Mandate

The Tribunal is the main quasi-judicial institution in Canada's trade remedies system and has authority to:

  • inquire into whether dumped or subsidized imports have caused, or are threatening to cause, injury to a domestic industry;

  • inquire into complaints by potential suppliers concerning procurement by the federal government that is covered by the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT), the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Government Procurement (AGP) and the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA), or any other applicable trade agreement;

  • hear appeals of decisions of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) made under the Customs Act and the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA) and of the Minister of National Revenue (the Minister) under the Excise Tax Act;

  • inquire into and provide advice on such economic, trade and tariff issues as are referred to the Tribunal by the Governor in Council or the Minister of Finance;

  • investigate requests from Canadian producers for tariff relief on imported textile inputs that they use in their production operations and to make recommendations to the Minister of Finance on the requests; and

  • inquire into complaints by domestic producers that increased imports are causing, or threatening to cause, injury to domestic producers and, as directed, make recommendations to the Government on an appropriate remedy.

Appeals

The Tribunal hears appeals from decisions of the President of the CBSA under the Customs Act and SIMA and of the Minister under the Excise Tax Act. The Tribunal hears appeals relating to the tariff classification and value for duty of goods imported into Canada and relating to the origin of goods imported from the United States, Mexico and Chile under the Customs Act. The Tribunal also hears and decides appeals concerning the application, to imported goods, of a Tribunal finding or order concerning dumping or subsidizing and the normal value or exported price or subsidy of imported goods under SIMA. Under the Excise Tax Act, a person may appeal to the Tribunal the decision of the Minister about an assessment or determination of federal sales tax or excise tax.

Dumping and Subsidizing

The determination of dumping and subsidizing is the responsibility of the CBSA. The Tribunal determines whether such dumping or subsidizing has caused material injury or retardation or is threatening to cause material injury to a domestic industry. Under this jurisdiction, the Tribunal is responsible for the following activities: preliminary injury inquiries, final injury inquiries, interim and expiry reviews, and public interest inquiries.

Procurement

Suppliers may challenge federal government procurement decisions that they believe have not been made in accordance with the requirements of the following: NAFTA, the AIT, the WTO AGP and the CCFTA, or any other applicable trade agreement. Any potential suppliers who believe that they may have been unfairly treated during the solicitation or evaluation of bids, or in the awarding of contracts on a designated procurement, may lodge a formal complaint with the Tribunal.

References

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act contains broad provisions under which the Government or the Minister of Finance may ask the Tribunal to conduct an inquiry on any economic, trade, tariff or commercial matter. In an inquiry, the Tribunal acts in an advisory capacity, with powers to conduct research, receive submissions and representations, find facts, hold public hearings and report, with recommendations as required, to the Government or the Minister of Finance.

Safeguards

One of the responsibilities of the Tribunal is to conduct inquiries to determine if Canadian producers are being seriously injured by increased imports of goods into Canada. The Tribunal may initiate import safeguard inquiries following a complaint by domestic producers. The Government may also direct the Tribunal to conduct import safeguard inquiries. Pursuant to an inquiry where the Tribunal determines that increased imports of the goods have caused, or are threatening to cause, serious injury to Canadian producers of like or directly competitive goods, the Government may apply import safeguard measures to assist those domestic producers.

Textiles

Pursuant to a reference from the Minister of Finance, the Tribunal was directed to investigate requests from domestic producers for tariff relief on imported textile inputs for use in their manufacturing operations and to make recommendations in respect of those requests to the Minister of Finance.

Mandat

Le Tribunal est la principale institution quasi judiciaire dans le mécanisme des recours commerciaux du Canada et jouit des pouvoirs suivants :

  • enquêter afin de déterminer si l'importation de produits qui font l'objet de dumping ou de subventionnement a causé ou menace de causer un dommage à une branche de production nationale;

  • enquêter sur les plaintes déposées par des fournisseurs potentiels concernant des marchés publics du gouvernement fédéral visés par l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA), l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur (ACI), l'Accord sur les marchés publics (AMP) de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) et l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili (ALÉCC) ou tout autre accord commercial pertinent;

  • entendre les appels des décisions de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (l'ASFC) aux termes de la Loi sur les douanes et de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation (LMSI) ou de celles du ministre du Revenu national (le ministre) aux termes de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise;

  • enquêter et donner son avis sur des questions économiques, commerciales et tarifaires dont le gouverneur en conseil ou le ministre des Finances saisit le Tribunal;

  • enquêter sur des demandes présentées par des producteurs canadiens qui souhaitent obtenir des allégements tarifaires sur des intrants textiles importés aux fins de production et faire des recommandations au ministre des Finances quant à ces demandes;

  • enquêter sur les plaintes des producteurs nationaux selon lesquelles l'augmentation des importations cause ou menace de causer un dommage aux producteurs nationaux et, comme prescrit, recommander au gouvernement la mesure corrective appropriée.

Appels

Le Tribunal entend les appels des décisions du président de l'ASFC aux termes de la Loi sur les douanes et de la LMSI et du ministre aux termes de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise. Le Tribunal entend des appels concernant le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane de marchandises importées au Canada ainsi que concernant l'origine de marchandises importées des États-Unis, du Mexique et du Chili aux termes de la Loi sur les douanes. Le Tribunal entend et décide également des appels relatifs à l'application, à des marchandises importées, de conclusions ou d'une ordonnance du Tribunal concernant le dumping ou le subventionnement et la valeur normale ou le prix à l'exportation ou le subventionnement de marchandises importées aux termes de la LMSI. Aux termes de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, une personne peut faire un appel au Tribunal d'une décision du ministre concernant une cotisation ou une détermination de la taxe de vente fédérale ou de la taxe d'accise.

Dumping et subventionnement

Les décisions concernant l'existence de dumping et de subventionnement relèvent de l'ASFC. Le Tribunal détermine si ce dumping ou ce subventionnement a causé un dommage sensible ou un retard, ou menace de causer un dommage sensible, à une branche de production nationale. Aux termes de ce mandat, le Tribunal mène les activités suivantes : les enquêtes préliminaires de dommage, les enquêtes finales de dommage, les réexamens intermédiaires et les réexamens relatifs à l'expiration, et les enquêtes d'intérêt public.

Marchés publics

Les fournisseurs peuvent contester les décisions concernant la passation de marchés publics du gouvernement fédéral qui n'a pas été faite conformément aux exigences de l'ALÉNA, de l'ACI, de l'AMP de l'OMC et de l'ALÉCC ou tout autre accord commercial pertinent. Les fournisseurs potentiels, qui estiment ne pas avoir été traités équitablement au cours de l'appel d'offres, de l'évaluation des soumissions ou de l'adjudication des contrats pour un marché spécifique, peuvent déposer une plainte officielle auprès du Tribunal.

Mesures de sauvegarde

Une des responsabilités du Tribunal est de faire enquête pour déterminer si les producteurs canadiens subissent un dommage grave en raison d'importations en quantités accrues de marchandises au Canada. Le Tribunal peut ouvrir une enquête de sauvegarde contre les importations à la suite d'une plainte de producteurs nationaux. Le gouvernement peut aussi ordonner au Tribunal de mener des enquêtes de sauvegarde contre les importations. À la suite d'une enquête où le Tribunal a déterminé que les importations accrues de marchandises ont causé, ou menacent de causer, un dommage grave aux producteurs canadiens de marchandises similaires ou directement concurrentes, le gouvernement peut mettre en oeuvre des mesures de sauvegarde contre les importations pour aider ces producteurs nationaux.

Saisines

La Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur renferme des dispositions générales aux termes desquelles le gouvernement ou le ministre des Finances peut demander au Tribunal de faire enquête sur des questions économiques, commerciales ou tarifaires. Dans le cadre d'une enquête, le Tribunal agit à titre consultatif, avec le mandat de faire des recherches, de recevoir les exposés et les observations, de trouver les faits, de tenir les audiences publiques et de présenter un rapport au gouvernement ou au ministre des Finances, accompagné, au besoin, de recommandations.

Textiles

Conformément au mandat que lui a confié le ministre des Finances, le Tribunal doit enquêter sur les demandes présentées par les producteurs nationaux qui souhaitent obtenir des allégements tarifaires sur les intrants textiles importés dans le cadre de leurs activités de fabrication, puis formuler des recommandations au ministre des Finances concernant ces demandes.