SEAMLESS CARBON OR ALLOY STEEL OIL AND GAS WELL CASING

SEAMLESS CARBON OR ALLOY STEEL OIL AND GAS WELL CASING
Expiry No. LE-2017-005

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

NOTICE OF EXPIRY OF ORDER

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) hereby gives notice, pursuant to subsection 76.03(3) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), that its order made on March 11, 2013, in Expiry Review No. RR-2012-002, continuing, with amendment, its finding made on March 10, 2008, in Inquiry No. NQ-2007-001, concerning the dumping and subsidizing of seamless carbon or alloy steel oil and gas well casing, whether plain end, beveled, threaded or threaded and coupled, heat-treated or non-heat-treated, meeting American Petroleum Institute specification 5CT, with an outside diameter not exceeding 11.75 inches (298.5 mm), in all grades, including proprietary grades, originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China, is scheduled to expire on March 10, 2018. Under SIMA, findings of injury or threat of injury and the associated special protection in the form of anti-dumping or countervailing duties expire five years from the date of the last order or finding, unless an expiry review has been initiated before that date.

The Tribunal’s expiry proceeding will be conducted by way of written submissions. Any firm, organization, person or government wishing to participate as a party in these proceedings must file a notice of participation with the Tribunal on or before December 6, 2017. Each counsel who intends to represent a party in these proceedings must also file a notice of representation, as well as a declaration and undertaking, with the Tribunal on or before December 6, 2017.

On December 7, 2017, the Tribunal will distribute the list of participants. Counsel and parties are required to serve their respective submissions on each other on the dates outlined below. Public submissions are to be served on counsel and those parties who are not represented by counsel. Confidential submissions are to be served only on counsel who have access to the confidential record and who have filed an undertaking with the Tribunal. This information will be included in the list of participants. One electronic copy of all submissions must be served on the Tribunal.

Parties requesting or opposing the initiation of an expiry review of the order shall file their written public submissions containing relevant information, opinions and arguments with the Tribunal, counsel and parties of record, no later than December 15, 2017. Where there are opposing views, each party that filed a submission in response to the notice of expiry will be given an opportunity to respond in writing to the representations of other parties. Parties wishing to respond to the submissions must do so no later than January 8, 2018.

In accordance with section 46 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, a person who provides information to the Tribunal and who wishes some or all of the information to be kept confidential must, among other things, submit a non-confidential edited version or summary of the information designated as confidential, or a statement indicating why such a summary cannot be made.

The Tribunal will issue a decision on January 19, 2018, on whether an expiry review is warranted. If the Tribunal decides that an expiry review is not warranted, the order will expire on its scheduled expiry date. If the Tribunal decides to initiate an expiry review, it will issue a notice of expiry review.

Written submissions, correspondence and requests for information regarding this notice should be addressed to the Registrar, Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, 15th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (telephone), 613-990-2439 (fax), citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (e-mail).

Further details regarding this proceeding, including the schedule of key events, are contained in the documents entitled “Additional Information” and “Expiry Schedule” appended to the notice of expiry of order available on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/dumping-and-subsidizing/expiries.

Dated at Ottawa, Ontario,
this 20th day of November 2017

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

SUBMISSION DATES AND FACTORS TO BE ADDRESSED

Parties requesting or opposing the initiation of an expiry review of the order shall file their written public submissions containing relevant information, opinions and arguments with the Tribunal no later than December 15, 2017.

Parties should endeavour to base their submissions on public information; however, confidential information relevant to the issues before the Tribunal may be filed, if necessary, along with a comprehensive public summary or edited version thereof.

Submissions shall include evidence, e.g. documents and sources that support the factual statements in the submissions, and argument concerning all relevant factors, pursuant to rule 73.2 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules (CITT Rules), including:

  • the likelihood of continued or resumed dumping and subsidizing of the goods;
  • the likely volume and price ranges of dumped and subsidized imports if dumping and subsidizing were to continue or resume;
  • the domestic industry’s recent performance (data for the past three years and for the most recent interim period), including supporting data and statistics showing trends in production, sales, market share, domestic prices, costs and profits;
  • the likelihood of injury to the domestic industry if the order were allowed to expire, having regard to the anticipated effects of a continuation or resumption of dumped and subsidized imports on the industry’s future performance;
  • any other developments affecting, or likely to affect, the performance of the domestic industry;
  • changes in circumstances, domestically or internationally, including changes in the supply of or demand for the goods, and changes in trends in, and sources of, imports into Canada; and
  • any other matter that is relevant.

Where there are opposing views, each party that filed a submission in response to the notice of expiry will be given an opportunity to respond in writing to the representations of other parties. Parties wishing to respond to the submissions must do so no later than January 8, 2018.

One electronic copy of all submissions must be served on the Tribunal. Parties are required to serve each other with their respective submissions in accordance with the directions below:

  1. Submissions that contain information that is confidential to your company/government or your client may be served by electronic means provided you are willing to accept the associated risks.
  2. Submissions that contain third-party confidential information, meaning confidential information belonging to a company/government that is not your own or that is not represented by you must be served by courier. Service must be effected so that these submissions arrive on the stated due dates as set out above.

Please note that proof of service must be filed with the Tribunal at the same time as the required copies are served on the Tribunal. Please see the Tribunal’s Confidentiality Guidelines found at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/Confidentiality_guidelines_e for additional information.

PROCEDURE FOR FILING WITH THE TRIBUNAL

Documents may be filed electronically with the Tribunal through its Secure E-filing Service at https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_e.html. The information is fully encrypted from the sender to the Tribunal.

Parties must still file paper copies in the required number as instructed. When a paper copy and an electronic version of the same document are filed with the Tribunal, both must be identical. In case of discrepancies, the paper copy will be considered the original.

OTHER INFORMATION

An expiry review at the request of any firm, organization, person or government will not be initiated unless the Tribunal decides that there is sufficient information to indicate that it is warranted.

The Tribunal will issue a decision on January 19, 2018, on whether an expiry review is warranted. If the Tribunal decides that an expiry review is not warranted, the order will expire on its scheduled expiry date. The Tribunal will issue its reasons no later than 15 days after its decision. If the Tribunal decides to initiate an expiry review, it will issue a notice of expiry review.

The Tribunal’s Expiry Review Guidelines can be found on its Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/Expiry_Review_Guidelines_e. In addition to providing more detailed information on the proceeding whereby the Tribunal determines if an expiry review is warranted, the guidelines explain how an expiry review is conducted if the Tribunal determines that one is warranted. In an expiry review, the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) first determines whether the expiry of the order or finding is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing of the goods. If the CBSA determines that the expiry of the order or finding in respect of any goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing, the Tribunal will then conduct an expiry review to determine if the continued or resumed dumping or subsidizing is likely to result in injury or retardation.

The CITT Rules govern these proceedings.

Written and oral communication with the Tribunal may be in English or in French.

EXPIRY SCHEDULE

November 20, 2017 - Distribution of notice of expiry of order and schedule

December 6, 2017 - Notices of participation and representation, declarations and undertakings

December 7, 2017 - Distribution of the list of participants

December 15, 2017 - Submissions requesting or opposing the initiation of an expiry review

January 8, 2018 - Reply submissions

January 19, 2018 - Decision issued

February 5, 2018 - Statement of reasons issued (if required)

Case Number(s)

LE-2017-005

Attachment(s)

le2r005_e.pdf (73.45 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Monday, November 20, 2017

Modification Date

Monday, November 20, 2017

CAISSONS SANS SOUDURE EN ACIER AU CARBONE OU EN ACIER ALLIÉ POUR PUITS DE PÉTROLE ET DE GAZ

CAISSONS SANS SOUDURE EN ACIER AU CARBONE OU EN ACIER ALLIÉ POUR PUITS DE PÉTROLE ET DE GAZ
Expiration no LE-2017-005

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

AVIS D’EXPIRATION DE L’ORDONNANCE

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) donne avis par les présentes, aux termes du paragraphe 76.03(3) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), que son ordonnance rendue le 11 mars 2013, dans le cadre du réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2012-002, prorogeant, avec modification, ses conclusions rendues le 10 mars 2008, dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ-2007-001, concernant le dumping et le subventionnement de caissons sans soudure en acier au carbone ou en acier allié pour puits de pétrole et de gaz, aux extrémités lisses, biseautées, filetées ou filetées et manchonnées, traités thermiquement ou non, qui répondent à la norme 5CT de l’American Petroleum Institute, d’un diamètre extérieur n’excédant pas 11,75 pouces (298,5 mm), de toutes les nuances, y compris les nuances brevetées, originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine, expirera le 10 mars 2018. Aux termes de la LMSI, les conclusions de dommage ou de menace de dommage et la protection spéciale qui leur est associée, soit par des droits antidumping ou des droits compensateurs, expirent cinq ans après la date de la dernière ordonnance ou des dernières conclusions, à moins qu’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration n’ait été entrepris avant cette date.

Aux fins de sa procédure d’expiration, le Tribunal procédera sous forme d’exposés écrits. Tout organisme, entreprise, personne ou gouvernement qui souhaite participer à la présente enquête à titre de partie doit déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de participation au plus tard le 6 décembre 2017. Chaque conseiller qui désire représenter une partie à la présente enquête doit aussi déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de représentation, ainsi qu’un acte de déclaration et d’engagement, au plus tard le 6 décembre 2017.

Le 7 décembre 2017, le Tribunal distribuera la liste des participants. Les conseillers et les parties doivent faire parvenir leurs exposés respectifs aux autres conseillers et parties aux dates mentionnées ci‑dessous. Les exposés publics doivent être remis aux conseillers et aux parties qui ne sont pas représentées. Les exposés confidentiels ne doivent être remis qu’aux conseillers qui ont accès au dossier confidentiel et qui ont déposé auprès du Tribunal un acte d’engagement en matière de confidentialité. Ces renseignements figureront sur la liste des participants. Une copie électronique de tous les exposés doit être déposée auprès du Tribunal.

Les parties qui appuient l’ouverture d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration de l’ordonnance, ou qui s’y opposent, doivent déposer auprès du Tribunal, des conseillers et des parties inscrites au dossier, au plus tard le 15 décembre 2017, leurs exposés écrits publics faisant état des renseignements, avis et arguments pertinents. Lorsque des points de vue différents sont exprimés, chaque partie qui a déposé un exposé en réponse à l’avis d’expiration aura l’occasion de répondre, par écrit, aux observations des autres parties. Les parties qui désirent répondre aux exposés doivent le faire au plus tard le 8 janvier 2018.

Aux termes de l’article 46 de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, une personne qui fournit des renseignements au Tribunal et qui désire qu’ils soient gardés confidentiels en tout ou en partie doit fournir, entre autres, une version ne comportant pas les renseignements désignés comme confidentiels ou un résumé ne comportant pas de tels renseignements, ou un énoncé indiquant pourquoi il est impossible de faire le résumé en question.

Le Tribunal rendra une décision le 19 janvier 2018 sur le bien-fondé d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration. Si le Tribunal n’est pas convaincu du bien-fondé d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, l’ordonnance expirera à la date d’expiration prévue. Si le Tribunal décide d’entreprendre un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, il publiera un avis de réexamen relatif à l’expiration.

Les exposés écrits, la correspondance et les demandes de renseignements au sujet du présent avis doivent être envoyés au greffier, secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, 15e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (téléphone), 613-990-2439 (télécopieur), tcce‑citt@tribunal.gc.ca (courriel).

Des renseignements additionnels concernant la présente procédure, y compris le calendrier des étapes importantes, se trouvent dans les documents intitulés « Renseignements additionnels » et « Calendrier de l’expiration » annexés à l’avis d’expiration de l’ordonnance disponible sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/dumping-et-subventionnement/expirations.

Fait à Ottawa (Ontario)
le 20e jour de novembre 2017

RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS

DATES DE DÉPÔT DES EXPOSÉS ET FACTEURS IMPORTANTS

Les parties qui appuient l’ouverture d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration de l’ordonnance, ou qui s’y opposent, doivent déposer auprès du Tribunal leurs exposés publics écrits, dans lesquels figurent les renseignements, avis et arguments pertinents, au plus tard le 15 décembre 2017.

Les parties doivent tenter de fonder leurs exposés sur des renseignements publics; cependant, des renseignements confidentiels portant sur les questions dont est saisi le Tribunal peuvent être déposés, le cas échéant, accompagnés d’un résumé public détaillé ou d’une version révisée de ces exposés.

Les exposés doivent comprendre des éléments de preuve, par exemple des documents et des sources à l’appui des énoncés des faits dans les observations, et des arguments de tous les facteurs pertinents, aux termes de l’article 73.2 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (les Règles du TCCE), entre autres :

  • le fait qu’il y ait vraisemblablement poursuite ou reprise du dumping et du subventionnement des marchandises;
  • le volume et les fourchettes de prix éventuels des marchandises sous-évaluées et subventionnées s’il y a poursuite ou reprise du dumping et du subventionnement;
  • les plus récentes données concernant le rendement de la branche de production nationale (les données relatives aux trois dernières années et à la période intermédiaire la plus récente), notamment des données justificatives et des statistiques indiquant les tendances en matière de production, de ventes, de parts de marché, de prix intérieurs, de coûts et de profits;
  • le fait que la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement des marchandises causera vraisemblablement un dommage à la branche de production nationale en cas d’expiration de l’ordonnance, eu égard aux effets que la poursuite ou la reprise aurait sur le rendement de celle-ci;
  • les faits ayant ou pouvant avoir une incidence sur le rendement de la branche de production nationale;
  • tout changement au niveau national ou international touchant notamment l’offre ou la demande des marchandises et tout changement concernant les tendances en matière d’importation au Canada et concernant la source des importations;
  • tout autre point pertinent.

Lorsque des points de vue différents sont exprimés, chaque partie qui a déposé un exposé en réponse à l’avis d’expiration aura l’occasion de répondre, par écrit, aux observations des autres parties. Les parties qui désirent répondre aux exposés doivent le faire au plus tard le 8 janvier 2018.

Une copie électronique de tous les exposés doit être déposée auprès du Tribunal. Les parties doivent faire parvenir leurs exposés respectifs aux autres parties selon les directives ci-dessous :

  1. Les exposés contenant des renseignements confidentiels ayant trait à votre entreprise ou gouvernement ou à votre client peuvent être expédiés par voie électronique à la condition que vous assumiez les risques qui y sont associés.
  2. Les exposés contenant des renseignements confidentiels de tierces parties, c’est-à-dire des renseignements confidentiels ayant trait à une autre entreprise ou un autre gouvernement ou à une entreprise ou un gouvernement que vous ne représentez pas, doivent être expédiés par messagerie. Ces exposés doivent parvenir aux intéressés selon les dates d’échéance indiquées ci-dessus.

Veuillez noter que les preuves de signification doivent être déposées auprès du Tribunal en même temps que les copies des exposés. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices sur la confidentialité du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/Confidentiality_guidelines_f.

PROCÉDURE À SUIVRE POUR LE DÉPÔT AUPRÈS DU TRIBUNAL

Les documents peuvent être déposés auprès du Tribunal par voie électronique au moyen de son Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé, à l’adresse https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/sfts_f.html. Les renseignements sont entièrement chiffrés depuis l’expéditeur jusqu’au Tribunal.

Les parties doivent quand même déposer le nombre de copies papier requis. La version électronique et la version papier doivent être identiques. S’il y a divergence, la version papier sera considérée comme la version originale.

AUTRES RENSEIGNEMENTS

Le Tribunal n’ouvrira de réexamen relatif à l’expiration à la demande de tout organisme, entreprise, personne ou gouvernement que s’il décide que les renseignements sont suffisants pour indiquer qu’un tel réexamen relatif à l’expiration est justifié.

Le Tribunal rendra une décision le 19 janvier 2018 sur le bien-fondé d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration. Si le Tribunal n’est pas convaincu du bien-fondé d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, il publiera ses motifs au plus tard 15 jours après sa décision, et l’ordonnance expirera à la date d’expiration prévue.

Les Lignes directrices sur les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration du Tribunal sont disponibles sur son site Web, à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/Expiry_Review_Guidelines_f. En plus de fournir des renseignements plus détaillés sur la procédure qu’emploie le Tribunal pour décider du bien-fondé d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, ce document explique la façon dont procède le Tribunal lorsqu’il décide qu’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration est justifié. Dans le cadre d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) détermine, en premier lieu, si l’expiration de l’ordonnance ou des conclusions causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises. Si l’ASFC juge que l’expiration de l’ordonnance ou des conclusions à l’égard de toute marchandise causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement, le Tribunal procède alors à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration pour déterminer si la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement causera vraisemblablement un dommage ou un retard.

Les Règles du TCCE s’appliquent à la présente procédure.

Vous pouvez communiquer oralement ou par écrit avec le Tribunal en français ou en anglais.

CALENDRIER D’EXPIRATION

Le 20 novembre 2017 - Distribution de l’avis d’expiration de l’ordonnance et du calendrier

Le 6 décembre 2017 - Avis de participation et de représentation, actes de déclaration et d’engagement

Le 7 décembre 2017 - Distribution de la liste des participants

Le 15 décembre 2017 - Exposés appuyant ou opposant l’ouverture d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration

Le 8 janvier 2018 - Exposés en réponse

Le 19 janvier 2018 - Publication de la décision

Le 5 février 2018 - Publication de l’exposé des motifs (si nécessaire)

 

Numéro(s) du cas

LE-2017-005

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

le2r005_f.pdf (78.51 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Lundi 20 Novembre 2017

Date de modification

Le Lundi 20 Novembre 2017