CARBON STEEL WELDED PIPE

CARBON STEEL WELDED PIPE
Expiry Review No. RR-2017-005

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

REVISED NOTICE OF EXPIRY REVIEW OF FINDING

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal hereby gives notice that it will, pursuant to subsection 76.03(3) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), initiate an expiry review of its finding made on December 11, 2012, in Inquiry No. NQ-2012-003, concerning the dumping of carbon steel welded pipe, commonly identified as standard pipe, in the nominal size range from 1/2 inch up to and including 6 inches (12.7 mm to 168.3 mm in outside diameter) inclusive, in various forms and finishes, usually supplied to meet ASTM A53, ASTM A135, ASTM A252, ASTM A589, ASTM A795, ASTM F1083 or Commercial Quality, or AWWA C200-97 or equivalent specifications, including water well casing, piling pipe, sprinkler pipe and fencing pipe, but excluding oil and gas line pipe made to API specifications exclusively, and excluding 1 mm thick carbon steel tubing (SPCC‑1, 25.6 mm in outside diameter), double coated (first coated with acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, then with polyvinyl chloride), and non-galvanized, ASTM A53, Grade B, Schedule 80 pipe, with an inside diameter of 1 1/4 inches to 1 1/2 inches, in 22‑ft. lengths, with the inside weld scarfed, originating in or exported from the Republic of Korea, and produced with AISI C1022M steel with a carbon content of 0.18 percent to 0.23 percent and a manganese content of 0.80 percent to 1.00 percent, originating in or exported from Chinese Taipei (excluding goods exported from Chinese Taipei by Chung Hung Steel Corporation and Shin Yang Steel Co. Ltd), the Republic of India, the Sultanate of Oman, the Republic of Korea, Thailand and the United Arab Emirates (excluding goods exported from the United Arab Emirates by Conares Metal Supply Ltd.), and the subsidizing of the aforementioned goods originating in or exported from the Republic of India (the subject goods).

In this expiry review, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) will first determine whether the expiry of the finding in respect of the subject goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and subsidizing of the subject goods. If the CBSA determines that the expiry of the finding in respect of any goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and subsidizing, the Tribunal will then conduct an expiry review to determine if the continued or resumed dumping and subsidizing are likely to result in injury. The CBSA will provide notice of its determinations within 150 days after receiving notice of the Tribunal’s decision to initiate an expiry review, that is, no later than May 7, 2018. The Tribunal will issue its order and its statement of reasons no later than October 15, 2018.

Each person or government wishing to participate in this expiry review must file a notice of participation with the Tribunal on or before May 22, 2018. Each counsel who intends to represent a party in the expiry review must file a notice of representation, as well as a declaration and undertaking, with the Tribunal on or before May 22, 2018.

The schedule for this expiry review is found at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca.

The Tribunal will hold a public hearing relating to this expiry review in the Tribunal’s Hearing Room No. 1, 18th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario, commencing on the 7th day of August 2018, at 9:30 a.m., to hear evidence and representations by interested parties. If there are no opposing parties, the Tribunal may explore the possibility of a holding a file hearing, i.e. a hearing through written submissions only, instead of an oral hearing.

In accordance with section 46 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, a person who provides information to the Tribunal and who wishes some or all of the information to be kept confidential must, among other things, submit a non-confidential edited version or summary of the information designated as confidential, or a statement indicating why such a summary cannot be made.

Written submissions, correspondence and requests for information regarding the Tribunal’s portion of this matter should be addressed to the Registrar, Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, 15th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (telephone), 613-990-2439 (fax), citt‑tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (e-mail).

Further details regarding this expiry review, including the schedule of key events, are contained in the documents entitled “Additional Information” and “Expiry Review Schedule” appended to the notice of commencement of expiry review available on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/dumping-and-subsidizing/expiry-reviews-section-76....

Dated at Ottawa, Ontario,
this 8th day of December 2017

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Notice of Expiry No. LE-2017-003, issued on July 28, 2017, informed interested persons and governments of the impending expiry of the Tribunal’s finding in Inquiry No. NQ-2012-003 concerning the dumping and subsidizing of the subject goods. On the basis of the information filed during the expiry process, the Tribunal is of the opinion that an expiry review of the finding is warranted.

In this expiry review, the CBSA will first conduct an investigation to determine whether the expiry of the finding in respect of the subject goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and subsidizing of the subject goods. To this end, the CBSA will send questionnaires to domestic producers, importers and foreign producers to gather information for its investigation. Further information regarding the CBSA’s investigation can be obtained by contacting Mr. Patrick Mulligan, Canada Border Services Agency, 11th Floor, 100 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L8, 613-952-6720 (telephone), Patrick.Mulligan@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca (e-mail). A copy of the CBSA’s investigation schedule is available on the CBSA’s Web site at www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/er-rre/menu-eng.html.

If the CBSA determines that the expiry of the finding in respect of any goods is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and subsidizing, the Tribunal will then conduct an expiry review, pursuant to the provisions of SIMA and its Expiry Review Guidelines, to determine if the continued or resumed dumping and subsidizing of the subject goods is are likely to result in injury. Upon receipt of the CBSA’s determination, if any, of a likelihood of continued or resumed dumping and subsidizing, the Tribunal will issue other questionnaires to the domestic producers, certain importers and foreign producers to gather information for the purposes of its expiry review.

The schedule for the Tribunal’s expiry review specifies, among other things, the date for the filing of replies to Tribunal expiry review questionnaires, the date on which information on the record will be made available by the Tribunal to interested parties and counsel that have filed notices of participation or notices of representation and declarations and undertakings, the dates for the filing of submissions by interested parties and the hearing date.

REQUESTS FOR PRODUCT EXCLUSIONS

The Tribunal’s Guideline to Making Requests for Product Exclusions, which can be found on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/g_excl_e, describes the procedure for filing requests for specific product exclusions. Forms are available on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/forms to facilitate the filing of product exclusion requests, responses and replies to responses. Parties may file in a different format if they so wish, provided all the information and supporting documentation requested in the forms are included. Please see the attached schedule for the filing deadlines for the product exclusion process. Parties filing product exclusion requests are requested to contact the Tribunal for additional information on filing and service requirements.

PROCEDURE FOR FILING WITH THE TRIBUNAL

Parties and the public may file documents electronically with the Tribunal through its Secure E‑filing Service at https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_e.html. The information is fully encrypted from the sender to the Tribunal.

Parties must still file paper copies in the required number as instructed. The electronic version and the hard-copy version must be identical. In case of discrepancies, the hard-copy version will be considered the original.

PUBLIC HEARING

The Tribunal will hold a public hearing relating to this expiry review in the Tribunal’s Hearing Room No. 1, 18th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario, commencing on the 7th day of August 2018, at 9:30 a.m., to hear evidence and representations by interested parties. If there are no opposing parties, the Tribunal may explore the possibility of a holding a file hearing, i.e. a hearing through written submissions only, instead of an oral hearing.

OTHER INFORMATION

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules govern these proceedings.

Written and oral communication with the Tribunal may be in English or in French.

The Expiry Reviews Guidelines can be found on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/Expiry_Review_Guidelines_e.

At the end of these proceedings, the Tribunal will issue a decision supported by a summary of the case, a summary of the arguments and an analysis of the case. The decision will be posted on its Web site and distributed to the parties and interested persons, as well as to organizations and persons that have registered to receive decisions of the Tribunal.

REVISED EXPIRY REVIEW SCHEDULE

December 8, 2017 - Tribunal issues notice of expiry review and schedule

Date to be confirmed - Teleconference on draft questionnaires (if required)

CBSA’s Investigation

December 9, 2017 - Initiation of the CBSA’s expiry review investigation and issuance of the CBSA questionnaires
Initial compilation of CBSA exhibits available

May 7, 2018 - CBSA’s determination
If determination is affirmative, information pursuant to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules is transferred to the Tribunal

May 22, 2018 - CBSA statement of reasons issued

Tribunal’s Expiry Review

May 8, 2018 - Initiation of Tribunal’s expiry review (following an affirmative determination by the CBSA)

May 22, 2018 - Notices of participation and representation, declarations and undertakings

May 29, 2018 - Replies to Tribunal expiry review questionnaires

June 28, 2018 - Distribution of Tribunal exhibits, including information transferred from the CBSA, and investigation report

June 28, 2018 to July 6, 2018 - Requests for information (RFIs)

Date to be confirmed - Investigation report teleconference (if required)

July 5, 2018, by noon - Requests for product exclusions

July 6, 2018, by noon - Cases of parties in support of a continuation of the finding

July 10, 2018, by noon - Objections to RFIs

July 13, 2018, by noon - Domestic producers’ responses to requests for product exclusions
Cases of parties in opposition to a continuation of the finding
Tribunal decisions on RFIs

July 23, 2018, by noon - Requesters’ replies to domestic producers’ responses to requests for product exclusions
Replies to RFIs

July 24, 2018, by noon - Reply submissions of parties in support of a continuation of the finding

August 7, 2018 - Public hearing

October 15, 2018 - Order and statement of reasons issued

Case Number(s)

RR-2017-005

Attachment(s)

Status

Publication Date

Friday, December 8, 2017

Modification Date

Thursday, April 19, 2018

TUBES SOUDÉS EN ACIER AU CARBONE

TUBES SOUDÉS EN ACIER AU CARBONE
Réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2017-005

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

AVIS DE RÉEXAMEN RELATIF À L’EXPIRATION DES CONCLUSIONS

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) donne avis par les présentes qu’il procédera, conformément au paragraphe 76.03(3) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), au réexamen relatif à l’expiration de ses conclusions rendues le 11 décembre 2012, dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ-2012-003, concernant le dumping de tubes soudés en acier au carbone, aussi appelés tuyaux normalisés, de dimensions nominales variant de 1/2 po à 6 po (diamètre extérieur de 12,7 mm à 168,3 mm) inclusivement, sous diverses formes et finitions, habituellement fournis pour répondre aux normes ASTM A53, ASTM A135, ASTM A252, ASTM A589, ASTM A795, ASTM F1083 ou de qualité commerciale, ou AWWA C200-97 ou aux normes équivalentes, y compris ceux pour le tubage de puits d'eau, les tubes pour pilotis, les tubes pour arrosage et les tubes pour clôture, mais à l'exception des tubes pour les canalisations de pétrole et de gaz fabriqués exclusivement pour répondre aux normes de l'API, originaires ou exportés du Taipei chinois, de la République de l’Inde, du Sultanat d’Oman, de la République de Corée, de la Thaïlande et des Émirats arabes unis (à l’exception de marchandises exportées des Émirats arabes unis par Conares Metal Supply Ltd.), et le subventionnement de tubes soudés en acier au carbone originaires ou exportés de la République de l’Inde (les marchandises en question).

Lors du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) doit déterminer si l’expiration des conclusions concernant les marchandises en question causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement des marchandises en question. Si l’ASFC détermine que l’expiration des conclusions concernant toute marchandise causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement, le Tribunal effectuera alors un réexamen relatif à l’expiration pour déterminer si la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement causera vraisemblablement un dommage. L’ASFC rendra sa décision dans les 150 jours après avoir reçu l’avis de la décision du Tribunal de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, soit au plus tard le 7 mai 2018. Le Tribunal publiera son ordonnance et son exposé des motifs au plus tard le 15 octobre 2018.

Chaque personne ou gouvernement qui souhaite participer au réexamen relatif à l’expiration doit déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de participation au plus tard le 22 mai 2018. Chaque conseiller qui désire représenter une partie au réexamen relatif à l’expiration doit déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de représentation ainsi qu’un acte de déclaration et d’engagement au plus tard le 22 mai 2018.

Le calendrier du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration se trouve à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr.

Le Tribunal tiendra une audience publique dans le cadre du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration dans sa salle d’audience no 1, au 18e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) à compter du 7e jour d’août 2018, à 9 h 30, afin d’entendre les témoignages des parties intéressées. Cependant, s’il n’y a pas de parties opposées, le Tribunal a la possibilité de tenir une audience sur pièces, c’est-à-dire d’instruire le dossier sur la foi des pièces versées au dossier, plutôt que de tenir une audience.

Aux termes de l’article 46 de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, une personne qui fournit des renseignements au Tribunal et qui désire qu’ils soient gardés confidentiels en tout ou en partie doit fournir, entre autres, soit une version ne comportant pas les renseignements désignés comme confidentiels ou un résumé ne comportant pas de tels renseignements, soit un énoncé indiquant pourquoi il est impossible de faire le résumé en question.

Les exposés écrits, la correspondance et les demandes de renseignements concernant la partie du réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal doivent être envoyés au greffier, secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, 15e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (téléphone), 613-990-2439 (télécopieur), citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (courriel).

Des renseignements additionnels concernant le présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, y compris le calendrier des étapes importantes, se trouvent dans les documents intitulés « Renseignements additionnels » et « Calendrier du réexamen relatif à l’expiration » annexés à l’avis d’ouverture de réexamen relatif à l’expiration disponible sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/dumping-et-subventionnement/reexamens-relatifs-le....

En date du 8e jour de décembre 2017
Ottawa (Ontario)

RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS

RENSEIGNEMENTS GÉNÉRAUX

L’avis d’expiration no LE-2017-003, publié le 28 juillet 2017, informait les personnes et les gouvernements intéressés de l’expiration imminente des conclusions du Tribunal dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ-2012-003 concernant le dumping et le subventionnement des marchandises en question. Le Tribunal est d’avis que, selon les renseignements déposés au cours du processus d’expiration, un réexamen relatif à l’expiration des conclusions est justifié.

Dans le cadre du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration, l’ASFC mènera d’abord son enquête afin de déterminer si l’expiration des conclusions concernant les marchandises en question causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement des marchandises en question. Pour ce faire, l’ASFC enverra des questionnaires à des producteurs nationaux, à des importateurs et à des producteurs étrangers afin de recueillir des renseignements pour son enquête. De plus amples renseignements concernant l’enquête de l’ASFC peuvent être obtenus en communiquant avec M. Patrick Mulligan, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, 11e étage, 100, rue Metcalfe, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L8, 613-952-6720 (téléphone), Patrick.Muligan@asfc-cbsa.gc.ca (courriel). Le calendrier des enquêtes de l’ASFC est disponible sur le site Web de l’ASFC à l’adresse www.asfc-cbsa.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/er-rre/menu-fra.html.

Si l’ASFC détermine que l’expiration des conclusions concernant toute marchandise causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement, le Tribunal effectuera un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, aux termes des dispositions de la LMSI et de ses Lignes directrices sur les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration, pour déterminer si la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement causera vraisemblablement un dommage. Lorsque le Tribunal recevra la décision de l’ASFC concernant la vraisemblance de la poursuite ou de la reprise du dumping et du subventionnement, il enverra, aux fins de sa partie du réexamen relatif à l’expiration, d’autres questionnaires aux producteurs nationaux, à certains importateurs et producteurs étrangers.

Le calendrier de réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal indique, entre autres, la date pour le dépôt des réponses aux questionnaires de réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal, la date à laquelle le Tribunal mettra les renseignements au dossier à la disposition des parties intéressées et des conseillers qui ont déposé un avis de participation ou un avis de représentation et un acte de déclaration et d’engagement, les dates pour le dépôt des exposés des parties intéressées ainsi que la date de l’audience.

DEMANDES D’EXCLUSION DE PRODUITS

La Ligne directrice sur les demandes d’exclusion de produits du Tribunal, qui se trouve sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/g_excl_f, décrit la marche à suivre pour déposer des demandes d’exclusion de certains produits. Des formules peuvent être téléchargées sur le site Web du Tribunal au www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/formules pour faciliter le dépôt de demandes d’exclusion de produits, de réponses et de répliques aux réponses. Les parties peuvent quand même déposer sous une autre forme si elles le désirent, à condition que tous les renseignements et documents à l’appui demandés dans les formules soient inclus. Veuillez consulter le calendrier ci-joint pour connaître les délais pour le dépôt de demandes dans le cadre du processus d’exclusion de produits. Les parties qui déposent des demandes d’exclusion de produits doivent contacter le Tribunal pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires concernant le dépôt et la signification de documents.

PROCÉDURE DE DÉPÔT AUPRÈS DU TRIBUNAL

Les parties et le public peuvent déposer des documents électroniquement auprès du Tribunal au moyen de son Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé à l’adresse https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_f.html. Les renseignements sont entièrement chiffrés depuis l’expéditeur jusqu’au Tribunal.

Les parties doivent quand même déposer le nombre requis de copies papier. La version électronique et la version papier doivent être identiques. S’il y a divergence, la version papier sera considérée comme la version originale.

AUDIENCE PUBLIQUE

Le Tribunal tiendra une audience publique dans le cadre du présent réexamen relatif à l’expiration dans sa salle d’audience no 1, au 18e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) à compter du 7e jour de août 2018, à 9 h 30, afin d’entendre les témoignages des parties intéressées. Cependant, s’il n’y a pas de parties opposées, le Tribunal a la possibilité de tenir une audience sur pièces, c’est-à-dire d’instruire le dossier sur la foi des pièces versées au dossier, plutôt que de tenir une audience.

AUTRES RENSEIGNEMENTS

Les Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur régissent la présente procédure.

Vous pouvez communiquer oralement ou par écrit avec le Tribunal en français ou en anglais.

Les Lignes directrices sur les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration peuvent être consultées sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/Expiry_Review_Guidelines_f.

À la fin de la procédure, le Tribunal rendra une décision accompagnée d’un résumé de l’affaire, d’un résumé des arguments et d’une analyse de l’affaire. La décision sera affichée sur son site Web et distribuée aux parties et autres personnes intéressées, ainsi qu’aux organisations et personnes qui se sont inscrites en vue de recevoir les décisions du Tribunal.

CALENDRIER DU RÉEXAMEN RELATIF À L’EXPIRATION

Le 8 décembre 2017 - Le Tribunal distribue l’avis de réexamen relatif à l’expiration et le calendrier

Date à confirmer - Téléconférence portant sur les ébauches de questionnaires (au besoin)

Enquête de l’ASFC

Le 9 décembre 2017 - Début de l’enquête de l’ASFC sur le réexamen relatif à l’expiration et distribution des questionnaires de l’ASFC
Rassemblement initial des pièces justificatives de l’ASFC disponibles

Le 7 mai 2018 - Décision de l’ASFC
Si la décision est positive, les renseignements nécessaires aux termes des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur sont transmis au Tribunal

Le 22 mai 2018 - Publication de l’exposé des motifs de l’ASFC

Réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal

Le 8 mai 2018 - Début du réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal (à la suite d’une décision positive de l’ASFC)

Le 22 mai 2018 - Avis de participation et de représentation, et actes de déclaration et d’engagement

Le 29 mai 2018 - Réponses aux questionnaires de réexamen relatif à l’expiration du Tribunal

Le 2 juillet 2018 - Distribution des pièces du Tribunal, y compris les renseignements transmis par l’ASFC, et du rapport d’enquête

Du 2 au 6 juillet 2018 - Demandes d’information

Date à confirmer - Téléconférence concernant le rapport d’enquête (au besoin)

Le 5 juillet 2018, au plus tard à midi - Demandes d’exclusion de produits

Le 6 juillet 2018, au plus tard à midi - Dossiers des parties appuyant une prorogation des conclusions

Le 10 juillet 2018, au plus tard à midi - Oppositions aux demandes d’information

Le 13 juillet 2018, au plus tard à midi - Réponses des producteurs nationaux aux demandes d’exclusion de produits

Dossiers des parties s’opposant à une prorogation des conclusions

Décisions du Tribunal sur les demandes d’information

Le 23 juillet2018, au plus tard à midi - Répliques des demandeurs aux réponses des producteurs nationaux aux demandes d’exclusion de produits

Réponses aux demandes d’information

Le 24 juillet 2018, au plus tard à midi - Exposés déposés en réponse des parties appuyant une prorogation des conclusions

Le 7 août 2018 - Audience publique

Le 15 octobre 2018 - Publication de l’ordonnance et de l’exposé des motifs du Tribunal

 

Numéro(s) du cas

RR-2017-005

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

rr2r005_f.pdf (86.1 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 8 Décembre 2017

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 8 Décembre 2017