

    a) soit la soumission la plus avantageuse;

    b) soit, si le prix est le seul critère, le prix le plus bas.

    [...]

  1. La DP indique qu’une « soumission doit [...] satisfaire à tous les critères d’évaluation techniques obligatoires pour être déclarée recevable » et que la « soumission recevable comportant le prix évalué le plus bas » [traductions] sera recommandée en vue de l’attribution d’un contrat[13]. Pour être conformes aux critères techniques obligatoires, les soumissions doivent fournir tous les renseignements demandés dans les instructions pour la préparation des soumissions (c’est-à-dire la partie 3 de la DP)[14].
  2. Titan allègue que le soumissionnaire gagnant, LMM, ne pouvait avoir satisfait aux exigences techniques obligatoires suivantes énoncées dans les instructions pour la préparation des soumissions de la DP :

    3.2 Section I : Soumission technique

    [...]

    3.2.6 Expérience en construction de navires

    Le soumissionnaire doit fournir des preuves objectives d’expérience dans la construction d’embarcations de la taille, du type et de la complexité qui font l’objet de la demande de propositions. Pour démontrer cette expérience, le soumissionnaire doit fournir :

    1. la liste détaillée de ces navires construits en vertu du TP 1332, Normes de construction pour les petits bâtiments – embarcation autre qu’une embarcation de plaisance, dernière édition, au cours des cinq dernières années;
    2. des photographies des navires énumérés;
    3. (pour le TP 1332 énuméré – embarcation autre qu’une embarcation de plaisance, vendue au cours des cinq dernières années seulement) les coordonnées de l’acheteur et la date de vente.

    [Nos italiques, traduction]

  1. Titan affirme dans sa plainte qu’elle « croyait que » [traduction] LMM ne pouvait avoir satisfait à cette exigence parce qu’elle n’avait pas fabriqué d’embarcation ayant une coque éprouvée, de la taille et de la complexité qui répondraient à l’exigence. Toutefois, Titan n’a pas expliqué le fondement de cette affirmation, et n’a pas non plus fourni de renseignements à l’appui de sa plainte, comme des renseignements sur les activités de LMM et le type de bateaux qu’elle avait fabriqués.
  2. De même, dans son opposition écrite présentée à TPSGC, Titan a simplement affirmé que LMM « n’a pas construit un modèle de coque éprouvée 8,5 comme indiqué dans la section 3.2.6 Expérience en construction de navires » [traduction] sans expliquer le fondement de sa croyance selon laquelle la soumission technique de LMM ne pouvait avoir satisfait à cette exigence. TPSGC a répondu que le responsable technique de la Garde côtière canadienne avait déterminé que tous les soumissionnaires, y compris LMM, avaient satisfait aux exigences techniques obligatoires de la DP[15]. Il n’y a aucune indication au dossier d’une réponse subséquente de Titan à TPSGC.
  3. Étant donné que Titan n’a déposé aucun renseignement avec sa plainte pour expliquer ou appuyer son affirmation selon laquelle LMM ne pouvait satisfaire à cette exigence technique, il n’y a aucun fondement probant sur lequel le Tribunal peut s’appuyer pour remettre en cause la conclusion des évaluateurs selon laquelle la soumission technique de LMM était conforme.
  4. Un plaignant n’est pas tenu, à ce stade de la plainte, de foncièrement prouver ses allégations afin que le Tribunal puisse enquêter sur celle-ci. Le critère approprié, tel qu’indiqué plus haut, consiste à déterminer si la plainte divulgue de l’information qui indique de façon raisonnable que la procédure de passation du marché public n’a pas correctement été suivie conformément aux accords commerciaux applicables. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’un critère peu exigeant, un plaignant doit tout de même fournir un fondement raisonnable sur lequel le Tribunal peut baser son analyse; en l’espèce, tout ce qui a été présenté au Tribunal n’est qu’une simple affirmation non appuyée, laquelle est insuffisante pour constituer une indication raisonnable que la soumission de LMM n’était pas conforme. Le Tribunal conclut alors que Titan n’a pas rempli ce critère peu exigeant de déclenchement d’une enquête puisqu’elle n’a pas fourni l’information ou quelconques preuves indiquant que son allégation pourrait être vraie.
  5. Le Tribunal conclut donc que la plainte n’indique pas de façon raisonnable que le contrat a été adjugé incorrectement à un soumissionnaire non conforme, entraînant une violation des accords commerciaux[16]. Par conséquent, la troisième condition pour mener une enquête n’est pas remplie.

DÉCISION

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.
 

[1].     L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.) [Loi sur le TCCE].

[2].     D.O.R.S./93-602 [Règlement].

[3].     DP, section 3.2.6, « Expérience en construction de navires ».

[4].     18 juillet 1994, Gaz. C. 1995.I.1323, en ligne : Secrétariat du commerce intérieur <https://www.cfta-alec.ca/accord-sur-le-commerce-interieur/?lang=fr> [ACI].

[5].     L’article 30.1 de la Loi sur le TCCE définit un « contrat spécifique » comme un « [c]ontrat relatif à un marché de fournitures ou services qui a été accordé par une institution fédérale – ou pourrait l’être –, et qui soit est précisé par règlement, soit fait partie d’une classe réglementaire ». Le paragraphe 3(1) du Règlement stipule qu’un contrat spécifique est un « contrat relatif à un marché de fournitures ou services ou de toute combinaison de ceux-ci, accordé par une institution fédérale – ou qui pourrait l’être – et visé, individuellement ou au titre de son appartenance à une catégorie, [par les accords commerciaux] ».

[6].     DP, section 1.4, « Accords commerciaux ».

[7].     Accord de libre-échange canadien, en ligne : Secrétariat du commerce intérieur <https://www.cfta-alec.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/CFTA-Consolidated-Te... (entré en vigueur le 1er juillet 2017) [ALÉC].

[8].     ALÉC, Annexe 520.1, Liste du Canada, section B(1)h).

[9].     Le Tribunal s’est penché sur une question similaire dans l’affaire McNally Construction Inc. (6 décembre 2001), PR-2001-026 (TCCE).

[10].   En revanche, les autres accords commerciaux énumérés dans la DP comprennent les exclusions relatives à la construction de navires qui s’appliqueraient aux marchés publics par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans. Voir, par exemple : l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain entre le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement des États-Unis du Mexique et le gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique, le 17 décembre 1992, 1994  R.T. Can. No 2, en ligne : Affaires mondiales Canada <http://international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-comme...‌nafta-alena/fta-ale/index.aspx?lang=fra> (entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1994), Annexe 1001.2b, notes générales de la Liste du Canada, alinéa 1a); l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou, en ligne : Affaires mondiales Canada <http://international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-comme... (entré en vigueur le 1er août 2009), Annexe 1401.1-6, notes générales de la Liste du Canada, alinéas 1a) et 1e).

[11].   ALÉC, Annexe 520.1, Liste du Canada, section B(1)h).

[12].   Le paragraphe 506(6) de l’ACI prévoit ce qui suit : « Dans l’évaluation des offres, une Partie peut tenir compte non seulement du prix indiqué, mais également de la qualité, de la quantité, des coûts de transition, des modalités de livraison, du service offert, de la capacité du fournisseur de satisfaire aux conditions du marché public et de tout autre critère se rapportant directement au marché public et compatible avec l’article 504. Les documents d’appel d’offres doivent indiquer clairement les conditions du marché public, les critères qui seront appliqués dans l’évaluation des soumissions et les méthodes de pondération et d’évaluation des critères. »

[13].   DP, section 4.2, « Méthode de sélection ».

[14].   DP, section 4.1.1.1, « Critères techniques obligatoires ».

[15].   Courriels échangés entre P. Smith de Titan et D. Castle de TPSGC datés du 23 et du 24 août 2017.

[16].   On ne sait pas exactement si l’exigence dans la DP serait couverte en vertu de l’un des accords commerciaux énumérés dans la DP autre que l’ALÉC (voir la note de bas de page 10). Cependant, même si l’exigence était couverte par un autre des accords commerciaux énumérés, le Tribunal serait parvenu à la même conclusion concernant la troisième condition d’enquête étant donné que la plainte ne démontre pas, dans une mesure raisonnable, une adjudication injustifiée du contrat à un soumissionnaire non conforme.

Numéro(s) du cas

PR-2017-024

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pr2r024_f.pdf (76.66 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mardi 19 Septembre 2017

Date de modification

Le Mardi 19 Septembre 2017