SOFT DB INC.

SOFT DB INC.
File No. PR-2017-026

Decision made
Monday, October 4, 2017

Decision and reasons issued
Friday, October 6, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a complaint filed pursuant to subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.).

BY

SOFT DB INC.

AGAINST

THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND GOVERNMENT SERVICES

DECISION

Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard, Q.C.
Presiding Member

STATEMENT OF REASONS

  1. Subsection 30.11(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act[1] provides that, subject to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Procurement Inquiry Regulations,[2] a potential supplier may file a complaint with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) concerning any aspect of the procurement process that relates to a designated contract and request the Tribunal to conduct an inquiry into the complaint. Subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act provides that, subject to the Regulations, after the Tribunal determines that a complaint complies with subsection 30.11(2) of the CITT Act, it shall decide whether to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.
  2. The Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint because the complainant is not a “potential supplier” and, thus, lacks standing to bring a complaint to the Tribunal.

SUMMARY OF THE COMPLAINT

  1. The complaint relates to a Request for Quotation (RFQ) published by Brookfield Global Integrated Solutions (BGIS), a provider of facility management services, on behalf of the Department of Public Works and Government Services (PWGSC) on August 28, 2017. The RFQ is for the interior fit-up of Wing CARQ2 at the Main Statistics Building (a federal government office located at 150, Tunney’s Pasture Drive, Ottawa, ON) under Solicitation Nos. PWG788660-1, PWG788663-1 and PWG788664-1.
  2. The complainant, Soft dB Inc. (Soft dB), alleges that the specifications of one component of the work for a sound masking system are narrowly worded to mirror a specific supplier’s equipment. Soft dB requests the that Tribunal replace the current specification with a performance-based specification not tailored for one manufacturer, include Soft dB as an approved supplier for the project, and ensure that PWGSC does not use a similar specification again in any future projects regarding sound masking.

BACKGROUND

  1. On August 28, 2017, BGIS published the RFQ on brookfieldgis.merx.com. It does not appear that the RFQ was published on the government’s official electronic tendering service, buyandsell.gc.ca.
  2. During the Question-and-Answer period, BGIS was asked if the sound masking system of Soft dB would be acceptable as an equivalent to the one required in the specification of the RFQ. It replied via Addendum 4 issued on September 11, 2017, that it would not be.
  3. Soft dB objected to BGIS’s decision via a conference call with BGIS on September 12, 2017. On September 15, 2017, BGIS issued Addendum 8 confirming that the specification would remain unchanged. The bidding period closed on September 20, 2017, and the results of the competitive invitation were published on September 21, 2017.
  4. On September 21, 2017, Soft dB filed its complaint with the Tribunal.
  5. On September 26, 2017, the Tribunal requested further information and documents from Soft dB in order for its complaint to be considered complete under subsection 30.11(2) of the CITT Act. Soft dB provided the requested information and documents on September 29, 2017, and October 2, 2017.

ANALYSIS

  1. Pursuant to sections 6 and 7 of the Regulations, upon receipt of a complaint which complies with subsection 30.11(2) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal must decide whether the following four conditions have been met before being able to conduct an inquiry:

    (i) whether the complaint has been filed within the time limits prescribed by section 6 of the Regulations;

    (ii) whether the complainant is a potential supplier;

    (iii) whether the complaint is in respect of a designated contract; and

    (iv) whether the information provided by the complainant discloses a reasonable indication that the procurement has not been conducted in accordance with .

  2. As a preliminary matter, it is not clear whether the RFQ relates to a designated contract because the complaint and attachments do not reveal whether the RFQ was issued by BGIS as an agent of PWGSC or in its own right under a separate contract with PWGSC. Section 30.1 of the CITT Act defines “designated contract” as a “. . . contract for the supply of goods or services that has been or is proposed to be awarded by a government institution and that is designated or of a class of contracts designated by the regulations” [emphasis added]. Subsection 3(1) of the Regulations, in turn, provides that “. . . any contract or class of contract concerning the procurement of goods or services or any combination of goods or services, as described in [the trade agreements], that has been or is proposed to be awarded by a government institution, is a designated contract” [emphasis added]. Section 30.1 of the CITT Act defines “government institution” as “. . . any department or ministry of state of the Government of Canada, or any other body or office, that is designated by the regulations”. This includes the federal government entities (such as PWGSC) and enterprises set out in the relevant annexes of the applicable trade agreements, in accordance with subsection 3(2) of the Regulations.
  3. BGIS is a private entity and, as such, cannot constitute a “government institution” for purposes of the trade agreements. When a government institution conducts public procurement via a private party as its mere agent, that procurement remains within the Tribunal’s jurisdiction.[3] However, in the present case, there is insufficient evidence to conclude that PWGSC directed BGIS to issue the RFQ on its behalf or to act as its agent in contracting for the goods and services. In addition, there is nothing in the complaint to suggest that PWGSC deliberately structured the procurement through the intermediary of a third-party private entity in order to avoid its obligations under the applicable trade agreements.[4]
  4. Regardless, even assuming an agency relationship exists, the complaint still fails to justify initiating an inquiry because Soft dB is only a subcontractor—not a general contractor who did or could have bid on the RFQ—and, therefore, not a “potential supplier”. Section 30.1 of the CITT Act defines a “potential supplier” as a “. . . bidder or prospective bidder on a designated contract.” Soft dB writes in its email to the Tribunal dated September 29, 2017, that it did not submit a response itself to the solicitation but rather is “a subcontractor to multiple bidders for these projects”. The Tribunal has stated previously that a “prospective bidder” must (1) have the technical and financial capability of fulfilling the requirement that is the subject of the procurement; and (2) still have the capacity to submit a bid in response to the solicitation.[5] In the absence of a term in a solicitation document permitting them to bid for a part of the work directly in their own name, subcontractors who can only perform part of the work tendered cannot be considered “prospective bidders” because they do not meet either of these conditions.[6]
  5. Accordingly, because the complainant is not a potential supplier, the conditions for initiating an inquiry have not been met.

DECISION

  1. Pursuant to subsection 30.13(1) of the CITT Act, the Tribunal has decided not to conduct an inquiry into the complaint.
 

[1].     R.S.C., 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.) [CITT Act].

[2].     S.O.R./93-602 [Regulations].

[3].     See Pomerleau Inc. v. Department of Public Works and Government Services (21 May 2015), PR-2014-048 (CITT) at paras. 59-63.

[4].     See Jastram Technologies Limited (24 May 2016), PR-2016-008 (CITT) at para. 14.

[5].     Shaw Industries Inc. (26 February 2015), PR-2014-059 (CITT) at para. 11; Flag Connection Inc. (3 September 2009), PR-2009-026 (CITT) at para. 20 and footnote 12.

[6].     The Tribunal has previously stated that an alternative for complainants who are not potential suppliers is to file a notice of representation wherein an actual or prospective bidder would expressly authorize the complainant to act as its representative before the Tribunal. See, for example, DJC Security Design (29 September 2004), PR‑2004‑034 (CITT). Unfortunately, this was not done here. Further, the time for doing so has expired, as the complainant had 10 business days to bring its complaint to the Tribunal under section 6 of the Regulations. Even if the date of publication of Addendum 8 rather than Addendum 4 is used as the date by which Soft dB had knowledge of the denial of relief sought from BGIS, the 10-business-day period for filing a complaint (with such an authorization from an actual or prospective bidder) would have expired on September 29, 2017.

Case Number(s)

PR-2017-026

Attachment(s)

pr2r026_e.pdf (58.42 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Modification Date

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

SOFT DB INC.

SOFT DB INC.
Dossier no PR-2017-026

Décision prise
le lundi 4 octobre 2017

Décision et motifs rendus
le vendredi 6 octobre 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À une plainte déposée aux termes du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.).

PAR

SOFT DB INC.

CONTRE

LE MINISTÈRE DES TRAVAUX PUBLICS ET DES SERVICES GOUVERNEMENTAUX

DÉCISION

Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard, c.r.
Membre présidant

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 30.11(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[1], tout fournisseur potentiel peut, sous réserve du Règlement sur les enquêtes du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sur les marchés publics[2], déposer une plainte auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) concernant la procédure des marchés publics suivie relativement à un contrat spécifique et lui demander d’enquêter sur cette plainte. En vertu du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, après avoir jugé la plainte conforme au paragraphe 30.11(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE et sous réserve du Règlement, le Tribunal détermine s’il y a lieu d’enquêter.
  2. Le Tribunal a décidé de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte, puisque le plaignant n’est pas un « fournisseur potentiel » et, par conséquent, n’a pas qualité pour présenter une plainte auprès du Tribunal.

DÉCISION

  1. La plainte porte sur une demande de prix (DDP) (appel d’offres nos PWG788660-1, PWG788663-1 et PWG788664-1) publiée par Brookfield Global Integrated Solutions (BGIS), fournisseur de services de gestion d’installations, au nom du ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC) le 28 août 2017. La DDP porte sur l’aménagement intérieur de l’aile CARQ2 de l’édifice de statistique Principal (un bureau du gouvernement fédéral situé au 150, promenade du Pré Tunney, Ottawa, Ontario).
  2. Le plaignant, Soft dB Inc. (Soft dB), allègue que les spécifications de l’une des parties du travail portant sur un système de masquage sonore ont été formulées de manière restreinte afin de refléter l’équipement d’un fournisseur en particulier. Soft dB demande au Tribunal de remplacer la spécification actuelle par une spécification axée sur la performance qui n’a pas été rédigée expressément pour un fabricant, d’inclure Soft dB à titre de fournisseur agréé dans le cadre du projet et de s’assurer que TPSGC n’utilise pas une telle spécification dans tout autre projet futur portant sur le masquage sonore.

CONTEXTE

  1. Le 28 août 2017, BGIS a publié la DDP sur le site brookfieldgis.merx.com. La DDP ne semble pas avoir été publiée sur le système électronique officiel d’appels d’offres du gouvernement, c’est-à-dire achatsetventes.gc.ca.
  2. Au cours de la période de questions et réponses, BGIS s’est fait demander si le système de masquage sonore de Soft dB serait accepté comme étant équivalent à celui exigé dans la spécification de la DDP. BGIS a répondu par la négative par l’entremise de l’addenda 4, publié le 11 septembre 2017.
  3. Soft dB s’est opposé à la décision prise par BGIS au cours d’une téléconférence avec ce dernier le 12 septembre 2017. Le 15 septembre 2017, BGIS a publié l’addenda 8, confirmant le maintien de la spécification telle quelle. La période de soumission a pris fin le 20 septembre 2017 et les résultats de l’appel d’offres ont été publiés le 21 septembre 2017.
  4. Le 21 septembre 2017, Soft dB a déposé sa plainte auprès du Tribunal.
  5. Le 26 septembre 2017, le Tribunal a demandé à Soft dB de lui fournir des renseignements et documents supplémentaires afin que sa plainte soit considérée comme complète en vertu du paragraphe 30.11(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE. Soft dB a déposé les renseignements et documents demandés le 29 septembre et le 2 octobre 2017.

ANALYSE

  1. Aux termes des articles 6 et 7 du Règlement, après avoir reçu une plainte conforme au paragraphe 30.11(2) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal doit déterminer si les quatre conditions suivantes sont satisfaites avant d’entamer une enquête :

i)          la plainte a été déposée dans les délais prescrits à l’article 6 du Règlement;

ii)         la partie plaignante est un fournisseur potentiel;

iii)        la plainte porte sur un contrat spécifique;

iv)        les renseignements fournis démontrent, dans une mesure raisonnable, que la procédure de passation du marché public n’a pas été suivie conformément aux accords commerciaux pertinents.

  1. À titre de question préliminaire, il n’est pas clair si la DDP porte sur un contrat spécifique, car la plainte et ses pièces jointes ne révèlent pas si la DDP a été publiée par BGIS en tant qu’agent de TPSGC ou en son nom propre dans le cadre d’un contrat distinct avec TPSGC. L’article 30.1 de la Loi sur le TCCE définit un « contrat spécifique » comme un « [c]ontrat relatif à un marché de fournitures ou services qui a été accordé par une institution fédérale – ou pourrait l’être –, et qui soit est précisé par règlement, soit fait partie d’une classe réglementaire » [nos italiques]. De plus, le paragraphe 3(1) du Règlement stipule qu’un contrat spécifique est « tout contrat relatif à un marché de fournitures ou services ou de toute combinaison de ceux-ci, accordé par une institution fédérale – ou qui pourrait l’être – et visé, individuellement ou au titre de son appartenance à une catégorie, [par les accords commerciaux] » [nos italiques]. L’article 30.1 de la Loi sur le TCCE définit « institution fédérale » comme un « [m]inistère ou département d’État fédéral, ainsi que tout autre organisme, désigné par règlement ». Une institution fédérale comprend les entités publiques fédérales (telles que TPSGC) et les entreprises publiques fédérales énumérées dans les annexes des accords commerciaux applicables, conformément au paragraphe 3(2) du Règlement.
  2. BGIS est une entité privée et, par conséquent, ne peut constituer une « institution fédérale » aux fins des accords commerciaux. Lorsqu’une institution fédérale tient une procédure de passation de marché public par l’entremise d’une compagnie privée qui agit à titre de simple agent, cette procédure relève de la compétence du Tribunal[3]. Cependant, en l’espèce, les éléments de preuve sont insuffisants pour conclure que TPSGC a donné à BGIS la directive de lancer la DDP en son nom ou d’agir comme son agent adjudicateur pour la fourniture de biens et services. De plus, il n’y a rien dans la plainte permettant d’avancer que TPSGC a délibérément structuré le marché public par l’entremise d’une tierce partie privée dans le but d’éviter ses obligations en vertu des accords commerciaux applicables[4].
  3. Peu importe, même si BGIS agissait à titre d’agent, la plainte ne satisfait pas aux conditions permettant l’ouverture d’une enquête, car Soft dB n’est qu’un sous-traitant – plutôt qu’un entrepreneur général qui a ou qui aurait pu présenter une offre dans le cadre de la DDP – et, par conséquent, ne constitue pas un « fournisseur potentiel ». L’article 30.1 de la Loi sur le TCCE définit un « fournisseur potentiel » comme « [...] tout soumissionnaire – même potentiel – d’un contrat spécifique. » Dans son courriel au Tribunal du 29 septembre 2017, Soft dB a indiqué qu’elle n’avait pas elle-même fait une soumission en réponse à l’appel d’offres, mais qu’elle était un « sous-traitant pour le compte de plusieurs soumissionnaires à ces projets » [traduction]. Le Tribunal a déjà indiqué qu’un « soumissionnaire potentiel » doit 1) avoir la capacité à la fois technique et financière de répondre au besoin visé par le marché et 2) être capable de présenter une proposition en réponse à l’invitation à soumissionner[5]. En l’absence de disposition dans un document d’appel d’offres leur permettant de présenter une proposition en leur propre nom à l’égard d’une partie du travail, les sous-traitants qui ne peuvent qu’effectuer une partie du travail demandé dans l’appel d’offres ne peuvent être considérés comme des « soumissionnaires potentiels », car ils ne remplissent aucune de ces conditions[6].
  4. Conséquemment, puisque le plaignant n’est pas un fournisseur potentiel, les conditions permettant d’ouvrir une enquête n’ont pas été remplies.

DÉCISION

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 30.13(1) de la Loi sur le TCCE, le Tribunal décide de ne pas enquêter sur la plainte.
 

[1].     L.R.C. (1985), ch. 47 (4e suppl.) [Loi sur le TCCE].

[2].     D.O.R.S./93-602 [Règlement].

[3].     Voir Pomerleau Inc. c. Ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (21 mai 2015), PR‑2014‑048 (TCCE) aux par. 59-63.

[4].     Voir Jastram Technologies Limited (24 mai 2016), PR-2016-008 (TCCE) au par. 14.

[5].     Shaw Industries Inc. (26 février 2015), PR-2014-059 (TCCE) au par. 11; Flag Connection Inc. (3 septembre 2009), PR-2009-026 (TCCE) au par. 20 et à la note de bas de page 12.

[6].     Le Tribunal a déjà indiqué que les plaignants qui ne sont pas des fournisseurs potentiels peuvent, subsidiairement, déposer un avis de représentation, au moyen duquel un soumissionnaire, même potentiel, donnerait l’autorisation expresse à un plaignant de le représenter devant le Tribunal. Voir, par exemple, DJC Security Design (29 septembre 2004), PR‑2004‑034 (TCCE). Malheureusement, cela n’a pas été fait en l’espèce. De plus, le délai pour le faire est échu, car le plaignant disposait de 10 jours ouvrables pour présenter sa plainte auprès du Tribunal en vertu de l’article 6 du Règlement. Même si la date de publication de l’addenda 8 plutôt que celle de l’addenda 4 était utilisée comme date à laquelle Soft dB a pris connaissance du refus de réparation de la part de BGIS, le délai de 10 jours ouvrables pour déposer une plainte (avec l’autorisation d’un soumissionnaire ou d’un soumissionnaire potentiel) aurait pris fin le 29 septembre 2017.

Numéro(s) du cas

PR-2017-026

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pr2r026_f.pdf (59.44 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mardi 17 Octobre 2017

Date de modification

Le Mardi 17 Octobre 2017