CARBON STEEL WELDED PIPE

CARBON STEEL WELDED PIPE
Expiry No. LE-2017-003

Order and reasons issued
Friday, December 8, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF a notice of expiry, pursuant to subsection 76.03(3) of the Special Import Measures Act, of the finding made by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal on December 11, 2012, concerning:

CARBON STEEL WELDED PIPE originating in or exported from Chinese Taipei, the Republic of India, the Sultanate of Oman, the Republic of Korea, Thailand and the United Arab Emirates

ORDER

On July 29, 2017, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal issued a notice of expiry of finding seeking submissions on whether it should initiate an expiry review of the above-mentioned finding. The Canadian International Trade Tribunal is satisfied that an expiry review is warranted, except for goods exported from the United Arab Emirates by Conares Metal Supply Ltd. Therefore, pursuant to subsection 76.03(5) of the Special Import Measures Act, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal has decided not to initiate an expiry review in relation to such exports by Conares Metal Supply Ltd.

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Presiding Member

Ann Penner
Ann Penner
Member

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Member

Tribunal Panel: Serge Fréchette, Presiding Member
Ann Penner, Member
Jean Bédard, Member

Support Staff: Nick Covelli, Lead Counsel

Peter Jarosz, Counsel

Rebecca Campbell, Lead Analyst

 

PARTICIPANTS:

Domestic Producers

Counsel/Representatives

Atlas Tube Canada ULC

Lawrence Herman

DFI Corporation

Dalton Albrecht
Krystal Hicks

Bolton Steel Tube Co. Ltd.

Paul Conlin
Linden Dales
Shannel Rajan

Nova Tube Inc. / Nova Steel Inc.

Paul Conlin
Linden Dales
Shannel Rajan

Welded Tube of Canada

Lawrence Herman

 

Importers/Exporters/Others

Counsel/Representative

Conares Metal Supply Ltd.

Cyndee Todgham Cherniak

Ministry of the Economy, the United Arab Emirates

 

 

Please address all communications to:

The Registrar
Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal
333 Laurier Avenue West
15th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G7

Telephone: 613-993-3595
Fax: 613-990-2439
E-mail: citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca

STATEMENT OF REASONS

  1. On July 29, 2017, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) gave notice that its finding made on December 11, 2012, in Inquiry No. NQ-2012-003 concerning carbon steel welded pipe (the subject goods), was scheduled to expire on December 8, 2017, unless an expiry review was initiated by that date.
  2. Persons or governments requesting or opposing the initiation of an expiry review were invited to file submissions. In its notice of expiry, the Tribunal requested parties to address all the factors relevant to the issue of whether an expiry review was warranted,[1] including, among other factors, the likelihood of continued or resumed dumping and subsidizing of the subject goods.
  3. The Tribunal received submissions requesting the initiation of an expiry review from Nova Tube Inc. / Nova Steel Inc., Atlas Tube Canada ULC, Welded Tube of Canada, and DFI Corporation (collectively, the domestic industry). The United Arab Emirates (the UAE) filed submissions against the initiation of an expiry review of its exports. Conares Metal Supply Ltd. (Conares), a UAE exporter, filed submissions against the initiation of an expiry review of its goods in particular.

LEGAL PRINCIPLES

  1. A finding is deemed to have been rescinded at the expiry of the five years following the day on which it was made, unless the Tribunal has initiated an expiry review.[2] The Tribunal may initiate an expiry review of a finding at the request of any person.[3]
  2. Subsection 76.03(4) of SIMA provides that “[t]he Tribunal shall not initiate an expiry review at the request of any person or government unless the person or government satisfies the Tribunal that a review is warranted.” Accordingly, there is an onus on the domestic industry to make a persuasive case, supported by substantive evidence and not mere allegations, to justify the initiation of an expiry review.[4]
  3. As stated in the notice of expiry of finding, the likelihood of continued or resumed dumping of the goods is one of the factors to be considered by the Tribunal.

ANALYSIS

  1. After review of the submissions, the Tribunal is satisfied that—apart from the goods of Conares—an expiry review is warranted.[5]
  2. In keeping with its practice and for the sake of judicial economy, the Tribunal will not elaborate on its reasons for finding that an expiry review is warranted. The Tribunal, however, will explain its reasons for deciding that an expiry review is not warranted in relation to Conares given that this decision brings finality to the matter as far as those particular goods are concerned.
  3. Conares’ exports were not dumped at the time of the final determination made by the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA). At that time, however, the CBSA was precluded from terminating the dumping investigation in respect of Conares because SIMA required it to make dumping determinations on a country-wide basis, and goods from the UAE overall were found to be dumped. In Inquiry No. NQ‑2012‑003, the Tribunal declined to use its authority to exclude Conares’ goods from its finding that the dumping or subsidizing of carbon steel welded pipe was threatening to cause injury for reasons elaborated in its decision. As a result, Conares’ goods were potentially subject to anti-dumping duties under the original finding.
  4. As further explained in the statement of reasons in Inquiry No. NQ-2012-003R, a proceeding conducted in parallel with this proceeding having regard to the implementation of the recommendations of the WTO Dispute Settlement Body (DSB) in Canada – Anti-Dumping Measures on Imports of Certain Carbon Steel Welded Pipe from the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu (DS482), subjecting the goods of an exporter with a zero or de minimis margin of dumping to anti-dumping measures constitutes a breach by Canada of its obligations under the WTO Anti-dumping Agreement.[6] Recent amendments were made to SIMA in order to enable the CBSA to terminate dumping investigations in respect of exporters with zero or de minimis margins of dumping.
  5. It is clear from the reasoning adopted by the WTO Panel in the above-mentioned dispute that Conares’ exports should not have been subject to the finding in the first place since they were determined not to be dumped.
  6. The recent amendments to SIMA do not have retroactive effect and, thus, do not provide Conares with relief. In order to get that relief, the domestic industry argued that Conares should petition the Minister of Finance to make a request to the CBSA and/or the Tribunal to review its determination/finding in accordance with section 76.1 of SIMA, which provides that such requests implement WTO recommendations and rulings.[7] Indeed, section 76.1 would seem to be available in these circumstances.[8]
  7. Although the Tribunal agrees with the domestic industry that this constitutes for Conares a possible recourse for pursuing its interests, the Tribunal also strongly believes that it is not the only avenue that is available to Conares at this point in time. Indeed, in the context of an expiry proceeding, the Tribunal is required to determine whether its finding should be allowed to expire or whether it is satisfied that an expiry review is warranted. As pointed out by the domestic industry, while section 76.03 of SIMA does not expressly contemplate a partial initiation of an expiry review, the a contrario implication of the language used in that provision is that the Tribunal is expressly precluded from initiating a review where one is not warranted. In reaching its decision as to whether or not to initiate the review, the Tribunal must take into account all relevant considerations, including whether or not it is warranted to initiate the review against all subject goods. As such, an expiry review is not necessarily intended to be an all or nothing affair in all circumstances. The Tribunal has broad discretionary authority to exclude goods from its findings and orders in extraordinary circumstances.[9] The Tribunal considers that the specific context of Conares’ exclusion request is one of those extraordinary circumstances. It would be entirely improper for the Tribunal to simply ignore those circumstances, particularly if they could result in a scenario in which the exporter was being treated unfairly and/or Canada was at risk of violating its international trade obligations. By interpreting section 76.03 in a manner that is consonant with Canada’s international obligations, the Tribunal concludes that Parliament grants it the authority to determine that an expiry review is not warranted in the case of certain goods if at the outset it considers that there are extraordinary circumstances that warrant the exclusion of such goods from a positive injury finding. The Tribunal, thereby, considers that where it has discretionary authority under SIMA, it must exercise such authority in a manner that is fair and that is consonant with Canada’s international trade obligations.[10]
  8. The Tribunal has made two decisions following the DSB’s recommendations in DS482 where it found it appropriate to exercise its discretion to exclude non-dumping exporters to ensure its findings were fair and in accordance with the WTO case law.[11] Put simply, those cases involved extraordinary circumstances and required extraordinary remedies. While there are important distinctions to be made between the facts surrounding the Tribunal’s decisions in those two decisions and the present case, they all involve exporters who were directly impacted by the DSB’s recommendations in DS482.
  9. Likewise, Conares should be excluded from this expiry review given the history and circumstances that led to its inclusion in the Tribunal’s finding in the first place. The reasoning employed by the WTO Panel applies to the situation of Conares. The treatment that Conares’ exports have received under SIMA has been contrary to the Anti-Dumping Agreement; they should never have been subject to the finding in the first place because they were neither dumped nor subsidized. As a result, there cannot be a reasonable indication that the expiry of the finding will likely result in the continued or resumed dumping of Conares’ goods given that they were not dumped in the first place. As such, a review is not warranted against those goods.
  10. It is very likely that those goods would be excluded from any order of the Tribunal at the conclusion of the expiry review.
  11. In any upcoming notice of expiry proceedings, the Tribunal will consider extending this treatment to other exporters who had insignificant margins of dumping (or amounts of subsidy). Those exporters should, as did Conares, bring their situation to the Tribunal’s attention in their submission on the initiation of an expiry review. If those exporters do not want to wait for the initiation of an expiry review, they can request a review from the Minister of Finance at an earlier time than that of the notice of expiry.
  12. While the Tribunal does not foresee partial expiry reviews in other circumstances (e.g. initiating an expiry review in respect of one country’s goods but not another’s), the extraordinary circumstances of the present case warrant a departure from the Tribunal’s usual approach.

CONCLUSION

  1. The Tribunal is satisfied that an expiry review is warranted, except for goods exported from the United Arab Emirates by Conares Metal Supply Ltd. Therefore, pursuant to subsection 76.03(5) of SIMA, the Tribunal has decided not to initiate an expiry review in relation to such exports by Conares Metal Supply Ltd.    
 

[1].     Pursuant to rule 73.2 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules (SOR/91-499).

[2].     See subsection 76.03(1) of the Special Import Measures Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. S-15 [SIMA].

[3].     Paragraph 76.03(3)(b) of SIMA.

[4].     See, for example, Waterproof Rubber Footwear (31 January 2007), LE-2006-001 (CITT) at para. 6; Stainless Steel Round Bar (18 January 2005), LE-2004-008 (CITT); Refill Paper (16 November 1999), LE-99-005 (CITT); 12-Gauge Shotshells (29 August 2003), LE-2003-002 (CITT); Leather Footwear (12 April 2006), LE-2005-005 (CITT); Wooden Toothpicks (22 October 1996), LE-96-003 (CITT). The view that an onus exists on the requesting parties to duly substantiate that an expiry review is warranted is consistent with Canada’s obligations under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Implementation of Article VI of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994 (Anti-dumping Agreement), which posits the general rule that anti-dumping duties must be terminated not later than five years from the date on which they were imposed. In particular, article 11.3 provides that “. . . any definitive anti-dumping duty shall be terminated on a date not later than five years from its imposition . . . unless the authorities determine, in a review initiated before that date . . . upon a duly substantiated request made by or on behalf of the domestic industry . . . that the expiry of the duty would be likely to lead to continuation or recurrence of dumping and injury” [emphasis added]. The WTO Appellate Body has stated that article 11.3 provides that the continuation of an anti-dumping duty is an exception to the otherwise-mandated expiry of the duty after five years. See United States - Sunset Review of Anti-dumping duties on Corrosion‑resistant Carbon Steel Flat Products From Japan (15 December 2003), WT/DS244/AB/R at para. 104; United States - Sunset Reviews of Anti-dumping Measures on Oil Country Tubular Goods From Argentina (29 November 2004), WT/DS268/AB/R at para. 178.

[5].     For greater clarity, the finding excludes carbon steel welded pipe exported from Chinese Taipei by Chung Hung Steel Corporation and Shin Yang Steel Co. Ltd.

[6].     Canada – Anti-Dumping Measures on Imports of Certain Carbon Steel Welded Pipe from the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu (21 December 2016), WTO Doc. WT/DS482/R, Report of the Panel.

[7].     This is the mechanism by which the anti-dumping measures were brought into compliance with the DSB’s recommendations and rulings in DS482 in respect of de minimis Chinese Taipei exporters.

[8].     Oil Country Tubular Goods (25 October 2017), RD-2017-001 (CITT) at paras. 25-29.

[9].     Hetex Garn A.G. v. The Anti-dumping Tribunal, [1978] 2 F.C. 507 (FCA); Sacilor Aciéries v. Anti-dumping Tribunal (1985) 9 C.E.R. 210 (CA); Binational Panel, Induction Motors Originating In or Exported From the United States of America (Injury) (11 September 1991), CDA-90-1904-01; Binational Panel, Certain Cold-Rolled Steel Products Originating or Exported From the United States of America (Injury) (13 July 1994), CDA‑93‑1904-09.

[10].   The Supreme Court of Canada in R. v. Hape [2007] 2 SCR 292, 2007 SCC 26 (CanLII) at para. 53, stated that “[i]t is a well-established principle of statutory interpretation that legislation will be presumed to conform to international law. The presumption of conformity is based on the rule of judicial policy that, as a matter of law, courts will strive to avoid constructions of domestic law pursuant to which the state would be in violation of its international obligations, unless the wording of the statute clearly compels that result.” See also National Corn Growers Assn. v. Canada (Import Tribunal), [1990] 2 SCR 1324.

[11].   Concrete Reinforcing Bar (3 May 2017), NQ-2016-003 (CITT) at paras. 191-204; Fabricated Industrial Steel Components (9 June 2017), NQ-2016-004 (CITT) at paras. 164-169.

Case Number(s)

LE-2017-003

Attachment(s)

le2r003_e.pdf (99.75 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Friday, December 8, 2017

Modification Date

Friday, December 8, 2017

TUBES SOUDÉS EN ACIER AU CARBONE

TUBES SOUDÉS EN ACIER AU CARBONE
Procédure d’expiration no LE-2017-003

Ordonnance et motifs rendus
le vendredi 8 décembre 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À un avis d’expiration, aux termes du paragraphe 76.03(3) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, des conclusions rendues par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur le 11 décembre 2012, concernant des :

TUBES SOUDÉS EN ACIER AU CARBONE, ORIGINAIRES OU EXPORTÉS DU TAIPEI CHINOIS, DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE L’INDE, DU SULTANAT D’OMAN, DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE CORÉE, DE LA THAÏLANDE ET DES ÉMIRATS ARABES UNIS

ORDONNANCE

Le 29 juillet 2017, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur a publié un avis d’expiration des conclusions demandant des exposés sur la question de savoir s’il doit procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration des conclusions susmentionnées. Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur est convaincu du bien-fondé de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, à l’exception de marchandises exportées des Émirats arabes unis par Conares Metal Supply Ltd. Par conséquent, aux termes du paragraphe 76.03(5) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur décide de ne pas procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration à l’égard de telles exportations de Conares Metal Supply Ltd.

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Membre présidant

Ann Penner
Ann Penner
Membre

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Membre

Membres du Tribunal : Serge Fréchette, membre présidant
Ann Penner, membre
Jean Bédard, membre

Personnel de soutien : Nick Covelli, conseiller juridique principal
Peter Jarosz, conseiller juridique
Rebecca Campbell, analyste principal

PARTICIPANTS :

Producteurs nationaux

Conseillers/représentants

Atlas Tube Canada ULC

Lawrence Herman

DFI Corporation

Dalton Albrecht
Krystal Hicks

Bolton Steel Tube Co. Ltd.

Paul Conlin
Linden Dales
Shannel Rajan

Nova Tube Inc./Nova Steel Inc.

Paul Conlin
Linden Dales
Shannel Rajan

Welded Tube of Canada

Lawrence Herman

 

Importateurs/exportateurs/autres

Conseiller/représentant

Conares Metal Supply Ltd.

Cyndee Todgham Cherniak

Ministère de l’Économie des Émirats arabes unis

Huang Kai-Ming

 

Veuillez adresser toutes les communications au :

Greffier
Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
15e étage
333, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7

Téléphone : 613-993-3595
Télécopieur : 613-990-2439
Courriel : tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

  1. Le 29 juillet 2017, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) a donné avis que les conclusions qu’il a rendues le 11 décembre 2012, dans le cadre de l’enquête nº NQ-2012-003 concernant des tubes soudés en acier au carbone (les marchandises en question), expireraient le 8 décembre 2017, à moins qu’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration ne soit entrepris avant cette date.
  2. Les personnes ou les gouvernements qui désiraient un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, ou qui s’y opposaient, ont été invités à déposer des exposés. Dans son avis d’expiration des conclusions, le Tribunal demandait aux parties de présenter des arguments et éléments de preuve portant sur les facteurs relatifs au bien-fondé d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration[1], dont notamment sur le fait qu’il y ait vraisemblablement poursuite ou reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises en question.
  3. Le Tribunal a reçu des exposés demandant l’ouverture d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration de la part de Nova Tube Inc./Nova Steel Inc., Atlas Tube Canada ULC, Welded Tube of Canada et DFI Corporation (collectivement, la branche de production nationale). Les Émirats arabes unis (EAU) ont déposé des exposés opposant l’ouverture d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration à l’égard de ses exportations. Conares Metal Supply Ltd. (Conares), un exportateur des EAU, a déposé des exposés opposant l’ouverture d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration à l’égard de ses marchandises en particulier.

PRINCIPES JURIDIQUES

  1. Des conclusions sont réputées annulées à l’expiration de cinq ans après la date à laquelle elles ont été rendues, sauf si le Tribunal a entrepris un réexamen relatif à l’expiration[2]. Le Tribunal peut, à la demande de toute personne, procéder au réexamen relatif à l’expiration de conclusions[3].
  2. Le paragraphe 76.03(4) de la LMSI prévoit que « [l]e Tribunal ne procède au réexamen relatif à l’expiration sur demande que si la personne ou le gouvernement le convainc du bien-fondé de celui-ci ». Par conséquent, il incombe à la branche de production nationale de présenter des raisons convaincantes, étayées par des éléments de preuve de fond et non pas de simples allégations, pour justifier l’ouverture d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration[4].
  3. Comme le prévoit l’avis d’expiration des conclusions, le fait qu’il y ait vraisemblablement poursuite ou reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises constitue l’un des facteurs qu’examinera le Tribunal.

ANALYSE

  1. Ayant examiné les exposés, le Tribunal est convaincu qu’il est fondé à procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, à l’exception des marchandises de Conares[5].
  2. Fidèle à sa pratique habituelle et par souci d’économie des ressources judiciaires, le Tribunal ne s’étendra pas sur les motifs de sa décision de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration. En revanche, le Tribunal expliquera pourquoi il est convaincu qu’il n’est pas justifié de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration pour ce qui est des marchandises de Conares, car cette décision tranche l’affaire en ce qui concerne ces marchandises.
  3. Au moment où l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a rendu sa décision, les exportations de Conares n’étaient pas sous-évaluées. À ce moment, il n’était pas loisible à l’ASFC de clore son enquête de dumping à l’égard des marchandises de Conares parce qu’en vertu de la LMSI, ses décisions relatives au dumping portaient sur un pays dans son ensemble, et l’ASFC avait conclu que les marchandises originaires des Émirats arabes unis, dans l’ensemble, avaient été sous-évaluées. Dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ‑2012‑003, le Tribunal a refusé d’exercer son pouvoir d’exclure les marchandises de Conares de ses conclusions de menace de dommage causé par le dumping ou le subventionnement de tubes soudés en acier au carbone, pour les motifs exposés dans sa décision. Par conséquent, les conclusions originales pouvaient potentiellement assujettir les marchandises de Conares à des droits antidumping.
  4. Tel qu’il est expliqué plus en détail dans l’exposé des motifs de l’enquête no NQ-2012-003R, une instance parallèle concernant la mise en œuvre des recommandations de l’Organe de règlement des différends (ORD) de l’OMC relativement à la décision Canada – Mesures antidumping visant les importations de certains tubes soudés en acier au carbone en provenance du Territoire douanier distinct de Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen et Matsu (DS482), la prise de mesures antidumping à l’égard des marchandises d’un exportateur dont les marges de dumping sont nulles ou de minimis constitue un manquement du Canada à ses obligations en vertu de l’Accord antidumping de l’OMC[6]. Des modifications récentes à la LMSI permettent à l’ASFC de clore une enquête sur le dumping si la marge de dumping d’un exportateur est nulle ou de minimis.
  5. Il ressort clairement du raisonnement suivi par le Groupe spécial de l’OMC dans le différend susmentionné que les exportations de Conares n’auraient pas dû être visées par les conclusions puisqu’il avait été établi qu’elles n’étaient pas sous-évaluées.
  6. Les modifications récentes à la LMSI n’ayant pas d’effet rétroactif, elles n’offrent pas de recours à Conares. La branche de production nationale fait valoir que, pour obtenir ce recours, Conares devrait demander au ministre des Finances d’invoquer l’article 76.1 de la LMSI pour demander à l’ASFC ou au Tribunal de procéder à un réexamen de sa décision ou de ses conclusions en mettant en œuvre les recommandations et décisions de l’OMC[7]. Effectivement, l’article 76.1 semble s’appliquer en l’espèce[8].
  7. Bien que le Tribunal convienne avec la branche de production nationale qu’il s’agit d’un recours que peut engager Conares afin de faire valoir ses intérêts, il reste fortement persuadé qu’il ne s’agit pas de l’unique avenue offerte à Conares à ce stade-ci. En effet, dans le contexte d’une procédure d’expiration, le Tribunal doit déterminer si ses conclusions doivent expirer ou s’il est convaincu du bien-fondé d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration. Comme le soulève la branche de production nationale, le libellé de l’article 76.03 de la LMSI n’autorise pas explicitement le Tribunal à procéder à un réexamen partiel relatif à l’expiration, mais il sous-entend a contrario qu’il lui est expressément interdit de procéder à un réexamen infondé. Au moment de prendre sa décision de procéder ou non à un réexamen, le Tribunal doit tenir compte de tous les facteurs pertinents, y compris celui de savoir s’il est fondé à procéder à un réexamen portant sur toutes les marchandises en question. Un réexamen relatif à l’expiration n’est donc pas, à proprement parler, un exercice de tout ou rien dans toutes les circonstances. Le Tribunal dispose d’un large pouvoir discrétionnaire d’exclure certaines marchandises de la portée de ses conclusions et de ses ordonnances dans des circonstances extraordinaires[9]. En l’occurrence, le Tribunal estime que le contexte particulier de la demande d’exclusion de Conares est en lui-même extraordinaire. Il serait tout à fait inopportun de la part du Tribunal de simplement faire fi du caractère extraordinaire de ce contexte, et particulièrement du risque d’un traitement injuste à l’égard de l’exportateur ou d’un manquement du Canada à ses obligations commerciales internationales. S’il interprète l’article 76.03 en tenant compte des obligations internationales du Canada, le Tribunal parvient à la conclusion que le législateur l’habilite à conclure au caractère infondé d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration dès lors que des marchandises sont exclues de la portée d’une conclusion de dommage en raison d’un contexte extraordinaire. Par conséquent, le Tribunal estime que, si la LMSI lui confère un pouvoir discrétionnaire, il est tenu de l’exercer de manière juste et conforme aux obligations commerciales internationales du Canada[10].
  8. Dans la foulée des recommandations de l’ORD dans DS482, le Tribunal a exercé à deux reprises son pouvoir discrétionnaire d’exempter des exportateurs afin de s’assurer que ses conclusions étaient justes et fidèles à la jurisprudence de l’OMC en matière de dumping[11]. En termes simples, il s’agissait de dossiers mettant en cause un contexte extraordinaire commandant des recours extraordinaires. Malgré les différences importantes entre les faits entourant ces deux décisions du Tribunal et ceux en l’espèce, elles mettent toutes en cause des exportateurs qui ont été touchés directement par les recommandations de l’ORD dans le dossier DS482.
  9. De plus, les marchandises de Conares devraient aussi être exclues du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, compte tenu de l’historique et du contexte dans lequel elles ont été incluses au départ dans la portée des conclusions du Tribunal. Le raisonnement suivi par le Groupe spécial de l’OMC s’applique à la situation de Conares. Le traitement réservé aux exportations de Conares au titre de la LMSI est incompatible avec l’Accord antidumping. Le fait qu’elles n’ont jamais été sous-évaluées ou subventionnées aurait dû suffire à les exclure d’emblée de la portée des conclusions. À ce titre, il ne peut y avoir d’indication raisonnable que l’expiration des conclusions se solderait probablement par la poursuite ou la reprise des pratiques de dumping des marchandises de Conares puisque cette pratique n’a jamais existé en premier lieu. Par conséquent, il ne serait pas justifié de procéder à un réexamen visant ces marchandises.
  10. De plus, il est fort probable qu’elles seraient exclues d’une ordonnance du Tribunal à l’issue du réexamen relatif à l’expiration.
  11. Le Tribunal envisagera la possibilité d’étendre ce traitement aux exportateurs dont les marges de dumping (ou les montants de subvention) sont minimales dans ses prochains avis de procédure relative à l’expiration. Les exportateurs concernés devraient, à l’instar de Conares, informer le Tribunal de leur situation dans leurs exposés relatifs à l’ouverture d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration. Les exportateurs qui ne veulent pas attendre l’ouverture d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration peuvent déposer une demande de réexamen au ministre des Finances avant la publication de l’avis d’expiration.
  12. Le Tribunal ne prévoit pas procéder à des réexamens partiels relatifs à l’expiration dans d’autres circonstances (par exemple, un réexamen visant les marchandises originaires d’un pays et non celles d’un autre pays), mais le contexte extraordinaire en l’espèce justifie qu’il déroge à son approche habituelle.

CONCLUSION

  1. Le Tribunal est convaincu du bien-fondé de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, à l’exception de marchandises exportées des Émirats arabes unis par Conares Metal Supply Ltd. Par conséquent, aux termes du paragraphe 76.03(5) de la LMSI, le Tribunal décide de ne pas procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration à l’égard de telles exportations de Conares Metal Supply Ltd.
 

[1].     Conformément à la règle 73.2 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (DORS/91-499).

[2].     Voir le paragraphe 76.03(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, L.R.C., 1985, ch. S-15 [LMSI].

[3].     Alinéa 76.03(3)(b) de la LMSI.

[4].     Voir, par exemple, Chaussures et couvre-chaussures en caoutchouc imperméables (31 janvier 2007), LE‑2006‑001 (TCCE) au par. 6; Barres rondes en acier inoxydable (18 janvier 2005), LE-2004-008 (TCCE); Feuilles de rechange (16 novembre 1999), LE-99-005 (TCCE); Cartouches de fusils de calibre 12 (29 août 2003), LE-2003-002 (TCCE); Chaussures en cuir (12 avril 2006), LE-2005-005 (TCCE); Cure-dents en bois (22 octobre 1996), LE-96-003 (TCCE). La position selon laquelle il incombe aux parties demanderesses de justifier le bien-fondé d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration est conforme aux obligations du Canada en vertu de l’Accord sur la mise en œuvre de l’article VI de l’Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce de 1994 (Accord antidumping) de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), qui prévoit la règle générale selon laquelle les droits antidumping doivent prendre fin au plus tard cinq ans après la date à laquelle ils ont été imposés. Plus particulièrement, l’article 11.3 prévoit que « [...] tout droit antidumping définitif sera supprimé cinq ans au plus tard à compter de la date à laquelle il aura été imposé [...] à moins que les autorités ne déterminent, au cours d’un réexamen entrepris avant cette date [...] à la suite d’une demande dûment justifiée présentée par la branche de production nationale ou en son nom [...] qu’il est probable que le dumping et le dommage subsisteront ou se reproduiront si le droit est supprimé » [nos italiques]. L’Organe d’appel a déclaré que l’article 11.3 prévoit que la prorogation des droits antidumping constitue une exception à l’expiration autrement obligatoire des droits après une période de cinq ans. Voir United States - Sunset Review of Anti-dumping duties on Corrosion-resistant Carbon Steel Flat Products From Japan (15 décembre 2003), WT/DS244/AB/R au par. 104; United States - Sunset Reviews of Anti-dumping Measures on Oil Country Tubular Goods From Argentina (29 novembre 2004), WT/DS268/AB/R au par. 178.

[5].     Pour plus de certitude, les conclusions excluent les tubes en acier au carbone exportés du Taipei chinois par Chung Hung Steel Corporation et Shin Yang Steel Co. Ltd.

[6].     Canada – Mesures antidumping visant les importations de certains tubes soudés en acier au carbone en provenance du Territoire douanier distinct de Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen et Matsu (21 décembre 2016), OMC Doc. WT/DS482/R, rapport du Groupe spécial.

[7].     Il s’agit du mécanisme de mise en conformité des mesures antidumping avec les recommandations et les décisions de l’ORD dans DS482 relativement aux exportateurs de minimis du Taipei chinois.

[8].     Fournitures tubulaires pour puits de pétrole (25 octobre 2017), RD-2017-001 (TCCE) aux par. 25-29.

[9].     Hetex Garn A.G. c. Le Tribunal antidumping, [1978] 2 C.F. 507 (CAF); Sacilor Aciéries c. Le Tribunal antidumping (1985) 9 C.E.R. 210 (CAF); groupe spécial binational, Moteurs à induction originaires ou exportés des États-Unis d’Amérique (préjudice) (11 septembre 1991), CDA-90-1904-01; groupe spécial binational, Certaines tôles d’acier laminées à froid originaires ou exportées des États-Unis d’Amérique (préjudice) (13 juillet 1994), CDA-93-1904-09.

[10].   Dans l’arrêt R. c. Hape [2007] 2 RCS 292, 2007 CSC 26 (CanLII) au par. 53, la Cour suprême du Canada a indiqué que « [s]elon un principe d’interprétation législative bien établi, une loi est réputée conforme au droit international. Cette présomption se fonde sur le principe judiciaire selon lequel les tribunaux sont légalement tenus d’éviter une interprétation du droit interne qui emporterait la contravention de l’État à ses obligations internationales, sauf lorsque le libellé de la loi commande clairement un tel résultat. » Voir aussi National Corn Growers Assn. c. Canada (Tribunal des importations), [1990] 2 RCS 1324.

[11].   Barres d’armature pour béton (3 mai 2017), NQ-2016-003 (TCCE), aux par. 191-204; Certains éléments d’acier de fabrication industrielle (9 juin 2017), NQ-2016-004 (TCCE) aux par. 164-169.

Numéro(s) du cas

LE-2017-003

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

le2r003_f.pdf (95.82 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 8 Décembre 2017

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 8 Décembre 2017