J. FERSCH

J. FERSCH
v.
PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY
Appeal No. AP-2017-011

Decision and reasons issued
Friday, January 19, 2018

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF an appeal heard on November 7, 2017, pursuant to section 67 of the Customs Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a decision of the President of the Canada Border Services Agency, dated March 8, 2017, with respect to a dispute pursuant to subsection 60(4) of the Customs Act.

BETWEEN

J. FERSCH - Appellant

AND

THE PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY - Respondent

DECISION

The appeal is dismissed.

Ann Penner -
Ann Penner
Presiding Member

Place of Hearing: - Ottawa, Ontario
Date of Hearing: - November 7, 2017

Tribunal Panel: - Ann Penner, Presiding Member

Support Staff: - Amélie Cournoyer, Counsel

PARTICIPANTS:

Appellant

 

J. Fersch

 

Respondent

Counsel/Representative

President of the Canada Border Services Agency

Adrian Johnston

Please address all communications to:

The Registrar
Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal
15th Floor
333 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G7

Telephone: 613-993-3595
Fax: 613-990-2439
E-mail: citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca

 

STATEMENT OF REASONS

BACKGROUND

  1. This is an appeal filed by Mr. J. Fersch on May 10, 2017, pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Customs Act[1] from a decision of the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), dated March 8, 2017, pursuant to subsection 60(4), concerning the value for duty of a 2016 Allegro Bus 37AP (the good in issue) imported by Mr. Fersch.
  2. The issue in this appeal is whether the trade-in allowance of a 2015 Entegra Anthem motorhome (the 2015 motorhome) should be deducted from the value for duty of the good in issue, as claimed by Mr. Fersch.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

  1. On October 24, 2014, Mr. Fersch purchased the 2015 motorhome in Red Deer County, Alberta.
  2. On May 5, 2016, Mr. Fersch purchased the good in issue in Missoula, Montana. Mr. Fersch traded in his 2015 motorhome and obtained a trade-in allowance for it.
  3. On May 6, 2016, Mr. Fersch imported the good in issue into Canada from the United States. At the time of entry into Canada, the CBSA assigned a value for duty which reflected the full purchase price of the good in issue without an adjustment for the trade-in allowance for the 2015 motorhome, converted to Canadian dollars, less the balance of personal exemptions. Mr. Fersch paid the applicable duties and taxes, including the goods and services tax (GST).
  4. On June 15, 2016, Mr. Fersch filed a request for a refund of the GST paid on the portion of the purchase price of the good in issue represented by the trade-in allowance for the 2015 motorhome. In essence, Mr. Fersch was requesting that the value for duty of the good in issue be calculated by deducting the trade-in allowance for the 2015 motorhome from the full purchase price of the good in issue.
  5. On July 21, 2016, the CBSA denied Mr. Fersch’s request for a refund. This denial was considered a re-determination under subsection 59(1) of the Act.
  6. On August 22, 2016, Mr. Fersch requested a further re-determination of the value for duty of the good in issue pursuant to subsection 60(1) of the Act.
  7. On March 8, 2017, pursuant to subsection 60(4) of the Act, the CBSA denied the request for further re-determination and confirmed its previous re-determination.
  8. On May 10, 2017, pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Act, Mr. Fersch filed the present appeal with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal).
  9. By letter dated May 12, 2017, the Tribunal indicated that Mr. Fersch was to file his brief, pursuant to rule 34 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules,[2] by July 10, 2017, and indicated that it decided to hear the matter based on written submissions only in accordance with Rules 25 and 25.1 of the Rules.
  10. By letter dated July 12, 2017, the Tribunal advised Mr. Fersch that it had not yet received his brief, that his brief should be submitted immediately or otherwise file a notice of discontinuance, and that the Tribunal could dismiss the appeal if no written communication was received by July 19, 2017.
  11. By letter dated July 20, 2017, the Tribunal advised Mr. Fersch that it had not yet received his brief, directed him to show cause by August 3, 2017, why the appeal should not be dismissed, and warned Mr. Fersch that failure to show cause might result in the appeal being dismissed without any further proceedings.
  12. On July 24, 2017, the Tribunal received correspondence from Mr. Fersch indicating that he wished to have the notice of appeal and attachments filed with the Tribunal on May 10, 2017, considered as the appellant’s brief. The Tribunal considers these to be the appellant’s brief in the present appeal.
  13. On September 21 and 22, 2017, the CBSA filed the public and protected respondent’s brief.
  14. By letter dated September 25, 2017, the Tribunal indicated that Mr. Fersch had the opportunity to make further written comments on the respondent’s brief before the Tribunal considered the appeal and that his additional submissions should be filed by October 23, 2017.
  15. By letter dated October 24, 2017, the Tribunal advised Mr. Fersch that it had not yet received his additional submissions and that they should be submitted as soon as possible, and by no later than October 31, 2017.
  16. On October 30, 2017, Mr. Fersch filed a short additional submission with the Tribunal, reiterating that he was requesting a refund of the GST paid on the portion of the purchase price of the good in issue represented by the trade-in allowance for the 2015 motorhome.
  17. The file hearing was held in Ottawa, Ontario, on November 7, 2017.

LEGAL FRAMEWORK

  1. The Act requires that a value be attributed to imported goods for the purposes of the imposition of duties on such goods. Section 46 of the Act states that this value for duty is to be determined according to the various methods set out in sections 47 to 55. In addition, subsection 47(2) sets out the order in which the aforementioned methods must be considered.
  2. Sections 47 and 48 of the Act set out the transaction value method as the first for consideration with regard to the determination of the value for duty of imported goods. Subsection 48(1) provides that “. . . the value for duty of goods is the transaction value of the goods if the goods are sold for export to Canada to a purchaser in Canada and the price paid or payable for the goods can be determined . . . .” In addition, the “price paid or payable”, as defined in subsection 45(1), relates to “the sale of goods for export to Canada”. Subsection 48(4) provides for certain adjustments to the price paid or payable of imported goods.
  3. It is only to the extent that the value for duty of imported goods cannot be appraised on the basis of their transaction value that any subsidiary bases of appraisal, as outlined in sections 49 to 53, can be considered.

ANALYSIS

  1. Mr. Fersch’s position was that the trade-in allowance of the 2015 motorhome should be deducted from the value for duty of the good in issue and that, consequently, he was entitled to a refund of a portion of the GST paid when he imported the good in issue. In support of his position, he submitted that he had, in the past, obtained a refund of the GST paid on a motorhome that he imported to Canada for the trade-in value of a vehicle he had traded in.
  2. For its part, the CBSA argued that Mr. Fersch had not cited any legal basis to support his claim and that the Tribunal has previously considered and rejected this type of claim in other cases. The CBSA further submitted that the applicable legislation does not permit the value of a trade-in to be deducted from the value for duty of an imported vehicle on which GST is assessed.
  3. The Tribunal dealt with a similar issue as the one in this case in Draganiuk,[3] i.e. whether the trade-in allowance of a 1991 automobile should be deducted from the value for duty of a used 2000 automobile that the appellant had imported into Canada. The Tribunal found that not all the requirements of section 48 were strictly met because the value of a trade-in could not be objectively determined. The Tribunal also found that none of the subsidiary appraisal methods set out in sections 49 to 52 were applicable. Applying the residual method under section 53, the Tribunal found that the transaction value method described in section 48 remained applicable because it required the least amount of adjustment. The Tribunal further found that even when the flexible approach described in section 53 was applied, no adjustment for the trade-in could be made because, while the Act provides for certain adjustments to the price, it did not provide for an adjustment for a trade-in allowance. It therefore concluded that the value for duty of the imported automobile had been properly assessed by the CBSA as the full purchase price of the automobile, without any adjustment for a trade-in allowance, and dismissed the appeal.[4]
  4. The circumstances in this case are similar to those in Draganiuk. There is no evidence on the record to convince the Tribunal that the value for duty of the good in issue was not properly determined by the CBSA. In addition, Mr. Fersch provided no evidence with regard to a previous transaction where he allegedly received the deduction that he is seeking in the present case, nor whether it was properly allowed by the CBSA. The Tribunal therefore finds that Mr. Fersch has not discharged his burden of proof.[5]

DECISION

  1. The appeal is dismissed.
 

[1].      R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.) [Act].

[2].     SOR/91-499 [Rules].

[3].     John Draganiuk v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency (27 September 2006), AP-2005-040 (CITT) [Draganiuk].

[4].     Draganiuk at paras. 12-19.

[5].     In accordance with subsection 152(3) of the Act, Mr. Fersch bears the burden of proving that the value for duty of the good in issue was not determined in accordance with the provisions of the Act by the CBSA. 

Case Number(s)

AP-2017-011

Attachment(s)

ap2r011_e.pdf (84.31 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Modification Date

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

J. FERSCH

J. FERSCH
c.
PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA
Appel no AP-2017-011

Décision et motifs rendus
le vendredi 19 janvier 2018

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À un appel entendu le 7 novembre 2017, en vertu de l’article 67 de la Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.);

ET EU ÉGARD À une décision rendue par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada le 8 mars 2017, concernant un différend aux termes du paragraphe 60(4) de la Loi sur les douanes.

ENTRE

J. FERSCH - Appelante

ET

LE PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA - Intimé

DÉCISION

L’appel est rejeté.

Ann Penner -
Ann Penner
Membre présidant

Lieu de l’audience : - Ottawa (Ontario)
Date de l’audience : - le 7 novembre 2017

Membre du Tribunal : - Ann Penner, membre présidant

Personnel de soutien : - Amélie Cournoyer, conseillère juridique

PARTICIPANTS :

Appelante

 

J. Fersch

 

 

Intimé

Conseiller/représentant

Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Adrian Johnston

Veuillez adresser toutes les communications au :

Greffier
Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
15e étage
333, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7

Téléphone : 613-993-3595
Télécopieur : 613-990-2439
Courriel : tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca

 

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

CONTEXTE

  1. Le présent appel a été interjeté par M. J. Fersch le 10 mai 2017 aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les douanes[1] à l’égard d’une décision rendue par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), datée du 8 mars 2017, aux termes du paragraphe 60(4), concernant la valeur en douane d’une autocaravane Allegro 2016 37AP (la marchandise en cause) importée par M. Fersch.
  2. La question en litige dans le présent appel consiste à déterminer si la déduction pour reprise d’une autocaravane Entegra Anthem 2015 (l’autocaravane 2015) doit être soustraite de la valeur en douane de la marchandise en cause, comme le demande M. Fersch.

HISTORIQUE DE LA PROCÉDURE

  1. Le 24 octobre 2014, M. Fersch a acheté l’autocaravane 2015 dans le comté de Red Deer (Alberta).
  2. Le 5 mai 2016, M. Fersch a acheté la marchandise en cause à Missoula (Montana). M. Fersch a échangé son autocaravane 2015 et obtenu une déduction pour reprise.
  3. Le 6 mai 2016, M. Fersch a importé la marchandise en cause au Canada en provenance des États-Unis. Au moment de l’importation au Canada, l’ASFC a établi la valeur en douane selon le prix d’achat intégral de la marchandise en cause, converti en dollars canadiens, déduction faite des exemptions personnelles, mais sans tenir compte de la déduction pour reprise de l’autocaravane 2015. M. Fersch a payé les droits et les taxes applicables, y compris la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS).
  4. Le 15 juin 2016, M. Fersch a déposé une demande de remboursement de la TPS payée sur la portion du prix d’achat de la marchandise en cause correspondant à la déduction pour reprise de l’autocaravane 2015. Essentiellement, M. Fersch demandait que la valeur en douane de la marchandise en cause soit calculée en soustrayant la déduction pour reprise de l’autocaravane de 2015 du prix d’achat intégral de la marchandise en cause.
  5. Le 21 juillet 2016, l’ASFC a refusé la demande de remboursement de M. Fersch. Ce refus est considéré comme une révision aux termes du paragraphe 59(1) de la Loi.
  6. Le 22 août 2016, M. Fersch a demandé un réexamen de la valeur en douanes de la marchandise en cause conformément au paragraphe 60(1) de la Loi.
  7. Le 8 mars 2017, en application du paragraphe 60(4) de la Loi, l’ASFC a rejeté la demande de réexamen et confirmé la révision antérieure.
  8. Le 10 mai 2017, conformément au paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi, M. Fersch a interjeté le présent appel devant le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal).
  9. Dans une lettre datée du 12 mai 2017, le Tribunal a avisé M. Fersch qu’il avait jusqu’au 10 juillet 2017 pour soumettre son mémoire, conformément à l’article 34 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[2], et que le Tribunal avait décidé d’entendre l’appel uniquement sur la foi d’exposés écrits, conformément aux articles 25 et 25.1 des Règles.
  10. Dans une lettre datée du 12 juillet 2017, le Tribunal a avisé M. Fersch qu’il n’avait toujours pas reçu son mémoire, que M. Fersch devait le soumettre immédiatement ou déposer un avis de désistement, et que le Tribunal pourrait rejeter l’appel si aucune communication écrite n’était reçue au plus tard le 19 juillet 2017.
  11. Dans une lettre datée du 20 juillet 2017, le Tribunal a avisé M. Fersch qu’il n’avait toujours pas reçu son mémoire et lui a donné jusqu’au 3 août 2017 pour faire valoir les raisons pour lesquelles l’appel ne devrait pas être rejeté. Le Tribunal a averti M. Fersch que l’omission de présenter des arguments pouvait entraîner le rejet de l’appel sans autre procédure.
  12. Le 24 juillet 2017, le Tribunal a reçu une communication de M. Fersch selon laquelle il souhaitait que l’avis d’appel et les pièces jointes soumises au Tribunal le 10 mai 2017 tiennent lieu de mémoire de l’appelant. Le Tribunal considère ces documents comme le mémoire de l’appelant dans le présent appel.
  13. Les 21 et 22 septembre 2017, l’ASFC a déposé une version publique et une version confidentielle du mémoire de l’intimé.
  14. Dans une lettre datée du 25 septembre 2017, le Tribunal a informé M. Fersch qu’il avait la possibilité de soumettre des observations écrites additionnelles au sujet du mémoire de l’intimé avant que le Tribunal n’examine l’appel, et qu’il avait jusqu’au 23 octobre 2017 pour déposer ses observations additionnelles.
  15. Dans une lettre datée du 24 octobre 2017, le Tribunal a informé M. Fersch qu’il n’avait toujours pas reçu ses observations additionnelles et l’invitait à les soumettre le plus rapidement possible en fixant la date limite au 31 octobre 2017.
  16. Le 30 octobre 2017, M. Fersch a déposé de brèves observations additionnelles devant le Tribunal, dans lesquelles il réitérait sa demande de remboursement de la TPS payée sur la portion du prix d’achat de la marchandise en cause correspondant à la déduction pour reprise de l’autocaravane 2015.
  17. L’appel a été entendu sur la foi d’exposés écrits à Ottawa (Ontario), le 7 novembre 2017.

CADRE LÉGISLATIF

  1. Aux termes de la Loi, une valeur doit être attribuée aux marchandises importées au Canada pour déterminer leur valeur en douane. L’article 46 de la Loi précise que la valeur en douane des marchandises importées est déterminée conformément aux articles 47 à 55. Par ailleurs, le paragraphe 47(2) définit l’ordre dans lequel les méthodes susmentionnées s’appliquent.
  2. Les articles 47 et 48 de la Loi prévoient que c’est la valeur transactionnelle qui est utilisée en premier lieu pour déterminer la valeur en douane des marchandises importées. Selon le paragraphe 48(1), « [...] la valeur en douane des marchandises est leur valeur transactionnelle si elles sont vendues pour exportation au Canada à un acheteur au Canada, si le prix payé ou à payer est déterminable [...] ». De plus, la définition du « prix payé ou à payer » au paragraphe 45(1) précise que ce prix concerne la « vente de marchandises pour exportation au Canada ». Le paragraphe 48(4) prévoit certains ajustements qui peuvent s’appliquer au prix payé ou à payer des marchandises importées.
  3. Ce n’est que lorsqu’il est impossible d’évaluer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées qu’une des bases secondaires d’appréciation décrites aux articles 49 à 53 peut être utilisée pour déterminer la valeur en douane.

ANALYSE

  1. Selon M. Fersch, la déduction pour reprise de l’autocaravane 2015 devrait être prise en considération dans le calcul de la valeur en douane de la marchandise en cause, ce qui lui donnerait droit au remboursement d’une partie de la TPS payée au moment de l’importation de la marchandise en cause. À l’appui de cette thèse, M. Fersch affirme qu’il a déjà obtenu par le passé un remboursement de TPS au titre de la valeur pour reprise dont il avait bénéficié à l’achat d’une autocaravane importée au Canada par ses soins.
  2. Pour sa part, l’ASFC fait valoir que M. Fersch n’étaye son argument sur aucun fondement juridique et que le Tribunal a déjà traité et rejeté des demandes semblables par le passé. L’ASFC soutient également que la législation applicable ne permet pas de soustraire la valeur de reprise de la valeur en douane d’un véhicule importé à des fins d’application de la TPS.
  3. Le Tribunal a traité une affaire semblable à celle en l’espèce dans la décision Draganiuk[3], où il était question de déterminer si la déduction pour reprise d’une automobile de 1991 devait être soustraite de la valeur en douane d’une automobile usagée de 2000 importée au Canada par l’appelant. Le Tribunal avait conclu qu’il n’avait pas satisfait à toutes les conditions de l’article 48, car il était impossible d’attribuer une valeur objective à la reprise. Le Tribunal avait aussi conclu qu’aucune des bases secondaires d’appréciation énoncées aux articles 49 à 52 n’était applicable. Le Tribunal avait donc utilisé la dernière base d’appréciation, en application de l’article 53, et conclu que la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle énoncée à l’article 48 s’appliquait parce qu’elle comportait le plus de règles adaptables à l’espèce. En outre, le Tribunal avait conclu que même lorsque l’application souple prévue à l’article 53 est retenue, aucun ajustement ne peut être effectué au titre de la déduction pour reprise, parce que la Loi prévoit certains ajustements, mais pas un ajustement au titre de la déduction pour reprise. Le Tribunal avait donc conclu que l’ASFC avait correctement déterminé la valeur en douane de l’automobile importée en fonction de son prix d’achat intégral, sans ajustement au titre de la déduction pour reprise, et avait rejeté l’appel[4].
  4. Les circonstances en l’espèce sont semblables à celles de l’affaire Draganiuk. Rien dans la preuve au dossier ne convainc le Tribunal que l’ASFC n’a pas correctement déterminé la valeur en douane de la marchandise en question. De plus, M. Fersch n’a présenté aucun élément de preuve se rapportant à une transaction antérieure pour laquelle il aurait bénéficié de la déduction qu’il demande en l’espèce ni aucun élément de preuve indiquant que l’application de cette déduction par l’ASFC aurait été justifiée. Le Tribunal conclut donc que M. Fersch ne s’est pas déchargé de son fardeau de preuve[5].

DÉCISION

  1. L’appel est rejeté.
 

[1].     L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e supp.) [Loi].

[2].     DORS/91-499 [Règles].

[3].     John Draganiuk c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (27 septembre 2006), AP-2005-040 (TCCE) [Draganiuk].

[4].     Draganiuk aux par. 12-19.

[5].     Aux termes du paragraphe 152(3) de la Loi, il incombe à M. Fersch de prouver que l’ASFC n’a pas déterminé la valeur en douane de la marchandise en cause conformément aux dispositions de la Loi

Numéro(s) du cas

AP-2017-011

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

ap2r011_f.pdf (84.57 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mardi 6 Février 2018

Date de modification

Le Mardi 6 Février 2018