Electronic Hearings

Under Rule 25 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) may decide to proceed by way of electronic hearing, either entirely or in combination with an in-person or paper/file hearing. An electronic hearing is a hearing held by telephone or video conference.

The Tribunal will consider proceeding by way of electronic hearing if the party or witness taking part in the proceeding is located outside of the National Capital Region.

Any party requesting an electronic hearing should notify the Registrar and the other parties in writing within 5 business days of receipt of the notice of the hearing. Parties may object to the request, but the objecting party must explain why granting the request would seriously affect its own ability to successfully make its case.

When the Tribunal decides it is appropriate to proceed by way of video conference, the Government Teleconferencing Service’s WebEx Enterprise Site will be used for the video portion of the hearing, in tandem with telephone lines for the audio portion. The Tribunal will issue correspondence containing the dial-in and log-in information to parties, counsel or witnesses wishing to participate in the hearing by way of videoconference. Those participants join the videoconference at a pre-established date and time.

Electronic hearings by way of telephone proceed in the same manner except without WebEx; the Registrar will provide the dial-in information and there is no video link.

During the electronic hearing, the Tribunal will permit parties a reasonable opportunity to question other parties or witnesses participating by telephone or video conference for the purpose of verifying their identities. It would be helpful, for example, if the party or witness shows a piece of valid photo ID if participating by video conference. Where the verification of the identity of a party or witness is important, the electronic hearing should proceed by way of video conference. A party or witness not identified to the Tribunal’s satisfaction will not be permitted to speak or testify.

Once the identity of a witness has been verified, the Registrar will administer the affirmation by telephone or video conference.

Parties or witnesses participating by telephone or video conference will not be permitted to submit documents during the hearing that are not already on the record, unless all parties consent and they are able to submit said documents through their counsel/representative on CITT premises.

When confidential information is to be discussed, the Tribunal will apply the same procedures for the conduct of in camera proceedings as are applied for in-person hearings, with the following adaptations: confidential documents will not be displayed on WebEx during videoconferences, and counsel will be responsible for ensuring, pursuant to their undertakings, the confidentiality of the site from which they are participating in the hearing.

Whether participating by telephone or video conference, parties, counsel and witnesses should

  • use a landline (not a cell phone);
  • be in a quiet and private room where background noise is minimal or non-existent;
  • always identify themselves before speaking, speak clearly; and
  • have the Registrar’s phone number (1-855-307-2488) available should they have a problem accessing the hearing. 

Parties, counsel and witnesses participating by way of video conference shall also

  • use a computer that is connected to a Local Area Network (LAN); handheld devices are not permitted;
  • dress in proper attire; and
  • be in a windowless room or a room where window shades are drawn in order to avoid glare.

If a party, counsel or witness fails to appear, the hearing may proceed without them. 

Resource Type

Status

Publication Date

Friday, October 6, 2017

Modification Date

Friday, October 6, 2017

Audiences électroniques

En vertu de l’article 25 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) peut décider de procéder par audience électronique, soit entièrement électronique, ou en combinaison avec une audience en personne ou une audience sur pièces. Une audience électronique est une audience qui se déroule par téléphone ou vidéoconférence.

Le Tribunal considérera procéder par audience électronique si  la partie ou le témoin à la procédure est situé à l’extérieur de la Région de la capitale nationale.

Toute partie demandant la tenue d’une audience électronique doit le faire par écrit auprès du greffier et des autres parties dans les 5 jours ouvrables suivant la réception de l’avis de l’audience. Une partie peut s’opposer à la demande, mais elle doit expliquer en quoi la tenue d’une audience électronique l’empêcherait de pleinement faire valoir ses arguments.

Lorsque le Tribunal décide qu’il est approprié de procéder par vidéoconférence, le service de téléconférence du gouvernement WebEx Enterprise Site sera utilisé pour la portion vidéo de l’audience, parallèlement aux lignes téléphoniques pour la portion audio. Le Tribunal transmettra par correspondance le numéro à composer et les renseignements pour ouvrir une session aux parties, conseillers juridiques ou témoins désirant participer à l’audience par vidéoconférence. Ces participants se joignent à la vidéoconférence à une date et à une heure précise.

Les audiences électroniques par voie téléphonique se déroulent de la même manière, mais sans l’utilisation de WebEx; le greffier fournira les numéros à composer et il n’y a aucun lien vidéo.

Au cours de l’audience électronique, les parties disposeront d’une occasion raisonnable d’interroger les autres parties ou témoins qui participent par téléphone ou vidéoconférence dans le but de vérifier leur identité. Par exemple, les parties ou témoins qui participent à une vidéoconférence sont encouragés à montrer une pièce d’identité valide avec photo. Lorsque la vérification de l’identité d’une partie ou d’un témoin s’avère importante, il est préférable de tenir l’audience électronique par vidéoconférence. Si le Tribunal juge qu’une partie ou qu’un témoin ne s’est pas identifié adéquatement, ce dernier ne pourra se prononcer ou comparaître.  

Une fois l’identité d’un témoin établie, le greffier recevra son affirmation solennelle par téléphone ou vidéoconférence.

Les parties ou témoins qui participent par téléphone ou vidéoconférence ne pourront déposer des documents lors de l’audience qui ne figurent pas déjà au dossier, à moins que toutes les parties en conviennent et qu’ils soient en mesure de déposer lesdits documents par l’entremise de leur conseiller juridique ou représentant aux bureaux du TCCE.

Lorsque des informations confidentielles doivent être discutées, le Tribunal suivra les mêmes procédures que pour ses audiences à huis clos tenues en la présence des parties, avec les adaptations qui suivent : aucun document confidentiel ne sera diffusé par l’entremise de WebEx durant une vidéoconférence, et les conseillers seront responsables, suivant leurs engagements, de la confidentialité du site à partir duquel ils participent à l’audience.

Que leur participation soit par téléphone ou vidéoconférence, les parties, conseillers juridiques et témoins sont tenus

  • d’utiliser une ligne terrestre (plutôt qu’un cellulaire);
  • de se trouver dans une pièce privée et silencieuse où il y a peu ou pas de bruit environnant;
  • de toujours s’identifier avant de prendre la parole et de s’exprimer clairement;
  • de garder le numéro de téléphone du greffier à portée de main (1-855-307-2488) dans l’éventualité qu’ils éprouvent des problèmes à participer à l’audience.

De plus, les parties, conseillers juridiques et témoins participant à une vidéoconférence sont tenus

  • d’utiliser un ordinateur connecté à un réseau local; les appareils portatifs sont interdits;
  • de porter des vêtements appropriés;
  • de se trouver dans une pièce sans fenêtres ou dans une pièce dont les rideaux sont fermés afin d’éviter un reflet lumineux.

Si une partie, un conseiller juridique ou un témoin est absent, l’audience peut avoir lieu en leur absence.

Type de documentation

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 6 Octobre 2017

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 6 Octobre 2017